DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 7/19/2026 for the application No. 18/375,992, Claims 13, 18-23, and 26-38 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 13, 18-23, and 26-38 have been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 18-23, and 26-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claims 13, 22 and 29, recite the new amended terms “staffing lifecycle” , “the staffing event independent of completion of the opportunity” and offboarding “.
Claim 37, recites “wherein the staffing lifecycle comprises one or more of:
recruiting; candidate evaluation; credential verification; interview scheduling;
interview completion; onboarding; shift acceptance; shift performance;
continuing education; retention; and offboarding”.
Claim 38, recites “wherein completion of the opportunity comprises one staffing event of the staffing lifecycle”.
The specification of the instant application does not expressly describe those terms.
The Examiner notes that the closest subject matter that Examiner finds in the instant specification is at paragraph 20 of the instant application “[20] As shown in FIG. 1, the NurseBee Blockchain ecosystem 100 (Hive) is comprised of Hive participants including clinicians 101, facilities 102, recruiters 103, vendors 104, contributors 105, service providers 106, committees 107, and franchisees 108. Each participant operates as a moving part of an efficient consortium of participants for the betterment of a nurse's life”.
“8. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the one or more processors is adapted to generate at least one of the plurality of rewards, wherein the at least one of the plurality of rewards are rewarded based at least in part on one or more of: a worker signup; a worker profile creation; an uploaded worker credential; a worker referral; a recruiter signup; a recruiter profile creation; a recruiter referral; a recruiter source; a resume screen; a recruiter connect; worker tenure; work cumulative duration; worker overtime; worker training; worker earnings; a connection; (a match for clinicians and providers) recruiter earnings; a shared contact; a provided rating; a received good rating; a received good job review; a provided comment; and a completed task”, original claim 8.
The Examiner notes that, per Merriam-Wester dictionary definition, “A life cycle is the series of changes, growth, and developmental stages that a living organism, product, or process goes through from its beginning until it renews itself or ends”. The definition implies progression or steps in the process. The Examiner does not find this kind of progression “life cycle” although some activities or jobs or tasks, performed for staffing are mentioned in the specification.
Per MPEP 2163.03 “An amendment to the claims or the addition of a new claim must be supported by the description of the invention in the application as filed. In re Wright, 866 F.2d 422, 9 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 1989)”. The Examiner notes that these limitations are unclear at time of determining the boundaries of patent protection sought. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations with not support in the instant specification do not satisfy the written requirement that the inventor was in possession of the invention as of the filing date sought (see MPEP 2163.02).
Claims 18-23, 26-28, and 30-38, they depend of claims and they do not cure the deficiencies set forth above. Therefore, dependent claims are also rejected for failing to clarify the relative terms which renders the claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13, 18-23, and 26-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 13, 18-23, and 26-38 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). Examiner’s analysis is presented below for all the claims.
Claim 13: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of “ [interface ]…adapted to enable one or more of an opportunity poster and a candidate to earn one or more …;” The “earns” limitation, as drafted, is a process and system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The system for providing nurses or staffing with employee opportunities, benefits and services. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as,
“[interface ]…adapted to enable the opportunity poster to input an opportunity for storage …; [interface ]…adapted to receive an indication of a staffing event, the staffing event occurring during the staffing lifecycle, the staffing event associated with the opportunity, the staffing event independent of completion of the opportunity, the staffing event performed by or attributed to the candidate; and …transfer a portion of the one or more performance-based incentive tokens to a candidate wallet upon receiving the indication of the staffing event, the candidate wallet associated with the candidate”.
These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data. It is merely gathering data.
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure:
“a) a token reward interface, the token reward interface adapted to enable a candidate to earn one or more performance-based incentive tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain; b) an opportunity interface, the opportunity interface adapted to enable the opportunity poster , an opportunity database; a network interface ; f) one or more processors, the one or more processors adapted to trigger the smart contract “.
