DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications received on 05/19/2026.
Claims 1-19 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20180248662 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Ibrahim et al (US 20220014298 A1) (hereinafter “Ibrahim”) and further in view of Wang (US 20240080811 A1) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD), comprising:
determining, by a terminal, locations of frequency domain resources in a Frequency Division Duplexing (FDD) pattern (see Fig. 14, Fig.15, para. [0008];[0011] discloses a method for FDD using flexible FDD frame); and
performing, by the terminal, transmission according to the locations of the frequency domain resources (see para. [0012] discloses UE using flexible FDD frame in wireless communication system),
wherein the locations of the frequency domain resources comprise an uplink frequency domain resource located at at least one edge in a frequency bandwidth of an uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) or an uplink carrier (see Fig. 16a (Uplink band with UL resources for PUSCH on the edge of UL band (carrier)).
Kim fails to disclose but Ibrahim teaches a downlink frequency domain resource or a flexible frequency domain resource located in at least part of a target area in the frequency bandwidth of the uplink BWP or the uplink carrier (see Fig. 11, DL BWP, PUSCH UE1 for UL in edge, and DL data for UE2),
wherein the target area is an area other than the at least one edge in the frequency bandwidth (see Fig. 12, DL BWP (DL data) on the edges and UL data area in the target area).
Wang is added here to clarify that the resources may be allocated on a flexible manner on a carrier/BWP, and the carrier could be UL or DL.
(See Wang, Fig. 3a-3c, (Uplink resource on the edge of the carrier bandwidth), para. [0048];[0066] discloses UL/DL attribute of time-frequency resources; UL/DL information includes information on the UL/DL attributes in both time and frequency domain, and may indicate the different resources).
Kim and Ibrahim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the domain resources as described by Ibrahim.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD) wherein a guard gap is arranged between every two of the downlink frequency domain resource, the uplink frequency domain resource, and the flexible frequency domain resource (see Fig. 15., para [0030] discloses method for setting UL in two consecutive UL subframes, with the order DL/GT/UL).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD) wherein a frequency domain resource supporting flexible duplexing is configured as the flexible frequency domain resource (see Fig.11, Fig.13, para. [0026];[0028];[0098] discloses flexible FDD scheme).
Regarding claim 4, Kim fails to disclose a transmission method
wherein the locations of the frequency domain resources further comprise at least one of the following:
the downlink frequency domain resource configured with a Control Resource Set (CORESET), or
the flexible frequency domain resource configured with a CORESET when the flexible frequency domain resource is used as the downlink frequency domain resource.
However, Wang teaches wherein the locations of the frequency domain resources further comprise at least one of the following:
the downlink frequency domain resource configured with a Control Resource Set (CORESET) (see para. [0074]-[0077] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example CORESET block can only be configured to be downlink), or
the flexible frequency domain resource configured with a CORESET when the flexible frequency domain resource is used as the downlink frequency domain resource (see para. [0074]-[0077] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example CORESET block can only be configured to be downlink).
Kim and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing flexible FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the CORESET as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD) wherein the determining locations of frequency domain resources further comprises:
determining a location of the uplink frequency domain resource (see Fig.10-12, para. [0100]-[0102] discloses FDD switching UL resources for use as DL resources)
or the downlink frequency domain resource (see Fig.10-12, para. [0100]-[0102] discloses FDD switching UL resources for use as DL resources)
or the flexible frequency domain resource in a half-duplexing pattern (see Fig.10-12, para. [0100]-[0102] discloses FDD switching UL resources for use as DL resources).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD).
Kim fails to disclose but Wang teaches further comprising:
stopping, by the terminal, using the flexible frequency domain resource as the uplink frequency domain resource when the flexible frequency domain resource satisfies a predetermined condition, wherein the predetermined condition comprises: the flexible frequency domain resource comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or CORESET 0 (see para. [0074]-[0077];[0085] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example all regions in a slot/symbol containing SS (Synchronization Signals) or CORESET 0 block can only be configured to be downlink; the specific slot/symbol is determined according to a predefined rule).
Kim and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing flexible FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the CORESET and Synchronization Signal as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD), comprising:
determining, by a terminal, locations of frequency domain resources in a Time Division Duplexing (TDD) pattern (see para. [0116];[0117] discloses TDD transmission scheme, including guard time), and
performing, by the terminal, transmission according to the locations of the frequency domain resources (see Fig. 11 para. [0012];[0098] discloses UE using flexible FDD frame in wireless communication system; The flexible FDD utilizes UL band as DL band during specific time),
wherein the locations of the frequency domain resources comprise
an uplink frequency domain resource located at at least one edge in a frequency bandwidth of a Bandwidth Part (BWP) or a carrier corresponding to an uplink slot (see Fig. 16a (Uplink band with UL resources for PUSCH on the edge of UL band (carrier)).
