DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mounting feature” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 10 – 15, and 18 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplin (US 5,806,800).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 10, Caplin discloses a chassis (Fig. 3) for a spacecraft (10), the chassis comprising: a solid plate (70 or 72) comprising a first side (facing inward of the spacecraft) and an opposing second side (facing outward of the spacecraft), wherein the second side is positioned for exposure to outer space upon deployment of the spacecraft (Fig. 3); and a plurality of transverse walls (62, 64) extending from a surface of the second side and configured to radiate heat generated from the spacecraft into outer space; and at least one heat-generating component mounted, directly on the first side for direct conductive heat exchange with the solid plate (“A removed panel shows the interior space 74 where the heat generating modules reside. Heat generating modules may also reside on the fixed radiators 70 and 72”, col. 4, lines 44 – 47).
While Caplin teaches that the heat-generating component is mounted directed on 70 or 72, it fails to teach a mounting feature. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that mounting features such as threaded holes and fasteners are very well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to include a threaded hole and fastener in the device of Caplin ‘800 for easy removal/installation of the deployable radiators as needed.
Regarding claim 2, Caplin discloses that the plurality of transverse walls defines a cellular grid structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Caplin discloses that the plate is formed from a metal material (claim 5 of Caplin).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Caplin ‘800 fails to teach that the at least one mounting feature is a threaded hole configured to receive a threaded fastener after passing through a portion of the at least one heat-generating component. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that mounting features such as threaded holes and fasteners are very well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to include a threaded hole and fastener in the device of Caplin ‘800 for easy removal/installation of the deployable radiators as needed.
Regarding claim 6, Caplin discloses that the at least one heat-generating component is a payload component selected from a group consisting of phased array transmit and receive panels, a satellite network computer, and modem boards (Caplin teaches that the heat generated may come from many sources including any energy dissipating units typically found within a satellite’s payload structure – satellite typically house a network computer on board).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Caplin ‘800 fails to disclose that the at least one heat generating component comprises a plurality of heat generating components spaced apart to facilitate heat dissipation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to space apart the heat generating components, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, Caplin discloses a spacecraft (10), comprising: a plate-shaped chassis body (70) defining a first side (facing inward of the spacecraft) and an opposing second side (facing outward of the spacecraft); at least one heat-generating component secured to the first side for direct conductive heat exchange with the chassis body (Caplin discloses that the heat generating components reside in the interior space 74 and are directly coupled to the first side of the solid plate. Furthermore, Caplin states in col. 4, lines 46 and 47 that “heat generating modules may also reside on the fixed radiators 70 and 72”); and a plurality of transverse walls (62, 64) extending from a surface of the second side and configured to radiate heat generated from the spacecraft into outer space; and a solar array (18) assembly carried by the chassis body.
Regarding claim 13, Caplin discloses that the at least one heat-generating component is a payload component selected from a group consisting of phased array transmit and receive panels, a satellite network computer, and modem boards (Caplin teaches that the heat generated may come from many sources including any energy dissipating units typically found within a satellite’s payload structure – satellite typically house a network computer on board).
Regarding claim 14, Caplin discloses that the plurality of transverse walls defines a cellular grid structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Caplin discloses that the chassis body (70) is an elongated solid flat panel.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Caplin discloses at least one low heat component mounted to the chassis body near a perimeter of the chassis body, such as an antenna system (20, Caplin).
Regarding claim 20, Caplin discloses that the at least one low heat component (antenna 20) is cantilevered from the chassis body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Caplin discloses a thermal gap filler (vulcanized rubber) disposed between at least one heat-generating component and the first side (Col. 3, lines 47 – 62).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplin (US 5,806,800) in view of Caplin (US 5,823,476).
Regarding claim 16, Caplin ‘800 fails to disclose at least one power storage and distribution component mounted to the chassis body at substantially a center of the chassis body. However, Caplin ‘476 discloses a spacecraft having power storage and distribution component (claims 2 – 4, col. 2; lines 64 – 67, Caplin ‘476). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to include a power storage and distribution system as taught by Caplin ‘476 in the assembly of Caplin ‘800 in order to provide power to the components mounted to the chassis.
Regarding claim 17, Caplin ‘800 as modified by Caplin ‘476 discloses that the at least one power storage and distribution component is one of a battery (col. 2; line 64 – col. 3; line 5, Caplin ‘476) and a flight computer connected to at least one heat- generating component of the spacecraft through at least one power harness connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Caplin’s walls 62 and 64 do not correspond to the claimed plurality of transverse walls since the panels 62 and 64 are connected at the edges of the solid plate by hinges, instead of extending from the second side of the solid plate 70. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 2 of Caplin clearly illustrates that 62 and 64 are mounted onto the surface of the second side (see annotated figures 2 and 3 below) of the plate 70. In annotated figure 2, “E” indicates the location where the edge of the transvers wall (62 or 64) lies and it is located well within the perimeter of 70 and not at the outer edge. Similarly, in annotated figure 3, the connection points of the walls 62 , 64, 66, 68 are shown to be positioned entirely inside the perimeter of 70 or 72 rather than at the edge of the plate. Because Caplin’s heat-dissipating panels project from the surface of the second side of the plate 70, they structurally satisfy the limitaiton of the transverse walls as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALENTINA XAVIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642