Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-3 and 13, drawn to a process for the production and purification of a hybrid chorionic gonadotropin, classified in C07K 1/22.
II. Claims 4-5, 11, and 14-15, drawn to a recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin produced by the process of claim 1, classified in C07K 14/59.
III. Claims 6-10, drawn to a method for assisted animal reproduction technique in a mammal by administering the recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin, classified in A61P 15/08
IV. Claim 12, drawn to an expression vector of recombinant glycoprotein hormones comprising a DNA sequence of a hybrid chorionic gonadotropin, classified in C12N 15/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process; more specifically, solid phase protein synthesis (SPPS). Thus, inventions I and II are independent and distinct.
Inventions I and III are directed to related methods. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect. More specifically, invention I is directed to a method of making and purifying a hybrid chorionic gonadotropin whereas invention II is directed to a method of using a hybrid chorionic gonadotropin. As such, inventions I and II have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, and/or effect. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants. Thus, inventions I and III are independent and distinct.
Inventions I and IV are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. More specifically, the expression vectors of invention III can be administered to a mammal in order to assist the mammal with reproduction. In other words, the expression vector that is used to produce a hybrid chorionic gonadotropin can be directly administered to a target mammal where the expression vector will be translated by the host cells. Thus, inventions I and IV are independent and distinct.
Inventions II and III are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. More specifically, the recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin can be used to raise antibodies against it. Thus, inventions II and III are independent and distinct.
Inventions II and IV are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect. More specifically, the recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin of group II is composed of amino acids whereas the expression vector of group IV is composed of nucleic acids. As such, inventions II and IV have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants. Thus, inventions II and IV are independent and distinct.
Inventions III and IV are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, although not expressly recited, the expression vector of group IV encodes a recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin that is administered in group III. As such, similar to the comparison of inventions II and III, the expression vector of group IV can be used to raise antibodies against the encoded recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin. Thus, inventions III and IV are independent and distinct.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
There is a serious search and/or examination burden because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification and/or the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching nucleic acid versus amino acid sequences).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 1-15 are generic to the following disclosed patentably distinct species:
Species A: a single and specific hybrid chorionic gonadotropin including ALL variables (please see claims 1, 3-6, 11-15); AND
Species B: a single and specific DNA sequence encoding the hybrid chorionic gonadotropin (please see claims 1-2, 6, 12, and 14).
The species are independent or distinct because as disclosed the different species have mutually exclusive characteristics for each identified species. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
(a) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the species or groupings require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or
(d) the species may raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden because the species or groupings require a different field of search, e.g., different amino acid and/or nucleic acid sequences require individual searches, and/or the species may raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or a grouping of patentably indistinct species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the species to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Norman Soloway and Shauna Bronson (representatives for Applicant) on April 10, 2024, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Group II, claims 4-5, 11, and 14-15; and a provision election was made without traverse to prosecute SEQ ID NO: 17 for Species A. Species B is moot as Group I or IV were not elected. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention; and claims 5 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected species.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 were originally filed on September 29, 2023.
The amendment received on August 14, 2026, amended claims 4, 11, and 14.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and claims 4, 11, and 14 are under consideration. Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement telephonically on April 10, 2024. Claims 5 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse telephonically on April 10, 2024.
Priority
The present application is a continuation-in-part of US Application No. 16/086,284, filed on September 18, 2018, which claims status as a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/BR2016/000051 filed May 10, 2016, and claims priority under 119(a)-(d) to Brazilian Application No. 10 2016 006222 5 filed on March 22, 2016.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) for Brazilian Application No. 10 2016 006222 5, which papers have been placed of record in the file in US Application No. 16/086,284. Please note that the Brazilian application is NOT in English and therefore cannot be verified.
Additionally, please note that the instant application contains data not expressly taught in the parent applications; namely, the specific methods performed on cattle and pigs in Example 8 (See instant pg. 20, last paragraph to pg. 24, 3rd paragraph).
