DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griebling et al. (US 20210361446 A1) in view of Puchhammer et al. (US 20100191343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Griebling discloses a prosthetic finger (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) comprising a track (base piece (2)) that couples to a hand (via 1, see par. [0024]), a first phalange (first segment (3)) coupled to the track at a first joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A1)), a second phalange (second segment (5a)) coupled to the first phalange at a second joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A2)), a motor (14a) positioned at least partially within the second phalange (see annotated Fig.2), a first linkage positioned at least partially within the first phalange (see annotated Fig.2) and configured to cause the first phalange to move with respect to the track in response to a motor output (see par. [0033]), and cause the second phalange to move with respect to the first phalange in response to the motor output (see par. [0033]), and a third phalange (5b) coupled to the second phalange (5a) at a third joint (see Fig. 1B).
Griebling fails to disclose a second linkage coupling the third phalange to the first phalange and configured to cause the third phalange to move with respect to the second phalange in response to the motor output. However, Puchhammer, in the same field of art, discloses a prosthetic finger (Fig. 1, 1, par. [0046]) comprising first (10), second (20), and third (30) phalanges. Puchhammer teaches a second linkage (connecting lever (93), see par. [0053]) coupling the third phalange (30) to the first phalange (10) and configured to cause the third phalange to move with respect to the second phalange in response to the motor output (motor (40), see par. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the prosthetic finger of Griebling to a second linkage coupling the third phalange to the first phalange and configured to cause the third phalange to move with respect to the second phalange in response to the motor output, as taught by Puchhammer, in order to enable coordinated biomimetic movement, allowing the prosthetic finger to achieve more control and adaptable grasp (Puchhammer, see par. [0005] and [0009]).
Griebling Annotated Fig.2
Regarding claim 2, Griebling, as modified Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic finger (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 1, wherein the motor (14a) is configured to produce a first motor output having a first direction and a second motor output having a second direction (see par. [0033]); in response to the first motor output (see par. [0033]), the first phalange (first segment (3)), the second phalange (second segment (5a)), and the third phalange (5b) move in a flexion direction (see par. [0029]); and in response to the second motor output (par. [0033]), the first phalange, the second phalange, and the third phalange move in an extension direction (see par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Griebling, as modified by Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic finger (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 2, wherein in response to the first motor output (motor (14a), see par. [0033]), the first phalange moves along the track in the first direction (base piece (2), first segment (3), see par. [0029]), and in response to the second motor output (see par. [0033]), the first phalange moves along the track in the second direction (see par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Griebling, as modified by Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic finger (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 1, further comprising a gear system (see Fig.2 ,9a) coupled to the motor (14a), wherein the gear system couples the second phalange to the first phalange and the second joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A2)).
Regarding claim 8, Griebling, as modified Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic finger (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 7, wherein the gear system (gear (9a), see annotated Fig.2) comprises an output shaft that couples to the first phalange (first segment (3), gear (9a), see annotated Fig.2), and the motor output causes the output shaft to rotate the first phalange with respect to the second phalange (motor (14a), see annotated Fig.2, par. [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Griebling discloses a prosthetic device (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) comprising a track (base piece (2)) that couples to a hand (via 1, see par. [0024]), a first phalange (first segment (3)) coupled to the track at a first joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A1)), a second phalange (second segment (5a)) coupled to the first phalange at a second joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A2)), a motor (14a) positioned at least partially within the second phalange (see annotated Fig.2), and a first bar (see par. [0029]) positioned at least partially within the first phalange and configured to cause the first phalange to move with respect to the track in response to a motor output (see par. [0029] and [0030]), and cause the second phalange to move with respect to the first phalange in response to the motor output (see par. [0033]). However, Puchhammer, in the same field of art, further discloses a prosthetic device (Fig. 1, 1, par. [0046]) comprising a track (71, see Fig.2) that couples to a hand (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a first phalange (10) coupled to the track at a first joint (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a second phalange (20) coupled to the first phalange at a second joint (see annotated Fig. 2 below). Puchhammer fails to disclose a motor positioned at least partially within the second phalange, and a first bar positioned at least partially within the first phalange and configured to cause the first phalange to move with respect to the track in response to a motor output, and cause the second phalange to move with respect to the first phalange in response to the motor output. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the prosthetic finger of Griebling to comprise a track that couples to a hand, a first phalange coupled to the track at a first joint, and a second phalange coupled to the first phalange at a second joint, as furthermore taught by Puchhammer, in order to enable more controlled and precise movement (Puchhammer, see par. [0009]).
