DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 5 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "input relays" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “…and its output terminal connected to input terminal of an LLC resonant DC to DC converter.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation (“input terminal” of an LLC resonant…) in the claim. This limitation is also grammatically unclear as to whether “its” refers to the AC to DC converter or the staged converter. Accordingly the claim does not clearly define the relationship between the AC to DC converter, the staged circuit, and the LLC resonant DC to DC converter.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the phrase, “having its output terminal” is unclear. It is unclear whether the AC to DC converter is intended to have “an output terminal” or whether “its output terminal” refers to some previously recited terminal.
Claim 1 is further indefinite because the phrase, “…means for switching the functionality of the staged circuit with relays in the staged circuit” does not particularly point out what “switching the functionality” of the staged circuit means. It is unclear whether the claimed “functionality” is switched between different converter topologies, operating modes, input-source configurations, or some other functionality. The scope of the claimed switching function is therefore unclear.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the phrase “means for charging or discharging the battery” does not clearly define the relationship between the charging/discharging means and the other claimed components. In particular, it is unclear whether the claimed means is configured to perform both charging and discharging or merely one of charging and discharging.
Claim 2 is indefinite because the phrase, “…the input power source of claim 1 includes single-phase AC, three-phase AC or DC input” is unclear as to whether the input power source is required to include all three types of input, any one of the three types, or a plurality of input sources comprising the listed types. The scope is therefore unclear.
Claim 3 is indefinite because the phrase, “the converter is configured to be an interleaved totem-pole power factor correction circuit,” does not clearly define the claimed structure. It is unclear whether the AC to DC converter is required to comprise an interleaved totem-pole power factor correction circuit or merely capable of being configured as such. The phrase, “for single-phase AC source input” further fails to establish the relationship between the converter and the input power source.
Claim 4 is indefinite for the substantially the same reasons as disclosed in claim 3. In particular, it is unclear whether the AC to DC converter is required to comprise a three-phase power factor correction circuit or merely capable of being configured as such, and the relationship between the converter and the “three-phase AC source input” is unclear.
Claim 5 is indefinite for the substantially the same reasons as disclosed in claims 3 and 4. In particular, it is unclear whether the AC to DC converter is required to comprise an interleaved boost converter or merely capable of being configured as such, and the relationship between the converter and the “DC source input” is unclear.
Claim 10 is recites the limitation, “comprises resonant tank, multi-functional magnet, MOSFET power switches, and relays.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the term, “multi-functional magnet” is unclear because the claim does not define what constitutes a “multi-functional magnet” or what function or functions are performed by the magnet.
Claim 11 is indefinite because the claim depends on claim 1 but recites, “the multifunctional magnet of claim 10.” Claim 1 does not recite a multifunctional magnet, and claim 11 therefore does not clearly establish the claimed relationship between the LLC resonant DC to DC converter and the multifunctional magnet. Further, the phrase, “means for bypassing the multifunctional magnet does not clearly identify the structure or arrangement by which the magnet is bypassed or the operating condition under which the bypass occurs.
Claim 12 is indefinite because the claim does not clearly identify the statutory class of the claimed invention or establish a proper dependency relationship. The claim begins with, “means for transforming” without reciting an apparatus, system or method of other clearly defined statutory matter. Further, the phrase “transforming the multi-functional magnet of claim 10 to a 4-winding coupled inductor” is unclear as to whether “transforming” refers to physically modifying the magnet, electrically reconfiguring the magnet, or otherwise causing the magnet to operate as a 4-winding coupled inductor. The scope is therefore unclear.
Claim 13 is indefinite because the claim does not clearly identify the relationship between the claimed, “means for controlling the AC to DC converter” and the “staged circuit of claim 1.” In particular, the phrase “controlling the AC to DC converter…with the staged circuit” is unclear as to whether the staged circuit provides a control signal to the AC to DC converter, whether operation of the staged circuit controls operation of the AC to DC converter or whether some other relationship is intended. The claim therefore fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 does not recite a multifunctional magnet, and claim 11 therefore does not clearly establish the claimed relationship between the LLC resonant DC to DC converter and the multifunctional magnet. Further, the phrase, “means for bypassing the multifunctional magnet does not clearly identify the structure or arrangement by which the magnet is bypassed or the operating condition under which the bypass occurs. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite because the claims recited limitations in means-plus-function format under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but the corresponding structure, material or acts necessary to perform the claimed functions are not adequately identified.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “means for switching the functionality of the staged circuit with relays in the staged circuit.” This limitation is presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the limitation uses the term “means” followed by functional language without reciting sufficient structure for performing the recited function. The claimed function is “switching the functionality of the staged circuit.” The specification must therefore disclose corresponding structure that performs the claimed function, including the structure that switches the functionality of the staged circuit and the manner in which such structure performs the switching function.
