DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 15, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “security and encryption frames” of claims 6, 7, 10, 11, and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 15, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14, 15, and 19 recite the limitation “MAC chain”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Non-patent Literature entitled, “Multi-Access Management Services (MAMS)” (hereinafter RFC 8743).
Regarding claim 1, RFC 8743 teaches: operating, via a wireless communication device (Client), a first communication link between the wireless communication device and a first access point using a first media access control (MAC) layer of the wireless communication device (Fig. 1); initiating, using a second MAC layer of the wireless communication device, a roaming handover with a second access point while the first communication link remains configured to transmit and receive application or IP layer communication packets (C.1.12.1. MX Keep-Alive Request Delivery Node ID: The target delivery node ID (ECGI or Wi-Fi AP ID/MAC address) to which the handover is executed; 8.3.2. Keep-Alive Procedure - Delivery Node ID: Identity of the node to which the client is attached. In the case of LTE, this is an E-UTRAN Cell Global Identifier (ECGI). In the case of Wi-Fi, this is an AP ID or a Media Access Control (MAC) address. If the reason is "Handover", the inclusion of this field is mandatory.); ceasing transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets on the first communication link after the roaming handover has been initiated (8.3.2. Keep-Alive Procedure - Additionally, the CCM SHALL immediately send an MX Keep-Alive Request to the NCM whenever it detects a handover from one base station / access point to another. During this time, the client SHALL stop using MAMS user-plane functionality in the uplink direction until it receives an MX Keep-Alive Response from the NCM.); and resuming the application or IP layer communication packets with a second communication link between the wireless communication device and the second access point upon completion of the roaming handover (C.1.12.2. MX Keep-Alive Response -On receiving an MX Keep-Alive Request from a peer, the NCM/CCM shall immediately respond with an MX Keep-Alive Response on the same delivery path from where the request arrived. In addition to the base information, it contains the unique session identifier for the CCM-NCM association (defined in Appendix C.2.2)).
Regarding claim 2, RFC 8743 teaches: wherein resuming transmission and receipt of the application or IP layer communication packets with the second communication link comprises resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the first MAC layer of the wireless communication device (Fig. 2 and reference in the document to: [IEEE-80211] IEEE, "IEEE Standard for Information technology-Telecommunications and information exchange between systems - Local and metropolitan area networks-Specific requirements - Part 11: Wireless LAN Medium Access Control (MAC) and Physical Layer (PHY) Specifications", IEEE 802.11-2016, <https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/7786995>.).
Regarding claim 3, RFC 8743 teaches: wherein initiating the roaming handover comprises transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer. (14.1. MAMS Control-Plane Security - For deployment scenarios where client authentication is desired, the WebSocket server can use any client authentication mechanisms available to a generic HTTP server, such as cookies, HTTP authentication, or TLS authentication; See also, cited RFC 8446 4.1.2 – Client Hello).
Regarding claim 6, RFC 8743 teaches: exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point; and installing the encryption key, wherein exchanging and installing are performed prior to resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link (1. Introduction: The MAMS framework leverages network intelligence and policies to dynamically adapt traffic distribution across selected paths and user-plane treatments (e.g., encryption needed for transport over Wi-Fi, or tunneling needed to overcome a NAT between client and multipath proxy) to changing network/link conditions. . . . Further, it allows the choice and configuration of user-plane treatment for the traffic over the paths, depending on the application's needs. See also, Cisco - 802.11r, 802.11k, and 802.11w Deployment Guide).
Regarding claim 8, RFC 8743 teaches: wherein resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets with the second communication link comprises resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication using the second MAC layer of the wireless communication device (4.9. Lossless Path (Connection) Switching - When switching data traffic from one path (connection) to another, packets may be lost or delivered out of order; this will have negative impact on the performance of higher-layer protocols, e.g., TCP. The framework SHOULD provide the necessary mechanisms to ensure in-order delivery at the receiver, e.g., during path switching. The framework MUST NOT cause any packet loss beyond losses that access network mobility functions may cause.).