Claim/Sequence Interpretation
For purposes of applying prior art, the claim scope has been interpreted as set forth below per the guidance set forth at MPEP § 2111. If Applicant disputes any interpretation set forth below, Applicant is invited to unambiguously identify any alleged misinterpretations or specialized definitions in the subsequent response to the instant action. Applicant is advised that a specialized definition should be properly supported and specifically identified (see, e.g., MPEP § 2111.01(IV), describing how Applicant may act as their own lexicographer).
For claims 4 and 14, please note that the Examiner is interpreting the scope of the recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin as open-ended requiring 100% identity to residues 2-169 of SEQ ID NO: 7 (i.e., subunit beta) with any N- and/or C-terminal additions, 100% identity to one of the sequences recited in the Markush group, i.e., SEQ ID NOs: 9, 11, 13, 15, or 17 (i.e., subunit alpha), a purification marker, a secretion signaling peptide of the DNA molecule, a dimerization interface peptide, and a specific proteolytic site (note: as further articulated in the 112(b) rejection below, it is unclear how SEQ ID NO: 17 can represent an alpha subunit when it contains both an alpha and beta subunit portion, a purification marker, and a secretion signaling peptide). Although Applicant’s elected species of SEQ ID NO: 17 links the components directly together, the scope of claims 4 and 14 do not require the components to be directly fused together.
Moreover, it is noted that elected SEQ ID NO: 17 contains 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7 with a purification marker, i.e., 6x His tag, inserted between residues 1 and 2 of the native eCG beta unit sequence (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 7), a secretion signaling peptide of SEQ ID NO: 21 at residues 8 to 27, a specific proteolytic cleavage site, and a dimerization interface peptide. Moreover, it is noted that the instant specification describes the nucleotide sequences that encode for SEQ ID NO: 17 and 19 as including additional nucleotide sequences associated with restriction enzyme cleavage sites and coding sequences for a histidine tail (6x-His Tag), and a proteolytic site such as the TEV-Tag (See instant, pg. 10, last paragraph to pg. 11, 1st paragraph; pg. 15, 1st paragraph). Although the specification does not expressly indicate that SEQ ID NO: 17 contains a dimerization interface peptide, Murphy et al. teaches that gonadotropins including equine gonadotropins are heterodimeric glycoprotein hormones (See Murphy et al., Endocrine Rev. 12:27-44 (1991) at pg. 28, col. 2, 1st to 2nd paragraph). Murphy et al. also notes that putative disulfide bonds bridging Cys11 to Cys36 and Cys14 to Cys35 in the N-terminal half of the equine alpha-peptide, and disulfide bonds bridging Cys64 with Cys91 and Cys87 to Cys89 in the C-terminal portion (See Murphy, pg. 29, col. 2, last paragraph to pg. 30, col.1, 1st paragraph). As such, instant SEQ ID NO: 17 necessarily contains a specific proteolytic cleavage site, a purification marker, a secretion signaling peptide of the DNA molecule, and a dimerization interface peptide. However, it is noted that it is not structurally required for elected SEQ ID NO: 17 to be in a dimer form, but rather, only that the dimerization interface peptide is present. Moreover, it is noted that elected SEQ ID NO: 17 contains portions of the alpha and beta subunits of equine CG. More specifically, when comparing the native eCG alpha subunit (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 5) with SEQ ID NO: 17, there is 100% identity between residues 176 to 271 of SEQ ID NO: 17 and residues 34 to 120 of SEQ ID NO: 5; and when comparing the native eCG beta unit (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 7) with SEQ ID NO: 17, there is 100% identity between residues 8 to 175 of SEQ ID NO: 17 and residues 2 to 169 of SEQ ID NO: 7.
