Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 10/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-19, and 21 remain pending. Claims 5, 14, and 20 have been cancelled.
The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection made under 35 USC 112 in Non-Final Rejection mailed 07/22/2025 and that rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating modified grounds of rejection. Please see modified grounds of rejection below.
The Applicant argues the prior art does not teach all limitations since “there is no portion of the second supporting portions 2126 which support the second combining part 214 of Liu”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The second combining parts 214 of Liu are press/snap fit or adhesively bonded to the flange area of inlet 2121 and second supporting portions 2126, both of which extend obliquely below second combining parts 214, therefore there must be at least some upper surface of said flange and/or supporting portions which contact at least some lower surface of a respective one of the second combining parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-12, 15-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10563659 to Liu.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Liu discloses (in embodiment 4, Fig 9) a blower (see abstract) comprising:
a first axial fan (first fan 211, Fig 7, excluding and distinct from the flange area of inlet 2121 and second supporting portions 2126, Fig 6);
a second axial fan (second fan 212, Fig 7) located on one side in an axial direction with respect to the first axial fan (Fig 7);
a first current plate (second combining part 214; Figs 6-9) in which first hollow cells (second holes 2141, Figs 6/9), partitioned by a lattice-shaped first partition wall (walls of second combining part 214 defining second holes 2141, Figs 6/9) and penetrating in the axial direction (Figs 6-9), are two-dimensionally arranged (Figs 6-7/9); and
a holder (flange plate portion of second air outlet 2122, Fig 6 and unlabeled in Fig 8) that holds the first current plate (Figs 6/8);
wherein the first axial fan is connected in series with the second axial fan in the axial direction via the first current plate and the holder (Fig 8);
the holder includes a support portion (radially inner and outer surfaces of holder into which second combining part is press/snap fitted or bonded to, Fig 8) that includes openings (connecting space 2127, Fig 9) opened in the axial direction (Figs 6/8-9) and is located on one side in the axial direction of the first current plate (shown as extending axially downstream beyond second combining part 214, Fig 8);
rigidity of the support portion is higher than rigidity of the first current plate (holder made of same material as second combining part 214, Col 4 Lns 21-24, and shown has having both greater thickness and axial length than the walls of second combining part 214, Figs 6-8; i.e. second supporting portions 2126 must be more rigid than second combining part 214); and
the holder and the first current plate are each defined by separate non-integral structures (holder of Liu defined by the thicker and larger walls of flange portion of second air outlet 2122, Figs 6-9; second combining part 214 is press/snap fit or bonded into spaces 2127, Fig 9, Col 4 Lns 39-44) spaced apart and positioned such that a surface of the first current plate directly opposes a surface of the holder in a radial direction (there must be at least one surface of second combining part 214 radially facing the holder when installed into space 2127); and
the first axial fan and the first current plate are defined by separate non-integral spaced apart structures (second combining part is formed separately from the first axial fan and at least some structures of the first axial fan and the first current plate must be spaced apart in some way, Fig 9);
the first axial fan includes:
an impeller (first rotor blade unit 22, Figs 6/8-9) including a rotor blade (fan blades 222, Fig 6) rotatable about a central axis extending in the axial direction (axis of first shaft 221, Fig 6);
a motor that drives the impeller to rotate the rotor blade (unlabeled motor between first rotor blade unit 22 and housing of the first axial fan, and first base 2113; Fig 6);
a housing (housing of first axial fan 211 comprising first passage 2115, Fig 8) having a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and accommodating the impeller and the motor (Fig 8); and
a connecting portion (first supporting portions 2116, Fig 6) that connects the housing and the motor and supports the motor (Fig 6);
the holder further includes:
a base (second base 2123, Fig 6) that overlaps the motor when viewed from the axial direction (Fig 6); and
a holding tube portion (radially inner surface of housing radially aligned with base 2123 and second combining part 214, Figs 6-9) that has a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounds the base (Figs 6-9);
the support portion further includes support ribs (ribs of second supporting portions 2126, Figs 6-9) extending from a radially outer end of the base portion to the holding tube portion and arranged in a circumferential direction (Figs 6/8-9); and
at least a portion of radially outer ends of the support ribs is connected to a radially inner surface of the holding tube portion (Figs 6-7/9); and
the support portion is located axially below the first axial fan (Fig 8) and axially above the second axial fan (Fig 8), with an axially upper surface of the support portion contacting an axially lowermost surface of the first current plate (second combining parts 214 of Liu are press/snap fit or adhesively bonded to the flange area of inlet 2121 and second supporting portions 2126, both of which extend obliquely below second combining parts 214, therefore there must be at least some upper surface of said flange and/or supporting portions which contact at least some lower surface of a respective one of the second combining parts 214).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein an intake port of the second axial fan is connected to an exhaust port of the first axial fan via the first current plate and the support portion (Fig 8).
