DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 05/12/2025 havingclaims 1-23 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 10/03/2023 is a has no priority.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 10/03/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 05/12/2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20240107564 A1 DOI et al. (Hereinafter “DOI ").
As per claim 1, DOI teaches a remote unit (RU) control circuit, comprising: a plurality of RU interfaces each coupled to one or more RUs in a respective one of a plurality of RU clusters associated with a respective one of a plurality of beam identifications (BEAMIDs), wherein the one or more RUs in each of the plurality of RU clusters are configured to communicate with a respective set of user equipment (UE) based on the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs (para 0035], fig.1, 13, system comprising plurality of RU interfaces connected to more than one Rus in a cluster comprising multiple Rus and associated with different beams and beam ids associated with beams and configured to communicate with a respective set of user equipment (UE) based on the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs); and a processing circuit coupled to the plurality of RU interfaces and configured to: process a link quality measurement collected by the respective set of UE in each of the plurality of RU clusters with respect to the one or more RUs in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters (para 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, receives the link position of the UE corresponding to the position of the UE with respect to the plurality of Rus in the cluster among the cluster and link quality for that particular beam); determine, based on the processed link quality measurement, whether it is necessary to optimize any of the plurality of RU clusters (para [0131], fig.15-17, determine based on the position of the UE whether the UE is in overlapping position sufficient resources are available to the UE ); and optimize one or more of the plurality of RU clusters in response to determining that it is necessary to optimize the one or more of the plurality of RU clusters (para 0135- 0137, [0131] fig.15-17, optimize one or more of the plurality of RU clusters in response to determining that it is necessary by increase the combined power in the mobile station UE and to expect an improvement in communication stability ).
As per claim 9, DOI teaches the RU control circuit of claim 1, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine a set of reference signal identifications for each of the plurality of BEAMIDs ((para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, based on the received signals strength from each of the UEs and plurality of BEAMIDs).; generate a set of reference signals each corresponding to a respective one of the set of reference signal identifications((para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, based on the information generate a set of reference signals each corresponding to a respective one of the set of reference signal identifications).; and provide the set of reference signals to the one or more RUs in a respective one of the plurality of RU clusters associated with the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs to thereby enable the link quality measurement by the respective set of UE in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters ((para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, based on the information one of the plurality of RU clusters associated with the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs to thereby enable the link quality measurement by the respective set of UE in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters).
As per claim 10, DOI teaches method for optimizing a remote unit (RU) cluster(s) in a wireless communications system (WCS), comprising: processing a link quality measurement collected by a respective set of user equipment (UE) in each of a plurality of RU clusters with respect to one or more RUs in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters (para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, receiving UE position and quality of the mobile in each of a plurality of RU clusters with respect to one or more RUs in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters); determining, based on the processed link quality measurement, whether it is necessary to optimize any of the plurality of RU clusters (para 0131, fig. 15-17, based on the received information and position and link quality information based on the determined position and to optimize any of the plurality of RU clusters); and optimizing one or more of the plurality of RU clusters in response to determining that it is necessary to optimize the one or more of the plurality of RU clusters ((para 0135- 0137, [0131] fig.15-17, optimize one or more of the plurality of RU clusters in response to determining that it is necessary by increase the combined power in the mobile station UE and to expect an improvement in communication stability ).
As per claim 18, DOI teaches method of claim 10, further comprising: determining a set of reference signal identifications for each of the plurality of BEAMIDs((para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, based on the received signals strength from each of the UEs and plurality of BEAMIDs).;; generating a set of reference signals each corresponding to a respective one of the set of reference signal identifications((para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, based on the information generate a set of reference signals each corresponding to a respective one of the set of reference signal identifications); and providing the set of reference signals to the one or more RUs in a respective one of the plurality of RU clusters associated with the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs to thereby enable the link quality measurement by the respective set of UE in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters((para 0122, 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, based on the information one of the plurality of RU clusters associated with the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs to thereby enable the link quality measurement by the respective set of UE in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 19, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOI further view of US PG Pub US 20230336261 A1 to Chen et al (hereinafter Chen).
As per claim 19, DOI teaches a wireless communications system (WCS), comprising: a remote unit (RU) control circuit coupled to the distribution unit and comprising: a plurality of RU interfaces each coupled to one or more RUs in a respective one of a plurality of RU clusters associated with a respective one of a plurality of beam identifications (BEAMIDs), wherein the one or more RUs in each of the plurality of RU clusters are configured to communicate with a respective set of user equipment (UE) based on the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs(para 0035], fig.1, 13, system comprising plurality of RU interfaces connected to more than one Rus in a cluster comprising multiple Rus and associated with different beams and beam ids associated with beams and configured to communicate with a respective set of user equipment (UE) based on the respective one of the plurality of BEAMIDs);; and a processing circuit coupled to the plurality of RU interfaces and configured to: process a link quality measurement collected by the respective set of UE in each of the plurality of RU clusters with respect to the one or more RUs in the respective one of the plurality of RU clusters(para 0135- 0137, fig.15-17, receives the link position of the UE corresponding to the position of the UE with respect to the plurality of Rus in the cluster among the cluster and link quality for that particular beam);; determine, based on the processed link quality measurement, whether it is necessary to optimize any of the plurality of RU clusters (para [0131], fig.15-17, determine based on the position of the UE whether the UE is in overlapping position sufficient resources are available to the UE ); and optimize one or more of the plurality of RU clusters in response to determining that it is necessary to optimize the one or more of the plurality of RU clusters(para 0135- 0137, [0131] fig.15-17, optimize one or more of the plurality of RU clusters in response to determining that it is necessary by increase the combined power in the mobile station UE and to expect an improvement in communication stability ).
Chen teaches a centralized services node coupled to a service node; and an open radio access network (O-RAN) subsystem comprising: a distribution unit coupled to the centralized services node (para 0016]: a centralized services node coupled to a service node; and an open radio access network (O-RAN) subsystem comprising: a distribution unit coupled to the centralized services node); 20230336261
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of DOI by a centralized services node coupled to a service node; and an open radio access network (O-RAN) subsystem comprising: a distribution unit coupled to the centralized services node as suggested by Chen, this modification would benefit DOI for better network management, leading to increased efficiency and competitive advantages for 5G and beyond.
As per claim 23, DOI teaches the WCS of claim 19, Chen teaches wherein the one or more RUs in each of the plurality of RU clusters is coupled to the RU control circuit via an optical fiber-based communications medium (para 0015], RU clusters is coupled to the RU control circuit via an optical fiber-based communications medium).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-8, 11-17, 20-22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20220417948 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220360313 A1, US Patent Publication US 20240031832 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467