The limitations comprise generic recited computer elements and software including data. The use of “a smart contract stored on a blockchain” is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea because it merely reflects the use of conventional technology and amounts to only generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. MPEP 2106.05(h).
The combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Also limitations such as
“receive an indication of a staffing event, the staffing event occurring during the staffing lifecycle, the staffing event associated with the opportunity, the staffing event independent of completion of the opportunity, the staffing event performed by or attributed to the candidate; and …transfer a portion of the one or more performance-based incentive tokens to a candidate wallet upon receiving the indication of the staffing event, the candidate wallet associated with the candidate”. The Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim,
“a) a token reward interface, the token reward interface adapted to enable a candidate to earn one or more performance-based incentive tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain; b) an opportunity interface, the opportunity interface adapted to enable the opportunity poster , an opportunity database; a network interface ; f) one or more processors, the one or more processors adapted to trigger the smart contract “.
amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Here, some limitations were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
Also limitations in the claim, such as:
“[interface ]…adapted to enable the opportunity poster to input an opportunity for storage …; [interface ]…adapted to receive an indication of a staffing event, the staffing event occurring during the staffing lifecycle, the staffing event associated with the opportunity, the staffing event independent of completion of the opportunity, the staffing event performed by or attributed to the candidate; and …transfer a portion of the one or more performance-based incentive tokens to a candidate wallet upon receiving the indication of the staffing event, the candidate wallet associated with the candidate”. These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data). Accessing or receiving data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the elements
“a) a token reward interface, the token reward interface adapted to enable a candidate to earn one or more performance-based incentive tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain; b) an opportunity interface, the opportunity interface adapted to enable the opportunity poster , an opportunity database; a network interface ; f) one or more processors, the one or more processors adapted to trigger the smart contract “, are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332, 121 USPQ2d 1940 (Fed. Cir. 2017), the steps in the claims described "the creation of a dynamic document based upon ‘management record types’ and ‘primary record types.’" 850 F.3d at 1339-40; 121 USPQ2d at 1945-46. The claims were found to be directed to the abstract idea of "collecting, displaying, and manipulating data." 850 F.3d at 1340; 121 USPQ2d at 1946. Concluding that generating information as a function of other information and a "dynamic" limitation is not sufficient to remove the claims from the abstract realm. The use of an estimation function is similarly deficient, as it merely reflects the use of the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea of estimating advertising elasticity. In this case, “tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain” limitation, the use of
“opportunity database[AltContent: ]; “ a candidate database” and “token reward interface”, “opportunity interface”; “a notification interface” and “candidate wallet “ are well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that “a) a token reward interface, the token reward interface adapted to enable a candidate to earn one or more performance-based incentive tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain; b) an opportunity interface, the opportunity interface adapted to enable the opportunity poster , an opportunity database; a network interface ; f) one or more processors, the one or more processors adapted to trigger the smart contract “, limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. See MPEP 2106.05 (d). The claim is ineligible.
Claim 22: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 29: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 18-21, 23, 26-28 and 30-38, the claims recite elements such as “, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to utilize an artificial intelligence algorithm to improve the accuracy of candidate-to-opportunity matches based on one or more of: opportunity criteria; facility historical performance; facility preferences; facility requirements; facility data; candidate historical performance; candidate preferences; candidate attributes; and candidate availability”, etc. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 16-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG PUB. No. 20220180416(SHOOK) in view of US PG PUB. No. 20200098072 (Escobar) in view of US Patent No. 11627125 (Stewart).