Claim 1 further recites, “means for charging or discharging the battery.” This limitation is presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the limitation uses the term “means” followed by functional language without reciting sufficient structure for performing the recited function. The claimed functions are charging the battery and discharging the battery. The specification must therefore disclose corresponding structure for performing both the charging and discharging functions and must clearly link or associate such structure with the claimed functions. It is unclear from the claim what structure performs the charging and discharging functions and whether the same structure is configured to perform both functions. Accordingly, the limitation is indefinite under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) and 112 (f) to the extent that the specification fails to disclose corresponding structure clearly linked to the claimed functions.
Claim 11 recites “means for bypassing the multi-functional magnet.” This limitation is presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the limitation uses the term “means” followed by functional language without reciting sufficient structure for performing the recited function. The specification must therefore disclose corresponding structure that performs the bypass function and must clearly link or associate the disclosed structure with the claimed function. It is unclear what specific structure is configured to bypass the multi-functional magnet and how the magnet is bypassed. Accordingly, the limitation is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(f) to the extent that the specification fails to disclose corresponding structure clearly linked to the claimed function.
Claim 13 recites, “means for controlling the AC to DC converter…with the staged circuit.” This limitation is presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the limitation uses the term “means” followed by functional language without reciting sufficient structure for performing the recited function. The claimed function is controlling the AC to DC converter using or in conjunction wit the staged circuit. The specification must therefore disclose corresponding structure that performs the claimed control function and must clearly link or associate such structure with the function of controlling the AC to DC converter using the staged circuit. It is unclear what structure performs the claimed control function and what specific control operation is performed. Accordingly, the limitation is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(f) to the extent that the specification fails to disclose corresponding structure clearly linked to the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20260109244) in view of Jun (US 20220410740) and in further view of Khaligh (US 20180222333 ).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a multi-source non-electrolytic capacitor bi-directional onboard charger (figure 1 shows a multi-port or multi-source bidirectional charger), comprising:
input relays connected to input power source (figure 1 items R1, R2 and R3 relays connected to input power sources items a, b, and c);
an AC to DC converter connected to the input relays and having its output terminal (figure 1 shows an ACDC converter items 11, 12, and 13 connected to input relays R1, R2 and R3, with an output terminal);
a staged circuit connected to the output terminal of the AC to DC converter (figure 2 shows a staged circuit, items 21, 22, and 23. Paragraph [0041] discloses the staged circuit to be first, second and third decoupling circuits connected to the output terminals of the ACDC converters items 11, 12, and 13);
means for switching the functionality of the staged circuit with relays in the staged circuit (figure 1 item 100 shows a controller which controls the functionality of the relays)
means for charging or discharging the battery (figures 3 – 6 shows charging a battery and figure 9 – 12 shows discharging or wherein the battery provides charge to the charging facility).
Choi does not explicitly teach wherein a staged circuit output terminal connected to input terminal of an LLC resonant DC to DC converter the LLC resonant DC to DC converter connected between the staged circuit and a battery.
Jun teaches a staged circuit output terminal connected to input terminal of an LLC resonant DC to DC converter the LLC resonant DC to DC converter connected between the staged circuit and a battery (figure 1 shows a staged circuit item 24 with an output connected to an LLC circuit item 31 and a battery item 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi reference with the charging system of the Jun reference so that the charging device may perform a charging operation with high charging efficiency according to a wide range of input sources.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jun reference in paragraph [0027] wherein a high charging efficiency is taught.
Choi in view of Jun do not explicitly teach non-electrolytic capacitors.
Khaligh teaches non-electrolytic capacitors (defined in paragraph [0232] as film capacitors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi and Jun reference with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so power density may be increased while reducing the cost of onboard power systems.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0010] wherein increasing power density and reducing cost is taught.
Choi figure 2 shows a multi-source onboard electric vehicle charging system
Jun figure 1 shows a multi-stage onboard charging system
Khaligh Figure 6 shows non-electrolytic capacitors interpreted as film capacitors items Cr1 and Cr2
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the input power source of claim 1 includes single-phase AC, three-phase AC, or DC input (paragraphs [0018] and [0040] discloses wherein the power source includes a single phase AC, a three phase AC or a DC input).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the AC to DC converter of claim 1, wherein the converter is configured to be an interleaved totem-pole power factor correction circuit for single-phase AC source input (paragraph [0042] discloses wherein the converter is an interleaved totem pole).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the AC to DC converter of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the converter is configured to be a three-phase power factor correction circuit for three-phase AC source input.
Jun teaches wherein the converter is configured to be a three-phase power factor correction circuit for three-phase AC source input (paragraphs [0051] discloses a power factor correction circuit for a three phase AC source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi reference with the charging system of the Jun reference so that the charging device may perform a charging operation with high charging efficiency according to a wide range of input sources.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jun reference in paragraph [0027] wherein a high charging efficiency is taught.
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the AC to DC converter of claim 1, wherein the converter is configured to be an interleaved boost converter for DC source input (paragraph [0055] discloses an interleaved boost converter)
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the staged circuit of claim 1, wherein the staged circuit is configured to be a power decoupling circuit for single-phase AC source input (paragraph [0041] discloses wherein the staged circuit is a power decoupling circuit).
