DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026. Claims 1-11 and 20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/4/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2831804A1, hereinafter “804” in view of Tentelli (DE 2016113617A1) as evidenced by Luo (US 2018/0156443).
Regarding claim 1, 804 discloses a “lighting element arranged in the area of a muffle wall for illuminating the heating chamber” (page 1 of attached translation) of a “microwave oven with a heating chamber” (page 1 of attached translation) which “can be equipped with a grill heating element arranged on the top of the muffle” (page 2 of the attached translation). Thus 804 discloses the claimed “a cooking appliance light for a combination cooking appliance with a microwave cooking function”.
804 discloses a mounting sleeve (Fig. 2, cover 16, page 6) configured to fix the cooking appliance light in a recess of a cooking appliance wall (note: the “recess of a cooking appliance wall” is not positively-recited structure of the claimed light; the mounting sleeve of 804 is capable of fixing the light in a recess);
an illuminant (Fig. 2, lighting element 10, page 6) arranged at the mounting sleeve (Fig. 2, cover 16) and is feedable through a cylindrical cavity of the mounting sleeve into the cooking chamber;
a microwave trap configured as a grid shaped blocking element (Fig. 2, “microwave trap 17, together with the protective cover 18 which almost completely covers the passage of the microwave trap, prevents microwaves from escaping through the lighting body”, page 7; 18 designates a protective cover which is perforated by number of openings 19”, page 6) configured to prevent a passage of microwave radiation from the cooking cavity through the cylindrical cavity of the mounting sleeve;
a translucent cover (Fig. 2, “translucent cover 21”, page 6) arranged at the axial end of the mounting sleeve and configured to prevent an entry of cooking vapors into the mounting sleeve (“Since the protective cover 18 is covered on the cooking chamber side by a translucent cover 21, the steam is kept away from the lamp base”, page 7).
804 does not expressly disclose that the illuminant (10) is an LED. Tentelli teaches an LED (Tentelli’s 27) as the illuminant for an oven lamp. Luo discloses that LEDs have “advantages of energy conservation, environmental friendliness, and long service life” (paragraph 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the illuminant is an LED. This allows for energy conservation, environmental friendliness, and long service life.
Fig. 2 of DE 2831804A1
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of 804 includes all of the limitations of claim 1 such as the illuminant being an LED. 804 teaches wherein the illuminant (Fig. 2, lighting element 10) is mounted on a support element (Fig. 2, “lamp base 12”, page 5) and the support element is arranged at an axial end of the mounting sleeve (Fig. 2, mounting sleeve / cover 16) oriented away from the translucent cover (Fig. 2, translucent cover 21), and wherein the illuminant is arranged upstream in light feed direction from an axial end of the mounting sleeve oriented away from the translucent cover (shown in Fig. 2).
Claims 3-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2831804A1, hereinafter “804” in view of Tentelli (DE 2016113617A1) as evidenced by Luo (US 2018/0156443), further in view of Dengler et al. (DE 102014203531), hereinafter Dengler.
Regarding claim 3, 804 discloses wherein the grid shaped blocking element is arranged within the mounting sleeve (Fig. 2 shows wherein grid shaped blocking element 18 is at least partially arranged within mounting sleeve 16).
804 does not expressly disclose wherein the grid shaped blocking element is connected in an electrically conductive manner with the mounting sleeve.
Dengler teaches wherein a blocking element (“microwave trap (22)” [Abstract]) is connected in an electrically conductive manner with a mounting sleeve / carrier 25 (“electrically conductive element 27 is in the 3 shown assembled state between the carrier 25 and the body 21 arranged and provides the largest possible contact between the microwave trap 22 and the body 21” [page 8 of attached translation]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the grid shaped blocking element is connected in an electrically conductive manner with the mounting sleeve. This results in improved functionality of the microwave trap, as acknowledged by Denger: “By this embodiment, a microwave trap is created, which is improved in terms of their functionality and mechanical connection and electrical contact” [page 2].
