DETAILED ACTIONStatus of the Claims
This office action is in response to communication(s) filed on 01/20/2026.
Claims 1-6, 11, 13-19, and 23-24 have been amended.
Claims 8-10 and 20-22 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 23-24 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
The non-statutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-7, 11-19, and 23-24 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1, 13-19 and 23-24.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 2-6 and 11 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 2-6 and 11.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 11-19, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadhav et al., U.S. Patent No 10,965,335 (hereinafter “Jadhav”) in view of Lu et al., U.S. Patent No 12,143,938 (hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jadhav teaches a method for adjusting time-averaged (TA) parameters of a transmitting (TX) power of a radio module, comprising:
interacting with at least one other radio module in order to receive at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Col. 7, Lines 29-67, Col.8, Lines 1-9, Block 301, receive updated power utilization data from one or more RF emitting components; Col. 8, Lines 55-67, Col. 9, Lines 1-2, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, elements 401a and 401b, real-time power utilization data samples collected in block 301; Col. 17, Lines 7-63, Col. 18, Lines 50-58, Fig. 8, mobile device 802, capable of communication with another computing device; device 804 may be any suitable type of computing device capable of communication with another computing device[e.g., user device 802]);
determining a scenario of the TX power of the radio module at least according to the at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Col. 8, Lines 29-37, Block 302, transmission data received from the components 230, stored as RF emission limits and/or power utilization limits 240; Col. 8, Lines 55-67, Col. 9, Lines 1-2, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, elements 402a and 402b, time-averaged power utilization data generated in block 302);
determining whether the scenario is different from a predetermined scenario of the TX power of the radio module (Col. 10, Lines 18-30, Block 303, compare time-averaged power utilization to threshold[s]; Col. 11, Lines 35-67, Col. 12, Lines 1-30, Fig. 4B, thresholds 403b and 404b, Block 304, modify component power utilization, predetermined optimization mode); and
in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario (Col. 12, Lines 14-41, Block 305, Retrieve optimization mode/determine power utilization adjustments; Col. 12, Lines 42-67, Col. 13, Lines 1-51, Block 501, determine mobile device components for power utilization modification, Block 502, select antennas within components for power utilization modification, Block 503, retrieve optimization mode and/or configuration setting for dynamic power adjustments, Block 504, determine component/antenna power utilization modification, Block 505, modifications determined in block 504 may be implemented);
wherein the method is performed by a circuit comprised in the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 16, Lines 4-44, user device; Col. 19, Lines 31-45, circuits, logic modules, processors, and/or other components configured to perform various operations described herein).
Jadhav fails to fully teach the limitation:
determining a scenario of the TX power of the radio module according to the at least one message of the at least one other radio module;
However, Lu further teaches the limitation:
determining a scenario of the TX power of the radio module according to the at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Col. 16, Lines 19-25, RF exposure is measured using different metrics for the first technology and the second technology [e.g., SAR for the first technology and PD for the second technology]);
Although Jadhav addresses the remaining limitations of claim 1, Lu also demonstrates the following limitations of a method for adjusting time-averaged (TA) parameters of a transmitting (TX) power of a radio module, comprising: interacting with at least one other radio module in order to receive at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Lu, Col. 20, Lines 31-56, Block 602, patterns; Col. 21, Lines 39-46; Col. 32, Lines 62-67, Col. 33, Lines 1-21, transmission type or priority patterns);
determining a scenario of the TX power of the radio module at least according to the at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Lu, Col. 9, Lines 42-45, Fig. 2, UE 120a, communication with another wireless device, BS 110a can be an example of another UE 120; Col. 20, Lines 57-67, Col. 21, Lines 1-2, Block 604, transmission mode, transmit power; Col. 21, Lines 3-7, store/retrieve the pattern for determining the transmit power at block 604; Col. 45, Lines 53-59, wireless device may be in communication with another wireless device that is not a network entity);
determining whether the scenario is different from a predetermined scenario of the TX power of the radio module (Lu, Col. 16, Lines 19-47, maximum power level, RF exposure limit); and
in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario (Lu, Col. 21, Lines 33-48, Block 606, determined transmit power, UE may transmit to another UE);
wherein the method is performed by a circuit comprised in the radio module (Lu, Col. 45, Lines 50-67, Col. 46, Lines 1-54, Fig. 12, communications device, processing system 1202, circuitry 1228).
