DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is in response to the Amendments of 12/08/2025 and IDS filed 02/03/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-2 and 4-5 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, 1-6 are currently pending in this application, claim 3 remains withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
3. In light of Applicant’s Amendment of 12/08/2025, the objection to claim 1 set forth in the Office Action of 09/10/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
4. In claim 1, line 3: “a counterpart connector” should be changed to – a counterpart electrical connector-- (for clarity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (Patent No.: US 6,186,889 B1) In view of LU et al. (hereinafter “LU”) (Pub. No.: US 2007/0293089 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Byrne discloses a connector structure (the latch assembly 225 to engage and secure the fan assembly 250 and the mounting bracket 210 in the fan bay 110 on the chassis 100, see column 4 lines 6-18 and/or slide latch 220 to re-engage the corresponding catch in the fan bay 110, as stated in column 4 lines 44-50) provided at one of a main body of an electrical equipment and a fan unit detachably attached to the main body, and configured to be connected to a counterpart connector provided at the other one of the main body and the fan unit (as seen immediately below), the connector structure (the latch assembly 225 and/or slide latch 220, as presented in annotated Figure 2) comprising:
a fixed portion (fixed portion FP220, as depicted in annotated Figure 2) fixed to the one of the main body and the fan unit (the fixed portion FP220 is being fixed to the bottom portion of the module 200 or mounting bracket 210 and/or to the fan unit 250, as stated in column 3 lines 45-56 and seen immediately below), and including a receiving hole (including a latch assembly opening 222, which is configured to engage a corresponding latch mechanism inside the fan bay 110, as discussed in column 4 lines 6-18 and/or including a catch in the chassis, which is inherently being a hole and receiving a protruding portion of the connector); and
a movable terminal portion (defined by the slide latch 220, which, as stated in column 4 lines 6-18, being removable) received in the receiving hole (the slide latch 220 is surely received in the opening 222).
Particularly, in column 4 lines 6-18, Byrne demonstrates as how the latch assembly 225 being arranged “to engage and secure the fan assembly 250 and the mounting bracket 210 in the fan bay 110 on the chassis 100. In this particular embodiment, one of the side panels 211 of the mounting bracket 210 also has a latch assembly opening 222 formed therein that is configured to engage a corresponding latch mechanism inside the fan bay 110. In the illustrated embodiment, the slide latch 220 is removable, although it does not necessarily have to be. The base of the slide latch 220 has indentations 221 formed therein that engage a catch (not shown) in the fan bay 110 to retain the fan assembly 250 and the mounting bracket 210 within the fan bay 110 of the chassis 100.
Likewise, in column 4 lines 38-50, Byrne further specifies: In order to place or replace the fan module 200 in the fan bay 110, the slide latch 220 is simply pushed to one side, thereby disengaging the indentations from the corresponding catch formed within the fan bay 110. This action frees the fan module 200 and allows it to be easily removed from the fan bay 110. A new fan module 200 is then reinstalled in the fan bay 110, which causes the slide latch 220 to re-engage the corresponding catch in the fan bay 110. Those skilled in the art will recognize that other embodiments of the latch assembly 225 can also be used, all of which will be within the intended scope of this invention.
Further, in column 3 lines 57-67, Byrne then goes on to describe that: In order to provide electrical connectivity with the power source associated with the chassis 100 and enable the fan assembly 250 to operate, the fan assembly 250 has an electrical plug 260 that plugs into a corresponding electrical receptacle on the chassis 100 (not shown). In one embodiment of the invention, a noise protection capacitor 270 may be mounted on the fan assembly 250. The purpose of the noise protection capacitor 270 is to reduce electrical noise interference that may be caused by the fan assembly 250. Because the failure of this capacitor 270 can be difficult to detect, by associating the capacitor 270 with the removable fan assembly 250 an easy and convenient method to replace such capacitor 270 is provided. In addition, it assures that the capacitor 270 is replaced each time the fan assembly 250 is changed.