Regarding claim 12, RFC 8743 teaches: wherein initiating, using the second MAC layer of the wireless communication device, a roaming handover with the second access point while the first communication link remains configured for transmission (p. 48/145, Figure 21 describes the steps where the client reports that Wi-Fi link conditions have degraded in both the UL and DL. As the Wi-Fi link conditions deteriorate further, the NCM may decide to send a MX Traffic Steering Request that instructs the client to stop using Wi-Fi and to use only the LTE access in both the UL and DL. This condition may be maintained until the NCM determines, based on reported measurements, that the Wi-Fi link has again become usable.) and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets comprises establishing the second communication link that is limited to performing the MAC layer operations (p. 49/145, Figure 22 shows the call flow describing MAMS control procedures applied for dynamic optimal path selection in a scenario where Convergence and Adaptation Layer protocols are omitted. This scenario indicates the applicability of a solution for only the MAMS control plane.) for the roam handover until the second communication link is ready to transmit and receive the application or IP layer communication packets in response to an action event signal that is transmitted to the second access point (4.14. Service Discovery and Reachability - The client MUST have the flexibility to choose the appropriate control-plane instance in the network and use the control-plane signaling to choose the desired user-plane functional element instances. The client's choice can be based on considerations such as, but not limited to, the quality of the link through which the network function is reachable, client preferences, preconfiguration, etc.).
Regarding claim 16, RFC 8743 teaches: wherein the second communication link is established before the first communication link ceases transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets and is utilized for transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets after the first communication link ceases transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets (4.9. Lossless Path (Connection) Switching - When switching data traffic from one path (connection) to another, packets may be lost or delivered out of order; this will have negative impact on the performance of higher-layer protocols, e.g., TCP. The framework SHOULD provide the necessary mechanisms to ensure in-order delivery at the receiver, e.g., during path switching. The framework MUST NOT cause any packet loss beyond losses that access network mobility functions may cause.).
Regarding claim 20, RFC 8743 teaches: wherein a connection error occurs between the wireless communication device and the second access point during the roaming handover and the method further comprises: reattempting to establish the second communication link with the second access point or a third access point while the first communication link remains configured to transmit and receive application or IP layer communication packets (8.3.1. Message Timeout - After sending a MAMS control message, the MAMS control-plane peer (NCM or CCM) waits for a duration of MAMS_TIMEOUT ms before timing out in cases where a response was expected. The sender of the message will retransmit the message for MAMS_RETRY times before declaring failure if no response is received. A failure implies that the MAMS peer is dead or unreachable, and the sender reverts to native non-multi-access / single-path mode. The CCM may initiate the MAMS discovery procedure for re-establishing the MAMS session.).
Regarding claim 21, RFC 8743 teaches: A wireless communication device comprising: one or more antennas; one or more radiofrequency transceivers configured to transmit and receive radiofrequency signals via the one or more antennas (client); a first media access control (MAC) layer configured to operate a first communication link between the wireless communication device and a first access point (p. 21/145 Delivery Node ID: Identity of the node to which the client is attached. In the case of LTE, this is an E-UTRAN Cell Global Identifier (ECGI). In the case of Wi-Fi, this is an AP ID or a Media Access Control (MAC) address. If the reason is "Handover", the inclusion of this field is mandatory.); and a second media access control (MAC) layer configured to initiate a roaming handover with a second access point while transmission and reception of application or IP layer communication packets (C.1.12.1. MX Keep-Alive Request Delivery Node ID: The target delivery node ID (ECGI or Wi-Fi AP ID/MAC address) to which the handover is executed; 8.3.2. Keep-Alive Procedure - Delivery Node ID: Identity of the node to which the client is attached. In the case of LTE, this is an E-UTRAN Cell Global Identifier (ECGI). In the case of Wi-Fi, this is an AP ID or a Media Access Control (MAC) address. If the reason is "Handover", the inclusion of this field is mandatory.) continues on the first communication link (Figure 1, lines from C-MADP), transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets ceasing on the first communication link after the roaming handover has been initiated (8.3.2. Keep-Alive Procedure - Additionally, the CCM SHALL immediately send an MX Keep-Alive Request to the NCM whenever it detects a handover from one base station / access point to another. During this time, the client SHALL stop using MAMS user-plane functionality in the uplink direction until it receives an MX Keep-Alive Response from the NCM.), and transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets resuming on a second communication link between the wireless communication device and the second access point upon completion of the roaming handover (C.1.12.2. MX Keep-Alive Response -On receiving an MX Keep-Alive Request from a peer, the NCM/CCM shall immediately respond with an MX Keep-Alive Response on the same delivery path from where the request arrived. In addition to the base information, it contains the unique session identifier for the CCM-NCM association (defined in Appendix C.2.2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RFC 8743 in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0186601 (hereinafter “Hahn”)
Regarding claim 4, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: receiving an authentication reply from the second access point; and sending an authentication ready signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the first communication link in response to the authentication ready signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: receiving an authentication reply from the second access point; and sending an authentication ready signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the first communication link in response to the authentication ready signal ([0235] The mobile node (MN), which has performed the pre-authentication procedure with the target network authenticator 690 at steps S614.about.S617, can perform the L2 handover to the target network 690. Therefore, after the above handover, a new authentication procedure and a key setup procedure between the mobile node (MN) and the target network may be omitted as necessary. If the L2 handover (i.e., a second layer (L2) handover), the MAC of the mobile node (MN) 600 establishes a security association (SA) with an access point of the target network authenticator 690, and is ready to communicate with the access point at step S617.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of providing a ready signal and a combination of RFC 8743 with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing a ready signal).