(c) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein at least some of the openings of the support portion have a shape extending in the axial direction (Figs 6/8).
(d) Regarding claim 4:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein the first current plate includes a honeycomb structure in which the first hollow cells each having a hexagonal shape when viewed from the axial direction are two-dimensionally arranged (Figs 6-7/9).
(e) Regarding claim 6:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein at least a portion of the first current plate has an annular shape (Figs 6-7/9), and is located between the base and the holding tube portion (Figs 6-9).
(f) Regarding claim 7:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein at least one of the support ribs extends in the radial direction from the base (Figs 6-7/9).
(g) Regarding claim 8:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein the connecting portion extends in one circumferential direction radially outward (first supporting portions 2116 shown to extend in a first circumferential direction and radially outward, Figs 6/9); and the support ribs extend toward another circumferential direction radially outward (second supporting portions 2126 shown to extend in a second circumferential direction and radially outward, Figs 6/9).
(h) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein a minimum opening area of the openings is equal to or larger than a maximum opening area of the first hollow cells of the first current plate when viewed from the axial direction (second combining part 214 enclosed entirely within second support portions 2126 thus the maximum opening area of the second combining part 214 must be less than a minimum opening area of the opening portions between second support portions 2126; Figs 6-9).
(i) Regarding claim 12:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein when viewed from the axial direction, an outer edge portion of the base overlaps an outer edge portion of another axial end of the motor (reasonably disclosed in Fig 6).
(j) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein the surface of the first current plate directly contacts the surface of the holder in the radial direction (radially outer wall surfaces of the first current plate directly attached to radially inner surfaces of the cylindrical portion of the holder, Figs 6-9).
(k) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein the first axial fan includes:
an impeller (first rotor blade unit 22, Figs 6/8-9) including a rotor blade (fan blade 222, Fig 6) rotatable about a central axis extending in the axial direction (first shaft 221, Fig 6);
a motor that drives the impeller to rotate the rotor blade (unlabeled motor between first rotor blade unit 22 and housing of the first axial fan, and first base 2113; Fig 6);
a housing (housing of first axial fan 211 comprising first passages 2115, Fig 8) having a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and accommodating the impeller and the motor (Fig 8); and
a connection portion (first and second supporting portions 2116/2126, Figs 6/8-9) that connects the housing and the motor and supports the motor (Figs 6/8-9); and
the connection portion is located directly axially above the first current plate while a portion of the support portion is located directly axially below the first current plate (Figs 8-9).
(l) Regarding claim 18:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein the first current plate includes portions which are overlapped by the support portion when the blower is viewed along the axial direction (at least some structures of the holder and first current plate must overlap when viewed along the axial direction in order to achieve a snap fit; Col 4 Lns 39-44).
(m) Regarding claim 19:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1.
