DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wedenberg et al. (US 20220296925).
Regarding claim 1, Wedenberg teaches a treatment planning system configured to create a treatment planning for radiotherapy, the treatment planning system comprising:
a memory 110 configured to store a plurality of calculation models (para 45); and
a processing device 120 configured to calculate calculation values of biological effect (biological endpoint) indices representing an effect of radiotherapy with respect to a condition for the radiotherapy using at least two of the plurality of calculation models (first radiobiological model and second radiobiological model, para 43-44, 64-73), and
search for the condition so that at least two of the calculation values to be calculated approach a predetermined target value (para 55-56, 73-75).
Regarding claim 2, Wedenberg teaches the processing device searches for the condition using an objective function based on a difference between the calculation values and the target value (para 44-45).
Regarding claim 3, Wedenberg teaches the objective function is a function that weights the difference between the calculation values and the target value by a weight specified for the at least two calculation models so as to add the weight to the difference (para 45-46).
Regarding claim 4, Wedenberg teaches the processing device searches for the condition so as to minimize a value of the objective function (para 43, 55).
Regarding claim 5, Wedenberg teaches the processing device calculates the biological effect indices for a target region to be irradiated with radiation and/or a risk region not to be irradiated with the radiation in radiotherapy (60-62).
Regarding claim 6, Wedenberg teaches the biological effect indices are a tumor control probability of the target region and a normal tissue complication probability of the risk region (para 118).
Regarding claim 7, Wedenberg teaches the condition includes a number of times that fractionated irradiation is performed and an irradiation dose to each spot in spot scanning irradiation (para 118-119).
Regarding claim 8, Wedenberg teaches a display device 150, wherein the processing device displays, on the display device, a management screen indicating information regarding the at least two calculation models used for calculation of the biological effect indices (para 60-61).
Regarding claim 9, Wedenberg teaches the processing device displays 150, on the display device, a selection screen that enables selection of a calculation model that is among the plurality of calculation models stored in the memory and is to be used for the calculation of the biological effect indices (para 60-61).
Regarding claim 10, Wedenberg teaches a display device 150, wherein the processing device displays, on the display device, a management screen indicating information regarding the at least two calculation models used for calculation of the biological effect indices, in association with a region of interest for which the biological effect indices are calculated (para 60-61).
Regarding claim 11, Wedenberg teaches a treatment planning method for creating a treatment planning for radiotherapy by a treatment planning system including a processing device and a memory, the treatment planning method comprising: causing the processing device to store a plurality of calculation models to the memory; causing the processing device to calculate calculation values of biological effect indices representing an effect of radiotherapy with respect to a condition for the radiotherapy using at least two of the plurality of calculation models; and causing the processing device to search for the condition so that at least two of the calculation values to be calculated approach a predetermined target value (43-45, 55-56 and 64-75).
Regarding claim 12, Wedenberg teaches a treatment planning program for creating a treatment planning for radiotherapy by a treatment planning system including a processing device and a memory, the treatment planning program causing the processing device to: store a plurality of calculation models to the memory; and calculate calculation values of biological effect indices representing an effect of radiotherapy with respect to a condition for the radiotherapy using at least two of the plurality of calculation models; and search for the condition so that at least two of the calculation values to be calculated approach a predetermined target value (43-45, 55-56 and 64-75).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20250090868).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a treatment planning system configured to create a treatment planning for radiotherapy, the treatment planning system comprising:
a memory 220 configured to store a plurality of calculation models (para 112); and
a processing device 210 configured to calculate calculation values of biological effect indices representing an effect of radiotherapy with respect to a condition for the radiotherapy using at least two of the plurality of calculation models (first model and second model, para 112-113), and
search for the condition so that at least two of the calculation values to be calculated approach a predetermined target value (para 117).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the processing device searches for the condition using an objective function based on a difference between the calculation values and the target value (para 117-118).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the objective function is a function that weights the difference between the calculation values and the target value by a weight specified for the at least two calculation models so as to add the weight to the difference (para 118).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the processing device searches for the condition so as to minimize a value of the objective function (para 118-119).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the processing device calculates the biological effect indices for a target region to be irradiated with radiation and/or a risk region not to be irradiated with the radiation in radiotherapy (para 118-119).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the biological effect indices are a tumor control probability of the target region and a normal tissue complication probability of the risk region (para 118).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the condition includes a number of times that fractionated irradiation is performed and an irradiation dose to each spot in spot scanning irradiation (para 118-119).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches a display device, wherein the processing device displays, on the display device, a management screen indicating information regarding the at least two calculation models used for calculation of the biological effect indices (para 121).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the processing device displays, on the display device, a selection screen that enables selection of a calculation model that is among the plurality of calculation models stored in the memory and is to be used for the calculation of the biological effect indices (para 121).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches a display device 320, wherein the processing device displays, on the display device, a management screen indicating information regarding the at least two calculation models used for calculation of the biological effect indices, in association with a region of interest for which the biological effect indices are calculated (para 121).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches a treatment planning method for creating a treatment planning for radiotherapy by a treatment planning system including a processing device and a memory, the treatment planning method comprising:
causing the processing device to store a plurality of calculation models to the memory; causing the processing device to calculate calculation values of biological effect indices representing an effect of radiotherapy with respect to a condition for the radiotherapy using at least two of the plurality of calculation models; and causing the processing device to search for the condition so that at least two of the calculation values to be calculated approach a predetermined target value (para 112-119).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches a treatment planning program for creating a treatment planning for radiotherapy by a treatment planning system including a processing device and a memory, the treatment planning program causing the processing device to: store a plurality of calculation models to the memory; and calculate calculation values of biological effect indices representing an effect of radiotherapy with respect to a condition for the radiotherapy using at least two of the plurality of calculation models; and search for the condition so that at least two of the calculation values to be calculated approach a predetermined target value (para 112-119).
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884