Kim fails to disclose but Ibrahim teaches a downlink frequency domain resource or
a flexible frequency domain resource located in at least part of a target area in the frequency bandwidth of the BWP or the carrier corresponding to the uplink slot (see Fig. 11, DL BWP, PUSCH UE1 for UL in edge, and DL data for UE2),
wherein the target area is an area other than the at least one edge in the frequency bandwidth (see Fig. 12, DL BWP (DL data) on the edges and UL data area in the target area).
Wang is added here to clarify that the resources may be allocated on a flexible manner on a carrier/BWP, and the carrier could be UL or DL (see Wang, Fig. 3a-3c, (Uplink resource on the edge of the carrier bandwidth), para. [0048];[0066] discloses UL/DL attribute of time-frequency resources; UL/DL information includes information on the UL/DL attributes in both time and frequency domain, and may indicate the different resources).
Kim and Ibrahim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the domain resources as described by Ibrahim.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD) wherein a guard gap is arranged between every two of the downlink frequency domain resource (see Fig. 13, discloses guard gap between two DL resources and a guard gap with the UL resource), the uplink frequency domain resource (see Fig. 13, discloses guard gap between two DL resources and a guard gap with the UL resource), and the flexible frequency domain resource (see Fig. 13, discloses guard gap between two DL resources and a guard gap with the UL resource).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD), wherein a flexible slot or a predetermined quantity of symbols are arranged between the uplink slot and the downlink slot (see Fig. 3 para. [0018];[0054];[0057] discloses a GP between the UL slots and DL slots in a subframe).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD).
Kim fails to disclose but Wang teaches wherein the deployment locations of the frequency domain resources further comprise:
the frequency domain resources deployed at the edge of the band, in the presence of an interference frequency range, as frequency domain resources in the same transmission direction as frequency domain resources of the interference frequency range (see para. [0073] discloses controlling the configuration of different uplink/downlink attributes, the interference between signals in different transmission directions can be reduced, or the frequency domain resources reserved for reducing the interference be reduced, improving the system transmission efficiency).
Kim and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing flexible FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the domain resources as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving system transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD), wherein a frequency domain resource supporting flexible duplexing is configured as the flexible frequency domain resource (see Fig. 10-11, para [0100] discloses UL frequency resources can be utilized as frequency resources for DL in the flexible FDD scheme).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD)
Kim fails to disclose but Wang teaches wherein the deployment locations of the frequency domain resources further comprise at least one of the following:
the downlink frequency domain resource configured with a Control Resource Set (CORESET) (see para. [0074]-[0077];[0085] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example all regions in a slot/symbol containing SS (Synchronization Signals) or CORESET 0 block can only be configured to be downlink; the specific slot/symbol is determined according to a predefined rule); or
the flexible frequency domain resource configured with a CORESET when the flexible frequency domain resource is used as the downlink frequency domain resource (see para. [0074]-[0077];[0085] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example all regions in a slot/symbol containing SS (Synchronization Signals) or CORESET 0 block can only be configured to be downlink; the specific slot/symbol is determined according to a predefined rule).
Kim and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing flexible FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the CORESET as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a transmission method (see para. [0001];[0008];[0011] discloses method for communication using flexible FDD).
Kim fails to disclose but Wang teaches further comprising:
stopping, by the terminal, using the flexible frequency domain resource as the uplink frequency domain resource when the flexible frequency domain resource satisfies a predetermined condition, wherein the predetermined condition comprises: the flexible frequency domain resource comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or CORESET 0 (see para. [0074]-[0077];[0085] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example all regions in a slot/symbol containing SS (Synchronization Signals) or CORESET 0 block can only be configured to be downlink; the specific slot/symbol is determined according to a predefined rule).
Kim and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing flexible FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the CORESET and Synchronization Signal as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a terminal (see Fig. 2 (110)), comprising: a processor; a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction (see Fig. 2 (110), para [0040];[0049] discloses data processor, memory, storing program), when executed by the processor (see Fig. 2, para [0040];[0049] discloses data processor, memory, storing program), causes the processor to implement operations, comprising:
determining locations of frequency domain resources in a Frequency Division Duplexing (FDD) pattern (see Fig. 11, para [0098] discloses flexible FDD using UL and DL bands during specific time); and
performing transmission according to the locations of the frequency domain resources (see Fig. 14, Fig.15, para. [001];[0008];[0011];[0012] discloses a method for FDD using flexible FDD frame; UE for communications using FDD, using flexible FDD frame).
wherein the locations of the frequency domain resources comprise an uplink frequency domain resource located at at least one edge in a frequency bandwidth of an uplink BWP or an uplink carrier (see Fig. 16a (Uplink band with UL resources for PUSCH on the edge of UL band (carrier)).
