DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and by overcoming any 112b rejections detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
3. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being vague and indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention for the reasons stated below.
Claims 1 and 9-10 recites “a location of the camera when it shot the camera image from a location in the same space as the specific location in the three-dimensional space”. However, since the claims refers to a virtual camera as “a camera”. It is unclear as to which camera “the camera” refers to. Appropriate Correction is required.
Claims 2-3 recites “each of the plurality of feature points” without any antecedent basis for any feature points”. Appropriate Correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “number of faces of the object” and “the target” without any antecedent basis for any object or target. Appropriate Corrections if required.
Claim 5 recites “number of faces of the object” without any antecedent basis for “the object”. Appropriate Corrections if required.
Claim 6 recites “the same side as viewed from the face of the object” without any antecedent basis for any side or object. Appropriate Corrections if required.
Claim 7 recites “the same side as viewed from the face of the object” without any antecedent basis for any side or object. Appropriate Corrections if required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colmenares et al., US 2021/0256729 in view of Lee et al., KR 20200132065 (English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Colmenares teaches of an information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (See [0034] and [0097] memory to store instructions); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (See [0034] and [0097] processor for executing the instructions) to:
generate a virtual camera image shot by a virtual camera in a specific location and orientation in a three-dimensional space on the basis of point cloud data of the three-dimensional space (See [0018], [0024], [0028]-[0029], [0035] and [0038 which discloses of the virtual camera image shot of a specific location and orientation in a 3D space and generating a point cloud and/or 3D mesh of the scene).
Colmenares is silent with respect to estimate, on the basis of the virtual camera image, a camera image shot by a camera, and the point cloud data, a location of the camera when it shot the camera image from a location in the same space as the specific location in the three-dimensional space.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches of estimate, on the basis of the virtual camera image, a camera image shot by a camera, and the point cloud data, a location of the camera when it shot the camera image from a location in the same space as the specific location in the three-dimensional space (See Pages 8-11 which discloses of estimating/determining/calculating the position of camera photographing position in the same 3D space from the point cloud, image of the 2D shot/camera image shot by a camera, and the virtual camera image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Colmenares to have incorporated the teachings of Lee for the mere benefit of being able to track and align cameras and/or images in the virtual environment with the real-world environment.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cloud data is generated by at least one of a LiDAR (Light Detection And Ranging, Laser Imaging Detection And Ranging), a ToF (Time of Flight) camera, a stereo camera, and a 3D (Dimension) scanner (See Colmenares, [0028] lidar and stereoscopic).
Regarding claim 9, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Contact
/Ricky Chin/
Primary Examiner
AU 2424
(571) 270-3753
Ricky.Chin@uspto.gov