DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the Applicant's submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sungduck CHUN (US Patent no. 11943732 B2 and Chun hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1 and 11, Chun teaches a electronic device comprising: a subscriber identity module;
a wireless communication circuit Figure 3, whole figure:
and a processor operatively connected to the subscriber identity module and the wireless communication circuit (Figure 1, whole figure infra ),
wherein the processor is configured to: Figure 1, whole figure, infra:
identify location information regarding a nation in which the electronic device is located (i.e., map data may include object identification information for fixed objects, such as a wall and a door, and movable objects, such as a flower port and a desk. Furthermore, the object identification information may include a name, a type, a distance, a location, etc) (Col 17, lines 37-43); in the case that the nation in which the electronic device is located has changed (i.e., UE shall select and attempt registration on other PLMNs, if available and allowable, if the location area is not in the list of “forbidden LAs for roaming” and the tracking area is not in the list of “forbidden TAs for roaming” (see 3GPP TS 23.122 [3]), in the following order: i) An EHPLMN if the EHPLMN list is present or the HPLMN (derived from the IMSI) if the EHPLMN list is not present for preferred access technologies in the order specified. In the case that there are multiple EHPLMNs present then the highest priority EHPLMN shall be selected. ) (Col 28, lines 52-67 to Col 29, lines 1-28), based on at least one of UPLMN information related to a user controlled PLMN (UPLMN) and OPLMVN information related to an operator controlled PLMN (OPLMN) corresponding (i.e. Operation Administration and Maintenance(a network management function group which provides network fault indication, performance information and data and diagnostic functions) (Col 7, lines 18-21) to a Mobile Country Code (MCC) (i.e. The PLMNs where the configuration is valid are HPLMN, PLMNs equivalent to HPLMN, and visited PLMNs of the home country. Access Identity 1 is also valid when the UE is explicitly authorized by the network based on specific configured PLMNs inside and outside the home country. NOTE 2: Access Identity 2 is used by UEs configured for MCS, in the PLMNs where the configuration is valid. The PLMNs where the configuration is valid are HPLMN or PLMNs equivalent to HPLMN and visited PLMNs of the home country. Access Identity 2 is also valid when the UE is explicitly authorized by the network based on specific configured PLMNs inside and outside the home country. NOTE 3: Access Identities 11 and 15 are valid in Home PLMN only if the EHPLMN list is not present or in any EHPLMN. Access Identities 12, 13 and 14 are valid in Home PLMN and visited PLMNs of home country only. For this purpose the home country is defined as the country of the MCC part of the IMSI. NOTE 4: Access Identity 4 is used for a UE which is accessing a PLMN of same home country as HPLMN. For this purpose the home country is defined as the country of the MCC part of the IMSI) (Col 54, lines 15-36) of the nation in which the electronic device is located (i.e., Each mobile service provider actively installs wireless networks and core networks in an area where he/she has obtained a license from an actual legal institution and obtained a business right, but cannot install the wireless/core networks in other areas because there is no business right. For example, if any UE leaves an area or a country to which it subscribes, the UE receives roaming service over a network of other service provider. However, if the UE is located in the area or country to which it subscribes) (Col 30, lines 35-46), generate a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) list corresponding (i.e., All other PLMN/access technology combinations in order of decreasing signal quality. It shall be possible to configure a voice capable UE so that it shall not attempt registration on a PLMN if all cells identified as belonging to the PLMN do not support the corresponding voice service. In the case of a UE operating in UE operation mode A or B, an allowable PLMN is one which is not in the “Forbidden PLMN” data field in the SIM/USIM. This data field may be extended in the ME memory (see clause 3.2.2.4). In the case of a UE operating in UE operation mode C, an allowable PLMN is one which is not in the “Forbidden PLMN” data field in the SIM/USIM or in the list of “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” in the ME. If successful registration is achieved, the UE shall indicate the selected PLMN.) Col 29, lines 1-29) to the nation in which the electronic device is located (i.e., Each mobile service provider actively installs wireless networks and core networks in an area where he/she has obtained a license from an actual legal institution and obtained a business right, but cannot install the wireless/core networks in other areas because there is no business right. For example, if any UE leaves an area or a country to which it subscribes, the UE receives roaming service over a network of other service provider. However, if the UE is located in the area or country to which it subscribes) (Col 30, lines 35-46); perform a network search based on the PLMN list through the wireless communication circuit (i.e., at any time to direct a UE, that is in automatic mode, to search for a specific VPLMN and, if it is available, move to that VPLMN as soon as possible. This VPLMN shall then be regarded as the highest priority VPLMN as defined by the operator, though any EHPLMN or PLMN on the User Controlled PLMN list shall have higher priority. This process shall be done transparently and without inconvenience to the user. If the UE is in manual mode, the steering request shall be ignored. If the UE is registered on a VPLMN that is present on the User Controlled PLMN List, the steering request shall be ignored. PLMNs contained on the User Controlled PLMN List shall have priority over the steered-to-PLMN. The UE shall attempt to register on the specified VPLMN even if the specified VPLMN is present on a Forbidden List. ) (Col 29, lines 1-65);