Still further, column 4 lines 50-60, Byrne specifies: Turning now to FIG. 3, illustrated is an assembled fan module 300. The assembled fan module 300 shows the fan assembly 250 cradled in the mounting bracket 210. The fan assembly 250 is partially secured in the mounting bracket 210 by the spring clips 215 on the side panel 211 of the mounting bracket 210. This particular embodiment illustrates a further advantage associated with the fan module 300. This particular embodiment illustrates an electrical cord 330 that is electrically connected to the fan assembly 250. The electrical cord 330 can be easily and quickly electrically connected to a power source associated with the electronic equipment chassis 100 by way of the electrical plug 260. To secure the electrical cord 330 to the assembled fan module 300, a nylon tie cable 320 is used to tie the cord 330 to a fastening aperture 325 on the side 211 of the mounting bracket 210 provided for such purpose. The assembled fan module 300 is now ready to be placed in the fan bay 110 of the chassis 100.
Clearly, as best seen immediately above, the mechanical connecting part of the connector assembly comprising the fixed portion FP220 fixed to the fan unit 250 and including a catch in the chassis that is necessarily being a hole to further receive a protruding portion of the connector 220 while the electric connecting part comprising the electrical plug 260 and the electrical cord 330 and fastening aperture 325 or FP325 being arranged on the same side panel of the mounting bracket 210 to ensure the correctly orientated fan assembly in a detachable manner with respect to the chassis 100.
In other words, with reference to annotated Figure 3, Byrne’s structure is certainly designed such that the fixed portion FP220 and/or FP325 fixed to the one of the main body and the fan unit, and including a receiving hole or catch and/or a movable terminal portion 220 and/or combination of electrical cord 330 and electrical plug 260 being received in the receiving hole so as to be displaceable in a direction intersecting a connection direction of the connector structure to the counterpart connector and/or being configured to be connected to the counterpart connector structure or catch in the chassis.
Although Byrne discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to fact that the movable terminal portion received in the receiving hole so as to be displaceable in a direction intersecting a connection direction of the electrical connector structure to the counterpart electrical connector and/or the movable terminal portion including an electrical terminal configured to be electrically connected to a counterpart electrical terminal provided at the counterpart electrical connector.
Nonetheless, LU in the same field of endeavor teaches another fan assembly, very similar to that seen in annotated Figures 2&3, and performs as how: the fan frame 3 includes a frame body 35 and at least one terminal seat 30, which is connected to a circumference of the frame body 35 and is electrically connected to the control device. The terminal seat 30 includes a seat body 31 and at least one knife-type terminal 32 (see Paragraph [0024]).
Notably, in Paragraph [0033], LU successfully teaches as how: The clamping-type terminal seat 5 may be disposed on an external system housing, an interface card, a mainboard, a circuit board or any other external system. In addition, the embodiment is described according to the preferred but non-limitative example, in which the terminal seat 30 is disposed on the frame body 35, and the clamping-type terminal seat 5 is not disposed on the frame body 35. Instead, the clamping-type terminal seat 5 may be disposed on the frame body 35 but the terminal seat 30 is not disposed on the frame body 35. The contact at the middle section or the front end of the pin 52 of the clamping-type terminal seat 5 extends in a non-radial direction of the fan 6 or in a direction different from the extending direction of the knife-type terminal 32. Combining the knife-type terminal 32 of the terminal seat 30 with the clamping-type terminal seat 5 enables the fan 6 to be fixed to the external system with a predetermined level of fixing force without any other fixing structure.
Especially, in Paragraph [0032], LU further states: the clamping-type terminal seat 5 corresponds to the seat body 31 and has at least one pin 52 and a seat body 51. The pin 52, which is accommodated in the seat body 51 and disposed corresponding to the body 321, is electrically connected to the body 321. The pin 52 may have, for example, an elastic structure, a bent structure or a structure with a protruding structure 521, wherein the protruding structure 521 preferably extends toward the inner wall or extends along a direction forming an angle relative to an extending surface of the pin 52. The body 321 or the conductive film 321 a may be clamped by the pin 52 and the inner wall of the seat body 51 or clamped by multiple pins 52. Alternatively, the signal transmission amount can be increased by adjusting the number of pins 52 corresponding to the conductive films 321 a so that the number of terminals can be greatly reduced, and the volume of the terminal seat can be reduced.
