DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 08/21/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 5-6 have been amended.
New claims 7-20 have been added.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that Koruthu Does Not Teach the Claimed Proactive
Identification and Avoidance of a Potential BSS-Color Collision.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1-3, Koruthu clearly discloses that a controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS since more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network (see Koruthu, Fig.1A-B [0005] and Fig.1-2A-B [0046]).
Koruthu also discloses the controller 110 is updating i.e., modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision since indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047] and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056]).
Additionally, Desai discloses that the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to client station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions since the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS (see Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035] and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056]).
(1) Koruthu also discloses that each scan report of access-point scan reports identifies neighboring BSS-IDs e.g., first and second BSSs with associated BSS-color having matching/overlapping within radio ranges and having the same BSS-color used in a common channel 36 since corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used (see Koruthu, Fig.1A-B [0040]-[0041], Fig.2A [0043] and Fig.1&2A-B [0046]).
(2) Koruthu also discloses that the access-point scan reports determines a potential BSS-color collision between those BSSs, without receiving a station-generated BSS-color collision report since the scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs are before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network (see Koruthu, Fig.1A-B [0005], Fig.1-2A-B [0046]-[0047] and Fig.2-3 [0054]).
Additionally, Patil discloses that the potential BSS color collision is detected/determined before/prior to a STA station associated with the first BSS and the second BSS since the AP is selecting a random value from the BSS color set based on channel scanning
(see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0049], Fig.1-2 [0129]-[0130] and Fig.2 [0158][0161]).
(3) Koruthu also discloses that the BSS-color is updated i.e., modified using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision before it is reported by a station since indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047] and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056]).
Additionally, Patil discloses that the AP is adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reports BSS color collisions and beacon collision report (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0114], [0119], [0137], Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], Fig.1-2 [0168], [0177] and [0203]).
(4) Koruthu further discloses the controller device 110 is sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points at steps S207 and S208; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold since an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100 (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2A-B [0047] and Fig.1&2A-B [0051]).
Additionally, Patil discloses that the AP is adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reports BSS color collisions and beacon collision report (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0114], [0119], [0137], Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], Fig.1-2 [0168], [0177] and [0203]).
Patil also discloses the AP is transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119]).
Claim 1, the applicant argued that B. The Cited Combination Does Not Cure the Deficiency Because the Claimed Decision Is Made Without Station-Generated Collision Feedback.
In response to applicant’s argument, the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., decision is made without station-generated collision feedback are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claim have not provided a specific definition of “decision is made without station-generated collision feedback”,
no stations are connected to any of the plurality of access points to send a station-based collision report could be interpreted as “decision is made without station-generated collision feedback”.
As shown in Fig.1-2, Patil discloses that the Wi-Fi controller is detecting/determining the potential BSS color collision before/prior to a STA station associated with the first BSS and the second BSS (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0049][0130]-[0131]).
Patil also discloses that the AP and other devices are avoiding the potential BSS-color collision reduces use of carrier-sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA-CA) random backoff by a STA wireless station since the AP is adjusting the first BSS color to a new BSS color or selecting a new BSS color (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0122][0168] and Fig.1-2 [0111][0177]).
Claim 1, the applicant argued that C. Using BSS-Color Information Is Not the Same as Proactively Reassigning a BSS Color.
In response to applicant’s argument, the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., proactively reassigning a BSS color are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claim have not provided a specific definition of “proactively reassigning a BSS color”, the Wi-Fi controller 110 preemptively resolves BSS-color conflicts before actual collisions are reported by stations could be interpreted as “proactively reassigning a BSS color”.
As shown in Fig.1, Desai discloses that the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to client station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions since the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS (see Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035] and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056]).
Additionally, Koruthu discloses that a proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs is updating/changing BSS-colors for OBSS/ overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS since more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network (see Koruthu, Fig.1A-B [0005], Fig.1-2A-B [0046] and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059]).
Claim 1, the applicant argued that D. The Examiner's Proposed Combination Would Require a Change in the Principle of Operation Relied Upon for the Asserted Teachings.
