DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 03/10/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 6 have been amended.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1, the applicant argued that the combination of Koruthu, Vig, and Patil fails to
teach or suggest this preemptive action. Vig explicitly relies on the station (station 206) to experience and report the collision before any action is taken. For these reasons, the prior art fails to teach or suggest all elements of the independent claims.
In response to applicant’s argument, the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., preemptively resolve BSS-color conflicts before actual collisions are experienced and reported by stations are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claim have not provided a specific definition of “preemptively resolve BSS-color conflicts before actual collisions are experienced and reported by stations”,
quickly adapt/change BSS-color (when required) before station-reporting a detected color-collision could be interpreted as “preemptively resolve BSS-color conflicts before actual collisions are experienced and reported by stations”.
As shown in Fig.1, newly added Desai clearly discloses that the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to client station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions since the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS (see Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035] and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056]).
Additionally, Koruthu discloses that a method in a controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/ overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS since more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network, whereby indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS (see Koruthu, Fig.1A-B [0005], Fig.1-2A-B [0046] and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059]).
Koruthu also discloses the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points since the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc. (see Koruthu, Fig.1A [0032] and Fig.1&2A-B [0046]).
Koruthu also discloses each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range since corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used (see Koruthu, Fig.1A-B [0040] and Fig.1&2A-B [0046]).
Koruthu also discloses the controller 110 is detecting/identifying an OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 since the OBSS is detected by SRG mapping the BSS colors (see Koruthu, Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044] and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056]).
Koruthu also discloses the controller 110 is updating i.e., modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision since indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047] and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056]).
Koruthu further discloses the controller device 110 is sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points at steps S207 and S208; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold since an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100 (see Koruthu, Fig.1&2A-B [0047] and Fig.1&2A-B [0051]).
Additionally, Patil discloses that the AP is adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reports BSS color collisions and beacon collision report (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0114], [0119], [0137], Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], Fig.1-2 [0168], [0177] and [0203]).
Patil also discloses the AP is transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points (see Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119]).
Claims 5 and 6, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 14, the occurrence of "a the BSS color" should be "--the BSS-color-"
In claim 5, lines 16, the occurrence of "a the BSS color" should be "--the BSS-color-"
In claim 5, lines 18, the occurrence of "reports" should be "—reporting---"
In claim 6, lines 24, the occurrence of "reports" should be "—reporting---"
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koruthu et al. [hereinafter as Koruthu], US 2022/0303780 A1 in view of Desai et al. [hereinafter as Desai], US 2021/0235375 A1 further in view of Patil et al. [hereinafter as Patil], US 2018/0184285 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Koruthu discloses wherein a method in a Wi-Fi controller for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding blind service set identifiers (BSSIDs) to change BSS-colors for overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, prior to detecting related color collisions in the OBSS, the method comprising steps (Fig.1-2A-B [0046], a method in a controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and Fig.1A-B [0005], more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS):
receiving scan reports from a plurality of access points (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1A [0032], the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc.),
wherein each scan report identifies neighboring BSSIDs with associated BSS-color within the radio range and corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and Fig.1A-B [0040], corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used);
identifying the OBSS by detecting matching the BSS-colors on a common channel (Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044], detecting/identifying the OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping the BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], detecting the OBSS by SRG mapping the BSS colors);
modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1&2B [0046]-[0047], update i.e., modify the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1&2A-B [0051], steps S207 and S208 sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold and Fig.1&2A-B [0047], an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100).
Even though Koruthu discloses stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 and 132 are connected to controller device 110, agent device 120 and agent device 130 respectively via Wi-Fi link and the controller device 110 is updating/modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision but Koruthu does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision, prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0025][0035], the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056], the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu to incorporate the teaching of Desai in order to provide for achieving advantages over other possible solutions.
It would have been beneficial to use the central controller 150 or the APs 105 which is preemptively modifying the BSS colors to steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and, changing the BSS color when there is a collision and, the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS color as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu to provide for different sets of performance parameters at different times. (Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035], Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056] and Fig.6 [0060]).
Even though Koruthu and Desai disclose wherein transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color, in the same field of endeavor, Patil teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1-2 [0168][0177], adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision; Fig.1-2 [0119]), prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0114][0137], before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reporting BSS color collisions and beacon collision report; Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], [0203]); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1-2 [0119], transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Patil in order to provide for increasing the amount and breadth of gathered BSS color collision-related data received.