Additionally, with respect to “produced by the process as defined in claim 1” and “produced by the process as defined in claim 2”, it is noted that these limitations constitute product-by-process limitations. Regarding product-by-process claims, the Federal Circuit has found that "[e]ven through product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim in the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." See MPEP 2113 and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Furthermore, the Federal Circuit found that “[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes.” See MPEP 2113 and Amgen, Inc. v. F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). In the instant case, the process steps recited in claim 1 impart the structure of the hybrid chorionic gonadotropin (CG) amino acid sequence, i.e., SEQ ID NOs: 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, or 37, that is produced. However, the process steps, i.e., DNA amplification, modification and cloning; expression vector construction; transfection of the expression vector into a human cell line; purification; and dialysis and sterilization, do not impart a structural limitation of the recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin of claim 4 as there is no indication of a structural modification imparted by these steps. Similarly, the DNA sequence recited in claim 2 encodes each of the amino acid sequences, SEQ ID NOs: 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, or 37, and thus, the process steps in claim 2 do not impart any additional structure of the claimed recombinant hybrid CG of claim 14. Therefore, the process steps recited in claims 1 and 2 do not aid in the patentability of the product produced by such process steps in claims 4 and 14, respectively, other than the recombinant hybrid CG having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, or 37. As will be further articulated below in a 112(b) rejection, elected SEQ ID NO: 17 is not encompassed as one of the hybrid CGs produced in claims 1-2.
Please note that the Examiner is examining elected SEQ ID NO: 17 as the recombinant hybrid CG even though how SEQ ID NO: 17 constitutes a beta subunit is unclear as further articulated in the 112(b) rejection below in order to advance prosecution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/14/26, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification regarding an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/14/26, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 4 and 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/14/26, with respect to the 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4 and 14 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention with respect to reciting “the subunit 13” has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/14/26, with respect to the 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4, 11, and 14 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention with respect to what constitutes subunit 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/14/26, with respect to the 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4, 11, and 14 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention with respect to recitation of “a subunit a” has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/14/26, with respect to the 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4, 11, and 14 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention with respect to how elected SEQ ID NO: 17 is encompassed by claims 4 and 14 has been withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 8/14/26 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 4, 11, and 14 based upon Shiota et al. EP 0974 599 A1 published on January 26, 2000 (cited in the IDS received on 1/22/24) in view of Young et al., Biotechnol. J. 7:620-634 (2012) (cited in the IDS received on 1/22/24), and “Polyhistidine-tag”, YouTube, available online at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oyKJr2mPXI, ideo screen shots, 2 pages (2015) as set forth in the last Office action for the following reasons.
In response to the Declarant’s argument, i.e., expressed protein in hamster cells as taught by Shiota are different from those produced in equine cells as claimed since the glycosylation pattern in CHO-K1 is different from the post-translational changes that occur when produced in human cells (See Declaration, paragraphs 5-8), it is found unpersuasive. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a N-glycosylation pattern for the alpha subunit of CG) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Although it is acknowledged that the glycosylation pattern between a CHO and human cell line may differ, the claimed recombinant hybrid CG does not require any specific glycosylation pattern. Plus, if the glycosylation pattern of the alpha subunit of CG is critical to the hormone’s function, as stated by the Declarant, then the specific glycosylation pattern should be recited as a structural limitation of the claimed recombinant hybrid CG. Without explicit recitation of a glycosylation pattern, the claimed recombinant hybrid CG does not require any glycan structure. However, assuming arguendo that a glycosylation pattern is implicitly implied structurally, the claimed recombinant hybrid CG encompasses any glycosylation pattern since the structure of the claimed product does not require any specific glycan structure. Therefore, contrary to Declarant’s argument, the fact that Shiota does not utilize a human cell line to produce the recombinant hybrid CG does not preclude a finding of obviousness.
