DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The instant application was filed 02 October 2023 and claims priority to provisional application 63/412,678 filed 03 October 2022. The effective filing date of the instant application is 03 October 2022.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 26 August 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections
not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 26 August 2026, it is noted that claims 1, 3, 12 have been amended, claim 17 has been canceled, and claims 47-49 have been newly added. Support for the amendments can be found from the canceled claim. No new matter has been added.
Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 26 August 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-4, 9, 10, 12, 15-17, 20, 24, 29, and 30 based upon the teachings of Chou in view of Matthews, as evidenced by lktlabs.com, as set forth in the last Office action because:
The Applicant argues that the claimed K8 implant unexpectedly showed reduced bilateral geographic atrophy when administered through injection into the eyes (Declaration, pgs. 1-2).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Narendran teaches that Kamuvudines, such as K8 (pg. 6), inhibit nonfibrillar amyloid-β oligomers (AβOs)-induced sub-retinal pigmented epithelium (RPE) degeneration through intravitreous administration (abs, pg. 6). AβOs induce RPE degeneration, which is “a clinical hallmark of geographic atrophy (GA)” (abs). Therefore, the results showing a substantially reduced mean GA growth rate (Figures A and B) is not unexpected or surprising.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 3 and 49 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, 20, 24, 29, 30, 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 8871241 B2) in view of Narendran et al. (Nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors and Kamuvudines inhibit amyloid-β induced retinal pigmented epithelium degeneration, Signal Transduction and Targeted Therapy, 2021) and Singh et al. (WO 2021/124301 A1), as evidenced by lktlabs.com and ophthalmologytimes.com.
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches an injectable cylindrical drug delivery device comprising a core that contains at least one drug and a polymer (entire teaching; abs). The device may have one or two openings to expose the core (col. 7, lns. 50-51; col. 22, lns. 40-46). The cylindrical shape encompassing the core is interpreted as extending longitudinally and circumferentially. The membrane portion of the device may be permeable for a drug to diffuse through, when in contact with a biological fluid, which is interpreted as aqueous based (col. 6, lns. 10-34) and further interpreted as the core diffusing out.
Regarding claim 2, the device may have one or two openings to expose the core (col. 7, lns. 50-51; col. 22, lns. 40-46).
Regarding claim 3, Chou teaches an injectable cylindrical drug delivery device comprising a core that contains at least one drug and a polymer (entire teaching; abs). The device may have one or two openings to expose the core (col. 7, lns. 50-51; col. 22, lns. 40-46). The cylindrical shape encompassing the core is interpreted as extending longitudinally and circumferentially. The membrane portion of the device may be permeable for a drug to diffuse through, when in contact with a biological fluid, which is interpreted as aqueous based (col. 6, lns. 10-34) and further interpreted as the core diffusing out.
Regarding claim 4, active agents in the composition include antivirals, nucleoside antivirals (col. 9, lns. 28-29), or fluocinolone acetonide (claim 1), where fluocinolone acetonide has a solubility of less than 1 mg/mL in water.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the drugs may be in the form of a pellet (col. 8, lns. 37-39) or be in the form of particles (claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, the polymer matrix does not significantly affect the release rate of the drug (col. 2, lns. 13-18).
Regarding claim 16, in some embodiments, the amounts of active agents to polymer, such as PVA, may be in a ratio of 90:10 (col. 22, lns. 35-37).
Regarding claim 20, other suitable polymers include PLA and PCL (col. 4, lns. 35-55).
Regarding claim 24, in one embodiment, the length of the tube portion of the drug delivery device may be 3 mm.
Regarding claim 29, Chou describes an initial burst release phase followed by a slow-release phase of the active agent (col. 7, lns. 35-40), where it is interpreted that the initial burst has a much faster release rate.
Regarding claim 30, Chou describes a linear release of the drug for at least five months (col. 19, lns. 10-12) or a general release of at least 7 days (col. 12, lns. 17-29).
Regarding claim 47, Chou teaches that the carrier for the implant may be any biomaterial (col. 6, lns. 40-44), such as lipids (col. 5, lns. 63-65).
