Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/30/2025 has been entered. Applicant canceled claim 5 and claim 5 was amended. Claims 1-4 remain pending in this application
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 05/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhao (US 2020/0231064 A1) and Lee (US 2023/0211699).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2023/0211699).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches an electric power supply system mounted in a vehicle, the electric power supply system in (see fig. 15) comprising: a first battery (130) that supplies electric power to a motor (PE, 140, see para 0061) that drives the vehicle; a second battery (110) that supplies electric power to the motor and is replaceable, known as a swappable battery; and a DC/DC converter (120, see para 0057) that is connected between the second battery (110) and the motor (PE 140) and converts an output voltage of the second battery to a predetermined voltages wherein replacement of the second battery being replaceable is performed between two or more batteries having different capacities from each other (see Table 1, para 0065).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches that in a regenerative braking mode, energy generated can be used to power the first battery in (see para 0096, 0097). Regenerative braking is generating energy caused by a motor system is well known and established since the motor is required to activate/operate the braking system.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches a first battery (130) which is not swappable since it’s not an option stated in the disclosure thus the first battery is not replaceable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0211699) and further in view of Hisada (US 20150231988 A1).
In claim 2, Lee teaches the electric power supply system according to claim 1. Lee is silent to the teachings of a first battery having a smaller capacity and a higher output power than that of the second battery.
However, Hisada teaches a first battery having a larger capacity and a lower power output than a second battery (see Hisada Paragraph 45 teaches “the first battery 4 is higher in output voltage than the second battery 3, and is smaller in capacity (maximum charging electric power) than the second battery 3. In other words, the second battery 3 is lower in output voltage than the first battery 4, and is larger in capacity (maximum charging electric power) than the first battery 4.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lee to include the different capacity and power output of the batteries found in Hisada to create an electric vehicle with adjustable range and power capabilities. This can allow the user to have a light and efficient vehicle when the range is not needed while having the option of extending the range when needed.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA JAMES SWEET/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836