It would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]).
Regarding claim 2, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the BSS-color is one of: blue, red, white, yellow and orange (Fig.2A-B [0043], the BSS-colors of: Pink, Blue, and Orange).
Regarding claim 3, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses the plurality of access points comprises at least one of: a Wi-Fi 6 access point, a Wi-Fi 6E access point, and a Wi-Fi 7 access point (Fig.1A-B [0034], the access point comprises a Wi-Fi 6 access point IEEE 802.11ax).
Regarding claim 4, Koruthu, Desai and Patil disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Koruthu further discloses no stations are connected to any of the plurality of access points to send a station-based collision report (Fig.1A-B [0034], no stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 are 132 are connected to any of the plurality of access points 110, 120 and 130 to send a station-based collision report).
Regarding claim 5, Koruthu discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions in a deception server on a data communication network, that when executed by a processor (Fig.1-2B [0062]-[0064], a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions in a deception server on a data communication network, that when executed by a processor or controller), perform a method for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding blind service set identifiers (BSSIDs) to change BSS-colors for overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, prior to detecting related color collisions in the OBSS (Fig.1-2A-B [0046], a method in a controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and Fig.1A-B [0005], more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS), the method comprising:
receiving scan reports from a plurality of access points (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1A [0032], the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc.),
wherein each scan report identifies neighboring BSSIDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and Fig.1A-B [0040], corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used);
identifying the OBSS by detecting matching the BSS-colors on a common channel (Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044], detecting/identifying the OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping the BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], detecting the OBSS by SRG mapping the BSS colors);
modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1&2A-B [0046]-[0047], step S205 update i.e., modify the BSS-color database using the BSS colors and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1&2A-B [0051], steps S207 and S208 sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points; Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold and Fig.1&2A-B [0047], an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100).
Even though Koruthu discloses stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 and 132 are connected to controller device 110, agent device 120 and agent device 130 respectively via Wi-Fi link and the controller device 110 is updating/modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision but Koruthu does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision, prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0025][0035], the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056], the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu to incorporate the teaching of Desai in order to provide for achieving advantages over other possible solutions.
It would have been beneficial to use the central controller 150 or the APs 105 which is preemptively modifying the BSS colors to steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions and, changing the BSS color when there is a collision and, the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu to provide for different sets of performance parameters at different times. (Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035], Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056] and Fig.6 [0060]).
Even though Koruthu and Desai disclose wherein transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color, in the same field of endeavor, Patil teaches wherein modifying a the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1-2 [0168][0177], adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision; Fig.1-2 [0119]), prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0114][0137], before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reports BSS color collisions and beacon collision report; Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], [0203]); and
transmitting an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1-2 [0119], transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Patil in order to provide for increasing the amount and breadth of gathered BSS color collision-related data received.
It would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]).
Regarding claim 6, Koruthu discloses wherein a Wi-Fi controller on a data communication network, for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding blind service set identifiers (BSSIDs) to change BSS-colors for overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, prior to detecting related color collisions in the OBSS (Fig.1A-B [0034], the access point comprises a Wi-Fi 6 access point IEEE 802.11ax and Fig.1-2A-B [0046 a Wi-Fi controller 110 for proactive use of scan reports of surrounding BSS-IDs to update/change BSS-colors for OBSS/overlapping BSS (OBSS) radio ranges, before detecting related color collisions in the OBSS and Fig.1A-B [0005], more usage of spatial reuse in multiple overlapping BSSs (OBSSs) also introduces more collisions and interference into the network and Fig.2B&3 [0052][0059], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in the OBSS), the Wi-Fi controller comprising:
a processor (Fig.1A-B [0036], a processing circuitry 1102/processor);
