DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim (s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haslinger (US 20120146352 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haslinger teaches a prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) comprising: a first phalange (see annotated Fig.1 below) that couples to a hand (see annotated Fig.1 below, par. [0002]); a second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 below) that couples to the first phalange at a joint (Fig.1, 12); a motor (Fig.13, motor (80)) positioned at least partially within the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 below); and a cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) comprising: an input gear (Fig.13, friction gear (90)) operably coupled to the motor (Fig.13, motor (80)); and an output shaft (Fig.13, (81), par. [0047]) coupled to the joint (Fig.1, illustrating all components coupled together to form finger 1); wherein, in response to an output from the motor (Fig.13, motor (80)), the cycloidal gear system causes the second phalange to move with respect to the first phalange (Figs. 2-3, par. [0041]).
Annotated Fig.1
Regarding claim 2, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 1, wherein: the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 above) extends between a proximal end and a distal end (see annotated Fig.1 above); and the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) is coupled to the proximal end of the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 2, wherein the motor (Fig.13, motor (80)) extends between a base end and an output end (see annotated Fig.1 above); the base end is positioned proximate to the distal end of the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 above); and the output end is positioned proximate to the proximal end of the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of the claim 1, wherein: the motor (Fig.13, motor (80)) comprises a first gear (Fig.13, friction gear (90)); the output comprises rotation of the first gear about a first axis (Fig.13, par. [0047]); the cycloidal gear system comprises a second gear (Fig.13, output gear wheel (71)); and the rotation of the first gear causes rotation of the second gear about a second axis (Fig.13, par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 4, wherein: the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) comprises an eccentric shaft (Fig.8, par. [0041]); and the second gear is coupled to the eccentric shaft (Fig.8, par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 1, wherein: the first phalange (see annotated Fig.1) defines a keyed opening (Fig.4, through-opening (44), par.[0043]); the output shaft (Fig.13, (81), par. [0047]) comprises an outer profile that corresponds to the keyed opening (see annotated Fig.13 below); and the output shaft extends at least partially through the keyed opening (see annotated Fig.13 below).
Fig.13 Annotated
Regarding claim 7, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 1, wherein the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) comprises a two-stage cycloidal gear (see annotated Fig.8 below).
Annotated Fig.8
Regarding claim 8, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 1, wherein: the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) comprises a housing defining a first side and a second side (Fig.13, housing (72), par.[0047]); a first cycloidal gear assembly is positioned on the first side of the housing (Fig.13, housing (72), par. [0047]); and a second cycloidal gear (Fig.8, 41) assembly is positioned on the second side of the housing (Fig.13, housing (72), par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Haslinger teaches the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 8, wherein: the first cycloidal gear (Fig.8, 43) assembly comprises at least one cycloidal disk (Fig.13, bearing disk (91), par. [0047]); and the second cycloidal gear (Fig.8, 41) assembly comprises at least two cycloidal disks (Fig.13, bearing disk (91), par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 8, wherein: the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) further comprises a keyed shaft (see annotated Fig.13); and the first cycloidal gear assembly is coupled to the second cycloidal gear assembly by the keyed shaft (see annotated Fig.13).
Regarding claim 11, Haslinger discloses a prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) comprising: a first phalange (see annotated Fig.1) that couples to a hand (see annotated Fig.1, par.[0002]); a second phalange (see annotated Fig.1) that couples to the first phalange at a joint (Fig.1, 12) and comprising: a motor (Fig.13, motor (80)) positioned at least partially within the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1); and a cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) comprising: an input gear (Fig.13, friction gear (90)) operably coupled to the motor (Fig.13, motor (80)); a first cycloidal gear stage (see annotated Fig.8) driven by the input gear (Fig.13, friction gear (90)); and a second cycloidal gear stage (see annotated Fig.8) driven by the first cycloidal gear stage (Fig.13, par.[0047]); and an output shaft (Fig.13, (81), par. [0047]) driven by the second cycloidal gear stage (Fig.13, par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 11, wherein the output shaft (Fig.13, (81), par. [0047]) is coupled to the first phalange (Fig.1, proximal member (10)).
Regarding claim 13, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 11, wherein: the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1) further comprises a body portion (see annotated Fig.1); the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) is coupled to the body portion (see annotated Fig.1).
Regarding claim 14, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 11, wherein: the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1) further comprises a body portion (see annotated Fig.1); the cycloidal gear system is coupled to the body portion (see annotated Fig.1).
Regarding claim 15, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 14, wherein the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1) is coupled to (see annotated Fig.1) the first phalange (see annotated Fig.1) by the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43).
Regarding claim 16, Haslinger discloses a prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) comprising: a first phalange (see annotated Fig.1) that couples to a hand (see annotated Fig.1, par.[0002]); and a second phalange (see annotated Fig.1 below) that couples to the first phalange and comprising: a body portion (see annotated Fig.1 above); a motor (Fig.13, motor (80)) positioned at least partially within the body portion (see annotated Fig.1) comprising an output gear (Fig.13, output gear wheel (71)); and a cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 43) comprising: an input gear (Fig.13, friction gear (90)) operably coupled to the output gear of the motor (Fig.13, output gear wheel (71)); and an output shaft (Fig.13, (81), par.[0047]) coupled to the first phalange (see Fig.1 illustrating all components coupled together to form finger 1).
Regarding claim 17, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 16, wherein the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 13) causes the first phalange (see annotated Fig.1) to move with respect to the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1) in response to a motor output (Fig.8, par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 18, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 17, further comprising: a track that couples to a hand (see annotated Fig.1, par. [0002]); and a linkage system coupled to the track (see annotated Fig.1), the first phalange (see annotated Fig.1) and the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1) wherein, the linkage system causes the first phalange to move along the track in response to the motor output (see annotated Fig.1, par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 19, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 18, further comprising a third phalange rigidly coupled to the second phalange (see annotated Fig.1).
Regarding claim 20, Haslinger discloses the prosthetic finger (Fig.1, gripping device (1), par. [0028]) of claim 16, wherein the cycloidal gear system (Fig.8, 13) comprises a multi-stage cycloidal gear (see annotated Fig.8).
Conclusion
/RAEGAN CROWE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700