Regarding claim 4, 804 discloses wherein the mounting sleeve (Fig. 2, cover 16) includes a mounting stop (Fig. 2, mounting stop is the portion of 16 that contacts both 18 and 12) for the grid shaped blocking element (Fig. 2, protective cover 18) and the support element (Fig. 2, lamp base 12) supports the grid shaped blocking element Fig. 2, protective cover 18) at the mounting stop.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, 804 teaches a microwave trap within a mounting sleeve as described above.
However, 804 does not expressly disclose wherein the grid shaped blocking element includes centering devices that support the grid shaped blocking element centered within the mounting sleeve [claim 5], or wherein the centering devices are configured as centering springs arranged at an outer circumference of the grid shaped blocking element and integrally configured with or bonded to the grid shaped blocking element [claim 6].
Dengler teaches centering springs / “first film regions… in particular bendable. … film regions which protrude in particular at the edge sides.” (page 3 of attached translation). This is analogous to the centering springs of the application. This provides “even if due to manufacturing tolerances or other deviations a non extensive, in particular full circumferential surface contact between the carrier and the body would be achieved.” (page 2) which results in “improved microwave tightness in the region of a feedthrough” (page 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the grid shaped blocking element includes centering devices that support the grid shaped blocking element centered within the mounting sleeve [claim 5], or wherein the centering devices are configured as centering springs arranged at an outer circumference of the grid shaped blocking element and integrally configured with or bonded to the grid shaped blocking element [claim 6], improve tightness of the microwave trap.
Regarding claim 20, 804 does not expressly disclose wherein the blocking element includes a plug connection electrically connecting with the cooking cavity wall.
Dengler teaches wherein a blocking element t (“microwave trap (22)” [Abstract]) includes a connection electrically connecting with a wall / body 21 (“electrically conductive element 27 is in the 3 shown assembled state between the carrier 25 and the body 21 arranged and provides the largest possible contact between the microwave trap 22 and the body 21” [page 8 of attached translation]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the blocking element includes a connection electrically connecting with the cooking cavity wall. This results in improved functionality of the microwave trap, as acknowledged by Denger: “By this embodiment, a microwave trap is created, which is improved in terms of their functionality and mechanical connection and electrical contact” [page 2].
Dengler does not expressly disclose wherein the connection is a plug connection.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the connection is a plug connection. This is merely a change in the shape of the electrical connector. The courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2831804A1, hereinafter “804” in view of Tentelli (DE 2016113617A1) as evidenced by Luo (US 2018/0156443), further in view of Mallinger et al. (EP 0611916).
Regarding claim 7, 804 teaches a grid shaped blocking element and a support element of an illuminant as described above
However, 804 does not expressly teach wherein the grid shaped blocking element is interlocked on the support element.
Mallinger teaches wherein a grid shaped blocking element (“shielding element 14”, page 3 of attached translation) is attached to a support element (“support 12” / “metallic carrier 12”, page 2) via a hinge with a spring (“metallic carrier 12 is fastened to the aforementioned wall 7 of the luminaire housing 1, for example by means of rivets 11, which partially moves the insertion opening of the lamp holder 8. A likewise metallic shielding element 14, which is shown enlarged in FIGS. 3 and 4, is pivotably mounted on this carrier by means of a folding axis 13”, page 3). Mallinger also teaches “Due to the latching connection explained, there is also the possibility at any time for the layperson to remove the cover 30 from the lamp housing 1 without tools, for example in order to replace the lamp 4, after the shielding element 14 has been folded from the position shown in FIG. 2 to outside the lamp opening 6 into an open position was, after which this shielding element 14 automatically falls back into the correct closed position” (page 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the grid shaped blocking element is interlocked on the support element, to make replacing the bulb easier for a lay person.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2831804A1, hereinafter “804” in view of Tentelli (DE 2016113617A1) as evidenced by Luo (US 2018/0156443), further in view of Heiniger et al. (US 2018/0328368).
