Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 2nd, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. The applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome all objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 3rd, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the particular combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Nygaard US 20070194604 teaches the amended limitations.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation is: “mechanical fastening means” in claim 13. The specification defines “mechanical fastening means may include rivets, bolts, screws, brackets, clamps or the like” ([0028]).
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaringe et al. US 8641133 B1, in view of Hedderly US 20080169680 A1, and further in view of Nygaard US 20070194604 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Scaringe et al. disclose:
A vehicle body structure (100; Fig. 1a), comprising:
at least one unitary casting portion (300/400; Figs. 3a and 4), a cabin portion (see annotated Fig. 1a below; col. 6, lines 8-10), and at least one shield element (205/206; Fig. 2a),
the unitary casting portion being assembled with the cabin portion for absorbing overload energy during a crash (see annotated Fig. 1a), and
the at least one shield element being integrated into or mounted to the unitary casting portion between the unitary casting portion and the cabin portion (see annotated Fig. 1a; col. 10, lines 17-20 and lines 56-59).
Scaringe et al. do not disclose the unitary casting portion comprising several components integrally formed during a casting process, nor the shield element formed as a tension net to catch one or more deteriorated components of the unitary casting portion in a direction to the cabin portion caused by the crash.
However, Hedderly discloses a casting process by stating “at least some of the members of the set of [vehicle] body structure components may be provided as castings and may be provided with integral mating features. For example, the integral mating features may be cast as part of an associated body structure component, thereby providing a one-piece construction” (Hedderly 104/106; Hedderly Fig. 3; Hedderly [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the vehicle body structure of Scaringe et al. with the unitary casting portion comprising several components integrally formed as taught by Hedderly with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of reducing connective joint failures to provide additional structural integrity as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, Nygaard discloses a shield element formed as a tension net to catch one or more deteriorated components (Nygaard [0128]) of a unitary casting portion (Nygaard [0028]) in a direction to the cabin portion caused by the crash (Nygaard [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the vehicle body structure of Scaringe et al. with the tension net as taught by Nygaard with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of preventing debris, such as glass, from entering a cabin and striking a driver (Nygaard [0218]).
Regarding claim 2, Scaringe et al. do not disclose the unitary casting portion comprising a metal alloy material.
However, Hedderly does disclose this limitation by stating that “at least some of the members of the set of [cast] body structure components may be made of a magnesium alloy” (Hedderly [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the unitary casting portion of Scaringe et al. with the metal alloy material as taught by Hedderly with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of providing desirable strength, weight, and manufacturability characteristics (Hedderly [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the unitary casting portion being positioned in front of the cabin portion relative to a forward driving direction of a vehicle (see annotated Scaringe et al. Fig. 1a; Scaringe et al. col. 5, lines 46-47).
Regarding claim 4, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 3, as discussed above, wherein the shield element being connected to an A-pillar portion of the vehicle body structure (Nygaard [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 1, as discussed above, where the unitary casting portion is being positioned at a rear floor portion of the vehicle body structure relative to the forward driving direction of the vehicle (see annotated Scaringe et al. Fig. 1a above).
Regarding claim 7, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the material of the shield element being selected from a group comprising steel, aluminum, carbon fiber reinforced polymer (CFRP) and para-aramid synthetic fiber (Nygaard [0091] and [0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the shield element being formed as a plate, a rib structure, a net, a membrane, a tailored mat or a fabric (Nygaard [0128]).
Regarding claim 9, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the unitary casting portion comprising several shield elements (Nygaard [0127]).
Regarding claim 10, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose a vehicle, the vehicle comprising the vehicle body structure (Fig. 1a; col. 6, lines 2-4), according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Regarding claim 11, Scaringe et al. disclose:
A method for manufacturing a vehicle body structure (col. 1, lines 8-12), comprising:
integrating or mounting at least one shield element into or to the unitary casting portion between the unitary casting portion and a cabin portion of the vehicle body structure cabin portion, and
assembling the unitary casting portion and the at least one shield element with the cabin portion of the vehicle body structure for absorbing overload energy during the crash.
Scaringe et al. do not disclose providing several components integrally formed into a unitary casting portion during a casting process, nor the at least one shield element to be formed as a tension net to catch one or more deteriorated components of the unitary casting portion in a direction to the cabin portion caused by a crash.
However, Hedderly discloses a casting process by stating “at least some of the members of the set of [vehicle] body structure components may be provided as castings and may be provided with integral mating features. For example, the integral mating features may be cast as part of an associated body structure component, thereby providing a one-piece construction” (Hedderly 104/106; Hedderly Fig. 3; Hedderly [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the vehicle body structure of Scaringe et al. with the unitary casting portion comprising several components integrally formed as taught by Hedderly with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of reducing connective joint failures to provide additional structural integrity as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, Nygaard discloses a shield element formed as a tension net to catch one or more deteriorated components (Nygaard [0128]) of a unitary casting portion (Nygaard [0028]) in a direction to the cabin portion caused by the crash (Nygaard [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the vehicle body structure of Scaringe et al. with the tension net as taught by Nygaard with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of preventing debris, such as glass, from entering a cabin and striking a driver (Nygaard [0218]).
Regarding claim 12, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the method according to claim 11, as discussed above, wherein the shield element is integrated into the unitary casting portion during a casting process (Nygaard [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the method according to claim 11, as discussed above, wherein the shield element being mounted to the unitary casting portion by mechanical fastening means (Nygaard [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the method according to claim 11, as discussed above, wherein the shield element being mounted to the unitary casting portion by welding (Nygaard [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the method according to claim 11, as discussed above, wherein the shield element being mounted to the unitary casting portion by adhesive bonding (Nygaard [0035]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaringe et al. US 8641133 B1, in view of Hedderly US 20080169680 A1 and Nygaard US 20070194604 A1, and further in view of Mirdehghan.
Regarding claim 6, Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, disclose the vehicle body structure according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein a material of the shield element is carbon fiber (Nygaard [0128]), but do not disclose the carbon fiber material of the shield element being selected to withstand a tensile stress of at least 400 MPa.
However, Mirdehghan discloses that commercial carbon fibers possess a tensile strength ranging from 3 GPa to 7 GPa (Mirdehghan pages 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the shield element material of Scaringe et al., in view of Hedderly and Nygaard, with the carbon fiber material properties as taught by Mirdehghan with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of integrating a lightweight material with a high tensile stress factor (Mirdehghan pages 1-3), optimizing the design for a tension net structure in a vehicle, as would be known by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwering et al. US 20240116586 A1 disclose a front vehicle bulkhead comprising of large cast components (Schwering et al. [0017]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anayansi Santiago/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612