As to claims 13, 22 and 29, SHOOK discloses a system (“system and method is implemented to facilitate a blockchain based labor arbitrage”, abstract) comprising:
a) a token reward interface, the token reward interface adapted to enable a candidate to earn one or more performance-based incentive tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain;
(“An innovative system and method is implemented to facilitate a blockchain based labor arbitrage. The system uses a processor to manage labor arbitrage between business operator devices and laborer devices. The method starts with a description for a job request received from a business operator device [Examiner equates an opportunity poster ]. After distributing the job description, the method receives proposals from the laborer devices [Examiner equates a candidate to earn one or more tokens ]. Then method matches a primary laborer device to the job description and generates a smart contract in the blockchain between the business operator device and the primary laborer device. Upon job completion, the method verifies that all job requirements plus quality standards are satisfactorily met and signatures of both the business operator device and the primary laborer device are validated, the method transmits a compensation of a predetermined type and amount of cryptographic token to the primary laborer device”, abstract and paragraph 2);
b) an opportunity interface, the opportunity interface adapted to enable the opportunity poster to input an opportunity for storage in an opportunity database[AltContent: ],
(“[0034] As can be seen in FIG. 3, the method for facilitating a blockchain based marketplace for labor arbitrage of the present invention includes a step of receiving, using a communication device 202, a job description for a job from a business operator device 231, wherein the job description is entered to a blockchain 205 stored on a storage device 203, and wherein the business operator device 231 is granted access to the blockchain 205,…”, paragraph 34.
See also,
“[0029] As can be seen in FIG. 1, an online platform 100 consistent with various embodiments of the present invention facilitates a system and method for autonomous economies based on a distributed ledger technology (DLT) may be hosted on a centralized server 102, such as, for example, a cloud computing service 1300, as can be seen in FIG. 10. The centralized server 102 may communicate with other network entities, including, but not limited to, a mobile device 106 (such as a smartphone, a laptop, a tablet computer, etc.), other electronic devices 110 (such as desktop computers, server computers, etc.), databases 114…”, paragraph 29);
the opportunity having a [staffing] lifecycle;
(“…the method verifies that all job requirements [Examiner equates to opportunity lifecycle] plus quality standards are satisfactorily met …”, abstract.
“…The method processes a transaction based on the buy order and the smart contract associated with the job by generating a compensation for the transaction in response to a successful job completion, wherein all job requirements plus quality standards are satisfactorily met…”, paragraph 9.
“…at least one quality requirement to determine if the job completion is satisfactory to all requirements of the business operator device 251”, paragraph 40. See also “labor met all contracted requirements”, paragraph 85);
and e) network interface adapted to: receive an indication of a [ staffing] event, the staffing event occurring during the staffing lifecycle, the [ staffing] event associated with the opportunity, the [ staffing] event independent of completion of the
opportunity, the [ staffing] event performed by or attributed to the candidate;
(see “quality of performance”, paragraph 44 and Fig. 7.
See also “[0042] As can be seen in FIG. 5, the method may comprise a sub-process for providing at least one record for the at least one laborer device 251 that provides a job proposal for the job requested by the business operator device 231. More specifically, the method includes a step of transmitting, using the communication device, at least one record in the blockchain 205 for the at least one laborer device 251 in Step D to the business operator device 231 through the processor; wherein the at least one record includes at least one of past job performance records, skill records, technical certificates, and credentials that are saved in the blockchain 205 in the storage device 203..”, paragraph 42.
“…at least one quality requirement to determine if the job completion is satisfactory to all requirements of the business operator device 251”, paragraph 40. See also “labor met all contracted requirements”, paragraph 85);
and f) one or more processors, the one or more processors adapted to
trigger the smart contract to transfer a portion of the one or more tokens to a candidate wallet upon receiving the indication of the[ clinical ] performance event, the candidate [wallet] owned by the candidate.
(“…Governing quality needs to include platform rules and rewards for these labor economy roles and, payment for these assurance activities would be contingent on the finalized labor transaction achieving, at least, two out of three digital signatures, thereby releasing token transfer and finalization…”, paragraph 82).
SHOOK does not expressly disclose but Escobar discloses
Profile
(Escobar’s system that is in the business of “creating employment contracts and possession contracts between users which are stored on a blockchain ledger”, abstract.
Escobar teaches “user profile 214 is verified”, paragraph 62)
clinical performance
(“worker's job history and performance for particular employers to be stored in a trustworthy and reliable manner”, paragraph 4.
