Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/07/2025, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Acknowledgements
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/17/2025 are acknowledged. Canceled Claims 2-3, 8, 19, newly added Claims 21-24, amended Claims 1, 4-6, 9 and 12-13 are acknowledged by the examiner. Accordingly, claims 1, 4-7, 9-18 and 20-24 are remain pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/17/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-18 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2014/0320663 A1), in view of McCutchen et al. (US Patent 7,627,235 B2) hereinafter Mccutchen.
Regarding Claim 1, Chien teaches an outdoor security device (fig.1-2; outdoor light with a camera), comprising: a housing comprising a hollow inner portion (fig.1-5; housing with light bulb inserting portion); a light coupled to the housing and located within the hollow inner portion (fig.1-2; Para.0038-0040; light bulb housing with hollow inner portion); a camera coupled to the housing (fig.1-2; Para.0038-0040; camera with light bulb housing), the camera configured to capture images within a field of view of the outdoor security device (fig.1-2; Para.0039; camera capturing images in the field of view); a microphone coupled to the housing (fig.1-2; Para.0044; lightbulb housing with a microphone).
Chien does not teach a lens coupled to the housing, wherein the lens is located between the camera and a top end of the housing;
McCutchen teaches a lens coupled to the housing, wherein the lens is located between the camera and a top end of the housing (fig.9; Col 3., lines 20-23 and Col 6, lines 38-50; lens 152 and camera 160);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chien to include a lens coupled to the housing, wherein the lens is located between the camera and a top end of the housing as taught by McCutchen to in order to provide extremely wide fields of view for camera (see background).
Regarding Claim 4, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device (fig.1-2; outdoor light with a camera) of Claim 1, further comprising a visual adjustment device coupled to the housing and located along the hollow inner portion of the housing adjacent the top end, wherein the visual adjustment device is aligned with the lens and the camera such that the visual adjustment device is configured to allow the camera to capture images within the field of view of the outdoor security device (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera with light bulb housing with lens to capture images).
Regarding Claim 5, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, wherein the lens is selected from a group consisting of a flat lens and a convex lens, and wherein the lens is configured to allow the camera to capture images within the field of view of the outdoor security device (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera with light bulb housing with lens to capture images).
Regarding Claim 6, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, further comprising a substantially clear portion coupled to the housing and located adjacent the top end (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0038-0040; camera with light bulb housing with clear portion).
Regarding Claim 7, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 6, wherein the camera is configured to capture images within a field of view of the outdoor security device through the substantially clear portion (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0038-0040; camera with light bulb housing capturing images).
Regarding Claim 9, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 21, wherein the microphone is a directional microphone (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera with light bulb housing with microphone).
Regarding Claim 10, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 9, wherein the directional microphone is configured to determine a location of a detected sound (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0038-0040; camera with light bulb housing).
Regarding Claim 11, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 10, wherein the camera is configured to perform a frame lock to capture an image associated with the detected sound (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera capturing image with sound detection).
Regarding Claim 12, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, wherein the microphone comprises a first port and a second port configured to determine a location of a detected sound (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera with light bulb housing with microphone with sound detection).
Regarding Claim 12, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, wherein the microphone is a first microphone, the outdoor security device further comprising a second microphone communicatively coupled to the camera, wherein the first microphone and the second microphone form a microphone system configured to determine a location of a detected sound (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera with light bulb housing with microphone with sound detection).
Regarding Claim 14, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, wherein the field of view is selected from a group consisting of a horizontal field of view of about 360-degrees, a vertical field of view that is less than or equal to about 220-degrees, and combinations thereof (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0039; camera with light bulb housing with field of view based motion).
Regarding Claim 15, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, further comprising a power cord electrically coupled to a component selected from a group consisting of the light, the camera, the microphone, and combinations thereof, and wherein the power cord is configured to receive power from an external power source (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0021; camera with light bulb with battery).
Regarding Claim 16, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, further comprising a battery electrically coupled to a component selected from a group consisting of the light, the camera, the microphone, and combinations thereof, wherein the battery is configured to provide power to the component (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0021; camera with light bulb with battery).
Regarding Claim 17, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 16, further comprising a power cord electrically coupled to the battery and configured to receive power from an external power source, wherein the battery is configured to be recharged via power received from the power cord (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0021; camera with light bulb with battery).
Regarding Claim 18, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, wherein the light is configured to illuminate and pulse in a strobing pattern selected from a group consisting of a single color, a plurality of colors, a single pulse rate, a plurality of pulse rates, and combinations thereof (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; LED light with color and brightness).
Regarding Claim 20, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 1, further comprising: a wireless communication module coupled to the housing (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0038-0040; camera with light bulb housing); and an antenna coupled to the housing and communicatively coupled to the wireless communication module (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0044; camera light bulb housing with wireless communication capacity).
Regarding Claim21, Chien in view of McCutchen teach same reason as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, Chien in view of McCutchen teach the outdoor security device of Claim 21, further comprising: a power cord electrically coupled to a component selected from a group consisting of a battery, the light, the camera, the microphone, and combinations thereof, and wherein the power cord is configured to receive power from an external power source (Chien: fig.1-2; Para.0045; camera with light bulb housing with power source connection).
Regarding Claim 23, Chien in view of McCutchen teach same reason as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 24, Chien in view of McCutchen teach same reason as Claim 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAYEZ A. BHUIYAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 2639
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638