DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shepherd (US 2,900,892).
In re Claims 1 and 17, Shepherd discloses a ventilation system (figs 1 – 5) comprising:
a base unit (fig 2: (10), annotated, below) having a mounting platform (as seen in figs 1 - 3) for connecting the base unit to a surface (12) having a surface opening (14), the base unit having a base collar (30/38) extending away from the mounting platform, the base collar forming a perimeter of a base opening through the base unit that corresponds to the surface opening;
a fan unit (as seen in fig. 3) comprising a fan housing (48) and a fan (26), the fan housing configured to receive air through an inlet and expel the air through an outlet (col 4, lns 50 – 60), the fan capable of connecting to a power source (apparent) that enables the fan to move the air from the inlet to the outlet; and
a connection interface ((78/slot in 44), col 5, lns 43 – 53) having a base feature (“slots” in (44)) and a fan housing feature (78), the base feature integrated into the base unit (10), the fan housing feature (78) integrated (“pivotally mounted”) into the fan unit, the base feature and the fan housing feature capable of detachably connecting together to secure the fan unit to the base unit (col 5, lns 49 – 53);
wherein the connection interface (78/slot in 44) is a quick connect interface (a “wingnut” has been understood to be a quick connect interface, as no tools are required for its use.)1.
Regarding “the fan housing feature integrated into the fan unit”, in that Shepherd discloses “Instead of holes 46, it will of course be apparent that wing nuts 78 could be pivotally mounted on hood 48 to swing into and out of outwardly opening slots in horizontal ears 44”, it has been understood that the fan housing feature (78) is integrated into the fan unit
In re Claim 2, Shepherd discloses wherein the base feature (“slots” in (44): col 5, lns 52 – 53) is mounted to the base collar (30/38).
In re Claim 3, Shepherd discloses wherein the base collar (30/38) further comprises a flange (34/40) around the base collar at an opposite end of the base collar from the mounting platform (col 3, lns 37 - 47); and the base feature (“slots” in (44)) is mounted to the flange.
In re Claim 12, the system of Shepherd has been discussed (In re Claim 1, above), wherein the fan housing (48) comprises a fan housing base (38/40) and the fan housing feature (78) is integrated in the fan housing base (as seen in fig 2) (col 3, lns 34 – 51; col 5, lns 43 – 53: the fan housing feature 78 swings into and out of slots in element 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 4 – 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Shepherd (US 2,900,892).
In re Claims 4 and 6, the system of Shepherd has been discussed, wherein:
the base feature (“slots” in (44)) further comprises a receptacle, capable of receiving a detent, in the base collar, and
the fan housing feature (78) of the connection interface further comprises a detent extending from the fan housing towards the mounting platform.
Accordingly Shepherd lacks wherein:
the base feature further comprises a detent extending from the base collar away from the mounting platform, and
the fan housing feature of the connection interface further comprises a receptacle capable of receiving the base feature of the connection interface
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the known elements of a detent in a housing feature and a receptacle in a base feature in a configuration recognized as functionally equivalent, such that the system comprises a detent in a base feature and a receptacle in a housing feature, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Further, shifting the position of the detent would not modify the operation of the system.
The proposed system would yield wherein the base feature further comprises a detent extending from the base collar away from the mounting platform.
In re Claim 5, Shepherd discloses wherein the detent (fig 2: (78)) further comprises a detent body and a detent head (annotated, below), the detent head being larger than the detent body.
In re Claim 15, the system of Shepherd has been discussed (In re Claim 1, above) wherein the fan housing (48) further comprises an airflow diverter (54) for guiding the air from the inlet (14) to the outlet (col 3, ln 65 – col 4, ln 3, col 4, lns 53 – 60), the airflow diverter further (54) comprises an inner region and an outer region (as seen in fig 3), the inner region configured adjacent to the inlet (14), the outer region configured adjacent to the outlet (col 4, lns 69 – 75).
Regarding the limitation, “the airflow diverter configured to be ovoidal in shape”, while Shepherd does not explicitly state that the airflow diverter (54) positioned within the interior of the hood (48) together comprise a shape that is ovoidal2, when the section of the airflow diverter is seen in cross section it can be seen that such a shape is formed. Additionally, Shepherd states that “ the profile of my novel ventilator is so reduced in elevational area and in height that strong winds have much less tendency to loosen it from its fastenings on the roof” ( col 5, lns 14 – 16 ); it appears that a reduction in height would contribute to a more ovoidal shape when compared to a hood with a comparatively increased height, as seen above in the “hypothetical hood”.
Claims 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Shepherd (US 2,900,892), in view of Castello et al (GB 1270228).
In re Claim 7, the system of Shepherd has been discussed (In re Claim 6, above) wherein the receptacle (“slot”) defines an entry region (inherent), the entry region capable of receiving the base feature (78) (col 5, lns 49 – 53).