Regarding claim 49, Chou teaches an injectable cylindrical drug delivery device comprising a core that contains at least one drug and a polymer (entire teaching; abs). The device may have one or two openings to expose the core (col. 7, lns. 50-51; col. 22, lns. 40-46). The cylindrical shape encompassing the core is interpreted as extending longitudinally and circumferentially. The membrane portion of the device may be permeable for a drug to diffuse through, when in contact with a biological fluid, which is interpreted as aqueous based (col. 6, lns. 10-34) and further interpreted as the core diffusing out.
Chou does not specifically teach the % weight limitations in claims 1, 3, and 12. Chou does not specifically teach K8 in claims 1, 3, and 49.
Narendran teaches that Kamuvudines, such as K8 (pg. 6), inhibit nonfibrillar amyloid-β oligomers (AβOs)-induced sub-retinal pigmented epithelium (RPE) degeneration through intravitreous administration (abs, pg. 6).
Regarding the amount of polymer in claims 1, 3, and 12, Singh teaches an ocular implant (para. 16) and mycophenolate mofetil (para. 30) with a polymer (i.e. PVA (para. 56)) in a preferred amount of 0.005-5% (para. 95). Additionally, Chou teaches that the amounts of active agents to polymer, such as PVA, may be in a ratio of 90:10 (col. 22, lns. 35-37), as well as mycophenolate mofetil as an active agent (col. 12, ln. 7). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily motivated to use Singh’s teaching of 0.005-5% of a polymer to advantageously deliver active agents to the eye with an increased retention time and bioavailability of the drug (Singh, abs). “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Since Chou does not specifically teach K8 in claims 1, 3, and 49, but does teach different kinds of antiviral agents (i.e. 3-azido-3-thymidine (AZT)) (col. 12, lns. 43-67), such as to reduce HIV infection or susceptibility to HIV infection, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Narendran’s teaching of K-8, which is a member of a class of drugs that are derived from anti-HIV drugs (evidenced by ophthalmologytimes.com, pg. 1). Chou also teaches that their drug implant may be used through periocular or intraocular injection (claim 10). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably motivated to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and to deliver K8 as an active agent to the eye. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Chou does not teach the claimed amount of polymer (Remarks, pgs. 7-10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Regarding the amount of polymer in claims 1, 3, and 12, Singh teaches an ocular implant (para. 16) and mycophenolate mofetil (para. 30) with a polymer (i.e. PVA (para. 56)) in a preferred amount of 0.005-5% (para. 95). Additionally, Chou teaches that the amounts of active agents to polymer, such as PVA, may be in a ratio of 90:10 (col. 22, lns. 35-37), as well as mycophenolate mofetil as an active agent (col. 12, ln. 7). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily motivated to use Singh’s teaching of 0.005-5% of a polymer to advantageously deliver active agents to the eye with an increased retention time and bioavailability of the drug (Singh, abs). “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
In response to the Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is reminded that to properly teach away, the prior art reference must criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution sought. Merely teaching alternatives does not do this (see MPEP 2145 (X)(D)).
In regards to Applicant’s results showing the drug release rate of K8 in different polymeric tubes, Singh teaches 0.005-5% of a polymer to advantageously deliver active agents to the eye with an increased retention time and bioavailability of the drug (Singh, abs). It is also known in the art that the type of polymer influences the release rate of drugs (Liechty, abs).
Furthermore, the Applicant does not show through any comparative data that the claimed amount of polymer produced these unexpected or surprising results.
The Applicant argues that the Declaration demonstrated successful clinical use of the claimed implants (Remarks, pg. 11).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Narendran teaches that Kamuvudines, such as K8 (pg. 6), inhibit nonfibrillar amyloid-β oligomers (AβOs)-induced sub-retinal pigmented epithelium (RPE) degeneration through intravitreous administration (abs, pg. 6). AβOs induce RPE degeneration, which is “a clinical hallmark of geographic atrophy (GA)” (abs). Therefore, the results showing a substantially reduced mean GA growth rate (Figures A and B) is not unexpected or surprising.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613