Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The newly submitted claim amendments present new matter as detailed below. The drawing amendments have been entered and the objections withdrawn furthermore the specification amendments have been entered.
Turing to the prior art rejections the claims include new subject matter directed to the sizing of batteries. This sizing is detailed in the present specification (paragraph 0054 or 0107 of the publication) however is not present in the PCT or provisional application. As such the presented claims are presently treated with a filing date of October 2, 2023. Therefore, the Emert (of the Remark at 23) reference is valid prior art under 35 USC 102 and rejections containing the Emert reference have not been withdrawn. The rejections below have been modified to reflect the amended claim language presently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims have been amended to recite “two or more times a maximum amperage discharge” however the specification recites only two times (paragraph 0054 or 0107 of the publication). The claims therefore present new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 7-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panfil et al. (US 20210249894) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Emert et al. (US 20220224144) in view of Ichimura in view of Steven et al. (US 9,367,052)
With respect to claims 1 and 9 Panfil teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a battery energy storage supplemental power platform (30) configured to mitigate power changes exceeding a threshold amount (see paragraph 0053) due to instantaneous (paragraph 0036) change in electrical in-rush currents (paragraph 0035) compared to a steady state electrical current, where the battery energy storage supplemental power platform has a set of batteries making up a battery storage plant (see multiple batteries in Fig .1), a bidirectional power conversion unit (see 26 and 26c), and a set of circuit breakers (see breakers shown in Fig. 1), where the battery storage plant, the bidirectional power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers are electrically interconnected on the battery energy storage supplemental power platform (see battery supplemental subsystem),
an electrical controller (see 26, 28 and 54) configured to control and coordinate (paragraph 0033-36) both i) a discharging of the batteries making up the battery storage plant when the threshold (paragraph 0035) amount of the instantaneous electrical currents compared to the steady state electrical current is sensed and ii) a charging of the batteries (paragraph 0027) making up the battery storage plant when the batteries 1) are not in a mode to discharge and 2) are in a state of being less than fully charged (paragraph 0047), and
where the electrical controller is electrically connected a sensor to sense characteristics (see paragraph 0045) of power coming from a main power source (AC grid or utility), where the electrical controller is configured to discharge the batteries to mitigate (using power from battery) a swing past (drop below paragraph 0035) the threshold amount from the steady state electrical current.
Panfil does not teach the system is responsive to a startup condition. Carlson teaches the known response to startup process (col. 16 lines 35-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to mitigate startup current for the benefit of supplement as power provided to the loads.
Panfil does not teach remote electrical tap. Carlson teaches a tap and sensor (see 309/308) such arrangements are well known to determined electrical characteristics of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to include the use a tap and sensor a known means of accurately determining the power to ensure stable power is maintained at the load.
Panfil teaches the electrical interconnection and proximate location however does not teach the battery storage plant, the bidirectional power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers are contained on and electrically interconnected on the battery energy storage supplemental power platform. Emert teaches the known use of a module arrangement (see 110 paragraph 0037-39) the battery storage plant, the bidirectional power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers are contained on and electrically interconnected on the battery energy storage supplemental power platform. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil for the benefit of increased scalability.
Panfil further teaches batteries support rapid discharge and recharge and the controller is configured to switch a mode of operation (from charging to discharging) of the battery storage plant, the power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers from being a local source of additional instantaneous electrical power over to a charging mode to replenish energy into and charge batteries.
Panfil does not teach the batteries are silicon ion batteries. Ichimura teaches the known use of silicon-ion (paragraph 0019 abstract) batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to try the known use of silicon battery chemistry for the predictable result of environment problems (paragraph 0025).
Panfil teaches the inclusion of numerous batteries however does not detail the sizing of the batteries. Steven for example teaches the known use of a batteries have been sized in capacity to have an amount of energy stored at full charge (400kWh) to supply at least two or more times a maximum amperage discharge (1.5MW at 800V) from batteries at a peak power surge to support the rapid discharge of energy battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Panfil to try the know battery sizing seen in Steven for the minimizing maintenance (col. 56 line 67 – col. 57 line 3).