Regarding claim 5, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the first MAC layer ([0012] By the above-mentioned procedure, the MS and the TBS form basic functions at step S119. The MS and the TBS perform the ranging process to start re-entering the network. Also, the MS is re-registered in the TBS, and establishes a re-connection to the TBS at step S120); and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link (So, the MS is registered in the TBS at step S121, and an IP connection from the TBS is re-established in the MS at step S122. As a result, the TBS serves as the SBS, such that it can provide the MS with necessary services.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of providing a ready signal and a combination of RFC 8743 with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., reassociating and resuming transmission).
Regarding claim 10, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point; and installing the encryption key, wherein exchanging and installing are performed prior to resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link and after the new link ready signal is sent.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point; and installing the encryption key, wherein exchanging and installing are performed prior to resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link and after the new link ready signal is sent ([0005] A general handover procedure and an authentication procedure based on a Privacy and Key Management Sublayer (PKM) prescribed in the IEEE 802.16 standard will hereinafter be described in detail.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of exchanging frames and a combination of RFC 8743 with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., exchanging security and encryption frames).
Regarding claim 11, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point; and installing the encryption key, wherein exchanging and installing are performed prior to resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link and before the new link ready signal is sent.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point; and installing the encryption key, wherein exchanging and installing are performed prior to resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link and before the new link ready signal is sent ([0005] A general handover procedure and an authentication procedure based on a Privacy and Key Management Sublayer (PKM) prescribed in the IEEE 802.16 standard will hereinafter be described in detail.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of exchanging frames and a combination of RFC 8743 with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., exchanging security and encryption frames).
Claims 7, 9, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RFC 8743 in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,483,845 (hereinafter “Gordaychik”) and further in view of Hahn
Regarding claim 7, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and a first frequency band; transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; sending a new link read signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer after exchanging the security and encryption frames; installing the encryption key on the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the second communication link using the first MAC layer and a second frequency band of the second access point, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gordaychik teaches: transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer (1:37-42, The wireless device may transmit feedback, to the first AP or the second AP, based on reception of the data. The first group based transmission may be addressed to a first MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses and the second group based transmission may be addressed to a second MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses.) and a first frequency band (1:17-21, The wireless device may receive a first group based transmission, on an operating band of the first AP, from the first access point (AP).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of multiple frequency bands and a combination of RFC 8743 with Gordaychik renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing access to multiple frequency bands).
The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik teaches sending end exchanging encryption keys and authentication. (11:45-60 The UE may be configured with security information (keys, certificates or the like) of another UE accessible via sidelink and may authenticate the another UE. The UE may be configured with a group ID or other ID instead of a single UE ID. Security may be employed via physical layer, MAC layer or higher layer security procedures. Using physical layer procedures, for example, a cryptographic key or set of cryptographic keys may be derived via channel state information (CSI), beam forming information, channel statistics or other channel characteristics gleamed from measurements taken on a channel. These channel characteristics may be determined from beacon signals transmitted by an access point or via scheduled or unscheduled transmissions made by a STA. Other methods of employing physical layer security include an addition of random noise into a data transmission to degrade detection ability.). The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik does not explicitly teach: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; sending a new link read signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer after exchanging the security and encryption frames; installing the encryption key on the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the second communication link using the first MAC layer and a second frequency band of the second access point, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band ([0021-22]); sending a new link read signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer after exchanging the security and encryption frames ([0008]); installing the encryption key on the first MAC layer ([0037]); and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the second communication link using the first MAC layer and a second frequency band of the second access point ([0012] By the above-mentioned procedure, the MS and the TBS form basic functions at step S119. The MS and the TBS perform the ranging process to start re-entering the network. Also, the MS is re-registered in the TBS, and establishes a re-connection to the TBS at step S120. So, the MS is registered in the TBS at step S121, and an IP connection from the TBS is re-established in the MS at step S122. As a result, the TBS serves as the SBS, such that it can provide the MS with necessary services.), wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal ([0235] The mobile node (MN), which has performed the pre-authentication procedure with the target network authenticator 690 at steps S614.about.S617, can perform the L2 handover to the target network 690. Therefore, after the above handover, a new authentication procedure and a key setup procedure between the mobile node (MN) and the target network may be omitted as necessary. If the L2 handover (i.e., a second layer (L2) handover), the MAC of the mobile node (MN) 600 establishes a security association (SA) with an access point of the target network authenticator 690, and is ready to communicate with the access point at step S617.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of security associations and a combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing security with multiple frequency bands).
