DETAILED ACTION
The application of Christopher Babcock for Wireless Access Systems and Method filed 10/01/23 has been examined. Claims 1-23 are pending.
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it include more than 1 page (there is a blank sheet of paper associated with the abstract). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 13 been renumbered 14,
Claim 14 been renumbered 15
Claim 15 been renumbered 16
Claim 16 been renumbered 17
Claim 17 been renumbered 18
Claim 18 been renumbered 19
Claim 19 been renumbered 20
Claim 20 been renumbered 21
Claim 21 been renumbered 22
Claim 22 been renumbered 23
Claim 23 been renumbered 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10,13-14, and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210319639.
Regarding claim 1, Ho et al. teaches a perimeter access system comprising:
a plurality of entry devices (multiple entry points secured by lock, paragraph 047);
at least one gateway (170, paragraph 015);
at least one radio link enabling the plurality of entry devices to be in radio
communication with the at least one gateway (paragraph 015,021); and at least one network server operatively coupled to the at least one gateway by way of an IP connection (paragraph 017,021-022, 049),
wherein the one or more gateways act as a transparent bridge (gateway provide the bridge between the lock and the internet network, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Ho et al. teaches the perimeter access system comprises a Low Power Wide Area Network (LPWAN) perimeter access system (paragraph 049).
Regarding claim 3, Ho et al. teaches the LPWAN perimeter access system utilizes an LPWAN standard protocol (paragraph 049).
Regarding claim 4, Ho et al. teaches the perimeter access system grants access to a secured perimeter (paragraph 053).
Regarding claim 5, Ho et al. teaches the secured perimeter comprises an enclosed outdoor space (paragraph 07,056).
Regarding claim 6, Ho et al. teaches the enclosed outdoor space comprises a hotel room (paragraph 047).
-33-
Regarding claim 7, Ho teaches the entry device is provided on a moveable barrier (paragraph 073).
Regarding claim 8, Ho teaches the moveable barrier comprises a hotel room door (paragraph 047,073).
Regarding claim 9, Ho teaches the gateway converts converting Radio Frequency (RF) packets to IP packets (wireless signal from the lock is converted to IP packet, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Ho teaches the perimeter access system is configured as a LoRaWAN network architecture deployed in a star-of-stars topology (paragraph 061).
Regarding claim 13, Ho et al. teaches the perimeter access system comprises a Low Power Wide Area Network (LPWAN) perimeter access system (paragraph 061).
Regarding claim 14, Ho et al. teaches a method of providing remote access to an entry device, comprising:
accessing a perimeter access system by an authorized user (paragraph 043,045,050);
requesting an entry device configuration by the authorized user (paragraph 050);
validating the request (paragraph 051);
authorizing the request and
applying the requested entry device configuration to the entry device (paragraph 053-054).
Regarding claim 16, Ho et al. teaches the authorized user comprises a hotel administrator (paragraph 047,054).
Regarding claim 17, Ho teaches the entry device is provided on a moveable barrier (paragraph 073).
Regarding claim 18, Ho teaches the moveable barrier comprises a hotel room door (paragraph 047,073).
Regarding claim 19, Ho et al. teaches the step of accessing the perimeter access system utilizing a mobile computing device (paragraph 045).
Regarding claim 20, Ho et al. teaches the mobile computing device comprises a smartphone (paragraph 045).
Regarding claim 21, Ho et al. teaches the step of validating the request by determining a status of an area related to the barrier to entry (lock battery status, paragraph 059).
Regarding claim 22, Ho et al. teaches the step of sending a message to an authorized user indicating a status of the request (paragraph 059)..
Regarding claim 23, Ho et al. teaches the step of monitoring a status of the entry device (battery status of the lock, paragraph 059).
Regarding claim 24, Ho et al. teaches the step of reconfiguring the entry device (paragraph 045,050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210319639 in view of Bari US Patent Application Publication 20230091179.
Regarding claim 11-12,15, Ho et al. is silent on teaching the network server comprises a cloud-based platform solution. Bari in an analogous art teaches the network server comprises a cloud-based platform solution and teaches the perimeter access system comprises a mesh perimeter access system (paragraph 051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ho et al. as disclosed by Bari because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Ho in order to increase the storage capacity and the security of the access control system.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686