Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 01/15/2026 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 1-7, 10-11 and 13-14 has /have been amended, claims 15-28 has /have been added. Accordingly, claims 1-28 are pending in the application. An action on the merits for claims 1-28 are as follow.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a controller… control the measurement system” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “controller” coupled with functional language “control the measurement system” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 and 15 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. Page 7, Fig 1, a controller 600 including these systems that has overall control of shaping apparatus 100.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. (US 2002/0041818 A1) in view of Katayama (US 2005/0280709 A1) and Jones et al. (US 2015/0140230 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Abe et al. disclose a shaping system (METHOD OF AND APPARATUS FOR MAKING A THREE-DIMENSIONAL OBJECT, title) comprising:
a table (a sintering table 20, Fig 1, [0064]);
a measurement system (a camera 64 for obtaining image data on the sintering table 20 and an alignment program to be executed by the controller 60, [0096], Fig 17) that includes a sensor and that is configured to acquire three-dimensional shape information of a target surface of a workpiece (the camera 64… obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line, [0099], Fig 18B; clearly camera 64 can “acquires three-dimensional shape information of a target surface of a workpiece” as claimed) located on the table (see Fig 1),
a beam shaping system that has a beam irradiation section which emits a beam (irradiating a laser emitted from a laser beam generator 30, [0064], Fig 1) and a material processing section which supplies shaping material (suction nozzle 51 acts as a discharge means for discharging unsintered powder or swarf, Fig 11, [0087]) to be irradiated by the beam from the beam irradiation section (see Fig 11), the beam shaping system performing shaping by forming a molten pool on the target surface with the beam (a high density upon melting of most of the powder material therein, [0072]); and
a controller (a controller 60 for controlling the above-described units and devices, [0096], Fig 17);
wherein the controller is configured to (i) control the measurement system to measure the three-dimensional shape information of the target surface (image data of the marked position is obtained by the camera 64, [0099]), on which a first shaping is to be applied by the beam shaping system (paths are prepared from three-dimensional CAD data designed in advance to indicate the desired shape, [0068]), after the workpiece has been placed on the table and before applying any shaping to the workpiece (Clearly, the controller capable of process the shaping “after the workpiece has been placed on the table and before applying any shaping to the workpiece” as claimed), and then (ii) control the beam shaping system to perform the first shaping by setting an irradiation area of the beam on the target surface (an optical beam (laser beam) Lis irradiated on a desired portion of the first powder layer 10 to sinter it, [0065], Fig 2) and then forming the molten pool at the set irradiation area on the target surface with the beam based on 3D data of a three-dimensional shaped object (have a high density upon melting of most of the powder material therein, [0072]; making a three-dimensional object, Abstract) which is to be formed on the target surface and the three-dimensional shape information of the target surface that was measured before applying any of the shaping (path for laser irradiation is substantially the same as that in the conventional shaping method… contour data are added with laser irradiation conditions (the scanning speed, spot diameter, power and the like) to create new data, which are in turn delivered to the finishing process, [0069], obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line… so that the laser irradiating position may be coincident with the position on the surface of the base 22 where sintering is to be commenced, [0099], clearly, the controller capable of making a three-dimensional shaped object “which is to be formed on the target surface and the three-dimensional shape information of the target surface that was measured before applying any of the shaping” as claimed).
Abe et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above; except did not disclose: the sensor including a stereo camera that images the target surface from more than one imaging angle; and the beam shaping system is a Directed Energy Deposition (DED)-type beam shaping system;
Katayama teaches a measurement system (calibration tool, see Title) that includes a sensor (Note: “a measurement system that includes a sensor” taught by already), the sensor including a stereo camera (a stereo camera system, [0027. 0079], Fig 4) that images the target surface from more than one imaging angle (a multi-view stereo camera system, [0080]. Note: “images the target surface” taught by Abe et al. already);
Jones et al. teach a beam shaping system is a Directed Energy Deposition (DED)-type shaping system (the processing head 200 may be utilized to provide other processes… including additive manufacturing, 3D printing, and directed energy deposition, Fig 2, [0137, 0180]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abe et al. with Katayama’s further teaching of the sensor including a stereo camera that images the target surface from more than one imaging angle; because Katayama teaches, in [0016], of providing an excellent stereo camera that image measurement can be performed while performing image capture and calibration alternately while allowing the camera to track or enlarge the object; and further modify Abe et al. in view of Katayama with Jones et al.’s further teaching of the beam shaping system is a Directed Energy Deposition (DED)-type shaping system; because Jones et al. teach, in [0007], of providing a machine tool with a clamping mechanism and different processing heads for processing convenience during operation.
Regarding Claims 16-28, Abe et al. in view of Katayama and Jones et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and further teach: Claim 16, wherein the three-dimensional shape information is three-dimensional shape information of at least a part of the target surface (depicting how to form a plurality of sintered layers on a base with camera 16, Figs 17 and 18A-18D, [0056-0057, 0096 and 0099], Abe et al.).
Claim 17, wherein the measurement system measures, as the three-dimensional shape information, a three-dimensional shape of the target surface (camera 64 is a three-dimensional measuring machine a desired three-dimensional CAD model, Fig 17, [0096], Abe et al.).