“…Client-endorsers 228 can provide feedback on job performance of a worker 224….”, paragraph 62).
wallet
(“…wallets may (optionally) each include one or more instances of wallet private keys, utility tokens, crypto currency,…”, paragraph 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Escobar’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and possession contracts (see Escobar abstract).
SHOOK does not expressly disclose but Stewart discloses
staffing
(“… A job offerer may be an entity such as a staffing agency, hiring department of employers, insurers, government agencies, and the like”, 7:10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stewart’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and job offerers (see Stewart abstract).
As to claim 22, it comprises the same limitations than claim 13 above, therefore is rejected in similar manner.
As to claim 29, it comprises the same limitations than claim 13 above, therefore is rejected in similar manner.
As to claims 32, SHOOK discloses
wherein the at least a portion of a candidate profile is one or more of: a resume; a credential; and a verified credential.
(“…wherein the at least one record includes at least one of past job performance records, skill records, technical certificates, and credentials that are saved in the blockchain 205 in the storage device 203. ..”, paragraph 42).
As to claims 31, SHOOK discloses performance-based incentive tokens
( “…. Upon job completion, the method verifies that all job requirements plus quality standards are satisfactorily met and signatures of both the business operator device and the primary laborer device are validated, the method transmits a compensation of a predetermined type and amount of cryptographic token to the primary laborer device”, abstract and paragraph 2);
SHOOK does not disclose but Escobar discloses
further comprising a candidate profile interface, the candidate profile interface adapted to: enable the candidate to input at least a portion of the candidate profile;
(“ The web browser 314 or the application 324 may enable a user 220 to securely login for creating and/or accessing their user profile 214, stored on the user device 204 and/or service database 201…”, paragraph 46 and Figs. 2 and 5 and associated disclosure);
and upon completion of the candidate profile, trigger the smart contract to transfer a second portion of the one or more tokens to the candidate wallet.
(“[0042] In some embodiments, security feature 360 may implement or otherwise interact with a removable or other digital wallet 366. Such wallets may (optionally) each include one or more instances of wallet private keys, .. tokens, crypto currency…”, paragraph 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Escobar’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and possession contracts (see Escobar abstract).
As to claims 18 and 26, SHOOK discloses
wherein the one or more processors utilize an artificial intelligence algorithm to improve the accuracy of candidate-to-opportunity matches based on one or more of:
opportunity criteria;
facility historical performance; facility preferences;
facility requirements; facility data;
candidate historical performance; candidate preferences;
candidate attributes; and candidate availability.
(SHOOK’s system teaches, “[0037] With the laborer indication, as can be seen in FIG. 3, the method may include a step of identifying, at the processor 201, a primary laborer device of the at least one laborer device from the plurality of laborer devices 251 based on the job indication (Step F). In this step, the method may include selecting the at least one primary laborer of the at least one laborer. The method matches a qualified and willing primary laborer to a job requirement based on the business operator's preference and any relevant quality requirement….”, paragraph 37, Fig. 3 and associated disclosure.
Shook’s system also comprises “… wherein the at least one record includes at least one of past job performance records, skill records, technical certificates, and credentials that are saved in the blockchain 205 in the storage device 203…”, paragraph 42 and Fig. 5. See also in Fig. 4 steps (i) and (j), “signatures of the job completion indication”, “quality of performance” , etc in Fig. 7 and associated disclosure.
Next, “[0045] As can be seen in FIG. 10, a system consistent with the embodiments of the present invention may include a computing device or a cloud service, such as the computing device 1300. … Operating system 1305, for example, may be suitable for controlling computing device 1300's operation. In one embodiment, programming modules 1306 may include image-processing module, machine learning module and/or image classifying module…”, paragraph 45 and Fig. 10 and associated disclosure).
As to claims 19, 27 and 33, SHOOK discloses
wherein a second portion of performance-based incentive tokens is transferred [to the candidate wallet] when the candidate performs one or more of:
completes a candidate profile:
inputs a referral for a second candidate; participates in a poll;
participates in governance voting;
uploads a credential; verifies a credential; completes a survey; provides feedback;
engages with educational content; participates in continuing education; completes an educational course; uses mental health services;
uses wellness services; participates in carpooling; completes an assigned task; and uses specified services.