Regarding claim 8, 804 does not expressly disclose wherein the mounting sleeve includes a plug-in connection configured to connect an electrical conductor that electrically connects with the cooking cavity wall.
Heiniger discloses wherein a mounting sleeve includes a plug-in connection configured to connect an electrical conductor that electrically connects with a wall (“A quick connection device includes a female socket forming an electrical fixture. The female socket includes a cavity receiving a first electrical connector connected to an electrical grid. The quick connection device also includes a male plug including a second electrical connector and having a complementary shape to the female socket cavity. The male plug is able to change from an unlocked position in which the male plug can be inserted into the female socket, to a locked position in which the male plug is fixed to the female socket and the second electrical connector cooperates with the first electrical connector. The quick connection device also includes an electrical conductor extending through the male plug. The second electrical connector includes structure arranged to bear the weight of the electrical device” [Abstract]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the mounting sleeve includes a plug-in connection configured to connect an electrical conductor that electrically connects with the cooking cavity wall. This provides a “quick connection” to allow for providing electricity to portions of the light that require electricity.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2831804A1, hereinafter “804” in view of Tentelli (DE 2016113617A1) as evidenced by Luo (US 2018/0156443), further in view Almgren (US 4,559,585).
Regarding claim 9, 804 teaches translucent cover 21 as described above, and “[w]ith 21, a screw-on cover made of light-transmitting material is available” (page 6).
However, 804 does not expressly teach wherein the mounting sleeve forms thread sections that are engaged by second thread sections of the translucent cover providing disengageable fixing.
Almgren discloses “co-operating threads 15 and 16 so that the inner sleeve 14 can be screwed into the outer sleeve 12. At the same end, the inner sleeve 14 supports a plano-convex glass body comprising a diffusing dome 17” (column 2 lines 61-65). The threads facilitate replacing the lamp: “replacement of the lamp is effected via the cavity by unscrewing the inner sleeve 14 from the outer sleeve 12, using the glass done 17 as a handle. After disengaging the snap fastener 23, the lamp can be unscrewed from its holder and replaced.” (column 3 lines 15-19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the mounting sleeve forms thread sections that are engaged by second thread sections of the translucent cover providing disengageable fixing, to facilitate removing the cover.
Regarding claim 10, 804 discloses a mounting sleeve 16 as described above, and wherein the mounting sleeve includes a closed sleeve wall (Fig. 2).
However, 804 does not expressly disclose wherein the mounting sleeve includes a mounting flange at an axial end of the mounting sleeve proximal to the translucent cover.
Almgren teaches “12 is a metallic sleeve having a ring shaped flange 13 fastened to the outer side of the cavity wall.”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the mounting sleeve includes a mounting flange at an axial end of the mounting sleeve proximal to the translucent cover. This is an alternative, known configuration for attaching a mounting sleeve to a wall, applied to the known cooking appliance light, to achieve predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2831804A1, hereinafter “804” in view of Tentelli (DE 2016113617A1) as evidenced by Luo (US 2018/0156443), further in view Almgren (US 4,559,858) and Steadman (US 4,729,074).
Regarding claim 11, 804 does not expressly disclose wherein the mounting flange includes pass through bore holes for threaded bolts configured to provide an electrically conductive threaded connection with the cooking cavity wall.
Steadman discloses wherein a mounting flange includes pass through bore holes (“holes 50 and 52 preformed in the flanges 40 and 45” [Col. 2, lines 59-60].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the mounting flange includes pass through bore holes. This is a known, alternative way of attaching an element comprising a flange to a wall. Regarding the language “for threaded bolts configured to provide an electrically conductive threaded connection with the cooking cavity wall,” it is noted that the threaded bolts are not positively-recited structure of the claimed light. The bore holes of Steadman are capable of accommodating threaded bolts configured to provide an electrically conductive threaded connection with a cooking cavity wall.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761