Claim 18, wherein the shaping system is configured to control a position and an attitude of the target surface of the workpiece held by the table under a reference coordinate system (a sintering table 20 is driven by a drive unit 5, [0064], Abe et al.), and
the shaping system is configured to correlate the position and the attitude of the target surface with the reference coordinate system, based on the measured three-dimensional shape information (obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line… so that the laser irradiating position may be coincident with the position on the surface of the base 22 where sintering is to be commenced, [0099], Abe et al.).
Claim 19, wherein the measurement system measures three-dimensional shape information of at least a part of a surface of a part added on the target surface by the shaping while keeping the workplace to which the shaping is applied loaded on the table (obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line… so that the laser irradiating position may be coincident with the position on the surface of the base 22 where sintering is to be commenced, [0099], Abe et al.).
Claim 20, wherein the measurement system measures a three-dimensional shape as the three-dimensional shape information of at least the part of the surface of the part added on the target surface by the shaping (obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line… so that the laser irradiating position may be coincident with the position on the surface of the base 22 where sintering is to be commenced, [0099], Abe et al.).
Claim 21, wherein the shaping system is configured to acquire a dimension error of the part added based on the three-dimensional shape information that has been measured (controller 60 detects the deviation between the coordinates of the base 22 and those of the optical beam irradiating system to correct it, [0096, 0099], Abe et al.; clearly, controller 60 capable of “acquire a dimension error of the part added based on the position information that has been measured” as claimed).
Claim 22, wherein the shaping system is configured to use the dimension error to make a pass/fail additive manufacturing (the controller 60 detects the deviation between the coordinates of the base 22 and those of the optical beam irradiating system to correct it, [0096, 0099], Abe et al.; clearly, controller 60 capable of “use the dimension error to make a pass/fail additive manufacturing” as claimed).
Claim 23, wherein the shaping system is configured to apply corrective processing using the beam to the workpiece that resulted in failure on the pass/fail decision while the table remains holding the workpiece, based on the dimension error (controller 60 for controlling the above-described units and device… an alignment program to be executed by the controller 60, [0096], Abe et al.).
Claim 24, wherein shaping is applied by the DED-type beam shaping system to the target portion on the target surface including the part added, based on the three-dimensional shape information of at least the part added (controller 106 which controls the position of the machining-head 102 as it processes the workpiece 104 [0134]; the processing head 200 may be utilized to provide other processes… including additive manufacturing, deposition- including 3D printing, and directed energy deposition, 0180], Fig 2, Jones et al.).
Claim 25, wherein the target surface includes at least a part of the surface of the table having a position and an attitude that are controlled under a reference coordinate system (a sintering table 20 is driven by a drive unit 5, [0064], Abe et al.), and
the shaping system is configured to correlate the position and the attitude of the target surface with the reference coordinate system, based on the three-dimensional measured shape information (controller 106 which controls the position of the machining-head 102 as it processes the workpiece 104 [0134], Jones et al.).
Claim 26, wherein the workpiece is a three-dimensional shaped object made of a plurality of layers which are laminated (see Abstract, Abe et al.), and
the shaping system is configured to repeatedly perform the shaping to a target portion on the target surface for each of the layers, based on laminated cross section data for multiple layers acquired from 3D data of the three-dimensional shaped object (see Title and Abstract, Abe et al.).
Claim 27, wherein after the measurement system (a camera 64 for obtaining image data on the sintering table 20, [0096], Fig 17, Abe et al.) measures the three-dimensional shape information of at least a part of a surface of the workplace, the shaping system is configured to start the shaping by forming the molten pool on the target portion on the target surface of the workpiece (to have a high density upon melting of most of the powder material therein, [0072], Abe et al.) based on the three-dimensional shape information and data for each of the layers (obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line, [0099], Abe et al.), and
the data for each of the layers is generated before starting the shaping by forming the molten pool on the target portion on the target surface of the workpiece and is generated by performing a slicing process on a part that is to be additively built by the shaping (obtaining image data thereof and detecting the contour line… so that the laser irradiating position may be coincident with the position on the surface of the base 22 where sintering is to be commenced, [0099], Abe et al.).
Claim 28, wherein the controller is configured to control the table (sintering table 20 is driven by a drive unit 5 so as to move up and down, [0064], Abe et al.)
and the DED-type beam shaping system (a controller 106, [0134], Fig 1, Jones et al.) based on the 3D data of the three-dimensional shaped object which is to be formed on the target surface and the three-dimensional shape information of the target surface that was measured before applying any of the shaping by the DED-type beam shaping system (controller 106 which controls the position of the machining-head 102 as it processes the workpiece 104, [0134], Fig 1, Jones et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Independent Claim 1, the closest prior art references of record Abe et al. (US 2002/0041818 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 2015/0140230 A1) teach a shaping system as claimed; however, none of the prior art of record anticipate or render obvious “the measurement system including "(a) an irradiation section that irradiates the target surf ace with a light-beam having a projection pattern, and (b) the sensor that detects the light-beam having the projection pattern reflected from the target surface by imaging the target surface from a direction different from a light irradiation direction of the light-beam onto the target surface from the irradiation section” as claimed; and it would not be obvious to modify any prior art to obtain the claimed limitations. As such, claim 1 is allowed. With respect to Claims 2-14; the dependency on claim 1 make them allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims have been considered but are moot because of the updated rejection with new prior art made of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761