DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims, 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathjen Publication No. 2013/0085483 (hereinafter “Rathjen”) in view of Teuma et al., Pub. No. 2017/0290703 (hereinafter “Teuma”).
Regarding claim 1, Rathjen discloses an ophthalmological apparatus for treatment of tissue of an eye, the apparatus comprising: a base station 2 with a treatment light source 21 (laser source) arranged in the base station 2 and generating light pulses; a support arm 3 mounted on the base station; an application head 4 mounted on the support arm 3 and can be placed onto an eye and has a light projector for focused projection of the light pulses to eye tissue (see the abstract, Fig. 1 and pars. 0003, 0006, 0037); an ophthalmological patient interface comprising a coupling portion and an eye fixation portion configured to be arranged on the eye for fixation a portion of the eye (Rathjen teaches [“Although this is not shown in the figures, … the application head 4 comprises a contact body which can be placed onto the eye 6”]) comprising a coupling portion configured to be arranged on the application head 4 (Figs. 1-2). Rathjen further teaches the treatment light pulses are transmitted from the base station through an optical transmission system 22. However, he does not teach an opening configured to enable the treatment light from the application head to pass the interface and reach a target tissue of the eye. Teuma discloses various interface device, patient interfaces devices, ophthalmic laser systems and methods of interfacing optical and ophthalmic analysis, treatment and devices with human eye (see pars. 003, 0013,014]. Teuma further discloses an optical interface device defining an opening for an optical path delivering a laser beam to an eye (see the abstract, pars. 0016, 0018), wherein laser 1502 provides a laser beam 1510, along laser beam path 1510a, wherein the laser beam traveling along the laser beam path 1510a travels through the optic 1530 and the interface device 1507, and through the opening 1520 in the interface 1507 and enters the eye (par. 0124), the interface device for fixing on a human eye and operably connecting to an ophthalmic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time applicant’s invention was filed to modify Rathjen in view of Teuma to use employ a through opening extending through the interface/coupling portion and the eye fixation as an equivalent alternative mean for delivering treatment energy onto a target region of the eye as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, the laser treatment system further comprises optical mirrors arranged between the application head and the patient interface or within the ophthalmological patient interface as claimed (pars. 0006, 0009,13).
Regarding claim 3, the optical mirrors comprise at least one adjustable mirror configured to adjust a specific angle based on a position of the tissue of the eye to be treated and the position of the ophthalmological patient interface on the sclera and cornea of the eye ( Fig. 9b, 0050,0052, 53).
Regarding claim 4, the ophthalmological laser treatment system further comprises an optical viewing, imaging and/or measuring modules 5 and 7 connected fixedly to the support arm 3 (Figs. 1, 8 and pars. 0036, 0041) or camera or surgical microscope (par. 0006).
Regarding claim 5, the ophthalmological laser treatment system further comprises optical path q from deflecting mirror49 and optical path r from the deflecting mirror 49 (Fig. 9b, pars. 0052).
Claims 9, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathjen in view of Teuma as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Rill et al., Pub. No. US 2017/0340483 (hereinafter “Rill”).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Rathjen does not teach at least a partially a coupling liquid, wherein at least one of the cornea or sclera contacting element comprises a sealing configured to seal at least partially between the surface of the eye and the ophthalmological patient interface applied to the eye. Rill teaches an alternative laser system for eye surgery, the system comprising a patient interface 600 containing a contact element 6610, which is designed as a liquid interface configured to seal at least partially between the surface of the eye (i.e., cornea or sclera) and the ophthalmological patient interface, wherein the at least cornea or sclera contacting element comprised protrusions as claimed (pars. 0289 and Figs. 18-19b).
Rill further teaches the contact element 610 is on- piece manufactured from a uniform transparent material and containing a suction ring 612 and an optical element620 in which all the functional elements are functionally integrated, thereby allowing a simpler handling than multi-components contact elements which are only assembled on the patient’s eye. Further, the use of an eye interface comprising a suction ring for stabilizing a patient’s eye during ophthalmic surgery is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to of one ordinary skill the time applicant’s invention was filed to modify Rathjen in view of Rill to use a one-piece contact element including a liquid interface in which all the functional elements are integrated as Rill described as an equivalent alternative means for delivering treatment energy onto a target region of the patient’s eye as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, examiner takes an official notice that it’s known in the art the use of a applanation lens/flat lens comprising a flat contact surface which forms part of rotationally asymmetric contact surface and configured to conform the corneal or the sclera of the eye. It would have been obvious the time applicant’s invention was filed to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rathjen and use an applanation lens comprising a flat surface that forms part of the rotationally asymmetric as an alternative contact surface adapted to conform the sclera of the eye as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 11, 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/AHMED M FARAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792