In response to Declarant’s argument, i.e., a rCG of SEQ ID NO: 19 (recombinant equine CG) was able to stimulate ovarian production of progesterone and estradiol and induce ovarian growth in rats and was able to induce pregnancy in cattle thereby demonstrating that it was possible to produce homogenous and active preparations of recombinant eCG in laboratory scale through a cell culture biotechnological process and able to be used in assisted reproductive techniques in large animals in vivo (See Declaration, paragraphs 9-22), it is found unpersuasive. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., homogenous and active preparations) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As stated in response supra, the scope of the claimed recombinant hybrid CG does not require any specific glycan structure in order to constitute a homogenous preparation. Furthermore, although the production method of claim 1 requires purification of the hybrid CG by affinity chromatography in step (d), there is no required purity/homogeneity amount/level, e.g., 90% homogeneity. Plus, it is noted that producing homogenous glycoproteins is known to be challenging. Edwards et al. teaches that glycosylation can be a critical quality attribute in biologic manufacturing (See Edwards et al., Biotechnol. Bioeng. 119:1343-1358 (2022) at abstract). More specifically, Edwards et al. teaches that N- and O-linked glycosylation remains a challenge in biopharmaceutical manufacturing due to the potential glycosylation heterogeneity of a glycoprotein (See Edwards, pg. 1344, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). The heterogeneity can be divided into two types: micro- and microheterogeneity (See Edwards, pg. 1344, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). Parameters that affect glycan structure include the choice of host cell expression system, the media composition and any associated feeding regime, pH, and the temperature of the fermentation process (See Edwards, pg. 1344, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). As such, even if the claimed recombinant hybrid CG product recited a specific glycan structure or describes the product as being homogenous, there is no amount/level of homogeneity required that would impart structure to the claimed product, nor any specific process parameters other than the cell line being human that affects glycan structure. Thus, contrary to the Declarant’s argument, the claimed invention does not require a homogenous preparation.
Moreover, it is acknowledged that Applicant found that a recombinant CG (note: SEQ ID NO: 19 does not contain a subunit from two different species) exhibited beneficial results in cattle and rats. The Examiner is interpreting such argument as one of unexpected results. MPEP 716.02(b) states that evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e). See In re Blondel, 499 F.2d 1311, 1317, 182 USPQ 294, 298 (CCPA 1974) and In re Fouche, 439 F.2d 1237, 1241-42, 169 USPQ 429, 433 (CCPA 1971) for examples of cases where indirect comparative testing was found sufficient to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. The Federal Circuit found, “[t]o be particularly probative, evidence of unexpected results must establish that there is a difference between the results obtained and those of the closest prior art, and that the difference would not have been expected by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.” Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc., 752 F.3d 967, 977 (Fed. Cir. 2014). In the instant case, although instant SEQ ID NO: 19 demonstrates that a recombinant eCG stimulates ovarian production of progesterone and estradiol and induce ovarian growth in rats and induces pregnancy in cattle thereby demonstrating that the recombinant eCG is able to be used in assisted reproductive techniques in large animals in vivo, the comparison discussed in the Declaration is between SEQ ID NO: 19 and a PBS control. In order to demonstrate unexpected results, the comparison of SEQ ID NO: 19 needs to be with a recombinant CG of the closest prior art, i.e., Shiota, in particular, the Example at [0012]-[0031]. Shiota expressly teaches that the recombinant single chain eCG can be used as a veterinary drug for animals including domestic animals such as bovines, horses, pigs and sheep where the drug is effective for super-ovulation, follicular cyst, ovulation failure, ovarian subfunction, induction of postpartum estrus or hypoorchidia (See Shiota, [0032]). Thus, the recombinant hybrid equine CG of Shiota exhibits the same function as the instant recombinant hybrid CG. Therefore, without exhibiting unexpected efficacy when compared to the closest prior art recombinant CG, the fact that instant SEQ ID NO: 19 demonstrates efficacy does not overcome the pending 103 rejection.
Accordingly, the Declaration is found unpersuasive.
New Objections
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite a subject alpha (α) selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 9, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 13, SEQ ID NO: 15 and SEQ ID NO: 17, a purification marker, secretion signaling peptide,…. It is respectfully requested that the claims utilize a semicolon to separate the Markush group and the remaining required structural requirements in order to clearly indicate the Markush group. Appropriate correction is required.