With respect to claims 7 and 15 Panfil teaches the bidirectional power conversion unit is an AC to DC (26b) power conversion and DC to AC power conversion unit (26d).
With respect to claims 8 and 16 Panfil teaches the bidirectional power conversion unit is an DC to DC power conversion unit (26c) that is configured to convert from a first steady state DC voltage level to a different second steady state DC voltage level.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panfil et al. (US 20210249894) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Emert et al. (US 20220224144) Ichimura in view of Steven et al. (US 9,367,052) in view of Osterman (US 6,617,973)
With respect to claim 2 and 10 Panfil as modified above teaches the platform however does not teach the material used. Osterman teaches a material (col. 4 lines 30-40) to withstand weather and outdoor conditions in a weatherized container as well as dissipate heat from frequent discharging and charging the batteries of the battery storage plant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil for the benefit of increased protection.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panfil et al. (US 20210249894) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Emert et al. (US 20220224144) Ichimura in view of Steven et al. (US 9,367,052) in view of Osterman (US 6,617,973) in view of Sweet et al. (US 20210274672)
With respect to claim 3 and 11 Panfil as modified above teaches battery platform however does not teach the use of a skid and wheels. Sweet teaches the known use of a skid (Fig. 3) framework that contains at least attachments to attach wheels (paragraph 0032) to make the battery energy storage supplemental power platform mobile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to include the use of wheels for the benefit of adjusting the placement.
Claim 5-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panfil et al. (US 20210249894) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Emert et al. (US 20220224144) Ichimura in view of Steven et al. (US 9,367,052)
With respect to claims 5 and 13 Panfil teaches the platform however does not teach the use of an expansion connection. Emert teaches an expansion connection (paragraph 0041, 122) to allow an additional battery energy storage supplemental power platform to connect electrically in parallel with the battery energy storage supplemental power platform; and thus, be scalable in an amount of capacity over time of its operation by having the expansion connection to add on additional electrical power capacity from the additional battery energy storage supplemental power platform. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to include expansion for the benefit of adapting the size to the needs of the installation.
With respect to claims 6 and 14 Panfil teaches the battery storage system however does not teach the reactor. Emert teaches a line reactor (paragraph 0032) to compensate for and eliminate at least one or more of i) surges, ii) transients, and iii) harmonics issues to an AC voltage level, frequency, and phase of AC voltage occurring in an AC power coming from the main power source from reaching and affecting the electrically connected electrical equipment loads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to include a reactor to increase reliability of the output power.
Claims 1, 5-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emert et al. (US 20220224144) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Ichimura in view of Steven
With respect to claims 1 and 9 Emert teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a battery energy storage supplemental power platform (110) configured to mitigate power changes exceeding a threshold amount (see peak reduction/shaving paragraph 0103 using DESSUPS) due to instantaneous (paragraph 005-7) change in electrical characteristics (voltage amplitude frequency change) compared to a steady state electrical current, where the battery energy storage supplemental power platform has a set of batteries making up a battery storage plant (see multiple batteries in Fig .1), a bidirectional power conversion unit (see Fig. 2), and a set of circuit breakers (see Fig. 2), where the battery storage plant, the bidirectional power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers are electrically interconnected on the battery energy storage supplemental power platform (see battery supplemental subsystem),
an electrical controller (see BESSUPS control Fig. 4) configured to control and coordinate (paragraph 0035) both i) a discharging of the batteries making up the battery storage plant when the threshold (paragraph 0031/103) amount of the instantaneous electrical currents compared to the steady state electrical current is sensed and ii) a charging of the batteries (paragraph 0047) making up the battery storage plant when the batteries 1) are not in a mode to discharge and 2) are in a state of being less than fully charged (paragraph 0114-15), and
where the electrical controller is electrically connected a sensor to sense characteristics (see paragraph 0042) of power coming from a main power source (AC grid or utility), where the electrical controller is configured to discharge the batteries to mitigate (using power from battery) a swing past (paragraph 0005-7) the threshold amount from the steady state electrical current.
