DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This is the first office action in response to the Response to Claims filed on 10/02/2023
Claims 1-20 are examined
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating element” in Claims 1-2, 8, 11-13, 16-20, “heating element segments” Claims 8 and 18.
The corresponding structure is an electrical heater and electrical heater segments (see [0018] and element 218).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Yeh (US 2023/0134957).
Regarding Claim 1: Yeh discloses a device (see annotated figure ‘957) comprising: a heating element (1200; Fig. 1B) occupying at least a portion of a layer (see annotated figure ‘957) of an integrated circuit (IC) (see annotated figure ‘957), the IC comprising a plurality of layers (see annotated figure ‘957) stacked in a lamination direction, the IC including a target component (1110; Fig. 1B); and a plurality of thermally conductive structures (see annotated figure ‘957) extending from the heating element through one or more layers of the plurality of layers of the IC (see annotated figure ‘957), the plurality of thermally conductive structures overlapping at least a portion of the target component in a lateral direction (see annotated figure ‘957) perpendicular to the lamination direction.
Regarding Claim 2: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses each thermally conductive structure comprises: a via (see annotated figure ‘957) having a first end (see annotated figure ‘957) in contact with the heating element and a second end (see annotated figure ‘957); and a plate (see annotated figure ‘957) in contact with the second end of the via, the plate extending toward the target component from the second end of the via (see annotated figure ‘957).
Regarding Claim 3: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 2, as stated above, and further discloses the plate is longer than the via in a longitudinal direction perpendicular (see annotated figure ‘957) to the lamination direction and the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 4: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of thermally conductive structures is arranged along a longitudinal direction perpendicular (see annotated figure ‘957) to the lamination direction and the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 6: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses the plurality of thermally conductive structures has a respective plurality of sizes (see annotated figure ‘957) that vary along the longitudinal direction.
Regarding Claim 11: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses the heating element is spaced apart from, and at least partially overlapping, the target component in the lamination direction (see annotated figure ‘957); and the device further comprises: a further plurality of thermally conductive structures (see annotated figure ‘957) extending from the heating element through one or more of the plurality of layers of the IC, the further plurality of thermally conductive structures overlapping at least a portion of the target component in a direction opposite the lateral direction (see annotated figure ‘957).
Regarding Claim 12: Yeh discloses An integrated circuit (IC) (see annotated figure ‘957) comprising: a plurality of layers (see annotated figure ‘957) stacked in a lamination direction (see annotated figure ‘957); a target component (1110; Fig. 1B); a heating element (1200; Fig. 1B) occupying at least a portion of a layer of the plurality of layers (see annotated figure ‘957); and a plurality of thermally conductive structures (see annotated figure ‘957) extending from the heating element through one or more layers of the plurality of layers (see annotated figure ‘957), the plurality of thermally conductive structures overlapping at least a portion of the target component (see annotated figure ‘957) in a lateral direction perpendicular to the lamination direction (see annotated figure ‘957).
Regarding Claim 13: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as stated above, and further discloses each thermally conductive structure comprises: a via (see annotated figure ‘957) having a first end (see annotated figure ‘957) in contact with the heating element and a second end (see annotated figure ‘957); and a plate (see annotated figure ‘957) in contact with the second end of the via, the plate extending toward the target component from the second end of the via (see annotated figure ‘957).
Regarding Claim 14: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 13, as stated above, and further discloses the plate is longer than the via in a longitudinal direction perpendicular (see annotated figure ‘957) to the lamination direction and the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 15: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of thermally conductive structures is arranged along a longitudinal direction perpendicular (see annotated figure ‘957) to the lamination direction and the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 19: Yeh discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as stated above, and further discloses the heating element is spaced apart from, and at least partially overlapping, the target component in the lamination direction (see annotated figure ‘957); and the device further comprises: a further plurality of thermally conductive structures (see annotated figure ‘957) extending from the heating element through one or more of the plurality of layers of the IC, the further plurality of thermally conductive structures overlapping at least a portion of the target component in a direction opposite the lateral direction (see annotated figure ‘957).
Regarding Claim 20: Yeh discloses a method of manufacturing (the disclosure of the system discloses its method of manufacturing) an integrated circuit (IC) (see annotated figure ‘957), comprising: forming a plurality of layers (see annotated figure ‘957) of the IC stacked in a lamination direction (see annotated figure ‘957); forming a target component (1110; Fig. 1B) within a first one or more of the layers of the IC (see annotated figure ‘957); forming a heating element (1200; Fig. 1B) within a layer of the IC (see annotated figure ‘957); forming a plurality of thermally conductive vias (see annotated figure ‘957) through at least one of the first one or more layers, such that a first end (see annotated figure ‘957) of each via contacts the heating element, and such that at least one of the thermally conductive vias is in a lateral direction (see annotated figure ‘957), perpendicular to the lamination direction, from the target component; and forming, in contact with a second end of each via (see annotated figure ‘957), a thermally conductive plate (see annotated figure ‘957).
Allowable subject matter
Regarding Claims 7-10; and 16-18: Claims 7-10 and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten, to correct the above double patent rejections, the above objections, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art fails to teach, “a first end electrical connection in contact with a first region of the heating element; and a second end electrical connection in contact with a second region of the heating element, wherein: the plurality of thermally conductive structures is located between the first region and the second region along the longitudinal direction; and the first end electrical connection and second end electrical connection are configured to pass an electrical current between the first region and the second region through the heating element”. Nota bene that in the interpretation of Yeh, the claimed “thermally conductive structures” are the electrical connections feeding the heater, and thus these electrical connections cannot be interpreted as the claimed “electrical connections”.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
Contact Information
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761