DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 9 July 2026. Claim(s) 1-18 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 113 and 14.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourque et al. (US 2007/0219557A1, “Bourque”).
Regarding claim 13, Bourque discloses a system for securing an implant to bone including an instrument having a shaft (625; Fig. 37) and a bone implant (700) mounted on the shaft. The bone implant includes threading (Fig. 38A) spiraling around the bone implant in a first direction. The bone implant includes a distal component and a proximal fixation component. The distal component receiving a suture (708 of 710; Fig. 38C; [0089]). The suture (710) is wrapped around the shaft such that it spirals around the shaft in a second direction opposite the first direction, wherein the wrapped portion (716) is wrapped around the inner shaft in a direction opposite to the rotational direction imparted to the anchor during delivery [0087]. For example, if the threads were applied for clockwise rotation during delivery/insertion, the suture would be wrapped in a direction opposite (counter-clockwise) to the threads.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balboa et al. (US 2019/0167254A1, “Balboa”) in view of Patel et al. (US 2021/0338224A1; “Patel”) in view of Brunelle et al. (US 2010/0063541A1, “Brunelle”).
Regarding claims 1-3, Balboa discloses an elastomeric device including an instrument having an outer cannulated shaft (118/218; Fig. 1; [0028]), an inner shaft (120/220) received in the outer cannulated shaft in a sliding fashion. A bone implant including a distal component (228; [0044];Fig. 11) and a proximal fixation component (226). The distal component is mounted on the inner shaft [0044; Fig. 11). The distal component includes an eyelet (opening through which 224 extends; claim 3) and is mounted on the distal end of the inner shaft and is capable of receiving the elastomeric device such that the elastomeric device extends through an opening of the eyelet. The proximal component includes one or more bone engaging features (threading; Fig. 11) extending from an outer surface of the proximal component. Balboa discloses that a suture (224; Fig. 11C; suture is wrapped along the sides of the distal component in the proximal direction, 342; Fig. 12C; suture is coiled around distal component 328; [0049]). However, Balboa does not disclose that the suture is an elongated, elastomeric, porous matrix material or a lock movable between a locked configuration and an unlocked configuration, wherein the locked configuration prevents the inner shaft from sliding relative to the outer shaft, wherein the unlocked configuration permits the inner shaft to slide relative to the outer shaft; wherein, when the lock is in the locked configuration, the distal component mounted on the inner shaft is spaced apart from the proximal component; wherein, when the lock is in the unlocked configuration, the inner shaft is permitted to slide relative to the outer shaft to move the proximal component towards the distal component.
In the same field of endeavor, bone anchor insertion, Patel teaches an inserter including inner and outer shafts (1210, 1208; [0263]; Fig. 54-56) and a locking mechanism (1238). A locked configuration prevents the inner shaft from sliding relative to the outer shaft, wherein the unlocked configuration permits the inner shaft to slide relative to the outer shaft [0263]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Balboa with the locking mechanism, as taught by Patel, to prevent premature distal translation of the outer shaft relative to the inner shaft during a procedure. With this modification, when the lock is in the locked configuration, the distal component mounted on the inner shaft is spaced apart from the proximal component and when the lock is in the unlocked configuration, the inner shaft is permitted to slide relative to the outer shaft to move the proximal component towards the distal component.
In the same field of endeavor, bone implants, Brunelle teaches a bone implant including a suture (28; [0060]; Fig. 9, 10) connected to a tissue scaffold (25). Balboa discloses a suture that extends through an eyelet in the distal component of the bone implant (Fig. 11; [0042]; 224). The scaffold may be formed of polyurethane [0062] which is known to be an elastomeric material, e.g. highly stretchy and elastic. The scaffold is porous to provide cellular propagation [0061] and is in the form of a matrix/mesh [0061]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the suture of Balboa with suture and scaffold assembly, as taught by Brunelle, to encourage cellular growth and development between the tissue and the surrounding bone [0089].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Balboa, Patel and Brunelle discloses a suture wrapped around the outer cannulated shaft (Fig. 11C; [0042]; Balboa).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dougherty et al. (US 2019/0053888A1) discloses a suture wrapped around a distal component of a bone implant (Fig. 44).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771