Lu and Jadhav are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transmission power control within wireless communication networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jadhav to incorporate the teachings of Lu for determining a scenario of the TX power of the radio module according to the at least one message of the at least one other radio module or the at least one message of the radio module. Doing so would broaden capabilities of managing RF compliance through the incorporation of the normalized average power density limit within the total exposure ratio.
Regarding Claim 2, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario comprises:
adjusting the TA parameters to increase or decrease a TX power variation of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, transmission power level adjustments up or down; duty cycle adjustments up or down; Lu, Col. 41, Lines 10-24. the transmit power may be adjusted [e.g., increased or decreased] while the signal is being transmitted to ensure compliance with the RF exposure limit).
Regarding Claim 3, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario comprises:
adjusting the TA parameters to increase or decrease a maximum instantaneous TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, transmission power level adjustments; Lu, Col. 22, Lines 32-57, determined potential instantaneous transmit power).
Regarding Claim 4, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario comprises:
adjusting the TA parameters to increase or decrease a range of a backoff TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, transmission power level adjustments; Lu, Col. 18, Lines 27-46, P.sub.reserve; Col. 43, Lines 55-64, increase or decrease reserve power).
Regarding Claim 5, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario comprises:
adjusting the TA parameters to increase or decrease a range of a time window of the TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 6, Lines 50-55, configuration parameters, the length of time window and/or of the time increments at which the time-averaged power utilization data is updated; Lu, Col. 40, Lines 11-45, transmit time).
Regarding Claim 6, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjusting the TA parameters according to the scenario comprises:
adjusting the TA parameters to increase or decrease a number of power levels of the TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-48, updated transmission power levels; Lu, Col. 5, Lines 22-36; Col. 25, Lines 35-62p Col. 44, Lines 61-67, Col. 45, Lines 1-5, Fig. 11A-11C, transmit powers over time, dynamic reserve power).
Regarding Claim 7, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a switching mode of multiple power levels of the TX power of the radio module according to the scenario; and controlling the TX power of the radio module according to the switching mode (Jadhav, Col. 6, Lines 14-59, various optimization modes and/or a set of configuration parameters to customize the power utilization control functionality; Col. 13, Lines 7-35, Block 503, retrieve optimization mode and/or configuration setting for dynamic power adjustments; Block 504, determine component/antenna power utilization modification; Lu, Col. 17, Lines 51-57, time-averaging of RF exposure; Col. 20, Lines 57-67, Col. 21, Lines 1-2, Block 604, transmission mode, transmit power; Col. 21, Lines 3-32, Figs. 5A, 5C, store/retrieve the pattern for determining the transmit power at block 604, transmission mode, transmit power).
Regarding Claim 11, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 7, wherein controlling the TX power of the radio module according to the switching mode comprises:
controlling the TX power of the radio module to any of the multiple power levels (Jadhav, Col. 6, Lines 14-59, various optimization modes and/or a set of configuration parameters to customize the power utilization control functionality; Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, determine component/antenna power utilization modification; Lu, Col. 20, Lines 57-67, Col. 21, Lines 1-2, Block 604, transmission mode, transmit power; Col. 21, Lines 3-7, store/retrieve the pattern for determining the transmit power at block 604).
Regarding Claim 12, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining multiple power levels and a power state of the TX power of the radio module according to the scenario (Jadhav, Col. 12, Lines 13-20, Block 305 modifications; activating or deactivating a particular RF component; Col. 6, Lines 14-59, various optimization modes and/or a set of configuration parameters to customize the power utilization control functionality; Col. 13, Lines 36-43, Block 505, modifications determined in block 504 to the RF component[s] 230 may be implemented, thereby effectively modifying the power utilization of those components; Lu, Col. 21, Lines 33-34, Block 606, determined transmit power).