and in the case that a cell of a PLMN included in the PLMN list is detected, access the cell through the wireless communication circuit (i.e., Each mobile service provider actively installs wireless networks and core networks in an area where he/she has obtained a license from an actual legal institution and obtained a business right, but cannot install the wireless/core networks in other areas because there is no business right. For example, if any UE leaves an area or a country to which it subscribes, the UE receives roaming service over a network of other service provider. However, if the UE is located in the area or country to which it subscribes) (Col 30, lines 35-46).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to: identify PLMVN information related to a registered PLMN (RPLMN) of the electronic device in the subscriber identity module; perform a network search based on the PLMVN information related to the registered PLMN of the electronic device; and in the case that a cell of the registered PLMN of the electronic device is not discovered through the network search based on the PLMN information related to the registered PLMN of the electronic device, identify the nation in which the electronic device is located (i.e., capable UE so that it shall not attempt registration on a PLMN if all cells identified as belonging to the PLMN do not support the corresponding voice service. ii) Each entry in the “User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” data field in the SIM/USIM (in priority order). It shall be possible to configure a voice capable UE so that it shall not attempt registration on a PLMN if all cells identified as belonging to the PLMN do not support the corresponding voice service. iii) Each entry in the “Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” data field in the SIM/USIM (in priority order). It shall be possible to configure a voice capable UE so that it shall not attempt registration on a PLMN if all cells identified as belonging to the PLMN do not support the corresponding voice service. iv) Other PLMN/access technology combinations with sufficient received signal quality (see 3GPP TS 23.122 [3]) in random order. It shall be possible to configure a voice capable UE so that it shall not attempt registration on a PLMN if all cells identified as belonging to the PLMN do not support the corresponding voice service. v) All other PLMN/access technology combinations in order of decreasing signal quality.) Col 28, lines 55-67 to Col 29, lines 1-27).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to identify the nation in which the electronic device is located, based on the MCC acquired through a network search related to a predefined frequency band (i.e. The PLMNs where the configuration is valid are HPLMN, PLMNs equivalent to HPLMN, and visited PLMNs of the home country. Access Identity 1 is also valid when the UE is explicitly authorized by the network based on specific configured PLMNs inside and outside the home country. NOTE 2: Access Identity 2 is used by UEs configured for MCS, in the PLMNs where the configuration is valid. The PLMNs where the configuration is valid are HPLMN or PLMNs equivalent to HPLMN and visited PLMNs of the home country. Access Identity 2 is also valid when the UE is explicitly authorized by the network based on specific configured PLMNs inside and outside the home country. NOTE 3: Access Identities 11 and 15 are valid in Home PLMN only if the EHPLMN list is not present or in any EHPLMN. Access Identities 12, 13 and 14 are valid in Home PLMN and visited PLMNs of home country only. For this purpose, the home country is defined as the country of the MCC part of the IMSI. NOTE 4: Access Identity 4 is used for a UE which is accessing a PLMN of same home country as HPLMN. For this purpose, the home country is defined as the country of the MCC part of the IMSI) (Col 54, lines 15-36) and (Col 63, lines 1-67 to (Col 65, lines 1-26).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the nation in which the electronic device is located has been changed, in the case that an MCC of the registered PLMN of the electronic device identified in the subscriber identity module is different from the MCC acquired through the network search module (i.e. the following types of subscribers may be considered.
(366) Subscriber A: subscribing to operator KA of country K
(367) Subscriber B: subscribing to operator KB of country K
(368) Subscriber C: subscribing to operator KC of country K
(369) Subscriber D: subscribing to operator JD of country J
(370) In the above example, if a problem has occurred in the operator KB, the operators KA and KC accept a user subscribing to the operator KB. In this case, the following should be fulfilled: the operator KA accepts users subscribing to the operators KB and JD, but does not accept a subscriber of the operator KC the operator KC accepts users subscribing to the operators KB and JD, but does not accept a subscriber of the operator KA) (Col 67, lines 11-26)
Regarding Claims 5, and 15, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to: identify at least one of the UPLMN information related to the UPLMN and the OPLMN information related to the OPLMN corresponding to the MCC of the nation in which the electronic device is located in the subscriber identity module (i.e. the following types of subscribers may be considered.