Kim fails to disclose but Ibrahim teaches a downlink frequency domain resource or a flexible frequency domain resource located in at least part of a target area in the frequency bandwidth of the uplink BWP or the uplink carrier (see Fig. 11, DL BWP, PUSCH UE1 for UL in edge, and DL data for UE2),
wherein the target area is an area other than the at least one edge in the frequency bandwidth (see Fig. 12, DL BWP (DL data) on the edges and UL data area in the target area).
Wang is added here to clarify that the resources may be allocated on a flexible manner on a carrier/BWP, and the carrier could be UL or DL (see Wang, Fig. 3a-3c, (Uplink resource on the edge of the carrier bandwidth), para. [0048];[0066] discloses UL/DL attribute of time-frequency resources; UL/DL information includes information on the UL/DL attributes in both time and frequency domain, and may indicate the different resources).
Kim and Ibrahim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the domain resources as described by Ibrahim.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a terminal according wherein a guard gap is arranged between every two of the downlink frequency domain resource (see Fig. 13, discloses guard gap between two DL resources and a guard gap with the UL resource), the uplink frequency domain resource (see Fig. 13, discloses guard gap between two DL resources and a guard gap with the UL resource), and the flexible frequency domain resource (see Fig. 13, discloses guard gap between two DL resources and a guard gap with the UL resource).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a terminal wherein a frequency domain resource supporting flexible duplexing is configured as the flexible frequency domain resource (see Fig. 10-11, para [0100] discloses UL frequency resources can be utilized as frequency resources for DL in the flexible FDD scheme).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a terminal (see Fig. 2 (110)).
Kim fails to disclose but Wang teaches wherein the locations of the frequency domain resources further comprise at least one of the following:
the downlink frequency domain resource configured with a Control Resource Set (CORESET) (see para. [0074]-[0077] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example CORESET block can only be configured to be downlink), or
the flexible frequency domain resource configured with a CORESET when the flexible frequency domain resource is used as the downlink frequency domain resource (see para. [0074]-[0077] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example CORESET block can only be configured to be downlink).
Kim and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus performing flexible FDD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the CORESET as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving resource utilization and flexibility.
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a terminal wherein the determining locations of frequency domain resources further comprises: determining a location of the uplink frequency domain resource (see Fig.10-12, para. [0100]-[0102] discloses FDD switching UL resources for use as DL resources) or
the downlink frequency domain resource (see Fig.10-12, para. [0100]-[0102] discloses FDD switching UL resources for use as DL resources) or
the flexible frequency domain resource in a half-duplexing pattern (see Fig.10-12, para. [0100]-[0102] discloses FDD switching UL resources for use as DL resources).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a terminal (see Fig. 2 (110)).
Kim fails to disclose but Wang teaches further comprising:
stopping, by the terminal, using the flexible frequency domain resource as the uplink frequency domain resource when the flexible frequency domain resource satisfies a predetermined condition, wherein the predetermined condition comprises: the flexible frequency domain resource comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or CORESET 0 (see para. [0074]-[0077];[0085] discloses UL/DL attribute of flexible transmission resources are different but not conflicting, or specific frequency domain regions area configured with specific attribute, for example all regions in a slot/symbol containing SS (Synchronization Signals) or CORESET block can only be configured to be downlink; the specific slot/symbol is determined according to a predefined rule).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/04/2026, see pages 7-8, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 14-16 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered by the Examiner but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kim and Ibrahim, alone of in combination every element of claim 1, and Ibrahim fails to disclose the limitation "uplink frequency domain resource located at at least one edge in a frequency bandwidth of an uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) or an uplink carrier," present on claim 1 and similarly on claims 7 and Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets the claim in light of the specification and during examination the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Based on BRI, Fig. 15, 16a of Kim (US 20180248662 A1) teaches or suggest a PUSCH located at the edge of an Uplink band (carrier).
In addition, Wang (US 20240080811 A1) discloses different flexible allocation of resources (see Fig. 3a-3c, (Uplink resource on the edge of the carrier bandwidth), para. [0048];[0066] discloses UL/DL attribute of time-frequency resources; UL/DL information includes information on the UL/DL attributes in both time and frequency domain, and may indicate the different resources), including UL on the edge of the carrier, the carrier indicated by Wang could be UL or DL. Therefore, the combination of Kim and Ibrahim in view of Wang reads on the claim.
The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419