Maintained Objections
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 24, the Figure depicted is illegible as the text for each column and the integers listed on the y-axis are not legible. It is respectfully requested that the Figure is reproduced so that the text is legible.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 for claims 4, 11, and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicant states that the claims have been amended to address the objections raised by the examiner (See Applicant’s Response received on 8/14/26, pg. 7). However, the amendments made to the specification do not address the Figure clarity depicted on page 24. Thus, the objection to the specification is maintained.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 4 and 14 recite, “a subunit beta (β) of the equine chorionic gonadotropin of SEQ ID NO: 7 and a subunit alpha (α) selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 9, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 13, SEQ ID NO: 15, and SEQ ID NO: 17. However, as discussed in the “Sequence Interpretation” section supra, SEQ ID NO: 17 is directed to a hybrid CG by virtue of inclusion of a purification marker, but contains the equine alpha and beta subunits. Further, the scope of claims 4 and 14 is interpreted as requiring 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7 as the alpha subunit and one of the recited sequences as the beta subunit. Since SEQ ID NO: 17 contains both the alpha and beta subunits from equine CG, the current scope of claims 4 and 14 would require 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7 and 17 thereby resulting in the hybrid CG containing two identical beta subunits (i.e., two copies of SEQ ID NO: 7), one copy of alpha subunit, two purification markers, two secretion signaling peptides where one of the two copies of SEQ ID NO: 7 has the purification marker inserted, two dimerization interface peptides, and two specific proteolytic sites. As such, it is unclear how the alpha subunit, when SEQ ID NO: 17, contains a beta subunit, a purification marker, and a secretion signaling peptide. In other words, it is unclear how SEQ ID NO: 17 constitutes an alpha subunit given the sequence contains additional structural components. Therefore, an ordinary skilled artisan would be unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of the presently claimed invention with respect to how SEQ ID NO: 17 constitutes an alpha subunit.
Please note that the Examiner is interpreting the scope of claims 4 and 14 such that residues 176 to 271 of SEQ ID NO: 17 are recited as the alpha subunit (note: as discussed in the “Sequence Interpretation” section supra, these residues correlate to a portion of the equine alpha subunit as depicted in SEQ ID NO: 5) in order to advance prosecution. Also please note that claim 11 is rejected by virtue of its dependency.
Maintained/Modified Rejections in light of Applicants’ Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 4 and 14 recite, “produced by the process as defined in claim 1” and “produced by the process as defined in claim 2”, respectively. However, claim 1, upon which claim 2 is dependent, is directed to producing and purifying a hybrid chorionic gonadotropin that has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, or 37. Each of these sequences contains the beta subunit of eCG and an alpha subunit from a different species, i.e., cattle, pig, sheep and goat. However, SEQ ID NO: 17 contains the beta and alpha subunit of eCG. As such, it is unclear how the recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin of claims 4 and 14 can be produced by the process as defined in claims 1 and 2, respectively, because the produced/purified hybrid CG of claim 1 does not encompass SEQ ID NO: 17. Therefore, an ordinary skilled artisan would be unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of the presently claimed invention with respect to how SEQ ID NO: 17 as the alpha subunit is produced by the process of claims 1-2.
Please note that the Examiner is interpreting the scope of claims 4 and 14 such that the process of claims 1-2 also recite SEQ ID NO: 17 in addition to SEQ ID NOs: 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, and 37 in order to advance prosecution. Also please note that claim 11 is rejected by virtue of its dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 for claims 4, 11, and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicant states that the claims have been amended to address the 112 rejections raised by the examiner and also to better define the claimed invention and better distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (See Applicant’s Response received on 8/14/26, pg. 7). However, with respect to the 112(b) rejection supra, the amendments made to claims 4 and 14 do not overcome all the 112(b) rejections. The Examiner maintains that it is unclear how the method of claim 1 can produce and purify a hybrid CG comprising SEQ ID NO: 7 as the beta subunit and SEQ ID NO: 17 as the alpha subunit because the DNA sequences amplified, modified, cloned, and then expressed and transfected into a human cell line do not encode the combination of SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 17 as the hybrid CG. Thus, the process by which the recombinant hybrid CG is produced does not encompass the combination of SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 17 as the alpha and beta subunits. Therefore, the rejection of claims 4, 11, and 14 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 - KSR Examples of 'Rationales' Supporting a Conclusion of Obviousness(Consistent with the "Functional Approach" of Graham)
Further regarding 35 USC 103(a) rejections, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (KSR) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Also, a reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976).