(366) Subscriber A: subscribing to operator KA of country K
(367) Subscriber B: subscribing to operator KB of country K
(368) Subscriber C: subscribing to operator KC of country K
(369) Subscriber D: subscribing to operator JD of country J
(370) In the above example, if a problem has occurred in the operator KB, the operators KA and KC accept a user subscribing to the operator KB. In this case, the following should be fulfilled: the operator KA accepts users subscribing to the operators KB and JD, but does not accept a subscriber of the operator KC the operator KC accepts users subscribing to the operators KB and JD, but does not accept a subscriber of the operator KA) (Col 67, lines 11-26).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to: identify a frequency related to at least one PLMN included in the PLMN list corresponding to the nation in which the electronic device is located; perform a network search based on the frequency related to the at least one PLMN in the case that a cell satisfying a designated quality is detected through the network search based on the frequency related to the at least one PLMN, identify a PLMN of the cell based on system information of the cell; and identify whether the PLMN of the cell is included in the PLMN list (i.e., at any time to direct a UE, that is in automatic mode, to search for a specific VPLMN and, if it is available, move to that VPLMN as soon as possible. This VPLMN shall then be regarded as the highest priority VPLMN as defined by the operator, though any EHPLMN or PLMN on the User Controlled PLMN list shall have higher priority. This process shall be done transparently and without inconvenience to the user. If the UE is in manual mode, the steering request shall be ignored. If the UE is registered on a VPLMN that is present on the User Controlled PLMN List, the steering request shall be ignored. PLMNs contained on the User Controlled PLMN List shall have priority over the steered-to-PLMN. The UE shall attempt to register on the specified VPLMN even if the specified VPLMN is present on a Forbidden List. ) (Col 29, lines 1-65).
Regarding 7 and 17, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the cell satisfies the designated quality in the case that a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a received signal code power (RSCP), and/or a receiver signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the cell detected through the network search exceeds a reference value (Col 5, lines 60-67 to Col 6, lines 1-67).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to, in the case that the PLMN of the cell is not a top-ranked PLMN included in the PLMN list, perform a network search related to the top-ranked PLMN circuit (i.e., at any time to direct a UE, that is in automatic mode, to search for a specific VPLMN and, if it is available, move to that VPLMN as soon as possible. This VPLMN shall then be regarded as the highest priority VPLMN as defined by the operator, though any EHPLMN or PLMN on the User Controlled PLMN list shall have higher priority. This process shall be done transparently and without inconvenience to the user. If the UE is in manual mode, the steering request shall be ignored. If the UE is registered on a VPLMN that is present on the User Controlled PLMN List, the steering request shall be ignored. PLMNs contained on the User Controlled PLMN List shall have priority over the steered-to-PLMN. The UE shall attempt to register on the specified VPLMN even if the specified VPLMN is present on a Forbidden List.) (Col 29, lines 1-65).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to: identify whether a predefined network search period arrives in the case that a PLMN of the cell is not a top-ranked PLMN included in the PLMN list; and perform the network search related to the top-ranked PLMN in the case that the predefined network search period arrives (i.e., at any time to direct a UE, that is in automatic mode, to search for a specific VPLMN and, if it is available, move to that VPLMN as soon as possible. This VPLMN shall then be regarded as the highest priority VPLMN as defined by the operator, though any EHPLMN or PLMN on the User Controlled PLMN list shall have higher priority. This process shall be done transparently and without inconvenience to the user. If the UE is in manual mode, the steering request shall be ignored. If the UE is registered on a VPLMN that is present on the User Controlled PLMN List, the steering request shall be ignored. PLMNs contained on the User Controlled PLMN List shall have priority over the steered-to-PLMN. The UE shall attempt to register on the specified VPLMN even if the specified VPLMN is present on a Forbidden List.) (Col 29, lines 1-65).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to, in the case that a cell of a PLMN having a higher priority than the PLMN of the cell is detected through a network search related to the top-ranked PLMN, access a cell having a higher priority (i.e., at any time to direct a UE, that is in automatic mode, to search for a specific VPLMN and, if it is available, move to that VPLMN as soon as possible. This VPLMN shall then be regarded as the highest priority VPLMN as defined by the operator, though any EHPLMN or PLMN on the User Controlled PLMN list shall have higher priority. This process shall be done transparently and without inconvenience to the user. If the UE is in manual mode, the steering request shall be ignored. If the UE is registered on a VPLMN that is present on the User Controlled PLMN List, the steering request shall be ignored. PLMNs contained on the User Controlled PLMN List shall have priority over the steered-to-PLMN. The UE shall attempt to register on the specified VPLMN even if the specified VPLMN is present on a Forbidden List.) (Col 29, lines 1-65).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chun, Sunduck (US Patent No. 11943732 B2), “Method For Allowing Registration To Network In Wireless Communication System, And Device” (March 26, 2024).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov