DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6, 8, 12-17, 19-20 in the reply filed on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 3-4 and 14-15, respectively, “… having a smallest quantity of common bone chains… wherein the same common bone chain does not contain a plurality of common bones belonging to a same layer” and “… with fewer common bones from the two to-be-confirmed common bone chains…” are indefinite. May be due to lost in translation, the claims are confusing, difficult for interpretation. For examination purpose, the broadest reasonable interpretation is taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 12-14, 16-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai (CN105243682) in view of Lin et al. (CN113920233) and Kipman et al. (US2010/0302253).
To claim 1, Zhai teach a bone model combination method (Fig. 6), comprising:
obtaining a plurality of to-be-combined bone models (Bs, Cs, Ds, Es of Fig. 6), each of the plurality of to-be-combined bone models comprising a pixel set (pixel obviously in animation), and each bone model corresponding to a common skeleton (A of Fig. 6; obviously applicable to a common skeleton);
determining, for any two bone models among the plurality of bone models, a set of common bones that is an intersection of bones included in both of the two bone models (B&C, C&D, C&E of Fig. 6);
determining, for all the common bones in the intersection, common bone chains (paragraphs 0166-0168, make up the character are composed of six parts);
generating common bone chain duplicates based on the common bone chains, and binding the common bone chain duplicates at upper common bones of the common bone chains (paragraphs 0083-0085, applying one or more limb component models is interpreted as duplicating or copying from a database); and
building a mapping between each of the common bone chains and a pixel set included in a corresponding bone model of the two bone models, and building a mapping between each of the common bone chain duplicates bound at the upper common bones and a pixel set included in a corresponding bone model of the two bone models (mapping is obvious in posture presentation in Fig. 6; paragraphs 0075-0080, 0151-0154).
In furthering said obviousness, Lin teach a skeleton model generation method (abstract) dynamically combing and rendering multiple final model modules with selections from a plurality of model templates including component templates and body shape templates (Figs. 1-4; paragraphs 0053-0080), wherein the same basic character skeleton is allowed to be arbitrarily matched with corresponding parts and movements (paragraph 0064), which correspond to Zhai’s selection and combining limb element models.
Kipman teach creating an animated avatar model in pixels with mapping joints/nodes to interconnect body parts (Figs. 6-9, paragraphs 0064, 0079, 0121-0126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate teachings of Lin and Kipman into the method of Zhai, in order to generate a skeletal architecture.
To claim 12, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach a bone model combination apparatus (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 20, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions thereon, which, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform a bone model combination method (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claims 2 and 13, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach claims 1 and 12.
Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach wherein the common skeleton is composed of a plurality of common bones having a hierarchical relationship; each of the plurality of bone models further comprises a bone set corresponding to a common bone set of the common skeleton; and the determining, for all the common bones in the intersection, the common bone chains comprises: determining, for the all the common bones in the intersection, the common bone chains based on the hierarchical relationship between the common bones (Zhai, paragraph 0043; Kipman, paragraphs 0069-0070, hierarchical relationship in skeletal modeling).
To claims 3 and 14, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach claims 2 and 13.
Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach wherein the determining, for the all the common bones in the intersection, the common bone chains based on the hierarchical relationship between the common bones comprises: determining a common bone chain set covering the common bones and having a smallest quantity of common bone chains; and determining the common bone chains according to the common bone chain set, wherein the same common bone chain does not contain a plurality of common bones belonging to a same layer (Zhai, paragraphs 0043, 0171, the data or process of animation processing has a distinct hierarchical structure; paragraphs 0076, 0086, limb components are divided into six types, head, torso, left arm, right arm, left leg, and right leg, wherein the smallest quantity of the common bone chain would be six, or the smallest quantity of each of said six types would be one; paragraphs 0015, 0158-0160, each layer has only one color block or sub-component)
To claims 5 and 16, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach claims 2 and 13.
Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach wherein the generating the common bone chain duplicates comprises: duplicating the common bones in the common bone chains and a hierarchical relationship of the common bones to obtain the common bone chain duplicates, wherein each common bone in the common bone chain duplicates and each common bone in the common bone chains have different bone identifiers (Kipman, paragraph 0069, nodes can be connected by interconnects, e.g., bones, and hierarchical relationships that define a parent-child system similar to that of a tree can be established; Zhai, identifiers as shown in Fig. 6).
To claims 6 and 17, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach claims 5 and 16.
Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach the method further comprising: building a temporary upper common bone in response to a determination that the common bone chains do not have upper common bones, the binding the common bone chain duplicates at the upper common bones comprising: respectively binding the common bone chains and the common bone chain duplicates to the temporary upper common bone (Zhai, paragraphs 0071, 0166-0167, if another element B can be placed in a certain layer inside element A, then B is a sub-element of A, select appropriate limb component models to form a character, wherein duplicating/copying and temporality would be obvious in applying limb component models from a database before completion of bone model generation).
To claims 8 and 19, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach claims 1 and 12.
Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach the method further comprising: in response to a determination that a redundant bone exists in a common bone chain duplicate, removing the redundant bone from the common bone chain duplicate, the redundant bone comprising a redundant common bone located in the common bone chain duplicate and not belonging to a common bone set corresponding to a corresponding bone model (Lin, paragraphs 0069-0070, remove redundant).
Claim(s) 4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai (CN105243682) in view of Lin et al. (CN113920233), Kipman et al. (US2010/0302253) and Wang et al. (CN110706276).
To claims 4 and 15, Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach claims 2 and 13.
Zhai, Lin and Kipman teach wherein the determining, for the all the common bones in the intersection, the common bone chains based on the hierarchical relationship between the common bones comprises: setting, for each common bone among the common bones, the common bone and lower common bones corresponding to the common bone in the common skeleton as a to-be-confirmed (interpreted as temporary before completion) common bone chain; and for any two to-be-confirmed common bone chains among the to-be-confirmed common bone chains, removing, in response to a determination that the two to-be-confirmed common bone chains have an inclusion relationship, a to-be-confirmed common bone chain with fewer common bones from the two to-be-confirmed common bone chains to obtain the common bone chains, wherein the upper common bones and lower common bones of the common bone chains are determined based on the hierarchical relationship (obvious in Zhai, paragraphs 0051, 0076, 0086, relative proportions, limb components are divided into six types, head, torso, left arm, right arm, left leg, and right leg; paragraph 0039, 0059, selecting appropriate limb component models or body parts).
In furthering said obviousness, Wang teach generating a skeleton model (abstract), wherein the determining, for the all the common bones in the intersection, the common bone chains based on the hierarchical relationship between the common bones (Figs. 1-4; paragraphs 0051-0075, using each skeleton node as the root node, gradually associate the connected similar
skeleton limbs and other similar tree-like skeleton structures to generate similar skeleton
structures), which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the method and apparatus of Zhai, Lin and Kipman, in order to implement hierarchical relationship between the common bones.
Conclusion
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 January 7, 2026