Most importantly, however, is the specific structure and/or arrangement of LU’s electrical connector structure, wherein the movable terminal portion is clearly including an electrical terminal that is electrically connected to a counterpart electrical terminal while being received in the receiving hole so as to be displaceable in a direction intersecting a connection direction.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a clamping -type terminal with a corresponding seat body, as taught by LU, with the fan assembly of Byrne, in order to enhance the connection intensity of the terminal and greatly increase the production and assembly yields, as motivated by LU in Paragraph [0008].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the electrical connector structure would be further provided at one of a main body of an electrical equipment and a fan unit detachably attached to the main body, and would be further configured to be electrically connected to a counterpart connector provided at the other one of the main body and the fan unit and/or a fixed portion would be further fixed to the one of the main body and the fan unit, and/or would be further including a receiving hole and/or a movable terminal portion received in the receiving hole so as to be further displaceable in a direction intersecting a connection direction of the electrical connector structure to the counterpart electrical connector and/or the movable terminal portion would be further including an electrical terminal being configured to be further electrically connected to a counterpart electrical terminal being provided at the counterpart electrical connector and/or the movable terminal portion would be further received in the receiving hole so as to be further displaceable along the connection direction, as instantly claimed.
Accordingly, the combination of Byrne and LU appears to disclose all aspects of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Byrne and LU substantially disclose the electrical connector structure, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, in column 3 lines 33-44, Byrne teaches: The illustrated chassis 100 has a cooling fan 120 that represents a particularly advantageous embodiment of the present invention. That is, the illustrated cooling fan 120 is part of a fan module 150 that can be easily removed and replaced in the field without taking the entire electronic system housed in the chassis 100 out of service for extended periods of time. On the side of the chassis 100 is a fan bay 110 configured to receive and contain the fan module 150. The fan bay 110 further allows easy and quick access to the fan module 150.
Turning to FIG. 3, Byrne states: illustrated is an assembled fan module 300. The assembled fan module 300 shows the fan assembly 250 cradled in the mounting bracket 210. The fan assembly 250 is partially secured in the mounting bracket 210 by the spring clips 215 on the side panel 211 of the mounting bracket 210. This particular embodiment illustrates a further advantage associated with the fan module 300. This particular embodiment illustrates an electrical cord 330 that is electrically connected to the fan assembly 250. The electrical cord 330 can be easily and quickly electrically connected to a power Source associated with the electronic equipment chassis 100 by way of the electrical plug 260. To secure the electrical cord 330 to the assembled fan module 300, a nylon tie cable 320 is used to tie the cord 330 to a fastening aperture 325 on the side 211 of the mounting bracket 210 provided for such purpose. The assembled fan module 300 is now ready to be placed in the fan bay 110 of the chassis 100 (column 4 lines 50-67).
In other words, according to the combination, Byrne evidently demonstrates as how an electrical equipment comprising: the connector structure of claim 1; the main body; and the fan unit detachably attached to the main body, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Byrne and LU substantially disclose the electrical equipment, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in claim 3 lines 25-43, Byrne discloses that: Referring initially to FIG. 1, illustrated is a chassis 100 housing a modular electronic system. Installed in the chassis 100 are several modules 105 as well as other components that combine to make up the system. The obvious benefit of modularity in electronic systems is that the various components installed in the chassis 100 as modules 105 can be easily removed and changed without taking the entire system out of service. Many electronic equipment units require a fan for cooling purposes. The illustrated chassis 100 has a cooling fan 120 that represents a particularly advantageous embodiment of the present invention. That is, the illustrated cooling fan 120 is part of a fan module 150 that can be easily removed and replaced in the field without taking the entire electronic system housed in the chassis 100 out of service for extended periods of time. On the side of the chassis 100 is a fan bay 110 configured to receive and contain the fan module 150. The fan bay 110 further allows easy and quick access to the fan module 150.
Further, in column 6 lines 34-50, Byrne especially states: A modular electronic system, comprising: an electronic equipment chassis configured with a fan bay, and a fan module, wherein said fan module includes a fan assembly electrically connectable to a power source associated with a power unit chassis, and a mounting bracket configured to be removably received in said fan bay, said mounting bracket further configured to cradle and receive said fan assembly therein, said mounting bracket including a slide latch port formed in a side wall of said mounting bracket; and a slide latch configured to be slidably received and retained in said slide latch port and engage a wall of said electronic equipment chassis and removably retain said mounting bracket in said fan bay.