(ii) Liu further discloses wherein the holder defines a recessed portion into which the first current plate is fitted (such a recessed portion must exist to achieve a snap fit of second combining part 214; Col 4 Lns 39-44), the recessed portion contacting radially inner, radially outer, and axially lower surfaces of the first current plate (second combining part 214 contacts radially inner and radially outer surfaces of the holder, Fig 8, and holder must contact at least some axially lower surface of second combining part 214 in order to achieve a snap fit, Col 4 Lns 39-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10563659 to Liu.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Liu discloses (in at least a third embodiment, Figs 6-8) a blower (see abstract) comprising:
a first axial fan (first fan 211, Fig 7);
a second axial fan (second fan 212, Fig 7, excluding and distinct from the flange area of inlet 2121 and second supporting portions 2126, Fig 6) located on one side in an axial direction with respect to the first axial fan (Fig 7);
a first current plate (second combining part 214 and portion of second supporting portions 2126 within the space in which second combining part 214 extends axially; Figs 6-9) in which first hollow cells (second holes 2141, Figs 6/9), partitioned by a lattice-shaped first partition wall (walls of second combining part 214 defining second holes 2141, Figs 6/9) and penetrating in the axial direction (Figs 6-9), are two-dimensionally arranged (Figs 6-7/9); and
a holder (flange plate portion of second air outlet 2122, Fig 6 and unlabeled in Fig 8) that holds the first current plate (Figs 6/8);
wherein the first axial fan is connected in series with the second axial fan in the axial direction via the first current plate and the holder (Fig 8);
the holder includes a support portion (portion of second supporting portions 2126 which is not within the space in which second combining part 214 extends axially, Fig 6 and unlabeled in Fig 8) that includes openings (gaps between second supporting portions 2126, Fig 6) opened in the axial direction (Figs 6/8) and is located on one side in the axial direction of the first current plate (shown as extending axially downstream beyond second combining part 214, Figs 6/8);
rigidity of the support portion is higher than rigidity of the first current plate (second supporting portions 2126 made of same material as second combining part 214, Col 4 Lns 21-24, and shown has having both greater thickness and axial length than the walls of second combining part 214, Figs 6-8); i.e. second supporting portions 2126 must be more rigid than second combining part 214); and
the holder and the first current plate are each defined by separate structures (holder of Liu defined by the thicker and larger walls of flange portion of second air outlet 2122 and supporting second supporting portions 2126, Figs 6-9; and the first current plate of Liu defined by the walls of second holes 2141, Figs 6-9) spaced apart (indicated by the length of arrows of annotated Fig 8 below) positioned such that a surface of the first current plate directly opposes a surface of the holder in a radial direction (Liu discloses wherein the first current plate has at least one surface which directly opposes a surface of the holder in a radial direction at any location along any radial line which intersects both adjacent surfaces of a second hole 2141 of second combining part 214 and a radially inward facing surface of either the flange section of second air outlet 2122 or a supporting portion 2126, which both extend in a circumferential direction, Figs 6-9; see also annotated Fig 8 below), and
the first axial fan and the first current plate are defined by separate non-integral spaced apart structure (second combining part 214 formed non-integrally to first fan 211 and is spaced apart from at least some structures of first fan 211, Fig 8);
the first axial fan includes:
an impeller (first rotor blade unit 22, Figs 6/8-9) including a rotor blade (fan blades 222, Fig 6) rotatable about a central axis extending in the axial direction (axis of first shaft 221, Fig 6);
a motor that drives the impeller to rotate the rotor blade (unlabeled motor between first rotor blade unit 22 and housing of the first axial fan, and first base 2113; Fig 6);
a housing (housing of first axial fan 211 comprising first passage 2115, Fig 8) having a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and accommodating the impeller and the motor (Fig 8); and
a connecting portion (first supporting portions 2116, Fig 6) that connects the housing and the motor and supports the motor (Fig 6);
the holder further includes:
a base (second base 2123, Fig 6) that overlaps the motor when viewed from the axial direction (Fig 6); and
a holding tube portion (radially inner surface of housing radially aligned with base 2123 and second combining part 214, Figs 6-9) that has a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounds the base (Figs 6-9);
the support portion further includes support ribs (ribs of second supporting portions 2126, Figs 6-9) extending from a radially outer end of the base portion to the holding tube portion and arranged in a circumferential direction (Figs 6/8-9); and
at least a portion of radially outer ends of the support ribs is connected to a radially inner surface of the holding tube portion (Figs 6-7/9); and
the support portion is located axially below the first axial fan (Fig 8) and axially above the second axial fan (Fig 8), with an axially upper surface of the support portion contacting an axially lowermost surface of the first current plate (second combining parts 214 of Liu are press/snap fit or adhesively bonded to the flange area of inlet 2121 and second supporting portions 2126, both of which extend obliquely below second combining parts 214, therefore there must be at least some upper surface of said flange and/or supporting portions which contact at least some lower surface of a respective one of the second combining parts 214).
(ii) Liu does not disclose wherein the separate structures of the holder and first current plate are non-integral.