In response to applicant’s argument, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Claims 5 and 6, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding Claim 1, the applicant further argued that D. Office Action has not articulated a reason why a person of ordinary skill, starting from the references as relied upon, would have modified the references in this particular manner with a reasonable expectation of obtaining Applicant's claimed architecture.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1-2, Koruthu clearly discloses that the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points; each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range; the controller 110 is detecting/identifying an OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36; the controller 110 is updating i.e., modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision; the controller device 110 is sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points at steps S207 and S208; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2A-B [0047]). Therefore, adjusting or changing a BSS-color inasmuch the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color of Koruthu would be motivated to combine the teachings of Patil occurs in accordance with using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047] and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056]).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koruthu et al. [hereinafter as Koruthu], US 2022/0303780 A1 in view of Desai et al. [hereinafter as Desai], US 2021/0235375 A1 further in view of Patil et al. [hereinafter as Patil], US 2018/0184285 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Koruthu discloses wherein a method in a Wi-Fi controller for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding blind service set identifiers (BSSIDs) to change BSS-colors for overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, prior to detecting related color collisions in the OBSS, the method comprising steps (Fig.1-2A-B [0046], a method in a controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and Fig.1A-B [0005], more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS):
receiving scan reports from a plurality of access points (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1A [0032], the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc.),
wherein each scan report identifies neighboring BSSIDs with associated BSS-color within the radio range and corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and Fig.1A-B [0040], corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used);
identifying the OBSS by detecting matching the BSS-colors on a common channel (Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044], detecting/identifying the OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping the BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], detecting the OBSS by SRG mapping the BSS colors);
modifying the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047], update i.e., modify the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1&2A-B [0051], steps S207 and S208 sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold and Fig.1&2A-B [0047], an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100).
Even though Koruthu discloses stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 and 132 are connected to controller device 110, agent device 120 and agent device 130 respectively via Wi-Fi link and the controller device 110 is updating/modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision but Koruthu does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision, prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0025][0035], the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056], the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu to incorporate the teaching of Desai in order to provide for achieving advantages over other possible solutions.
It would have been beneficial to use the central controller 150 or the APs 105 which is preemptively modifying the BSS colors to steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and, changing the BSS color when there is a collision and, the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS color as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu to provide for different sets of performance parameters at different times. (Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035], Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056] and Fig.6 [0060]).
Even though Koruthu and Desai disclose wherein transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color, in the same field of endeavor, Patil teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1-2 [0168][0177], adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision; Fig.1-2 [0119]), prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0114][0137], before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reporting BSS color collisions and beacon collision report; Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], [0203]); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1-2 [0119], transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Patil in order to provide for increasing the amount and breadth of gathered BSS color collision-related data received.
It would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]).
Regarding claim 2, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the BSS-color is one of: blue, red, white, yellow and orange (Fig.2A-B [0043], the BSS-colors of: Pink, Blue, and Orange).
Regarding claim 3, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the plurality of access points comprises at least one of: a Wi-Fi 6 access point, a Wi-Fi 6E access point, and a Wi-Fi 7 access point (Fig.1A-B [0034], the access point comprises a Wi-Fi 6 access point IEEE 802.11ax).
Regarding claim 4, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses no stations are connected to any of the plurality of access points to send a station-based collision report (Fig.1A-B [0034], no stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 are 132 are connected to any of the plurality of access points 110, 120 and 130 to send a station-based collision report).
Regarding claim 5, Koruthu discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions in a deception server on a data communication network, that when executed by a processor (Fig.1-2B [0062]-[0064], a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions in a deception server on a data communication network, that when executed by a processor or controller), perform a method for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding blind service set identifiers (BSSIDs) to change BSS-colors for overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, prior to detecting related color collisions in the OBSS (Fig.1-2A-B [0046], a method in a controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and Fig.1A-B [0005], more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS), the method comprising:
receiving scan reports from a plurality of access points (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1A [0032], the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc.),
wherein each scan report identifies neighboring BSSIDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and Fig.1A-B [0040], corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used);
identifying the OBSS by detecting matching the BSS-colors on a common channel (Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044], detecting/identifying the OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping the BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], detecting the OBSS by SRG mapping the BSS colors);
modifying the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1&2A-B [0046]-[0047], step S205 update i.e., modify the BSS-color database using the BSS colors and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1&2A-B [0051], steps S207 and S208 sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold and Fig.1&2A-B [0047], an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100).