Regarding claim 9, RFC 8743 teaches that the wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal (4.9. Lossless Path (Connection) Switching - When switching data traffic from one path (connection) to another, packets may be lost or delivered out of order; this will have negative impact on the performance of higher-layer protocols, e.g., TCP. The framework SHOULD provide the necessary mechanisms to ensure in-order delivery at the receiver, e.g., during path switching. The framework MUST NOT cause any packet loss beyond losses that access network mobility functions may cause.). RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer; transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer; and in response to the reassociation response, sending a new link ready signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gordaychik teaches: transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer (1:37-42, The wireless device may transmit feedback, to the first AP or the second AP, based on reception of the data. The first group based transmission may be addressed to a first MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses and the second group based transmission may be addressed to a second MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses.) and a first frequency band (1:17-21, The wireless device may receive a first group based transmission, on an operating band of the first AP, from the first access point (AP).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of multiple frequency bands and a combination of RFC 8743 with Gordaychik renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing access to multiple frequency bands).
The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik teaches sending end exchanging encryption keys and authentication. (11:45-60 The UE may be configured with security information (keys, certificates or the like) of another UE accessible via sidelink and may authenticate the another UE. The UE may be configured with a group ID or other ID instead of a single UE ID. Security may be employed via physical layer, MAC layer or higher layer security procedures. Using physical layer procedures, for example, a cryptographic key or set of cryptographic keys may be derived via channel state information (CSI), beam forming information, channel statistics or other channel characteristics gleamed from measurements taken on a channel. These channel characteristics may be determined from beacon signals transmitted by an access point or via scheduled or unscheduled transmissions made by a STA. Other methods of employing physical layer security include an addition of random noise into a data transmission to degrade detection ability.). The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik does not explicitly teach: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and in response to the reassociation response, sending a new link ready signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and in response to the reassociation response, sending a new link ready signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets using the second communication link, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal ([0235] The mobile node (MN), which has performed the pre-authentication procedure with the target network authenticator 690 at steps S614.about.S617, can perform the L2 handover to the target network 690. Therefore, after the above handover, a new authentication procedure and a key setup procedure between the mobile node (MN) and the target network may be omitted as necessary. If the L2 handover (i.e., a second layer (L2) handover), the MAC of the mobile node (MN) 600 establishes a security association (SA) with an access point of the target network authenticator 690, and is ready to communicate with the access point at step S617.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of security associations and a combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., indicating the connection is ready).
Regarding claim 13, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: wherein the wireless communication device utilizes multi-link operation (MLO) communication for the first communication link in which the wireless communication device uses the first MAC layer to communicate with the first access point using a first frequency band or a first channel and uses the second MAC layer to communicate with the first access point using a second frequency band or a first channel, in response to initiating the roam handover, the wireless communication device ceases the MLO communication on the second MAC layer while the first communication remains between the wireless communication device and the first access point using the first MAC layer and the first frequency band or the first channel, and the wireless communication device uses the second MAC layer to initiate the roam handover with the second access point.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gordaychik teaches: wherein the wireless communication device utilizes multi-link operation (MLO) communication for the first communication link in which the wireless communication device uses the first MAC layer to communicate with the first access point using a first frequency band or a first channel and uses the second MAC layer to communicate with the first access point using a second frequency band or a first channel (1:37-42, The wireless device may transmit feedback, to the first AP or the second AP, based on reception of the data. The first group based transmission may be addressed to a first MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses and the second group based transmission may be addressed to a second MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of multiple frequency bands and a combination of RFC 8743 with Gordaychik renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing access to multiple frequency bands).