a network communication module, communicatively coupled to the processor and to the data communication network (Fig.1A-B [0036], an integrated circuit 1101/network communication module, communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry 1102/processor and to the antenna 1105 and transceiver1106/data communication network); and
a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor and storing (Fig.1A-B [0036], buffer memory 1104 and memory 1103 communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry 1102/processor and storing):
an access point module to receive scan reports from a plurality of access points (Fig.1B&2A-B [0046], antenna 1105 & transceiver 1106 of the controller 110 is receiving the scan reports from the agent devices 120 and 130 i.e., a plurality of access points and Fig.1A [0032], the agent devices 120 and 130 includes a plurality of access points, wireless routers, laptops, desktop computers, smartphones, tablet PCs etc.), wherein each scan report identifies neighboring BSSIDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements (Fig.1&2A-B [0046], each scan report identifies neighboring BSS-IDs with associated BSS-color within radio range and Fig.1A-B [0040], corresponding radio signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements of the incoming IEEE 802.11ax allows BSS colors to be used);
an OBSS module to identify the OBSS by detecting matching the BSS-colors on a common channel (Fig.1A&2A-B [0043]-[0044], the processing circuitry 1102 &BSS-color database 1108 of the controller 110 is detecting/identifying an OBSS by scanning matching/overlapping BSS colors e.g., assigned with BSS colors of Pink, Blue and Orange used in a common channel 36 and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], detecting the OBSS by SRG mapping the BSS colors),
wherein the OBSS module to modify the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1&2A-B [0046]-[0047], step S205 the processing circuitry 1102 &BSS-color database 1108 of the controller 110 to update i.e., modify the BSS-color database using the BSS colors and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision and Fig.2A-B&3 [0052][0056], indication of the interference caused by the OBSS/detecting color collisions in OBSS and update the BSS color); and
a transmission module to send an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1&2A-B [0051], steps S207 and S208 the antenna 1105 & transceiver 1106 of the controller 110 is sending the updated BSS color to the agent devices 120 and 130/ plurality access points: Noted: updated SRG bitmap of BSS colors and new OBSS PD threshold and Fig.1&2A-B [0047], an SRG bitmap with BSS colors being used by all BSS’s in the mesh network 100).
Even though Koruthu discloses stations 111, 112, 121, 122, 131 and 132 are connected to controller device 110, agent device 120 and agent device 130 respectively via Wi-Fi link and the controller device 110 is updating/modifying the BSS-color using the BSS colors database and their corresponding BSS-IDs in the scan reports to avoid any OBBS airtime spikes/potential BSS collision but Koruthu does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein the OBSS module to modify the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision, prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0025][0035], the central controller 150 or the APs 105 is changing i.e., modifying the BSS colors e.g., preemptively steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions and Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056], the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu to incorporate the teaching of Desai in order to provide for achieving advantages over other possible solutions.
It would have been beneficial to use the central controller 150 or the APs 105 which is preemptively modifying the BSS colors to steer away i.e., avoid a potential BSS collision, before/prior to clients station meeting associated the potential BSS collision reporting color collisions and, changing the BSS color when there is a collision and, the color selector of the AP updates i.e., modifies the BSS color assuming the values of the first set of parameters has changed to avoid a potential BSS collision prior to transmitting color collisions e.g., the updated BSS color or the same BSS as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu to provide for different sets of performance parameters at different times. (Desai, Fig.1 [0025], Fig.2 [0035], Fig.1&6 [0055]-[0056] and Fig.6 [0060]).
Even though Koruthu and Desai disclose wherein a transmission module to send an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color, in the same field of endeavor, Patil teaches wherein the OBSS module to modify the BSS color to avoid a potential BSS collision (Fig.1-2 [0168][0177], adjusting or changing/modifying a BSS color to avoid the situation where a potential BSS collision; Fig.1-2 [0119]), prior to a station associated the potential BSS collision reports color collisions (Fig.1-2 [0114][0137], before/prior to a STA station associated the potential BSS collision reports BSS color collisions and beacon collision report; Fig.1-2 [0139], [0151], [0164], [0203]); and
a transmission module to send an indication to one or more of the plurality access points of the modified BSS color (Fig.1-2 [0119], transmitting an indication of the BSS color change i.e., the modified BSS color to another AP/one or more of the plurality access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Koruthu and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Patil in order to provide for increasing the amount and breadth of gathered BSS color collision-related data received.
It would have been beneficial to indicate the BSS color change or the enabling or disabling of the BSS color to another AP as taught by Patil to have incorporated in the system of Koruthu and Desai to provide for improving communication efficiency. (Patil, Fig.1-2 [0119] and Fig.2 [0157]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414