Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0050664) in view of Border et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0231738).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a data processor apparatus configured to compress data outputted from an imaging element (See Yang [0004]) the imaging element including a first imaging region in which a subject is captured, and a second imaging region in which a subject is captured (See Yang [0014]-[0015]), and a controller configured to control the first imaging region such that the first imaging region has an imaging condition different from an imaging condition of the second imaging region (See Yang [0004], [0095] and [0096] for the different imaging conditions), the controller of the data processing apparatus comprising a processor programmed to acquire first image data outputted from the first imaging region in which a first frame rate is set and second image data outputted from the second imaging region in which a second frame rate lower than the first frame rate is set (See Yang [0004], [0017], and [0029] Note that the rate of the first region is different from the rate or the second region. The Examiner looks at 2 regions with one rate lower than the other), generate a plurality of first frames based on the acquired first image data and generate a plurality of second frames based on the acquired second image data (See Yang [0020]), perform a first compression process on the generated plurality of first frames to generate a first compressed frame and perform a second compression process, which is different from the first compression process (See Yang [0090], [0099]), on the generated plurality of second frames to generate a second compressed frame (See Yang [0099]).
It is noted that Yang is silent about recording, on a recoding medium, the compressed first frame, the compressed second frame, and information regarding a position of the first imaging region in the imaging element.
However, Border teaches an imaging element including a first imaging region in which a subject is captured, and a second imaging region in which a subject is captured including recording, on a recoding medium, the compressed first frame, the compressed second frame, and information regarding a position of the first imaging region in the imaging element (See Border [0035] “The region location tag information is captured and stored or transmitted along with the data of the images of the different regions to the display, and [0041]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Yang to incorporate Border’s teachings to record, on a recoding medium, the compressed first frame, the compressed second frame, and information regarding a position of the first imaging region in the imaging element. The motivation for providing such a modification in Yang is to determine an exposure time indicator that is useful for establishing the duty cycle for the regions of a display or displaying the video.
As per claim 34, the combination of Yang and Border further teaches an imaging apparatus comprising the data processing apparatus (See Ito Fig. 10, items 1, and 5; and col. 10, lines 12-30).
5. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0050664) in view of Border et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0231738) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US Patent no. 8139121).
As per claim 19, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that the combination of Yang and Border is silent about wherein the processor is programmed to generate the first frame by interpolating, with a specific value, a region in the first image data that does not include a signal value.
However, Ito teaches wherein the processor is programmed to generate the first frame by interpolating, with a specific value, a region in the first image data that does not include a signal value (See Ito col. 9, lines 26-42).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Yang and Border to incorporate Ito’s teachings teaches wherein the processor is programmed to generate the first frame by interpolating, with a specific value, a region in the first image data that does not include a signal value. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Yang and Border is execute frame interpolation so as to compensate the difference between different frame rates.
6. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0050664) in view of Border et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0231738) and Ito (US Patent no. 8139121) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Matsuhira (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0103312).
Regarding claim 20, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the above rejection of claim 19.
It is noted that the combination of Yang, Border and Ito is silent about wherein the processor is programmed to generate the first frame by interpolating the region in the first image data that does not include a signal value such that the region becomes black.
However, Matsuhira teaches wherein the processor is programmed to generate the first frame by interpolating the region in the first image data that does not include a signal value such that the region becomes black (See Matsuhira [0017] and [0044]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Yang, Border and Ito to incorporate Matsuhita’s teachings wherein the processor is programmed to generate the first frame by interpolating the region in the first image data that does not include a signal value such that the region becomes black. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Yang, Border and Ito is to be able to obtain appropriate frame interpolation video as taught by Matsuhita (See [0044]).
7. Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0050664) in view of Border et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0231738), Ito (US Patent no. 8139121) and Matsuhira (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0103312) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Matsunobu et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2014/0119430).
Regarding claims 21-22, the combination of Yang, Border, Ito and Matsuhira is silent about wherein the processor is programmed to omit, in the first compression process, a part of compression processing for a region in the first image data interpolated with a predetermined value by the processor or block matching processing for the region in the first image data interpolated with the predetermined value by the processor.
However, Matsunobu teaches wherein the processor is programmed to omit, in the first compression process, a part of compression processing for a region in the first image data interpolated with a predetermined value by the processor or block matching processing for the region in the first image data interpolated with the predetermined value by the processor (See Matsunobu [0010] and [0102]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Yang, Border, Ito and Matsuhira to incorporate Matsunobu’s teachings wherein the processor is programmed to omit, in the first compression process, a part of compression processing for a region in the first image data interpolated with a predetermined value by the processor or block matching processing for the region in the first image data interpolated with the predetermined value by the processor. The motivation for performing such a modification in the above combination of Yang, Border, Ito and Matsuhira to reduce the blocking effects by performing deblocking filtering processing.
As per claim 23, the combination of Yang, Border, Ito, Matsuhira and Matsunobu further teaches wherein the processor is programmed to perform, in the first compression process, motion vector search processing for the plurality of first frames based on the information regarding the position of the first imaging region (See Border [0033]).
As per claim 24, the combination of Yang, Border, Ito, Matsuhira and Matsunobu further teaches wherein the processor is programmed to identify, based on the information regarding the position of the first imaging region, the region interpolated with the predetermined value by the processor (See Ito col. 10, lines 1-11).
8. Claims 25-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424