(SHOOK’s system teaches, “…the method receives proposals from the laborer devices. Then method matches a primary laborer device to the job description and generates a smart contract in the blockchain between the business operator device and the primary laborer device. Upon job completion, the method verifies that all job requirements plus quality standards are satisfactorily met and signatures of both the business operator device and the primary laborer device are validated, the method transmits a compensation of a predetermined type and amount of cryptographic token to the primary laborer device…”, abstract).
SHOOK does not expressly disclose but Escobar discloses
wallet
(“…wallets may (optionally) each include one or more instances of wallet private keys, utility tokens, crypto currency,…”, paragraph 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Escobar’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and possession contracts (see Escobar abstract).
As to claims 20, 28 and 34, SHOOK does not expressly disclose but Escobar discloses
further comprising a reputation management module, the reputation management module adapted to adjust candidate profiles based on one or more of:
feedback scores; and verified work history, wherein the candidate profile is for the candidate.
(“[0005] This presently disclosed invention utilizes a blockchain-based ledger e.g., a distributed, remotely accessible, immutable ledger) for creation and development of a worker and employer reputation score, including work history. By permitting crowd-source reviews, migratory workers can maintain a global reputation that is immutable and stored in using the blockchain system…”, paragraph 5.
“[0047] Each user profile 214 may have corresponding user attributes (or user attribute metadata) 216. User attributes 216 may include one or more of the following: user ID 250, pseudo user ID or public key 217 (which has a one-to-one association with the user ID), private key 221 paired with the user public key 217 (i.e., using public-key or asymmetric cryptography), reputation score 210, reviews 244, comments 231, ratings 251, creation date 260, last update date 252, verification status 253, job history 254…”, paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Escobar’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and possession contracts (see Escobar abstract).
As to claims 21, 23 and 30, SHOOK discloses wherein the [ staffing] event comprises one or more of:
a completed shift; accepting the opportunity;
accepting a last-minute shift; being available for work;
being placed into a recommended shift; being placed into an optimized shift;
providing care that meets performance metrics; demonstrating protocol compliance;
receiving positive peer feedback; receiving positive patient feedback;
completing monitored training;
completing monitored continuing education; and receiving a high rating from an employer.
(SHOOK discloses feedback, “0042] As can be seen in FIG. 5, the method may comprise a sub-process for providing at least one record for the at least one laborer device 251 that provides a job proposal for the job requested by the business operator device 231. More specifically, the method includes a step of transmitting, using the communication device, at least one record in the blockchain 205 for the at least one laborer device 251 in Step D to the business operator device 231 through the processor; wherein the at least one record includes at least one of past job performance records [feedback], skill records, technical certificates, and credentials that are saved in the blockchain 205 in the storage device 203…”, paragraph 42 and Fig. 5.
“…. As can be seen in FIG. 8, in some embodiments of the present invention, the method may include a step of receiving, using the communication device 202, signatures of the job completion indication from both the at least one arbitrator device 271 and the business operator device 231, …, quality of performance, etc…”, paragraph 44 and Fig. 8).
SHOOK does not expressly disclose but Stewart discloses
staffing
(“… A job offerer may be an entity such as a staffing agency, hiring department of employers, insurers, government agencies, and the like”, 7:10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stewart’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and job offerers (see Stewart abstract).
As to claim 35, SHOOK discloses
wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to utilize an artificial intelligence algorithm to improve the accuracy
of candidate-to-opportunity matches based on one or more of:
opportunity criteria;
facility historical performance;
facility preferences;
facility requirements;
facility data;
candidate historical performance;
candidate preferences;
candidate attributes; and
candidate availability.
(“…The method starts with a description for a job request received from a business operator device. After distributing the job description, the method receives proposals from the laborer devices. Then method matches a primary laborer device to the job description and generates a smart contract in the blockchain between the business operator device and the primary laborer device….”, abstract.