Claims 4, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiota et al. EP 0974 599 A1 published on January 26, 2000 (cited in the IDS received on 1/22/24) in view of Young et al., Biotechnol. J. 7:620-634 (2012) (cited in the IDS received on 1/22/24), and “Polyhistidine-tag”, YouTube, available online at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oyKJr2mPXI, ideo screen shots, 2 pages (2015) (cited in the Action mailed on 5/14/26), alone or as evidenced by, Murphy et al., Endocrine Rev. 12:27-44 (1991).
For claims 4 and 14, ‘599 teaches a recombinant single chain eCG having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5 where the alpha subunit and beta subunit of equine chorionic gonadotropin (eCG) are tethered to a single chain (See ‘599, [0005]). This recombinant eCG has potent FSH activity of about 7 times that of the native eCG and can be used advantageously as a medicine for animals (See ‘599, [0001], [0009], [0011], [0032]). As depicted in the accompanying STN search results on the last page, ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5 has the following sequence:
1 METLQGLLLW MLLSVGGVWA SRGPLRPLCR PINATLAAEK EACPICITFT
51 TSICAGYCPS MVRVMPAALP AIPQPVCTYR ELRFASIRLP GCPPGVDPMV
101 SFPVALSCHC GPCQIKTTDC GVFRDQPLAC APQASSSSKD PPSQPLTSTS
151 TPTPGASRRS SHPLPIKTSF PDGEFTTQDC PECKLRENKY FFKLGVPIYQ
201 CKGCCFSRAY PTPARSRKTM LVPKNITSES TCCVAKAFIR VTVMGNIKLE
251 NHTQCYCSTC YHHKI
and when compared to instant SEQ ID NO: 17, there is 100% Identity between ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5 and residues 2-271 of instant SEQ ID NO: 17. As such, ‘599’s recombinant eCG amino acid sequence contains the beta subunit of instant SEQ ID NO: 7 (i.e., residues 8 to 175 of SEQ ID NO: 17), the alpha subunit of instant SEQ ID NO: 17 (i.e., residues 176 to 271 of SEQ ID NO: 17), a secretion signaling peptide, a dimerization interface peptide, and a specific proteolytic site as evidenced by Murphy et al. (See discussion in the “Sequence Interpretation section supra) as recited in instant claims 4 and 14.
Additionally, ‘599 teaches that the recombinant eCG of SEQ ID NO: 5 is produced by (1) DNA amplification via PCR and construction of an expression vector encoding the eCG, (2) transfection of the expression vector into CHO-K1 cells, (3) PCR and northern blot analysis of the prepared stable CHO-K1 cells, (4) centrifugation to obtain the recombinant eCG expressed in the CHO-K1 cell supernatant, and (5) assessment of eCG biological activity via a bioassay (See ‘599, [0012]-[0031]). Plus, as stated supra, ‘599 teaches that the recombinant eCG of SEQ ID NO: 5 is to be used as a veterinary drug. As such, it would necessarily follow that the recombinant eCG is sterilized because otherwise the recombinant eCG could not be administered to animals. As stated in the “Claim/Sequence Interpretation” section supra, the process by which the instant recombinant CG is produced does not impart a structural limitation to the instant recombinant CG. Thus, even though ‘599 teaches producing recombinant eCG, it is unnecessary for ‘599 to teach the specific process steps recited in instant claim 1. Therefore, the teachings of ‘599 satisfy the claim limitation with respect to a recombinant CG produced by the process of claims 1 or 2 as recited in instant claims 4 and 14.
However, ‘599 does not expressly teach or suggest inserting a 6x-His-tag between the 1st and 2nd residues of ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5.
Young et al. teaches that protein fusion tags are indispensible tools used to improve recombinant protein expression yields, enable protein purification, and accelerate the characterization of protein structure and function (See Young, abstract). One type of protein fusion tag is affinity tags, which are highly efficient tools for protein detection, characterization, and purification (See Young, pg. 623, col. 1, last paragraph). Polyhistidine (poly-His) tags are the most widely used affinity tags for purifying recombinant proteins that lead to biophysical and structural studies (See Young, pg. 624, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). Advantages of the polyHis tag include its low immunogenicity and small size, with composition ranging from 3 to 10 His tags in series (See Young, pg. 624, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). In addition, many proteins function with the polyHis tag positioned at either the N- or C-terminus and purification methods can be carried out under both native and denaturing conditions (See Young, pg. 624, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). Therefore, the teachings of Young et al. suggest adding a polyHis tag ranging from 3 to 10 His residues thereby encompassing a 6x-His tag at the N-terminus of a protein in order to enable protein purification due to its low immunogenicity and small size.
