DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2020/0328658 A1) in view of Yoshimori (US 2005/0212644 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a motor, comprising:
a single coil cylindrical stator (50) forming a cylinder; and
a two-pole magnetic rotor (40) disposed around the single coil cylindrical stator (50) and separated from the single coil cylindrical stator (50) by a clearance (air gap, fig 1),
wherein the single coil cylindrical stator (50) comprises a single wire (51) wound a plurality of times, forming a plurality of parallel segments parallel to a common axis of the single coil cylindrical stator (50) and the rotor (40, fig 12). However, Takahashi does not teach in a cross-section perpendicular to the common axis, the single wire is wound in an alternating pattern from a first side of the cylinder to a second side of the cylinder.
Yoshimori teaches an air core coil (21) having a single wire is wound into a spiral form to thereby form consecutively, axially of the coil, a plurality of unit turn portions wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the common axis, the single wire (21) is wound in an alternating pattern from a first side of the cylinder to a second side of the cylinder (fig 2) to exhibit a smaller stray capacity between the turns of the conductor resulting in reduced voltage between the layers, to obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi’s motor with the single wire is wound in an alternating pattern from a first side of the cylinder to a second side of the cylinder as taught by Yoshimori. Doing so would reduce voltage between coil layers, and obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the alternating pattern is formed by winding the single wire from a center line of the cylinder to an outer edge of the cylinder in a first layer and winding the single wire from the outer edge of the cylinder to the center line of the cylinder in a second layer adjacent to the first layer.
Yoshimori further teaches an air core coil (21) having alternating pattern is formed by winding the single wire from a center line of the cylinder to an outer edge of the cylinder in a first layer and winding the single wire from the outer edge of the cylinder to the center line of the cylinder in a second layer adjacent to the first layer (fig 2) to exhibit a smaller stray capacity between the turns of the conductor resulting in reduced voltage between the layers, to obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi in view Yoshimori’s motor with the alternating pattern is formed by winding the single wire from a center line of the cylinder to an outer edge of the cylinder in a first layer and winding the single wire from the outer edge of the cylinder to the center line of the cylinder in a second layer adjacent to the first layer as further taught by Yoshimori. Doing so would reduce voltage between coil layers, and obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the alternating pattern is formed by arranging the plurality of parallel segments to maximally spatially separate wire segments at a first end of the single wire from wire segments at a second end of the single wire.
Yoshimori further teaches an air core coil (21) having alternating pattern is formed by arranging the plurality of parallel segments to maximally spatially separate wire segments at a first end of the single wire from wire segments at a second end of the single wire (fig 2) to exhibit a smaller stray capacity between the turns of the conductor resulting in reduced voltage between the layers, to obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi in view Yoshimori’s motor with the alternating pattern is formed by arranging the plurality of parallel segments to maximally spatially separate wire segments at a first end of the single wire from wire segments at a second end of the single wire as further taught by Yoshimori. Doing so would reduce voltage between coil layers, and obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Takahashi further teaches the two-pole magnetic rotor (40) comprises a Halbach array (42, para [0226]).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Takahashi further teaches a controller (77), wherein the controller (77) is configured to energize the single coil cylindrical stator (50, fig. 6, para [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, Takahashi further teaches a first shaft position sensor (an angular position sensor, not labeled in figure, para [0247]), wherein the controller (77) is configured to energize the single coil cylindrical stator (50) based on an output of the first shaft position sensor to the controller (77).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6, Takahashi further teaches a second shaft position sensor (a voltage sensor), wherein the controller (77) is configured to apply a first polarity of voltage to the single wire upon receiving the output of the first shaft position sensor (para [0247]) and is configured to apply a second polarity of voltage to the single wire (51) upon receiving an output of the second shaft position sensor (para [0247]).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, Takahashi further teaches the controller (77) is configured to energize the single coil cylindrical stator (50) with a first voltage polarity during a first quarter of a duty cycle of the motor (para [0247]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9, Takahashi further teaches the controller (77) is configured to de-energize the single coil cylindrical stator during a second quarter of the duty cycle (para [0247]).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, Takahashi further teaches the controller (77) is configured to energize the single coil cylindrical stator with a second voltage polarity during a third quarter of the duty cycle (para [0253]).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11, Takahashi further teaches the controller (77) is configured to de-energize the single coil cylindrical stator during a fourth quarter of the duty cycle (para [0253]).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, Takahashi further teaches the controller (77) is an H-bridge controller (101, 102, fig 19, para [0245]).
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13, Takahashi further teaches the H-bridge controller (101, 102) comprises a first controller (101) configured to operate during a first half of a duty cycle of the motor and a second controller (102) configured operate during a second half of the duty cycle of the motor (fig 19).