Emert teaches the tap and sensor (paragraph 0042) and electrical interconnection and Emert teaches the known use of a module arrangement (see 110 paragraph 0037-39) the battery storage plant, the bidirectional power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers are contained on and electrically interconnected on the battery energy storage supplemental power platform.
Emert does not teach the system is responsive to a startup condition. Carlson teaches the known response to startup process (col. 16 lines 35-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Emert to mitigate startup current for the benefit of supplement as power provided to the loads.
Panfil further teaches batteries support rapid discharge and recharge and the controller is configured to switch a mode of operation (from charging to discharging) of the battery storage plant, the power conversion unit, and the circuit breakers from being a local source of additional instantaneous electrical power over to a charging mode to replenish energy into and charge batteries.
Panfil does not teach the batteries are silicon ion batteries. Ichimura teaches the known use of silicon-ion (paragraph 0019 abstract) batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil to try the known use of silicon battery chemistry for the predictable result of environment problems (paragraph 0025).
Panfil teaches the inclusion of numerous batteries however does not detail the sizing of the batteries. Steven for example teaches the known use of a batteries have been sized in capacity to have an amount of energy stored at full charge (400kWh) to supply at least two or more times a maximum amperage discharge (1.5MW at 800V) from batteries at a peak power surge to support the rapid discharge of energy battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Panfil to try the know battery sizing seen in Steven for the minimizing maintenance (col. 56 line 67 – col. 57 line 3).
With respect to claims 5 and 13 Emert teaches an expansion connection (paragraph 0041, 122) to allow an additional battery energy storage supplemental power platform to connect electrically in parallel with the battery energy storage supplemental power platform; and thus, be scalable in an amount of capacity over time of its operation by having the expansion connection to add on additional electrical power capacity from the additional battery energy storage supplemental power platform.
With respect to claims 6 and 14 Emert teaches a line reactor (paragraph 0032) to compensate for and eliminate at least one or more of i) surges, ii) transients, and iii) harmonics issues to an AC voltage level, frequency, and phase of AC voltage occurring in an AC power coming from the main power source from reaching and affecting the electrically connected electrical equipment loads.
With respect to claims 7 and 15 Emert teaches the bidirectional power conversion unit is an AC to DC (see Fig. 2 and 4) power conversion and DC to AC power conversion unit.
With respect to claims 8 and 16 Emert teaches the bidirectional power conversion unit however does not teach the is an DC to DC power conversion unit that is configured to convert from a first steady state DC voltage level to a different second steady state DC voltage level. DC converters as well-known of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify to include a DC converter for ensuring the proper voltage is supplied for ensuring the batteries are sufficiently charge.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emert et al. (US 20220224144) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Ichimura in view of Steven in view of in view of Osterman (US 6,617,973)
With respect to claim 2 and 10 Emert as modified above teaches the platform however does not teach the material used. Osterman teaches a material (col. 4 lines 30-40) to withstand weather and outdoor conditions in a weatherized container as well as dissipate heat from frequent discharging and charging the batteries of the battery storage plant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Panfil for the benefit of increased protection.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emert et al. (US 20220224144) in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662) in view of Ichimura in view of Steven in view of in view of Osterman (US 6,617,973) in view of Sweet et al. (US 20210274672)
With respect to claim 3 and 11 Emert as modified above teaches battery platform however does not teach the use of a skid and wheels. Sweet teaches the known use of a skid (Fig. 3) framework that contains at least attachments to attach wheels (paragraph 0032) to make the battery energy storage supplemental power platform mobile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Emert to include the use of wheels for the benefit of adjusting the placement.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836