The YouTube screen shots demonstrate that when adding a polyHis tag such as a 6x-His tag to the N- or C-termini, the polyHis tag will be inserted right after the start codon, i.e., methionine residue, at the 1st position of a protein sequence when being added to the N-terminus (See YouTube screen shots, pg. 1). Thus, the teachings of the YouTube screen shots suggest that when adding a polyHis tag such as a 6x-His tag to the N-termini of a protein to be purified, the tag is inserted immediately following the Met residue at the 1st position and before the 2nd residue.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the teachings of ‘599 and insert a 6x-His tag in between the 1st and 2nd residues of ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5 thereby resulting in instant SEQ ID NO: 17 as a recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin and enabling purification and assessment of the biological activity of ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5 due to the 6x-His tag’s low immunogenicity and small size. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because adding a polyHis tag containing 3 to 10 His residues at the N- or C-termini of a protein was known to enable protein purification due to its low immunogenicity and small size as taught by Young et al.; and because a 6x-His tag was known to be inserted in between the 1st Methionine residue and the 2nd residue of a protein for purification purposes as taught by the YouTube screen shots.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the recombinant eCG of ‘599 comprising SEQ ID NO: 5 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 17 except it does not contain the 6x-His tag at the N-terminus, and was produced recombinantly where biological activity was assessed via a bioassay. Therefore, inserting a 6x-His tag in between the 1st and 2nd residues of ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5 thereby resulting in instant SEQ ID NO: 17 as a recombinant hybrid chorionic gonadotropin would support the purification and assessment of the biological activity of ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5 due to the 6x-His tag’s low immunogenicity and small size by constituting the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention pursuant to KSR.
For claim 11, as discussed supra, the combination of ‘599, Young and the YouTube screen shots suggest a recombinant hybrid CG. ‘599 also teaches that when quantifying the recombinant eCG by radioimmunoassay, phosphate buffer was added to a tube containing the recombinant single chain eCG (i.e., ‘599’s SEQ ID NO: 5) (See ‘599, [0025]). The combination of the recombinant eCG and the phosphate buffer in a tube necessarily constitutes a pharmaceutical composition comprising the instant recombinant hybrid CG and a carrier as recited in instant claim 11.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 for claims 4, 11, and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons.
In response to Applicant’s argument, i.e., Shiota teaches fused forms eCG expressed in hamster cells, which are different from those produced in equine cells as claimed since the glycosylation pattern in CHO-K1 is different from the post-translational changes occurred in human cells (See Applicant’s Response received on 8/14/26, pg. 7-8), it is found unpersuasive. Please note that this argument mirrors Declarant’s first argument addressed supra in the “Response to Amendments” section. That response is incorporated herewith, but will not be reiterated. However, as discussed in one of the 112(b) rejections supra, it is unclear how the recombinant hybrid CG when comprising SEQ ID NO: 7 and 17 thereby encompassing the equine alpha and beta subunit, can be produced by the process claim 1 since the DNA molecules recited in step (a) do not encompass encoding a polypeptide containing the alpha and beta equine subunits. Thus, the alpha subunit is not limited to the alpha subunit from cattle, pig, sheep, and goat.
In response to Applicant’s argument, i.e., the inventors concluded that it was possible to produce homogenous active preparations of reCG in laboratory scale through a cell culture biotechnological process that can be used in assisted reproductive techniques in large animals in vivo, even the origin of the sequence is of a different species (See Applicant’s Response received on 8/14/26, pg. 8-11), it is found unpersuasive. Please note that this argument mirrors Declarant’s second argument addressed supra in the “Response to Amendments” section. That response is incorporated herewith, but will not be reiterated.