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, Takahashi further teaches a power supply (103, 104) configured to supply a voltage to the controller (110), wherein the controller (110) is configured to apply the voltage with a first polarity to the motor during a first portion of a duty cycle of the motor and to apply the voltage with a second polarity to the motor during a second portion of the duty cycle of the motor (para [0246]).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15, Takahashi further teaches the power supply (103-104) comprises a variable voltage power supply (104, fig 19).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi teaches a method of making a motor, comprising:
forming a single coil cylindrical stator (50) forming a cylinder (fig 1); and
disposing a two-pole magnetic rotor (40) around the single coil cylindrical stator (50) and separated from the single coil cylindrical stator (50) by a clearance,
wherein the forming of the single coil cylindrical stator (50) comprises winding a single wire (51) a plurality of times, forming a plurality of parallel segments parallel to a common axis of the single coil cylindrical stator (50) and the rotor (40). However, Takahashi does not teach in a cross-section perpendicular to the common axis, the single wire is wound in an alternating pattern from a first side of the cylinder to a second side of the cylinder.
Yoshimori teaches an air core coil (21) having a single wire is wound into a spiral form to thereby form consecutively, axially of the coil, a plurality of unit turn portions wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the common axis, the single wire (21) is wound in an alternating pattern from a first side of the cylinder to a second side of the cylinder (fig 2) to exhibit a smaller stray capacity between the turns of the conductor resulting in reduced voltage between the layers, to obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi’s method with the single wire is wound in an alternating pattern from a first side of the cylinder to a second side of the cylinder as taught by Yoshimori. Doing so would reduce voltage between coil layers, and obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 19, except for the added limitation of the alternating pattern is formed by winding the single wire from a center line of the cylinder to an outer edge of the cylinder in a first layer and winding the single wire from the outer edge of the cylinder to the center line of the cylinder in a second layer adjacent to the first layer.
Yoshimori further teaches an air core coil (21) having alternating pattern is formed by winding the single wire from a center line of the cylinder to an outer edge of the cylinder in a first layer and winding the single wire from the outer edge of the cylinder to the center line of the cylinder in a second layer adjacent to the first layer (fig 2) to exhibit a smaller stray capacity between the turns of the conductor resulting in reduced voltage between the layers, to obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi in view Yoshimori’s method with the alternating pattern is formed by winding the single wire from a center line of the cylinder to an outer edge of the cylinder in a first layer and winding the single wire from the outer edge of the cylinder to the center line of the cylinder in a second layer adjacent to the first layer as further taught by Yoshimori. Doing so would reduce voltage between coil layers, and obtain an excellent voltage resistance and improved frequency characteristics (para [0015]).
Claim(s) 8, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Yoshimori, further in view of Uchiyama (US 2004/0212261 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi in view of Yoshimori teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 7, except for the added limitation of the first shaft position sensor and the second shaft position sensor each comprises an optical sensor.
Uchiyama teaches a motor having rotation sensors (40, 102) which are the first shaft position sensor and the second shaft position sensor each comprises an optical sensor (para [0146]) to reduce erroneous measurements of rotation speed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi in view Yoshimori’s motor with the first shaft position sensor and the second shaft position sensor each comprises an optical sensor as taught by Uchiyama. Doing so would reduce erroneous measurements of rotation speed (para [0146]).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi teaches an electric motor control system, comprising:
an H-bridge controller (110) comprising a first controller (101) configured to operate during a first half of a duty cycle of a motor (10) and a second controller (102) configured to operate during a second half of the duty cycle of the motor (10, fig 19); and
a pair of sensors (angular sensor and voltage sensor) connected to the H-bridge controller (110) and configured to trigger operation of a respective one of the first controller (101) or the second controller (102), wherein the sensors are configured to detect a current shaft position of the motor (10),
wherein the motor (10) comprises a single coil cylindrical stator (50) and a two-pole rotor (40). However, Takahashi does not teach the sensors comprising optical sensors.
Uchiyama teaches a motor having rotation sensors (40, 102) which are optical sensors (para [0146]) to reduce erroneous measurements of rotation speed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi’s motor with sensors comprising optical sensors as taught by Uchiyama. Doing so would reduce erroneous measurements of rotation speed (para [0146]).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi in view of Uchiyama teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17, Takahashi further teaches a power supply (103-104) configured to provide a voltage to the controller (110), wherein the first controller (101) is configured to energize the single coil cylindrical stator with a first polarity of the voltage during a first quarter of a duty cycle of the motor (10) and to de-energize the single coil cylindrical stator (50) during a second quarter of the duty cycle, wherein the second controller (102) is configured to energize the single coil cylindrical stator (50) with a second polarity of the voltage during a third quarter of the duty cycle and to de-energize the single coil cylindrical stator (50) during a fourth quarter of the duty cycle (para [0247]-[0253]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshino et al. (US 11,631,525 B2) teaches a coil component that includes a winding core part and a wire wound around the winding core part. An i-th turn (i is an integer equal to or larger than 1) to a j-th turn (j is an integer equal to or larger than (i+2)) of the wire are wound in this order around the winding core part in an aligned state. A (j-th+1) turn of the wire is wound around a valley line formed by the i-th turn and a (i-th+1) turn. A (j-th+2) turn of the wire is wound adjacent to the j-th turn around the winding core part.
Woo (US 11,398,759 B2) teaches a motor including a rotating shaft, a rotor coupled to the rotating shaft, and a stator disposed outside the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core having a plurality of teeth, and a coil wound around each tooth of the teeth, the coil is wound a plurality of turns around the tooth, and only the coil of (a*n+1).sup.th turns among the plurality of turns forms a first layer closest to the tooth, wherein a is the number of total stacked layers of the coil, and n is zero or a positive integer.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834