Shepherd lacks wherein the receptacle defines:
the entry region with a transition region, and a locking region,
the entry region capable of receiving the base feature, the transition region capable of guiding the base feature from entry region to the locking region, and the locking region capable of securing the base feature in the receptacle.
However, the technique of providing wherein a ventilation system comprises a connection interface that is a quick connect interface is known in the mechanical arts; provided as evidence is Castello et al.
Castello et al teaches a ventilation system, comprising a quick connect interface having a base unit (figs 3, 4: (26)) comprising a base feature (30), and a housing (figs 2, 5: (15)) comprising a receptacle feature (figs 2, 5: (19))3,
the base feature (figs 3, 4: detent (30)) integrated into a base unit (26), the base feature and the housing feature (fig 5: (19)) capable of detachably connecting together;
the base feature (30) is mounted to a base collar (28/29), the base collar further comprises a flange (28) around the base collar, and the base feature (30) is mounted to the flange (28)4;
the base feature (30) further comprises a detent (as seen in figs 2 – 4) extending from the base collar (28/29)5, the detent further comprises a detent body (30b) and a detent head (30a), the detent head being larger than the detent body6 (pg 3, lns 95 – 125);
the receptacle feature (figs 2, 5: receptacle (19)) of the connection interface is integrated into a housing (15) base, the receptacle feature of the connection interface further comprises a receptacle (as seen in figs 2, 5) capable of receiving the base feature of the connection interface7 (pg 3, lns 51 – 55, lns 107 – 125),
the receptacle defines an entry region (19a), a transition region (19a ↔ 19b), and a locking region (19b), the entry region capable of receiving the base feature (30), the transition region capable of guiding the base feature from entry region (19a) to the locking region (19b), and the locking region capable of securing the base feature in the receptacle8 (pg 3, lns 13 – 63).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shepherd, as taught by Castello et al, such that the receptacle defines:
an entry region, a transition region, and a locking region,
the entry region capable of receiving the base feature, the transition region capable of guiding the base feature from entry region to the locking region, and the locking region capable of securing the base feature in the receptacle,
for the benefit of providing a connection assembly whose detent head will engage and lock the base unit and the housing base together, reducing air leakage therebetween.
In re Claims 8 and 9, the proposed system has been discussed, wherein Castello et al teaches:
the base feature (30) further comprises an incline (on (30a): pg 3, lns 125 - 129) that guides the base feature (30) into the locking region (19a); wherein
the incline (on 30a) is oriented to pull the base unit (26) and the housing unit (15) together as the base feature moves into the locked region (pg 3, ln 125 – pg 4, ln 4).
Accordingly, Castello et al lacks wherein:
the transition region (19a ↔ 19b) further comprises the incline that guides the base feature into the locking region.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange known elements of a connection interface, such as an incline, wherein a housing receptacle providing the incline, in lieu of a base unit providing the inline, the rearranged configuration recognized as functionally equivalent, the system comprises an incline that guides the base feature into the locking region of the housing feature, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Further, shifting the position of the detent would not modify the operation of the system.
The proposed system would yield wherein:
the transition region further comprises an incline that guides the base feature into the locking region
the incline is oriented to pull the base unit and the fan unit together as the base feature moves into the locked region.
In re Claim 10, the proposed system has been discussed (In re Claim 7, above), wherein Castello et al discloses the base feature of the connection interface further comprises a catch (locking teeth 30a’) configured to prevent the base feature from backing out of the locking region (19b) (pg 2, lns 63, 120 – 125) after passing a predetermined position.
Accordingly, Castello et al lacks wherein the fan housing feature of the connection interface further comprises a catch configured to prevent the base feature from backing out of the locking region after passing a predetermined position.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the known elements of a catch
from a base feature of a base unit,
to a housing feature of a housing unit,
in a configuration recognized as functionally equivalent, such that the system comprises an incline that guides the base feature into the locking region of the housing feature, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Further, shifting the position of the catch would not modify the operation of the system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Shepherd (US 2,900,892), in view of Boehling et al (US 2010/0304660).
In re Claim 11, the system of Shepherd has been discussed, but lacks wherein the fan unit further comprises one or more solar cells mounted on top of the fan housing and electrically connected to the fan; and the power source further comprises the one or more solar cells
Boehling et al teaches a ventilation system (fig 1: (11)) comprising a fan unit (13) and a fan housing (12) , wherein the fan unit further comprises one or more solar cells (23) mounted on top of the fan housing (12) and electrically (via (28)) connected to the fan (fig 2) [0012 – 0015]; and the power source further comprises the one or more solar cells (23).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shepherd, as taught by Boehling et al, such that the fan unit further comprises one or more solar cells mounted on top of the fan housing and electrically connected to the fan; and the power source further comprises the one or more solar cells, for the benefit of minimizing the cost of operation of the fan.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Shepherd (US 2,900,892), in view of Dufour (US 5,651,732).