The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik teaches sending end exchanging encryption keys and authentication. (11:45-60 The UE may be configured with security information (keys, certificates or the like) of another UE accessible via sidelink and may authenticate the another UE. The UE may be configured with a group ID or other ID instead of a single UE ID. Security may be employed via physical layer, MAC layer or higher layer security procedures. Using physical layer procedures, for example, a cryptographic key or set of cryptographic keys may be derived via channel state information (CSI), beam forming information, channel statistics or other channel characteristics gleamed from measurements taken on a channel. These channel characteristics may be determined from beacon signals transmitted by an access point or via scheduled or unscheduled transmissions made by a STA. Other methods of employing physical layer security include an addition of random noise into a data transmission to degrade detection ability.). The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik does not explicitly teach: in response to initiating the roam handover, the wireless communication device ceases the MLO communication on the second MAC layer while the first communication remains between the wireless communication device and the first access point using the first MAC layer and the first frequency band or the first channel, and the wireless communication device uses the second MAC layer to initiate the roam handover with the second access point.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: in response to initiating the roam handover, the wireless communication device ceases the MLO communication on the second MAC layer while the first communication remains between the wireless communication device and the first access point using the first MAC layer and the first frequency band or the first channel, and the wireless communication device uses the second MAC layer to initiate the roam handover with the second access point ([0177] The mobile node (MN), which has performed the pre-authentication procedure with the target network 490 at steps S403.about.S410, can perform the L2 handover to the target network 490. Therefore, after the above handover, a new authentication procedure and a key setup procedure between the mobile node (MN) and the target network may be omitted. If the L2 handover (i.e., a second layer (L2) handover), the MAC of the mobile node (MN) 400 establishes a security association (SA) with an access point of the target network 490, and is ready to communicate with the access point at step S417.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of security associations and a combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik with Hahn renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., initiating a handover using a second MAC layer).
Regarding claim 14, RFC 8743 does not explicitly teach: transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and a first frequency band; transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; sending a new link read signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer after exchanging the security and encryption frames; installing the encryption key on the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the second communication link using the first MAC layer and a second frequency band of the second access point, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gordaychik teaches: transmitting an authentication request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer (1:37-42, The wireless device may transmit feedback, to the first AP or the second AP, based on reception of the data. The first group based transmission may be addressed to a first MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses and the second group based transmission may be addressed to a second MAC address of the plurality of MAC addresses.) and a first frequency band or the first channel of the second access point (1:17-21, The wireless device may receive a first group based transmission, on an operating band of the first AP, from the first access point (AP).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify RFC 8743 to include the feature of multiple frequency bands and a combination of RFC 8743 with Gordaychik renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing access to multiple frequency bands).
The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik teaches sending end exchanging encryption keys and authentication. (11:45-60 The UE may be configured with security information (keys, certificates or the like) of another UE accessible via sidelink and may authenticate the another UE. The UE may be configured with a group ID or other ID instead of a single UE ID. Security may be employed via physical layer, MAC layer or higher layer security procedures. Using physical layer procedures, for example, a cryptographic key or set of cryptographic keys may be derived via channel state information (CSI), beam forming information, channel statistics or other channel characteristics gleamed from measurements taken on a channel. These channel characteristics may be determined from beacon signals transmitted by an access point or via scheduled or unscheduled transmissions made by a STA. Other methods of employing physical layer security include an addition of random noise into a data transmission to degrade detection ability.). The combination of RFC 8743 and Gordaychik does not explicitly teach: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band or the first channel of the second access point; and exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; installing the encryption key on the second MAC chain; sending a new link read signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer after exchanging the security and encryption frames; installing the encryption key on the first MAC layer; and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the second communication link using the first MAC layer and a second frequency band of the second access point, wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hahn teaches: transmitting a reassociation request from the wireless communication device to the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band; and exchanging security and encryption frames with the second access point using the second MAC layer and the first frequency band ([0021-22]); sending a new link read signal from the second MAC layer to the first MAC layer after exchanging the security and encryption frames ([0008]); installing the encryption key on the first MAC layer ([0037]); and resuming transmission and reception of the application or IP layer communication packets via the second communication link using the first MAC layer and a second frequency band of the second access point ([0012] By the above-mentioned procedure, the MS and the TBS form basic functions at step S119. The MS and the TBS perform the ranging process to start re-entering the network. Also, the MS is re-registered in the TBS, and establishes a re-connection to the TBS at step S120. So, the MS is registered in the TBS at step S121, and an IP connection from the TBS is re-established in the MS at step S122. As a result, the TBS serves as the SBS, such that it can provide the MS with necessary services.), wherein the wireless communication device ceases transmission and reception of the application layer communication via the first communication link in response to the new link ready signal ([0235] The mobile node (MN), which has performed the pre-authentication procedure with the target network authenticator 690 at steps S614.about.S617, can perform the L2 handover to the target network 690. Therefore, after the above handover, a new authentication procedure and a key setup procedure between the mobile node (MN) and the target network may be omitted as necessary. If the L2 handover (i.e., a second layer (L2) handover), the MAC of the mobile node (MN) 600 establishes a security association (SA) with an access poi