DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 3, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the German Office Action has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “in particular” in line 5. It is unclear whether the limitations are included in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mennell et al. (GB 2553835 A).
Re claim 1, Mennell et al. disclose a brake disk for a disk brake system, comprising: a first friction ring (33a) for engagement with a first brake pad, a second friction ring (33b) for engagement with a second brake pad opposite to the first brake pad, and an interlayer (21) interposed between the first friction ring and the second friction ring, the interlayer having a shape elasticity and being configured to be compressed in an axial direction during application of brake pressure by way of the brake pads.(Fig. 2A, Pg 11, 3rd Par.)
Re claim 2, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the shape elasticity is provided by way of at least one hole (23) or recess in the interlayer (21). (Fig. 3A-B)
Re claim 3, Mennell et al. disclose wherein a width of the at least one hole or recess in the axial direction is at least 3 mm to at most 5 mm (Pg. 7, 1st Par.), wherein a thickness of each of the friction rings in the axial direction is between 4 mm and 8 mm (Page 11, 4th Par.) or a thickness of the interlayer in the axial direction is between 7 mm and 15 mm. (Page 11, 4th Par.)
Re claim 4, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer (21) comprises at least one hole or recess extending circumferentially at least along a part of a circumference of the brake disk or at least one hole extending radially along at least a portion of a width of the interlayer. (Fig. 2B, 3A, 3B)
Re claim 5, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer (21) comprises at least one hole or recess that is connected to a circumferentially inner edge or a circumferentially outer edge of the interlayer. (Fig. 2B, 3A, 3B)
Re claim 6, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer (21) comprises at least one hole or recess that is spherical, cube-shaped, or cuboid- shaped. (Fig. 2A)
Re claim 7, Mennell et al. does not explicitly state wherein the interlayer comprises at least one hole having a cross section that is elliptical or almond- shaped or drop-shaped or rectangular. However, Mennell et al. states on page 6, 7th Par. that the cavities may be of any shape.
Re claim 8, Mennell et al. disclose at least two holes or recesses that are arranged out-of-plane with regard to each other, as considered in a plane that is orthogonal to the axial direction. (Fig. 2A – 3B)
Re claim 9, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer (21) is connected to a hub of the brake disk or wherein one of the first friction ring and the second friction ring is connected to the hub of the brake disk. (See 31, Fig. 2B)
Re claim 10, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer (21) and the first friction ring and the second friction ring (33a, 33b) are formed by separate parts that have been joined together, and/or wherein the interlayer (21) is made from a different material than the first friction ring and the second friction ring, in particular from a material with a higher elasticity and/or lower brittleness. (Pg. 11, 2nd Par.)
Re claim 11, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer comprises or consists of steel and/or grey cast iron and/or aluminum. (Pg. 1, Par. 5, Pg. 2, Par. 1, Pg. 3, 4th Par.)
Re claim 12, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the first friction ring and the second friction ring comprise or consist of grey cast iron and/or ceramics. (Pg. 1, Par. 5, Pg. 2, Par. 1 Pg. 3, 4th Par.)
Re claim 13, Mennell et al. disclose wherein the interlayer (21) is configured to be compressed by at most 0.25 mm or at most 0.2 mm or at most 0.15 mm or at most 0.1 mm. (Page 11, 2nd Par.)
7. Claims 1, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 1251039 A.
Re claim 1, GB ‘039 disclose a brake disk for a disk brake system, comprising: a first friction ring (13) for engagement with a first brake pad, a second friction ring (14) for engagement with a second brake pad opposite to the first brake pad, and an interlayer (19) interposed between the first friction ring and the second friction ring, the interlayer having a shape elasticity and being configured to be compressed in an axial direction during application of brake pressure by way of the brake pads. (Fig. 1-2)
Re claim 7, GB ‘039 disclose wherein the interlayer comprises at least one hole (15) having a cross section that is elliptical or almond- shaped or drop-shaped or rectangular. (Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennell et al. (GB 2553835 A).
Re claim 14, Mennell et al. do not teach wherein the interlayer is configured to be compressed by at least 0.1 mm or at least 0.15 mm or at least 0.2 mm at a brake pressure of 70 bars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provided the desired compression amount since one of ordinary skill in the art could select a compression amount from the known dimensions to provide elastic deformation and gripping with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al., GB ‘274, Eksergian, Dessouki et al., Zboralski et al., and Aschoff et al. teach similar brake disks.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616