Choi and Jun do not explicitly teach a non-electrolytic capacitor.
Khaligh teaches non-electrolytic capacitors (defined in paragraph [0232] as film capacitors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi and Jun reference with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so power density may be increased while reducing the cost of onboard power systems.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0010] wherein increasing power density and reducing cost is taught.
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the staged circuit of claim 1, wherein the staged circuit is configured to be an interleaved buck converter for three-phase AC source input (paragraph [0070] discloses wherein the staged circuit is an interleaved buck converter).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches the staged circuit of claim 1, wherein the staged circuit is configured to be an interleaved buck converter for DC source input (paragraph [0076] discloses wherein an interleaved buck converter is implemented for a DC source input).
Choi and Jun do not explicitly teach with galvanic isolation.
Khaligh teaches galvanic isolation (defined in paragraphs [0004] discloses wherein converters may be galvanically isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi and Jun reference with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so power density may be increased while reducing the cost of onboard power systems.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0010] wherein increasing power density and reducing cost is taught.
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the staged circuit of claim 1, wherein the staged circuit is configured to be an interleaved boost converter for DC source input (paragraphs [0053] - [0055] discloses wherein an interleaved boost converter is implemented for DC source input)
Choi and Jun do not explicitly teach without galvanic isolation.
Khaligh teaches galvanic isolation (paragraphs [0243] converters may not require galvanically isolation or are integrated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi, Jun reference with the charging system of the Smolenaers reference so that the electric vehicle and charging station may charge and discharge energy simultaneously and act in multiple modes efficiently.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Smolenaers reference in paragraph [0005] wherein operating in multiple modes simultaneously is taught.
Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Jun teaches Means for transforming the multi-functional magnet of claim 10 to a 4-winding coupled inductor (Jun figure 1 shows a multifunctional magnet as a 4-winding coupled inductor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi reference with the charging system of the Jun reference so that the charging device may perform a charging operation with high charging efficiency according to a wide range of input sources.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jun reference in paragraph [0027] wherein a high charging efficiency is taught.
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches Means for controlling the AC to DC converter of claim 1 with the staged circuit of claim 1 (figure 1 item 100 and paragraph [0054] shows a controller 100 which controls the staged circuit items 21-23 with switching elements S1-S6).
Claims 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20260109244) in view of Jun (US 20220410740) in further view of Khaligh (US 20180222333) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Smoelnaers (US 20220402390).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the converter of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the LLC resonant DC to DC converter comprises resonant tank, multi-functional magnet, MOSFET power switches, and relays.
Jun teaches wherein the LLC resonant DC to DC converter comprises multi-functional magnet (figure 1 wherein a multi-functional magnet is interpreted as a transformer item TR1) MOSFET power switches (figure 1 items T1-T8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi reference with the charging system of the Jun reference so that the charging device may perform a charging operation with high charging efficiency according to a wide range of input sources.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jun reference in paragraph [0027] wherein a high charging efficiency is taught.
Choi in view of Jun does not explicitly teach wherein the LLC resonant DC to DC converter comprises resonant tank and relays.
Smolenaers teaches wherein the LLC resonant DC to DC converter comprises resonant tank and relays (figure 20 and paragraph [0302] discloses wherein the converter maybe a resonant tank. Figure 20 includes relays 612 and 613 connected with the LLC resonant circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi and Jun reference with the charging system of the Smolenaers reference so that the electric vehicle and charging station may charge and discharge energy simultaneously and act in multiple modes efficiently.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Smolenaers reference in paragraph [0005] wherein operating in multiple modes simultaneously is taught.
Smoelnaers shows a multi-source onboard charging system
Regarding claim 11, Choi in view of Jun teaches the LLC resonant DC to DC converter of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach with means for bypassing the multi-functional magnet of claim 10.
Smolenaers teaches wherein means for bypassing the multi-functional magnet of claim 10 (paragraphs [0117] and [0165] – [0166] teach bypass functionality of bypassing a multi-functional magnet, interpreted as a transformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional charging system of the Choi and Jun reference with the charging system of the Smolenaers reference so that the electric vehicle and charging station may charge and discharge energy simultaneously and act in multiple modes efficiently.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Smolenaers reference in paragraph [0005] wherein operating in multiple modes simultaneously is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20200062138 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20190165591 A1 Vehicle-To-Vehicle Fast Energy Sharing Kisacikoglu; Mithat Et Al.
Us 20210155100 A1 Bi-Directional Charging Khaligh; Alireza Et Al.
Us 20220402390 A1 A Multimodal Converter Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20220006390 A1 Isolated Multi-Phase Dc/Dc Converter Kim; Jong Woo Et Al.
Us 20230202320 A1 On-Board Charger Facanha De Oliveira; Eduardo
Us 20250079843 A1 Vehicle To Load Inverter Module Nguyen; Minh-Khai Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859