Moreover, with specific regard to functional limitation directed towards the intended use of the apparatus, namely "… configured to control a machine tool " and/or “…configured to supply power to a servomotor provided in a machine tool”, as stated in claim 6, the prior art discloses all the structural limitations of the claim and is therefore capable of carrying out, any and all uses of such a structure. Whether or not the structure is used in such a manner is dependent on a future act of use and not any structural differences (MPEP 2114).
Consequently, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the electrical equipment is being a numerical control device configured to further control a machine tool or a motor drive device configured to supply power to a servomotor provided in a machine tool, as instantly claimed.
7. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne in view of LU, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (hereinafter “Yoshida”) (Pub. No.: US 2007/0279865 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Byrne and LU substantially disclose the electrical connector structure, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, with reference to annotated Figure 2, Byrne especially notes as how: a fan module 200 as provided by one embodiment of the present invention. As illustrated in this particular embodiment, the bottom portion of the module 200 is a mounting bracket 210 configured to receive and cradle a fan assembly 250, which is removable from the mounting bracket 210. On the mounting bracket 210 is a latch assembly 225, which is discussed in more detail below and denoted by the dotted line, designed to engage the fan bay 110 on the chassis 100 and hold the fan module 200 in the chassis 100. On the side panels 211 of the mounting bracket 210 are spring clips 215 that also serve to engage the fan assembly 250 and removably retain it in the mounting bracket 210 (see column 3 lines 45-52).
Then, in column 4 lines 38-50, Byrne details: Certain beneficial aspects of the invention are now obvious. In order to place or replace the fan module 200 in the fan bay 110, the slide latch 220 is simply pushed to one side, thereby disengaging the indentations from the corresponding catch formed within the fan bay 110. This action frees the fan module 200 and allows it to be easily removed from the fan bay 110. A new fan module 200 is then reinstalled in the fan bay 110, which causes the slide latch 220 to re-engage the corresponding catch in the fan bay 110. Those skilled in the art will recognize that other embodiments of the latch assembly 225 can also be used, all of which will be within the intended scope of this invention.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 2 again, Byrne evidently illustrates as how the fan unit 250 includes: a fan (F250); a casing (FC250) configured to house the fan (F250).
However, although the combination of Byrne and LU discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the specifics of the substrate.
Nonetheless, Yoshida in the same field of endeavor teaches an inverter apparatus, which, as stated in Abstract, “includes a fan unit case in which the cooing fans are housed as one integral unit, a housing space formed on an outer side of a ceiling surface of the inverter main body, and a fan cover that fixes the fan unit case. The fan unit case is slid to be housed in the housing space“.
Specifically, in Paragraphs [0033] & [0034], Yoshida successfully teaches as how: the fan cover 21 has hook-shaped claws 22 formed at the right and left sides so as to be fixed to the die-cast case 31. The fan cover 21 is constructed such that both sides of a base with a U-shaped cross-section are bent inward. On the surface of the fan cover 21 which is bent toward the front, rectangular holes (slits) 23 and screw holes 24 are formed at the right and left sides of the rectangular holes 23, and an L-shaped fixing claw 25 is formed in a lower part of the middle section. The hook-shaped claws 22 are used for fixing the fan unit case 2, and the die-cast case 31 is provided with holes (or claws) 40 with which the claws 22 are engaged. In the illustrated example, the claws 22 are fit into the holes 40. The rectangular holes 23 are holes though which exhaust air from the internal fan 51 passes, and the screw holes 24 are used for fixing the fan cover 21. Basically, no screws are used for the screw holes 24 since the fan cover 21 is configured to be attachable and removable without the use of tools, but the screw holes 24 are provided as backups for a situation where there are strong vibrations and impacts. The claw 25 is engaged with a claw 39 of the die-cast case 31.
Most importantly, however, is the specific structure and/or arrangement of Yoshida's fan unit that surely includes a mounting plate or substrate S2.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a substrate in a fan unit, as taught by Yoshida, to the fan unit of Byrne/LU in order to further provide easy replacement of the cooling fans and/or to further enhance cooling efficiency, as motivated by Yoshida in Paragraph [0014].
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the fan unit would be further including a substrate that would be further fixed to the casing and/or the fixed portion would be further fixed to the substrate., as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied reference addresses the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746