Regarding Claim 13, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches a radio module for adjusting time-averaged (TA) parameters of a transmitting (TX) power of the radio module, wherein the radio module (Jadhav Col. 4, Lines 31-46, Fig. 1, RF-emitting components, radio transceiver[s]; Lu, Col. 4, Lines 58-67; Col. 5, Lines 1-5; Col. 9, Lines 52-64, Fig. 3, RF transceiver circuit 300) comprises a circuit (Jadhav, Col. 16, Lines 4-44, user device; Col. 19, Lines 31-45, circuit; Lu, Col. 45, Lines 50-67, Col. 46, Lines 1-54, Fig. 12, communications device, processing system 1202, circuitry 1228), and the circuit is arranged to:
interact with at least one other radio module in order to receive at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Jadhav, Col. 7, Lines 29-67, Col.8, Lines 1-9, Block 301; Col. 17, Lines 7-19, 43-63, Col. 18, Lines 50-58, capability of communication between mobile devices, Lu, Col. 20, Lines 31-56, Block 602; Lu, Col. 9, Lines 42-45, Col. 45, Lines 53-59, communication between wireless devices);
determine a scenario of the TX power of the radio module at least according to the at least one message of the at least one other radio module (Jadhav, Col. 8, Lines 29-37, Block 302; Lu, Col. 20, Lines 57-67, Col. 21, Lines 1-2, Block 604);
determine whether the scenario is different from a predetermined scenario of the TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 10, Lines 18-30, Block 303, Col. 11, Lines 65-67, Col. 12, Lines 1-30, Block 304; Lu, Col. 16, Lines 19-47, maximum power level, RF exposure limit); and
in response to the scenario being different from the predetermined scenario, adjust the TA parameters according to the scenario (Jadhav, Col. 12, Lines 14-41, Block 305; Lu, Col. 21, Lines 33-34, Block 606).
Regarding Claim 14, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is arranged to adjust the TA parameters to increase or decrease a TX power variation of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, transmission power level adjustments up or down; duty cycle adjustments up or down; Lu, Col. 41, Lines 10-24. the transmit power may be adjusted [e.g., increased or decreased] while the signal is being transmitted to ensure compliance with the RF exposure limit).
Regarding Claim 15, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is arranged to adjust the TA parameters to increase or decrease a maximum instantaneous TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, transmission power level adjustments up or down; Lu, Col. 22, Lines 32-57, determined potential instantaneous transmit power).
Regarding Claim 16, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is arranged to adjust the TA parameters to increase or decrease a range of a backoff TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, transmission power level adjustments; Lu, Col. 18, Lines 27-46, P.sub.reserve; Col. 43, Lines 55-64, increase or decrease reserve power).
Regarding Claim 17, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is arranged to adjust the TA parameters to increase or decrease a range of a time window of the TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 6, Lines 50-55, configuration parameters, the length of time window and/or of the time increments at which the time-averaged power utilization data is updated; Lu, Col. 40, Lines 11-45, transmit time).
Regarding Claim 18, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is arranged to adjust the TA parameters to increase or decrease a number of power levels of the TX power of the radio module (Jadhav, Col. 13, Lines 20-48, updated transmission power levels; Lu, Col. 5, Lines 22-36; Col. 25, Lines 35-62p Col. 44, Lines 61-67, Col. 45, Lines 1-5, Fig. 11A-11C, transmit powers over time, dynamic reserve power).
Regarding Claim 19, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is further arranged to determine a switching mode of multiple power levels of the TX power of the radio module according to the scenario, and control the TX power of the radio module according to the switching mode (Jadhav, Col. 6, Lines 14-59, various optimization modes and/or a set of configuration parameters to customize the power utilization control functionality; Col. 13, Lines 7-35, Block 503, retrieve optimization mode and/or configuration setting for dynamic power adjustments; Block 504, determine component/antenna power utilization modification; Lu, Col. 17, Lines 51-57, time-averaging of RF exposure; Col. 20, Lines 57-67, Col. 21, Lines 1-2, Block 604, transmission mode, transmit power; Col. 21, Lines 3-32, Figs. 5A, 5C, store/retrieve the pattern for determining the transmit power at block 604, transmission mode, transmit power).
Regarding Claim 23, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 19, wherein the circuit is further arranged to control the TX power of the radio module to any of the multiple power levels (Jadhav, Col. 6, Lines 14-59, various optimization modes and/or a set of configuration parameters to customize the power utilization control functionality; Col. 13, Lines 20-35, Block 504, determine component/antenna power utilization modification; Lu, Col. 20, Lines 57-67, Col. 21, Lines 1-2, Block 604, transmission mode, transmit power; Col. 21, Lines 3-7, store/retrieve the pattern for determining the transmit power at block 604).
Regarding Claim 24, Jadhav in view of Lu teaches the radio module of claim 13, wherein the circuit is further arranged to determine multiple power levels and a power state of the TX power of the radio module according to the scenario (Jadhav, Col. 12, Lines 13-20, Block 305 modifications; activating or deactivating a particular RF component; Col. 6, Lines 14-59, various optimization modes and/or a set of configuration parameters to customize the power utilization control functionality; Col. 13, Lines 36-43, Block 505, modifications determined in block 504 to the RF component[s] 230 may be implemented, thereby effectively modifying the power utilization of those components; Lu, Col. 21, Lines 33-34, Block 606, determined transmit power).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIELLE N DAI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2681
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 5/18/2026