Even though Koruthu discloses stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 and 132 are connected to controller device 110, agent device 120 and agent device 130 respectively via Wi-Fi link and the controller device 110 is updating/modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision but Koruthu does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision, prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0025][0035], the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056], the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu to incorporate the teaching of Desai in order to provide for achieving advantages over other possible solutions.
It would have been beneficial to use the central controller 150 or the APs 105 which is preemptively modifying the BSS colors to steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions and, changing the BSS color when there is a collision and, the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu to provide for different sets of performance parameters at different times. (Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035], Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056] and Fig.6 [0060]).
Even though Koruthu and Desai disclose wherein transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color, in the same field of endeavor, Patil teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1-2 [0168][0177], adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision; Fig.1-2 [0119]), prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0114][0137], before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reporting BSS color collisions and beacon collision report; Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], [0203]); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1-2 [0119], transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Patil in order to provide for increasing the amount and breadth of gathered BSS color collision-related data received.
It would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]).
Regarding claim 6, Koruthu discloses wherein a Wi-Fi controller on a data communication network, for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding blind service set identifiers (BSSIDs) to change BSS-colors for overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, prior to detecting related color collisions in the OBSS (Fig.1A-B [0034], the access point comprises a Wi-Fi 6 access point IEEE 802.11ax and Fig.1-2A-B [0046 a Wi-Fi controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and Fig.1A-B [0005], more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS), the Wi-Fi controller comprising:
a processor (Fig.1A-B [0036], a processing circuitry 1102/processor);
a network communication module, communicatively coupled to the processor and to the data communication network (Fig.1A-B [0036], an integrated circuit 1101/network communication module, communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry 1102/processor and to the antenna 1105 and transceiver1106/data communication network); and
a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor and storing (Fig.1A-B [0036], buffer memory 1104 and memory 1103 communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry 1102/processor and storing):
an access point module to receive scan reports from a plurality of access points (Fig.1B&2A-B [0046], antenna 1105 & transceiver 1106 of the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1A [0032], the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc.), wherein each scan report identifies neighboring BSSIDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and Fig.1A-B [0040], corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used);
an OBSS module to identify the OBSS by detecting matching the BSS-colors on a common channel (Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044], the processing circuitry 1102 &BSS-color database 1108 of the controller 110 is detecting/identifying an OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], detecting the OBSS by SRG mapping the BSS colors),
wherein the OBSS module to modify the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1&2A-B [0046]-[0047], step S205 the processing circuitry 1102 &BSS-color database 1108 of the controller 110 to update i.e., modify the BSS-color database using the BSS colors and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color); and
a transmission module to send an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1&2A-B [0051], steps S207 and S208 the antenna 1105 & transceiver 1106 of the controller 110 is sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points: Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold and Fig.1&2A-B [0047], an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100).
Even though Koruthu discloses stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 and 132 are connected to controller device 110, agent device 120 and agent device 130 respectively via Wi-Fi link and the controller device 110 is updating/modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision but Koruthu does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein the OBSS module to modify the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision, prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0025][0035], the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056], the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu to incorporate the teaching of Desai in order to provide for achieving advantages over other possible solutions.
It would have been beneficial to use the central controller 150 or the APs 105 which is preemptively modifying the BSS colors to steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and, changing the BSS color when there is a collision and, the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu to provide for different sets of performance parameters at different times. (Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035], Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056] and Fig.6 [0060]).
Even though Koruthu and Desai disclose wherein a transmission module to send an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color, in the same field of endeavor, Patil teaches wherein the OBSS module to modify the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1-2 [0168][0177], adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision; Fig.1-2 [0119]), prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0114][0137], before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reporting BSS color collisions and beacon collision report; Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], [0203]); and
a transmission module to send an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1-2 [0119], transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Patil in order to provide for increasing the amount and breadth of gathered BSS color collision-related data received.
It would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]).