“Upon receiving a laborer preference from the business operator device, the method determines a match of a primary laborer from the plurality of laborers….”, paragraph 9.
“…The method matches a qualified and willing primary laborer to a job requirement based on the business operator's preference and any relevant quality requirement. The entire record stored on the blockchain for the primary laborer is reviewed and verified in this process before a match is determined. Once a match is found, the method may include a step of generating, on the blockchain 205, at the processor 201, a smart contract for the job between the business operator device 231 and the primary laborer device 251 (Step G….”, paragraph 37 and Fig. 3);
As to claim 36, SHOOK discloses
wherein a plurality of staffing events occurring
during the staffing lifecycle each independently trigger transfer of a
corresponding portion of the one or more performance-based incentive tokens.
(“, the method transmits a compensation of a predetermined type and amount of cryptographic token to the primary laborer device”, abstract and paragraph 2.
“…Governing quality needs to include platform rules and rewards for these labor economy roles and, payment for these assurance activities would be contingent on the finalized labor transaction achieving, at least, two out of three digital signatures, thereby releasing token transfer and finalization…”, paragraph 82).
As to claim 37, SHOOK does not disclose but Stewart discloses
wherein the staffing lifecycle comprises one or more of:
recruiting;
candidate evaluation;
credential verification;
interview scheduling;
interview completion;
onboarding;
shift acceptance;
shift performance;
continuing education;
retention; and
offboarding.
(“… A user 108 may include job seekers and job offerers. As used herein, a “job seeker” is a person looking for a job. For example, a job seeker may be a potential applicant or candidate for a job. As used herein, a “job offerer” is a person that is looking for a job seeker to fill a position [recruiting]….”, 7:5-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stewart’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and job offerers (see Stewart abstract).
As to claim 38, SHOOK does not disclose but Stewart discloses
SHOOK does not expressly disclose but Stewart discloses
wherein completion of the opportunity comprises one staffing event of the staffing lifecycle.
(“… A job offerer may be an entity such as a staffing agency, hiring department of employers, insurers, government agencies, and the like…”, 7:10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stewart’s teaching with the teaching of SHOOK. One would have been motivated to provide functionality using blockchain ledger in order to support employment and job offerers (see Stewart abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 7/19/2026 have been very carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
III. Response to the Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Independent Claim 13 has been amended to further clarify the architecture of the claimed
invention. Specifically, amended Claim 13 now recites:
0 an opportunity having a staffing lifecycle;
0
staffing events occurring during the staffing lifecycle;
staffing events that are independent of completion of the opportunity;
transfers of performance-based incentive tokens; and
0 execution of a smart contract upon occurrence of a staffing event.
Applicant respectfully submits that these amendments clarify the invention disclosed in
the Specification and further distinguish the pending claims from the cited references.
A. The cited references do not teach or suggest a staffing lif ecycle.
The amended claims recite an opportunity having a staffing lifecycle during which
staffing events occur.
The cited references instead organize the disclosed systems around completion of work
and subsequent compensation. Although completion of work may represent one event occurring
during a staffing process, the cited references neither recognize nor suggest that an opportunity
possesses a staffing lifecycle comprising multiple staffing events occurring independently of
completion of the opportunity.
Accordingly, the cited references do not teach or suggest the claimed staffing lifecycle.
B. The cited references do not teach or suggest staffing events independent of
completion of the opportunity.
The amended claims further recite staffing events that are independent of completion of
the opportunity….
Applicant's remarks are based on the newly amended claims, and such arguments are fully addressed in the present Office Action as featured above.
C. The amended dependent claims further clarify the claimed architecture.
Newly added dependent claims further clarify the staffing lifecycle architecture by
reciting:
multiple staffing events independently triggering transfers of performance-based
incentive tokens;
exemplary staffing lifecycle stages; and
completion of the opportunity comprising one staffing event of the staffing
lifecycle.
These limitations reinforce that completion of the opportunity is merely one event within
the broader staffing lifecycle and is not the exclusive trigger for execution of the claimed smart
contract.
