Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 13-15, 17, 19, and 21-22 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnston et al (US 20160360745; hereinafter Johnston).
As regarding claim 1, Johnston discloses the claimed invention for a method of filtration in a process vessel (claim 10) comprising: providing a filtration zone in the process vessel (claim 10), wherein the filtration zone comprises a plurality of treated filter media (claim 10); passing a fluid stream through the filtration zone; and removing one or more contaminants from the fluid stream with the treated filter media ([0132]), wherein each of the treated filter media has an internal void space formed therein, and wherein a conditioner ([0144]) is embedded within the internal void space prior to installing the treated filter media into the vessel such that the internal void space is filled with the conditioner in the range from 1% - 90% by volume ([0132] – 25-50%), and wherein the conditioner comprises one or more of iron sulfide, coke, bio-char, charcoal, carbon black, and phosphate salts ([0144]).
As regarding claim 3, Johnston discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Johnston discloses the claimed invention for wherein the conditioner consists of one or more of iron sulfide, coke, bio-char, charcoal, carbon black, and phosphate salts ([0144]).
As regarding claims 5-8, Johnston discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Johnston discloses the claimed invention for wherein the internal void space is filled with the conditioner in the range of 5% - 80%, 5% - 30%, 40% - 60%, or 50% - 90% by volume ([0132] - 25-50%).
As regarding claim 13, Johnston discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Johnston discloses the claimed invention for wherein the conditioner comprises pre-existing particles previously entrained in a filter media prior to use (abstract and claim 10).
As regarding claim 14, Johnston discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Johnston discloses the claimed invention for wherein the conditioner comprises particles added to a filter media prior to use that then become entrained prior to loading in the process vessel (abstract and claim 10).
Claims 15, 17, 19, and 21-22 and 27-28 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claims 1, 3, 5, 7 and 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8-12, 20, 23-26, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al (US 20160360745; hereinafter Johnston).
As regarding claims 2 and 4, Johnston discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Johnston discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the contaminants comprise (or consist of) one or more of iron sulfide, coke, bio-char, charcoal, carbon black, and phosphate salts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the contaminants comprise (or consist of) one or more of iron sulfide, coke, bio-char, charcoal, carbon black, and phosphate salts in order to protect equipment, improve product quality, prevent catalyst fouling, avoid clogging, enhance safety, and keep the process efficiency, since it was known in the art as shown in Glover et al (US 20050255014; hereinafter Glover; [0008]).
As regarding claim 8, alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the internal void space is filled with the conditioner in the range of 50% - 90% by volume in order to enhance the performance of the treated filter media, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claims 9-12, Johnston discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Johnston discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the process vessel is a reactor, a guard vessel, a sorbent bed, or a feed filter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the process vessel is a reactor, a guard vessel, a sorbent bed, or a feed filter in order to enhance contaminant removal, protect downstream equipment, improve process consistency and extend media life, since it was known in the art as shown in Glover et al (US 11052363; hereinafter Glover; col 8 ln 53-55).
Claims 20, 23-26, and 29-30 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claims 1-2, and 8-12 above.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773