DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-10, and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdul-Hafiz et al. (Pub. No.: US 2004/0039272 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Abdul”, in view of Schulz et al. (Pub. No.: US 2001/0009265 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Schulz”.
Regarding claim 1, Abdul discloses a sensor, comprising: a body (e.g. see figure 4 element 400, [0033]) comprising a bendable layer (e.g. see figure 4A elements 420/460, [0037]-[0038]) comprising a flap portion (e.g. see figure 4A, portion of element 460 that folds, [0037]-[0038]), wherein the flap portion is foldable at a hinge portion (e.g. see figure 4A element 480, [0037]-[0038]); a light-emitting diode (LED) (e.g. see figure 8A element 830, [0042], [0002]-[0003]) disposed on the body; a detector (e.g. see figure 6A element 820, [0039]) disposed on the body by the hinge portion, to detect light emitted by the LED; and a faraday cage (e.g. see [0042], “EMI shielding and optical shielding”) formed around the detector by folding the flap portion over the detector (e.g. see [0037]-[0038]) to align an aperture of the flap portion with the detector (e.g. see [0039]).
Abdul discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to a slot and an end of the flap portion is inserted into the slot of the body. Schulz teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 6A elements 222 and 224, [0053]-[0055] (element 224 is the slot and element 222 is the inserted portion) to minimize noise within the probe while allowing removability of the shield (e.g. see [0055]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to insert a portion of the flap into a slot to secure/attach the folding portion as taught by Schulz in the system of Abdul, since said modification would provide the predictable results of minimizing noise within the probe while allowing removability of the shield.
Regarding claim 4, Abdul discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the end comprises a tapered end that inserts into the slot of the body. Schulz teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 6A elements 222 and 224 (In figure 6A, element 222 is smaller than the portion of 220 abutting 225a and 225b and thus is “tapered”) to minimize noise within the probe while allowing removability of the shield (e.g. see [0055]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed use a tapered end that inserts into the slot as taught by Schulz in the system of Abdul, since said modification would provide the predictable results of minimizing noise within the probe while allowing removability of the shield.
Regarding claim 5, Abdul discloses the aperture comprises one or more openings through the flap portion (e.g. see figures 4-6 element 470, [0037], [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Abdul discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the end comprises a locking member to block dislodgement of the end from the slot. Schulz teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 6A elements 225a and 225b, [0053] to support the tabs when the latter are inserted into the channels, thereby adding additional rigidity to the shield tabs (e.g. see [0053]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed use a locking member to block dislodgement as taught by Schulz in the system of Abdul, since said modification would provide the predictable results of supporting the tabs when the latter are inserted into the channels, thereby adding additional rigidity to the shield tabs.
Regarding claims 9, 19, and 21, Abdul discloses the body comprises a visual indicator to facilitate alignment between the aperture and the detector (e.g. see figure 4A elements 422, 470, 480. Note: All 3 of the elements will facilitate alignment and thus may be interpreted as a “visual indicator”).
Regarding claim 10, Abdul discloses the claimed invention and further discloses a communication interface to communicate with a monitor (e.g. see [0042], figure 8B element 810, “flexible circuit substrate”. Note: The examiner is interpreting the circuit portion of the “flexible circuit substrate” as the communication interface. It is configured to communicate with either a patient monitoring device or a monitor display device as it is circuitry that transmits sensed signals from the detector 820).
Regarding claims 12 and 16, Abdul discloses the hinge portion comprises a notch, and the notch comprises a weak point that bends to adjust the flap portion from the unfolded configuration to the folded configuration (e.g. see figure 4A element 480, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 13, Abdul discloses the sensor comprises a cable, and the cable is configured to connect a plug to the body of the sensor (e.g. see [0040], “cable connector”).
Regarding claim 14, Abdul discloses the monitor (e.g. see figure 1 element 160, [0002], [0042]. Note: The circuit portion of the “flexible circuit substrate” 810 may communicate with either a patient monitoring device or a monitor display device as it is circuitry that transmits sensed signals from the detector 820. Thus, the circuit portion is capable of and/or configured to be used with element 160), wherein the sensor is coupled to the monitor via the plug (e.g. see figure 1 elements 140. Note: The circuit portion of the “flexible circuit substrate” 810 may communicate with either a patient monitoring device or a monitor display device as it is circuitry that transmits sensed signals from the detector 820. Thus, the circuit portion is capable of and/or configured to be used with element 140).
Regarding claim 15, Abdul discloses the sensor is reusable, disposable, partially reusable, partially disposable, or any combination thereof (e.g. see claim 20 of Abdul).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Abdul discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the folded flap portion is secured to the body by an adhesive. Schulz teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0055] to minimize noise within the probe (e.g. see [0055]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed use an adhesive as taught by Schulz in the system of Abdul, since said modification would provide the predictable results of minimizing noise within the probe.
Regarding claim 18, Abdul discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the tapered end includes a locking end that is temporally deformable to be inserted into the slot. Schulz teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0054] to permit removal from and insertion into the channels of the housing element, while allowing some degree of flexibility so as to adapt to the shape and size of each individual patient's finger when the probe is fitted on the patient (e.g. see [0054]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed use a temporally deformable locking end as taught by Schulz in the system of Abdul, since said modification would provide the predictable results of permitting removal from and insertion into the channels of the housing element, while allowing some degree of flexibility so as to adapt to the shape and size of each individual patient's finger when the probe is fitted on the patient
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdul and Schulz as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of MacNeish (Pub. No.: US 2009/0095926 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Abdul and Schulz disclose the claimed invention except for the one or more openings comprise a plurality of openings through the flap portion. MacNeish teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 8A element 812, [0052] to provide windows of any shape appropriate to allow the passage of light but block electromagnetic noise (e.g. see [0052]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a plurality of openings/windows as taught by MacNeish in the system of Abdul and Schulz, since said modification would provide the predictable results of windows of any shape appropriate to allow the passage of light but block electromagnetic noise.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdul and Schulz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Besko et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0323267 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Besko”.
Regarding claim 7, Abdul and Schulz disclose the claimed invention except for the aperture extends beyond a dimension of the detector to facilitate alignment between the aperture and the detector. Besko teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figures 7B, 8B elements 42 and 50 to provide a substantial portion of the photodetector assembly being shielded from electromagnetic and static fields (e.g. see [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a window that extends beyond the detector as taught by Besko in the system of Abdul and Schulz, since said modification would provide the predictable results of providing a substantial portion of the photodetector assembly being shielded from electromagnetic and static fields.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdul and Schulz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pinto Rogrigues et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0137943 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Pinto”.
Regarding claims 22-23, Abdul and Schulz disclose the claimed invention but are silent as to the sensor is a fabric adhesive sensor. Pinto teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0137]-[0142], [0054] to provide a silicone adhesive that protects the sensor from water and its welding areas, and allows air to enter, to avoid the vacuum effect in the inner layer of the sensor (e.g. see [0142]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a fabric adhesive sensor as taught by Pinto in the system of Abdul and Schulz, since said modification would provide the predictable results of a silicone adhesive that protects the sensor from water and its welding areas, and allows air to enter, to avoid the vacuum effect in the inner layer of the sensor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.C.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792