Applicant respectfully submits that neither Shook nor the remaining cited references
teach or suggest this event-driven staffing lifecycle architecture.
Accordingly, the Office has not established a prima facie case of obviousness.
Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
In response the Examiner asserts that the present Office Action as featured above has fully addressed the limitations in the claims. Also, the amendment introduces 112 rejection.
Applicant argues:
II. Response to the Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
The pending claims are not directed merely to organizing human activity or to a
fundamental economic practice. Rather, as amended, the claims are directed to a specific
technological implementation utilizing blockchain-based smart contracts, computer interfaces,
network interfaces, processors, and databases to implement an event-driven incentive
architecture within a computerized staffing platform.
Independent Claim 13 has been amended to further clarify the technological architecture
of the claimed invention. Specifically, the amended claims recite an opportunity having a
staffing lifecycle, a network interface configured to receive indications of staffing events
occurring during the staffing lifecycle, and one or more processors configured to trigger
execution of a smart contract to transfer performance-based incentive tokens in response to the
staffing event. The staffing event is further recited as being independent of completion of the
opportunity
In response the Examiner asserts that the instant claims are evaluated under 2019 PEG test. The claims comprise a judicial exception, which is an abstract idea. Method and system for providing nurses or staffing with employee opportunities, benefits and services. The claims are considered as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. Claims comprise a judicial exception. The claims includes structure and technology. In the claims, the additional elements to the abstract idea, “a) a token reward interface, the token reward interface adapted to enable a candidate to earn one or more performance-based incentive tokens according to a smart contract stored on a blockchain; b) an opportunity interface, the opportunity interface adapted to enable the opportunity poster , an opportunity database; a network interface ; f) one or more processors, the one or more processors adapted to trigger the smart contract “, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the limitations comprise generic recited computer elements and software including data. The use of “a smart contract stored on a blockchain” is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea because it merely reflects the use of conventional technology and amounts to only generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. MPEP 2106.05(h); OR the combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the pending claims do not merely recite the concept of rewarding workers
or organizing staffing activities. Rather, the claims recite a specific computerized architecture in
which smart-contract execution is controlled by defined computer components configured to
detect and process staffing events occurring during a staffing lifecycle.
The claimed invention therefore integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical
technological application.
In response the Examiner asserts that the inventive concept claimed herein, does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (abstract idea) claimed in this case. The instant claims are not 101 eligible for patent protection.
Furthermore, the claims improve computerized staffing systems by introducing a staffing
lifecycle architecture in which multiple staffing events may independently trigger execution of a
smart contract. This represents a specific implementation for controlling computerized event
processing and blockchain-based token transfers rather than merely performing longstanding
staffing practices on a generic computer.
In response the Examiner agrees that the instant application is in compliance with the utility requirement. The claimed invention has a readily apparent well-established utility (see MPEP 2107). But, per MPEP 2106 an invention also must have to comply with the Subject Matter Eligibility test under Alice framework.
The instant claims are directed to an abstract idea. None of the limitations considered as an ordered combination, provides eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claim simply instruct the practitioner to implement an abstract idea with routine, conventional technology.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Blockchain-based Solutions for Education Credentialing System:
Comparison and Implications for Future Development”.IEEE. 2022
“Blockchain technology is reshaping fundamental structures in many industries. Similarly, there is an increasing interest in adopting blockchain as a new solution to addressing educational credentialing problems. However, none of the existing blockchain initiatives in educational credentialing seems to meet their original goal of global adoption. Based on the Australian tertiary education credentialing industry, this paper presents an abstract credentialing workflow and involved stakeholders, identifies six practical problems in the industry, and proposes five desired attributes of ideal credentials infrastructure. In addition, the paper presents a layered framework for evaluating seven blockchain-based education projects, and provides insights into factors hindering the wide adoption of these blockchain solutions. Finally, we suggest future considerations for the application development of blockchain-based education solutions.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621 10/10/2026