In re Claims 13 and 14, the system of Shepherd has been discussed (In re Claim 1, above), but lacks wherein:
the base collar of the base unit further comprises a detachable riser, and
the base feature is mounted to the detachable riser.
However, the technique of providing wherein a ventilation system comprises a detachable riser is known in the mechanical arts; provided as evidence is Dufour.
Dufour teaches a leak-proof venting system (figs 2, 4: (25)), the system comprising:
a first duct length (1), the first duct length having a male end (3) and a female end (5), the male end defining a first male half (19), the female end defining a first female half (13/15)
a second duct length (1’), the second duct length having a male end (3’) and a female end (5’), the male end defining a second male half (19’), the female end defining a second female half (13’/15’)
the first male half (19) is coupled to the second female half (137/15’) by insertion and twisting of the male and female end together (col 3, Ins 17 — 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shepherd as taught by Dufour, such that the system comprises:
the base collar of the base unit further comprises a detachable riser,
the base feature is mounted to the detachable riser.
thereby extending the linear dimension (distance) of the ventilation system with connection fittings (col 2, Ins 31, 32), for the benefit of a system customization without requiring tools, such that the system elements can be safely coupled/uncoupled and modified to accommodate the installed conditions.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Shepherd (US 2,900,892), in view of Stauter et al (US 2017/0102007).
In re Claim 16, the system of Shepherd has been discussed (In re Claim 1, above), but lacks wherein the airflow diverter further comprises one or more vanes for directing the air from the inlet to the outlet. However, such a technique is known in the airflow arts as evidenced by Stauter et al.
Stauter et al teaches a fan assembly (figs 5 – 7: (26)) comprising a fan (74/79), a fan housing (81), a fan housing base (77), fasteners [0048], and an airflow diverter (83), wherein the airflow diverter further comprises one or more vanes (86) [0050] for directing the air from an inlet (82) to an outlet (88).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Shepherd as taught by Stauter et al, such that the system comprises vanes for directing the air from an inlet to an outlet, for the benefit of transforming swirl kinetic energy in the airflow into static pressure rises across the outlet guide vanes [0051], to improve fan motor efficiency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,744. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as seen in the table below.
Application 18/375541.
U.S. Patent No. 11,788,744
Claim 1 is unpatentable over…
Claim 1, which recites the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Claim 1 of ‘744 includes the limitations of claim 12 of the instant application (a fan housing base and quick connect interfacing) and the limitations of claim 17 of the instant application (quick connect interface, which is a type of “connection”)
Claims 2 – 11 and 12; and Claims 13 - 16 are unpatentable over…
Claims 3 – 5, 11, 12, 14, 15, 13, 2, and 1; and Claims 7 - 10
Claim 17, dependent from claim 1, is unpatentable over …
Claim 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
An example of such pertinent prior art includes Schreiber (US 2011/0219953) who discloses a ventilation system (200) comprising:
a quick connect interface [0020 – 0022] having a base feature (306) and a housing feature (302), the base feature and the housing feature capable of detachably connecting together to secure elements of the ventilation system;
the base feature comprises a base collar (as seen in figs 3, 4), the base collar further comprises a flange around the base collar and the base feature is mounted to the flange;
the base feature (306) further comprises a detent (314) extending from the base collar;
the housing feature (302) of the quick connect interface further comprises a receptacle (308) capable of receiving the base feature (306) of the quick connect interface, the receptacle defines an entry region (310), a transition region, and a locking region (312), the entry region capable of receiving the base feature [0020], the transition region capable of guiding the base feature from entry region to the locking region, and the locking region capable of securing the base feature in the receptacle (308).
An example of such pertinent prior art includes Whitehead (US 2018/0216845) who discloses a ventilation system (figs 1 – 10 : (100)) comprising a plurality of separable components, the separable components comprising a housing (110), a base unit (105) and raised flange (200), a first riser (300), and a second riser (700),
any attachment means (e.g., male to female connections, bayonet connections, snaps, or the like) may be utilized by the ventilation system in order for the base unit (105) to receive a removable riser (300, 700). [0036]
each separable component may be defined to connect to one another via a snapping connection. By way of example, a bottom rim of a second separable component may be dimensioned such that the third separable component may partially be inserted into the second separable component and snap into a locked position. Such a snapping connection may also restrict movement of connected separable components. [0054]
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you are a Pro Se inventor and would like assistance, please all the Pro Se assistance center at 866.767.3848. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, please call 800.786.9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571.272.1000.
/Frances F Hamilton/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 Claim 17
2 [0136]
3 While these are the limitations of claim 6, Castello et al has not been relied upon to teach these features but have been included for mapping clarity.
4 While these are the limitations of claim 3, Castello et al has not been relied upon to teach these features, but have been included for mapping clarity.
5 While these are the limitations of claim 4, Castello et al has not been relied upon to teach these features, but have been included for mapping clarity.
6 While these are the limitations of claim 5, Castello et al has not been relied upon to teach these features but have been included for mapping clarity.
7 claim 6
8 claim 7