Puchhammer Annotated Fig.2
Regarding claim 12, Griebling, as modified Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic device (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 11, wherein the track (base piece (2)) defines one or more rails (see annotated Fig.2), the first phalange comprises one or more slides that couple to the one or more rails (see par. [0027]), and the first phalange is configured to move along the track (see annotated Fig.2).
Regarding claim 13, Griebling, as modified Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic device (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 12, wherein the one or more rails define a curved profile (see annotated Fig.2), and the first phalange is configured to move along the curved profile of the one or more rails (first segment (3), see annotated Fig.2).
Regarding claim 14, Griebling, as modified Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic device (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 11, wherein the second phalange (second segment (5a)) comprises a body portion (see annotated Fig.2), and a gear system (gear (9a), see annotated Fig.2) coupled to the body portion and operably coupled to the motor (motor (14a), see annotated Fig.2), and the gear system is rotatably coupled to the first phalange (see annotated Fig.2).
Regarding claim 15, Griebling, as modified Puchhammer, discloses the prosthetic device (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) of claim 14, wherein the gear system (gear (9a), see annotated Fig.2) comprises an output shaft coupled to the first phalange (see annotated Fig.2), and the output shaft causes the second phalange to move with respect to the first phalange in response to the motor output (see par. [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4-6, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the first linkage comprises a first link bar having a first end coupled to the track, a second link bar having a first end coupled to the first phalange, and a third link bar having a first end coupled to the second phalange, and second ends of the first link bar, the second link bar, and the third link bar are coupled to each other.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest, wherein the second linkage comprises a first link bar that extends along a first side of the second phalange and comprises a first end coupled to the first phalange and a second end coupled to the third phalange, and a second link bar that extends along a second side of the second phalange and comprises a first end coupled to the first phalange and a second end coupled to the third phalange.
Claims 16-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: a first linkage positioned at least partially within the first phalange and comprising a first link bar defining a first end coupled to the track and a second end, a second link bar defining a first end couped to the track and a second end, a second link bar defining a first end coupled to the first phalange and a second end; and a third link bar defining a first end coupled to the second phalange and second end, wherein the second ends of the first link bar, the second link bar and the third link bar are coupled together.
Closest prior art Griebling discloses prosthetic finger (see Figs.1A-1B, digit (30)) comprising: a track (base piece (2)) that couples to a hand (via 1, see par. [0024]); a first phalange (first segment (3)) coupled to the track at a first joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A1)); and a second phalange (second segment (5a)) coupled to the first phalange at a second joint (see Fig.1B, joints (A2)). Puchhammer also discloses prosthetic finger (Fig. 1, 1, par. [0046]) comprising: a track (71, see Fig.2) that couples to a hand (see annotated Fig.2 above); a first phalange (10) coupled to the track at a first joint (see annotated Fig.2 above); and a second phalange (20) coupled to the first phalange at a second joint (see annotated Fig. 2 above). Griebling and Puchhammer fail to disclose a first linkage positioned at least partially within the first phalange and comprising a first link bar defining a first end coupled to the track and a second end, a second link bar defining a first end coupled to the first phalange and a second end, a second link bar defining a first end coupled to the first phalange and second end; and a third link bar defining a first end coupled to the second phalange and second end, wherein the second ends of the first link bar, the second link bar and the third bar are coupled together.
Conclusion
/Raegan Crowe/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3774
5/7/2026
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700