DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the different lengths of the rod and the hole in the steel plate claimed in claim 9 and the strap claimed in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. You should also say something about the line quality. It is not black and well defined and the text in figure 2 is not even legible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 17 recite the limitation "the steel place" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 13-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederick et al. (US2012/0279141) in view of ‘621 (CN103221621).
For claim 1, Wiederick et al. discloses a method for moving or securing a mobile structure (fig. 5A-B) having a floor (82) with an exterior floor surface, a roof (86) with an exterior roof surface, and at least one wall (84), the method comprising the acts of: providing at least one rod (91) having an attachment point at an attachment end and a brace end opposite the attachment end; running the at least one rod through at least one of the least one walls, leaving the attachment point extending from the exterior roof surface.
Wiederick et al. does not disclose coupling a brace to the rod at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface.
‘621 discloses a method of securing a mobile structure (fig. 3), the method comprising providing at least one rod (4) having an attachment point at an attachment end (4B) and a brace end (4A) opposite the attachment end, running the at least one rod through at least one of the walls and coupling a brace (9) to the rod at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to couple a brace to the rod of Wiederick et al. at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface as made obvious by ‘621 to reinforce the walls and provide an anchor system for the mobile structure.
For claim 2, the combination discloses that the attachment end extends from the exterior roof surface, the method further comprising the acts of coupling the attachment point of the at least one rod to a crane; lifting the mobile structure via the at least one rod (Wiederick et al. fig. 5A, 94).
For claim 3, the combination discloses that the attachment end extends from the exterior floor surface, the method further comprising the act of coupling the attachment point of the at least one rod to a pile (‘621 fig. 3, 5) that is anchored to the ground.
For claim 5, Wiederick et al. discloses a system for moving or securing a mobile structure (fig. 5A-B) having a floor (82) with an exterior floor surface, a roof (86) with an exterior roof surface, and at least one wall (84) with a first side, a second side and an interior between the first side and the second side, the system comprising at least one rod (91) having an attachment point at an attachment end and a brace end; with an attachment point on the attachment end, the at least one rod configured to be run through the interior of the at least one wall such that the attachment point extends from the exterior floor surface.
Wiederick et al. does not disclose a brace coupled to the brace end of the at least one rod to distribute a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod at the exterior roof surface if the attachment point extends from the exterior floor surface and at the exterior floor surface if the attachment point extends from the exterior roof surface.
‘621 discloses a system for securing a mobile structure (fig. 3) comprising at least one rod (4) having an attachment point at an attachment end (4B) and a brace end (4A) opposite the attachment end, running the at least one rod through at least one of the walls and coupling a brace (9) to the rod at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to couple a brace to the rod of Wiederick et al. at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface as made obvious by ‘621 to reinforce the walls and provide an anchor system for the mobile structure.
For claim 6, the attachment point is an eye hook (Wiederick et al. fig. 5B, 94).
For claim 7, the combination discloses that the at least one rod can be a steel rod (‘621 [0036]) and it would be obvious to choose a steel rod having a diameter between 0.5 inch and 2 inches to meet design specifications and increase the strength of the system.
For claim 8, the combination discloses that the rod had a diameter and it would be obvious to make the diameter 5/8 inches since this merely involves a change of size of an already disclosed element to meet design specifications and increase the strength of the system.
For 10, the combination discloses at least one pile configured to be secured to the attachment point (‘621 fig. 3, 5).
For claim 13, Wiederick et al. discloses a prefabricated structure (fig. 5A-B) that is securable or movable, the prefabricated structure comprising: a roof (86) having an exterior roof surface, a floor (82) having an exterior floor surface, and at least one wall (84) with a first side, a second side, and an interior between the first side and the second side; at least one rod (91) passing through the interior of the at least one wall between the roof and the floor, the at least one rod having an attachment point at an attachment end, wherein the attachment point extends from the exterior roof surface.
Wiederick et al. does not disclose a brace coupled to the brace end of the at least one rod to distribute a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod at the exterior roof surface if the attachment point extends from the exterior floor surface and at the exterior floor surface if the attachment point extends from the exterior roof surface.
‘621 discloses a system for securing a mobile structure (fig. 3) comprising at least one rod (4) having an attachment point at an attachment end (4B) and a brace end (4A) opposite the attachment end, running the at least one rod through at least one of the walls and coupling a brace (9) to the rod at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to couple a brace to the rod of Wiederick et al. at the brace end outside of the mobile structure such that a force created by pulling on the attachment end of the rod is distributed at the exterior roof surface as made obvious by ‘621 to reinforce the walls and provide an anchor system for the mobile structure.
For claim 14, the attachment point is an eye hook (Wiederick et al. fig. 5B, 94).
For claim 15, the combination discloses that the at least one rod can be a steel rod (‘621 [0036]) and it would be obvious to choose a steel rod having a diameter between 0.5 inch and 2 inches to meet design specifications and increase the strength of the system.
For claim 16, the combination discloses that the rod had a diameter and it would be obvious to make the diameter 5/8 inches since this merely involves a change of size of an already disclosed element to meet design specifications and increase the strength of the system.
For 18, the combination discloses at least one pile configured to be secured to the attachment point (‘621 fig. 3, 5).
Claim(s) 4, 11-12, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiederick et al. (US2012/0279141) in view of ‘621 (CN10322162) as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further in view of Oliver et al. (US2020/0392689).
For claim 4, the combination discloses that the attachment end extends from the exterior floor surface, but does not disclose the acts of coupling the attachment point of the at least one rod to a helical pile, and anchoring the helical pile to the ground.
Oliver et al. discloses a method for securing a mobile structure (fig. 6, 10) comprising coupling the attachment point of at least one rod (146) to a helical pile (30), and anchoring the helical pile to the ground (11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to couple the attachment point of the at least one rod of the combination to a helical pile, and anchoring the helical pile to the ground as made obvious by Oliver et al. to increase the sturdiness of the mobile structure when it is positioned on the ground.
For claims 11 and 19, the combination discloses the obviousness of making the pile a helical pile (Oliver et al. fig. 6, 30) to increase the sturdiness of the mobile structure when it is positioned on the ground.
For claims 12 and 20, the combination discloses using straps (Oliver et al. fig. 9, 76) to connect braces together and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to couple multiple braces of the system to each other by a strap that further distributes the forces to increase the load bearing capacity of the system.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA K IHEZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633