(iii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the separate structures of the holder and the first current plate to be non-integrally formed as merely making integral structures separable supports a prima facie finding of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
(b) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Liu teaches the blower according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 above).
(ii) Liu further teaches wherein the first current plate is defined by a monolithic annular structure which extends continuously about a circumference of a central axis of the first axial fan (see rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 above, Figs 6-8).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10563659 to Liu in view of DE 102004037361 to Pallanits (see machine translation in file wrapper).
(a) Regarding claim 9:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 above).
(ii) Liu further discloses:
wherein the first axial fan includes:
an impeller (first rotor blade unit 22, Figs 6/8-9) including a rotor blade (fan blade 222, Fig 6) rotatable about a central axis extending in the axial direction (first shaft 221, Fig 6); and
a motor that drives the impeller to rotate the rotor blade (unlabeled motor between first rotor blade unit 22 and housing of the first axial fan, and first base 2113; Fig 6);
the holder further includes:
a base (second base 2123, Fig 6) that overlaps the motor when viewed from the axial direction (Fig 6); and
a holding tube portion (radially inner surface of housing radially aligned with base 2123 and second combining part 214, Figs 6-9) that has a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounds the base portion (Figs 6-9);
the support portion further includes a second current plate (ribs of second supporting portions 2126, Figs 6-9) located between the base and the holding tube portion (Figs 6/8-9); and
the openings are second hollow cells of the second current plate (hollow cells between ribs of second supporting portions 2126, the base, and the housing; Figs 6-7/9),
the second hollow cells being partitioned by a second partition wall (ribs of second supporting portions 2126, Fig 6) and two-dimensionally arranged (Fig 6).
(ii) Liu does not disclose wherein the second partition wall is lattice-shaped.
(iii) Pallanits is also in the field of current plates (grid-like structure 2 of cover plate 1) and teaches:
a first cover plate (lattice structure of hexagonal openings 6, Figs 3/4g) comprising first hollow cells having a hexagonal shape (pattern 11, Fig 3; Fig 4g), and
a holder comprising a holding tube portion (shadow gap ring 8, Fig 3), a base (center of grid structure, Fig 3), and a support portion (reinforcing structure 7, Figs 3/4g),
wherein the support portion further includes a second current plate of openings (gaps between ribs of reinforcing structure 7, Figs 3/4g), the openings are hollow cells of the second current plate (cells of grid structure formed by reinforcing structure 7, Figs 3/4g),
the second hollow cells being partitioned by a lattice-shaped second partition wall (ribs of reinforcing structure 7 shown as having a hexagonal lattice shape, Figs 3/4g) and two dimensionally arranged (Figs 3/4g).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second partition wall as disclosed by Liu with the lattice shape as taught by Pallanits for the purpose of achieving a high opening ratio (Par 0056) thereby reducing a required volume of the second current plate (Par 0004) and reducing waste (Par 0017).
(b) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Liu as modified by Pallanits teaches the blower according to claim 9.
(ii) Pallanits further teaches wherein the second current plate has a honeycomb structure (Figs 3/4g) in which the second hollow cells each having a hexagonal shape when viewed from the axial direction are two-dimensionally arranged (Figs 3/4g).
Claim(s) 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10563659 to Liu in view of US 20110273038 to Naman.
(a) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Liu discloses the blower according to claim 5.
(ii) Liu does not disclose a lock provided on one of the base and the motor, and is locked to another one of the base and the motor.
(iii) Naman is also in the field of fans (see abstract) and teaches a motor (motor ring 42) and a base (splash shield 26) and a lock provided on one of the base and the motor, and is locked to another one of the base and the motor (resilient projections formed on splash shield 26 engaged with mounting portions 46 of the motor ring 42 creating a snap fit, Par 0018).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base and/or the motor with a lock as taught by Naman for the purpose of securing the position of the base portion relative to the motor (Par 0018).
(b) Regarding claim 21:
(i) Liu as modified by Naman teaches the blower according to claim 13.
(ii) Liu as modified by Naman further teaches wherein the first current plate is in radial contact with a surface of the lock (base of Liu modified with resilient projections about its radially outer periphery as taught by Naman, Par 0018, Fig 3; second combining part 214 contacts radially outer periphery of second base 2123, Figs 8-9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathaniel Wiehe can be reached at (571) 272-8648. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745