In response to Applicant’s argument, i.e., Shiota does not disclose or suggest any of the sequences of step (a) of claim 1, the hormones in Shiota were expressed in CHO cells, and only in vitro assays were tested whereby a skilled person knows that the behavior in a culture may substantially differ to what happens in vitro (See Applicant’s Response received on 8/14/26, pg. 11), it is found unpersuasive. Regarding the DNA molecule sequences recited in step (a) of claim 1, it is noted that Applicants elected SEQ ID NO: 17 as the single and specific recombinant hybrid CG, which contains the alpha and beta equine subunits. Moreover, claims 4 and 14 have been amended to encompass SEQ ID NO: 17 as a possible alpha subunit. As stated supra in one of the 112(b) rejections, it is unclear how one of the DNA molecules recited in step (a) in claim 1 encodes a recombinant hybrid CG protein sequence having both alpha and beta equine subunits. To advance prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted that a DNA molecule encodes SEQ ID NO: 17 in order to advance prosecution because otherwise Applicant’s species election would not have been compliant. It is further noted that the actual DNA molecule nucleotide sequence does not impart any structure to the claimed recombinant hybrid CG because the claimed product is directed to a specific amino acid sequence, and not a nucleotide sequence. The DNA sequences recited in step (a) in claim 1 should encode one of the recombinant hybrid CGs of claims 4 and 14. Thus, the fact that Shiota does not expressly teach or suggest one of the DNA molecules recited in step (a) of claim 1 does not preclude a finding of obviousness.
Regarding the distinction between CHO and human cell lines, the response to this argument has been addressed supra. The response is incorporated herewith, but will not be reiterated.
Regarding that Shiota does not perform in vivo studies, pursuant to MPEP 2121(I), when the reference relied on expressly anticipates or makes obvious all the elements of the claimed invention, the reference is presumed to be operable. Once such a reference is found, the burden is on applicant to rebut the presumption of operability. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980). Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1333, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1018 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("This court has long rejected a requirement of ‘[c]onclusive proof of efficacy’ for obviousness." (citing to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 748 F.3d 1326, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2014); PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (reasoning that "the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute")). Moreover, MPEP 2121(III) states that a prior art reference provides an enabling disclosure and thus anticipates a claimed invention if the reference describes the claimed invention in sufficient detail to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the claimed invention; "proof of efficacy is not required for a prior art reference to be enabling for purposes of anticipation." Impax Labs. Inc. v. Aventis Pharm. Inc., 468 F.3d 1366, 1383, 81 USPQ2d 1001, 1013 (Fed. Cir. 2006). MPEP 716.07 states that since in a patent it is presumed that a process if used by one skilled in the art will produce the product or result described therein, such presumption is not overcome by a mere showing that it is possible to operate within the disclosure without obtaining the alleged product. In re Weber, 405 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1969).
In the instant case, Applicant provides no evidence to support their argument that the in vitro data described in Shiota would not lead to efficacy in vivo. This argument is merely the argument of counsel and is unsupported by evidence or declarations of those skilled in the art. Attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See M.P.E.P. § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art. Counsel's arguments cannot take the place of objective evidence. In re Schulze, 145 USPQ 716 (CCPA 1965); In re Cole, 140 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1964); and especially In re Langer, 183 USPQ 288 (CCPA 1974). See M.P.E.P. § 716.01(c) for examples of attorney statements that are not evidence and that must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration. However, even if Applicant provided evidence demonstrating that in vitro results do not per se correlate to in vivo efficacy, Applicants are respectfully reminded that the claimed invention is directed to a product produced by a method, and not a method of use. The question is whether an ordinary skilled artisan would achieve the structure of the claimed product. The Examiner maintains that the teachings of Shiota in view of the YouTube screen shots render the claimed product obvious where Shiota expressly teaches the elected recombinant hybrid CG of instant SEQ ID NO: 17 and an ordinary skilled artisan would modify Shiota’s recombinant hybrid CG such that a 6x-His tag is inserted between residues 1 and 2 with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, contrary to Applicants’ arguments, the combined teachings of Shiota and the YouTube screen shots render the claimed invention obvious.
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 4, 11, and 14 is maintained as Applicants’ arguments are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEA D' AMBROSIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654