Regarding claim 8, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses determining the potential BSS-color collision is further based on respective RSSI measurements associated with the first BSS and the second BSS (Fig.1A-B [0040]-[0041], determining whether the potential BSS-color collision is based on the respective RSSI (received signal strength indication) of the incoming 802.11ax frame measurements associated with the network performance of BSSs e.g., first BSS and the second BSS).
Regarding claim 9, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Patil further discloses the Wi-Fi controller determines the potential BSS-color collision before a wireless station associates with at least one of the first BSS and the second BSS (Fig.1A-B&2 [0049][0130]-[0131], the Wi-Fi controller is detecting/determining the potential BSS color collision before/prior to a STA station associated with the first BSS and the second BSS).
Regarding claim 10, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Patil further discloses modifying the BSS color is performed while no station associated with the first BSS or the second BSS has reported a BSS-color collision (Fig.1-2 [0131][0135], modifying the BSS color before no STA station associated with the first BSS or the second BSS has reported a BSS-color collision).
Regarding claim 11, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Patil further discloses the scan reports comprise information obtained by an access point by listening for BSS information transmitted by neighboring access points (Fig.1-2 [0120][0123][0153], the scan reports comprise information obtained by an AP by listening for BSS color change/BSS information transmitted by neighboring access points).
Regarding claim 12, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the Wi-Fi controller periodically receives the scan reports and dynamically modifies the BSS-color in response to a change in an overlapping-BSS environment (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], the Wi-Fi controller is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047], updating i.e., modify the BSS-color in response to a change in an OBBS overlapping-BSS environment).
Regarding claim 13, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the indication causes an access point associated with the first BSS or the second BSS to locally implement the modified BSS-color (Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056]-[0058], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS of an access point in the mesh network 100 associated with the first BSS or the second BSS for the updated/modified BSS color).
Regarding claim 14, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Patil further discloses preemptively avoiding the potential BSS-color collision reduces use of carrier-sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA-CA) random backoff by a wireless station (Fig.1-2 [0122][0168], avoiding the potential BSS-color collision reduces use of carrier-sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA-CA) random backoff by a STA wireless station and Fig.1-2 [0111][0177]).
Regarding claim 16, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 5 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the instructions further cause the processor to determine the potential BSS-color collision based at least in part on the corresponding RSSI information (Fig.1A-B [0040]-[0041], determining whether the potential BSS-color collision based on the respective RSSI (received signal strength indication) of the incoming 802.11ax frame measurements information).
Regarding claim 17, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 5 as stated above wherein Patil further discloses the instructions cause the modified BSS-color to be selected and transmitted before receipt by the Wi-Fi controller of any station-generated BSS-color collision report corresponding to the potential BSS-color collision (Fig.1-2 [0131][0135], the instructions cause the modified BSS-color to be selected and transmitted before no STA station associated with the first BSS or the second BSS has reported a BSS-color collision and Fig.1A-B&2 [0049][0130]-[0131], the Wi-Fi controller is detecting/determining the potential BSS color collision before/prior to a STA station associated with the first BSS and the second BSS).
Regarding claim 19, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the processor determines the potential BSS-color collision based at least in part on the corresponding RSSI information (Fig.1A-B [0040]-[0041], determining whether the potential BSS-color collision based on the respective RSSI (received signal strength indication) of the incoming 802.11ax frame measurements information).
Regarding claim 20, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Patil further discloses the processor causes the BSS-color to be modified without requiring a wireless station associated with either the first BSS or the second BSS to detect and report an actual BSS-color collision (Fig.1-2 [0131][0135], the BSS color is modified before no STA station associated with the first BSS or the second BSS and has reported a BSS-color collision).
Claims 7, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koruthu et al. [hereinafter as Koruthu], US 2022/0303780 A1 in view of Desai et al. [hereinafter as Desai], US 2021/0235375 A1 in view of Patil et al. [hereinafter as Patil], US 2018/0184285 A1 further in view of Chitrakar et al. [hereinafter as Chitrakar], US 11206607 B2.
Regarding claim 7, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above.
