DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN116230404A hereafter referred to as Fujian.
In regards to claim 1, Fujian discloses
A miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads, comprising:
a substrate (2 – fig. 2; [0056]);
a main capacitor body, disposed on the substrate, including a capacitor unit (4 – fig. 2; [0056]) and a packaging structure (1 & 3 – fig. 2; [0056]) wrapping the capacitor unit, a side surface of the packaging structure being in contact with the substrate (fig. 1-2);
a plurality of conductive members (7 & 8 – fig. 2; [0059]), penetrating individually through the substrate; and
a plurality of conductive leads (5 & 6 – fig. 2; [0058]), penetrating individually through the packaging structure, but not protruding from the side surface of the packaging structure (fig. 1-2), whereby the plurality of conductive leads are disposed between the capacitor unit, the packaging structure and the substrate, and the capacitor unit is connected with the plurality of conductive members via the plurality of conductive leads, the plurality of conductive leads being respectively bonded to the plurality of conductive members via a conductive glue ([0107-0108]).
In regards to claim 2, Fujian discloses
The miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of conductive members includes a first conductive pad, at least one through hole and a second conductive pad, the first conductive pad is disposed on an upper surface of the substrate, the second conductive pad is disposed on a lower surface of the substrate, and the first conductive pad is connected with the second conductive pad via the at least one through hole (fig. 2 & 6; [0094-0095]).
In regards to claim 3, Fujian discloses
The miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads of claim 1, wherein the plurality of conductive leads are wrapped by the capacitor unit, the packaging structure and the substrate (fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 5, Fujian discloses
The miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of conductive leads includes a bendable portion (51), a welding portion (52) and a wiring portion (53), the bendable portion is connected with the wiring portion via the welding portion, and the wiring portion and the corresponding conductive member are electrically connected (fig. 2 & 5; [0063-0064]).
In regards to claim 7, Fujian discloses
The miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads of claim 5, wherein the bendable portion, the welding portion and the wiring portion are all flat shaped (fig. 5 – lead is formed of flat plate shaped metal).
In regards to claim 9, Fujian discloses
The miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads of claim 1, wherein the packaging structure is made of an insulation material ([0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2024/0170225) in view of Fukase et al. (US 2015/0287670).
In regards to claim 1,
Chung ‘225 discloses a miniaturized capacitor having built-in conductive leads, comprising:
a substrate (20 U – fig. 4-5; [0019]);
a main capacitor body, disposed on the substrate, including a capacitor unit (70 – fig. 4-5; [0026]) and a packaging structure (60 – fig. 4-5; [0021]) wrapping the capacitor unit, a side surface of the packaging structure being in contact with the substrate (fig. 4-5);
a plurality of conductive members (29A/23A/23AI & 29C/23C/23CI – fig. 4-5; [0026]), penetrating individually through the substrate; and
a plurality of conductive terminals, penetrating individually through the packaging structure, but not protruding from the side surface of the packaging structure, whereby the plurality of conductive terminals are disposed between the capacitor unit, the packaging structure and the substrate, and the capacitor unit is connected with the plurality of conductive members via the plurality of conductive terminal. Chung ‘225 fails to disclose a plurality of conductive leads, penetrating individually through the packaging structure, but not protruding from the side surface of the packaging structure, whereby the plurality of conductive leads are disposed between the capacitor unit, the packaging structure and the substrate, and the capacitor unit is connected with the plurality of conductive members via the plurality of conductive leads, the plurality of conductive leads being respectively bonded to the plurality of conductive members via a conductive glue.
Fukase ‘670 discloses a plurality of conductive leads (39 – fig. 7; [0050]), penetrating individually through the packaging structure (5 – fig. 7; [0029]), but not protruding from the side surface of the packaging structure, whereby the plurality of conductive leads are disposed between the capacitor unit, the packaging structure and the substrate (1 – fig. 7; [0050]), and the capacitor unit (100 – fig. 7; [0050]) is connected with the plurality of conductive members (1 – fig. 7; ; [0050]) via the plurality of conductive leads, the plurality of conductive leads being respectively bonded to the plurality of conductive members via a conductive glue (4 – fig. 7; [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the leads of Fukase ‘670 with the capacitor of Chung ‘225 to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from stresses such as those caused by vibration.
In regards to claim 2,
Chung ‘225 as modified by Fukase ‘670 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of conductive members includes a first conductive pad (23A & 23C of Chung ‘225), at least one through hole (29A & 29C of Chung ‘225) and a second conductive pad (23AI & 23CI of Chung ‘225), the first conductive pad is disposed on an upper surface of the substrate, the second conductive pad is disposed on a lower surface of the substrate, and the first conductive pad is connected with the second conductive pad via the at least one through hole (fig. 5; [0026] of Chung ‘225).
In regards to claim 3,
Chung ‘225 as modified by Fukase ‘670 further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive leads are wrapped by the capacitor unit, the packaging structure and the substrate (fig. 4-5 of Chung ‘225 & fig. 7 of Fukase ‘670).
In regards to claim 4,
Chung ‘225 as modified by Fukase ‘670 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of conductive leads is L shaped (fig. 7 of Fukase ‘670).
In regards to claim 9,
Chung ‘225 as modified by Fukase ‘670 further discloses wherein the packaging structure is made of an insulation material ([0019-0021] of Chung ‘225).
In regards to claim 10,
Chung ‘225 as modified by Fukase ‘670 further discloses wherein the substrate is one of a printed circuit board and a flexible circuit board ([0019-0020] of Chung ‘225).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(S) 6, 8, & 11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the welding portion includes a connection area and a welding area connected with the connection area, and the wiring portion is welded onto the welding area (claim 6), wherein a thickness of the welding portion or the wiring portion is greater than that of the bendable portion (claim 8), wherein each of the plurality of conductive leads is in L-shape, a projection of each of the plurality of conductive leads onto the substrate is completely located within a projection of the capacitor unit onto the substrate, and an outer edge of the projection of each of the plurality of conductive leads onto the substrate does not overlap with an outer edge of the projection of the capacitor unit onto the substrate (claim 11).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848