However, Koruthu, Desai and Patil do not explicitly disclose wherein identifying the first BSS and the second BSS comprises cross-referencing scan reports received from different access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Chitrakar teaches wherein identifying the first BSS and the second BSS comprises cross-referencing scan reports received from different access points (Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38, detecting the first BSS and the second BSS includes cross referencing to neighbor report in the fast smart scanning procedure received from two candidate APs and Fig.9&18 Col 13 lines 46-55, Fig.28-29 Col 21 lines 52-62 and Fig.9 Col 10 lines 9-20, four BSSs: BSS 910, BSS 920, BSS 930, BSS 940 in the fast smart scanning procedure received from the respective four APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu, Desai and Patil to incorporate the teaching of Chitrakar in order to provide better link quality.
It would have been beneficial to detect the first BSS and the second BSS which includes cross referencing to neighbor report in the fast smart scanning procedure received from two candidate APs as taught by Chitrakar to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu, Desai and Patil to provide for reducing the scanning latency. (Chitrakar, Fig.1-2 Col 2 lines 43-45 and Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38, Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38).
Regarding claim 15, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 5 as stated above.
However, Koruthu, Desai and Patil do not explicitly disclose wherein identifying the first BSS and the second BSS comprises cross-referencing scan reports received from different access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Chitrakar teaches wherein identifying the first BSS and the second BSS comprises cross-referencing scan reports received from different access points (Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38, detecting the first BSS and the second BSS includes cross referencing to neighbor report in the fast smart scanning procedure received from two candidate APs and Fig.9&18 Col 13 lines 46-55, Fig.28-29 Col 21 lines 52-62 and Fig.9 Col 10 lines 9-20, four BSSs: BSS 910, BSS 920, BSS 930, BSS 940 in the fast smart scanning procedure received from the respective four APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu, Desai and Patil to incorporate the teaching of Chitrakar in order to provide better link quality.
It would have been beneficial to detect the first BSS and the second BSS which includes cross referencing to neighbor report in the fast smart scanning procedure received from two candidate APs as taught by Chitrakar to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu, Desai and Patil to provide for reducing the scanning latency. (Chitrakar, Fig.1-2 Col 2 lines 43-45 and Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38, Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38).
Regarding claim 18, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 6 as stated above.
However, Koruthu, Desai and Patil do not explicitly disclose wherein the scan reports are cross-referenced to identify the first BSS and the second BSS as overlapping BSSs.
In the same field of endeavor, Chitrakar teaches wherein the scan reports are cross-referenced to identify the first BSS and the second BSS as overlapping BSSs (Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38, detecting the first BSS and the second BSS includes cross referencing to neighbor report in the fast smart scanning procedure received from two candidate APs and Fig.9&18 Col 13 lines 46-55, Fig.28-29 Col 21 lines 52-62 and Fig.9 Col 10 lines 9-20, four BSSs: BSS 910, BSS 920, BSS 930, BSS 940 in the fast smart scanning procedure received from the respective four APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu, Desai and Patil to incorporate the teaching of Chitrakar in order to provide better link quality.
It would have been beneficial to detect the first BSS and the second BSS which includes cross referencing to neighbor report in the fast smart scanning procedure received from two candidate APs as taught by Chitrakar to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu, Desai and Patil to provide for reducing the scanning latency. (Chitrakar, Fig.1-2 Col 2 lines 43-45 and Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38, Fig.10&14 Col 11 lines 5-38).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Itagaki et at. (U.S Patent No.: US 10667293 B2) teaches Information Processing Device, Information Software Defined Wireless Local Network for Fault Tolerance.
Son et at. (U.S Patent No.: US 10785795 B2) teaches Wireless Communication Method and Wireless Communication Terminal in High-Density Environment Including Overlapped Basic Service Set.
Beaudin et at. (U.S Patent No.: US 11451552 B2) teaches Basic Service Set (BSS) Color-Based Containment and Mitigation.
Kim et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 10863545 B2) teaches Channel Access Method in Wireless LAN System and Device Therefor.
Dakshinkar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0360479 A1) teaches Dynamic BSS Color Feature for Co-Hosted Virtual Access Points.
Oteri et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12255850 B2) teaches Basic Service Set (BSS) Management in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN).
Ko et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11284475 B2) teaches Wireless Communication Method using BSS Identifier and Wireless Communication Terminal using Same.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414