DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 3, 2023, and October 23, 2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, line 1 of the claim recites, “a control method,” but line 9 recites, “the method.” It is suggested that line 9 be amended to recite, “the control method,” to match the language of line 1.
Regarding claim 21, line 2 of the claim recites, “a control method,” but line 10 recites, “the method.” It is suggested that line 10 be amended to recite, “the control method,” to match the language of line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuboi (US 2018/0099827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuboi teaches a printing apparatus comprising a storage unit configured to store size information of a print medium (fig. 2; nonvolatile memory 104; ¶[0043], [0069]); a plurality of rollers arranged in a conveyance path of a print medium and configured to convey the print medium (fig. 1; separation roller pairs 31, 32, conveyance roller pairs 34-39; ¶[0030], [0035]); a first sensor configured to detect an edge of the print medium being conveyed by the rollers (fig. 1; sheet sensor 55; ¶[0040]-[0041]); and a control unit configured to execute processing for identifying an error occurring in the conveyance of the print medium (figs. 2, 9; controller 100; ¶[0025], [0095]-[0100]), wherein the control unit issues a first error concerning an orientation of the print medium based on a detection result of the first sensor and the size information stored in the storage unit (fig. 9; ¶[0095]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the first sensor fails to detect the edge of the print medium being conveyed, the control unit determines whether or not a short-side length of the print medium is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold by using the size information, and issues the first error if the short-side length is equal to or smaller than the predetermined threshold (fig. 9; steps S12, S51, S53, S54, S60-61; ¶[0095]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: a loading unit configured to load the print medium (fig. 1; sheet supply trays 10U, 10D; ¶[0022]); a feeder unit configured to feed the print medium loaded on the loading unit (fig. 1; feeding mechanism 20U; ¶[0027]); a conveyance unit configured to convey the print medium fed by the feeder unit (fig. 1; conveyance rollers 34-36, guides 48b-c; ¶[0023]-[0024], [0035]-[0036]); a printing unit configured to perform printing on the print medium (fig. 1; head 5; ¶[0026]); and a delivery unit configured to deliver the print medium on which the printing is performed by the printing unit (fig. 1; tray 3; conveyance rollers 37-39, guides 48d-e; ¶[0023]-[0024], [0035]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising a second sensor configured to detect whether the print medium is loaded on the loading unit before the conveyance of the print medium is started (fig. 1; sheet remaining-amount sensors 50U, 50D; ¶[0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the control unit receives the size information set by a user and stores the received size information into the storage unit (fig. 2; touch panel 4; ¶[0069]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the conveyance unit includes the plurality of rollers, and the print medium is conveyed in an order of the loading unit, the feeder unit, the conveyance unit, the printing unit, and the delivery unit (fig. 1; ¶[0020]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein in a feeding operation by the feeder unit, in a case where the first sensor fails to detect a leading edge of the print medium and the second sensor detects no-loading of the print medium, the control unit issues a second error as an error in a case where the print medium is not loaded on the loading unit (fig. 6; steps S1-S4, S6-S11; ¶[0072]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein in a case where the second sensor detects loading of the print medium and the short-side length of the print medium specified in the size information is equal to or smaller than the predetermined threshold, the control unit issues the first error (figs. 6, 9; steps S1-S4, S6-S11, S12, S51, S53, S54, S60-61; ¶[0095]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein in a case where the second sensor detects the loading of the print medium and the short-side length of the print medium specified in the size information is larger than the predetermined threshold, the control unit issues a third error as an error in a case where the feeding of the print medium fails (figs. 9; steps S12, S51-S53; ¶[0095]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 20, Tsuboi teaches a control method for a printing apparatus including a storage unit configured to store size information of a print medium (fig. 2; nonvolatile memory 104; ¶[0043], [0069]); a plurality of rollers arranged in a conveyance path of a print medium and configured to convey the print medium (fig. 1; separation roller pairs 31, 32, conveyance roller pairs 34-39; ¶[0030], [0035]); a first sensor configured to detect an edge of the print medium being conveyed by the rollers (fig. 1; sheet sensor 55; ¶[0040]-[0041]); and a control unit configured to execute processing for identifying an error occurring in the conveyance of the print medium (figs. 2, 9; controller 100; ¶[0025], [0095]-[0100]), the method comprising causing the control unit to issue a first error concerning an orientation of the print medium based on a detection result of the first sensor and the size information stored in the storage unit (fig. 9; ¶[0095]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 21, Tsuboi teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a control method for a printing apparatus including a storage unit configured to store size information of a print medium (fig. 2; nonvolatile memory 104; ¶[0043], [0069]); a plurality of rollers arranged in a conveyance path of a print medium and configured to convey the print medium (fig. 1; separation roller pairs 31, 32, conveyance roller pairs 34-39; ¶[0030], [0035]); a first sensor configured to detect an edge of the print medium being conveyed by the rollers (fig. 1; sheet sensor 55; ¶[0040]-[0041]); and a control unit configured to execute processing for identifying an error occurring in the conveyance of the print medium (figs. 2, 9; controller 100; ¶[0025], [0095]-[0100]) the method comprising causing the control unit to issue a first error concerning an orientation of the print medium based on a detection result of the first sensor and the size information stored in the storage unit (fig. 9; ¶[0095]-[0100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi (US 2018/0099827 A1) in view of Kikuta (US 2017/0341889 A1).
Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, but fails to teach or fairly suggest a third sensor configured to detect the size of the print medium, wherein a gear of the third sensor meshes with a gear of a side guide.
Kikuta teaches a paper feed device comprising a sensor configured to detect the size of the print medium, wherein a gear of the third sensor meshes with a gear of a side guide (figs. 6-8; sensor unit 7, first cursor link mechanism 8a, first gear 81, second gear 83; ¶[0070]-[0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor of Kikuta into the printing apparatus of Tsuboi in order to provide an alternative means of ascertaining the paper size loaded into the printing apparatus.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi (US 2018/0099827 A1) in view of Shinohara et al. (US 2017/0253053 A1), hereinafter Shinohara.
Regarding claim 15, Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 7, further comprising a display unit configured to display information of the error occurring (figs. 2, 6, 9; touch panel 4, step S11, S53; ¶[0076], [0095]). However, Tsuboi fails to teach or fairly suggest the display unit configured to display a handling method of the error.
Shinohara teaches an inkjet printer comprising a display unit configured to display a handling method for handling a jam in conveyance of a print medium (figs. 2, 5; controller 8, display unit 71, step S7; ¶[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display unit of Shinohara into the printing apparatus of Tsuboi in order to improve the user’s ability to recover from jams and feeding failures.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi (US 2018/0099827 A1) in view of Shinohara (US 2017/0253053 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2005/0105947 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Tsuboi as modified by Shinohara teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 15, however Tsuboi as modified by Shinohara fails to teach or fairly suggest what is displayed as the handling method on the display unit is a prompt to set a print medium of a predetermined size in a correct orientation and convey the set print medium.
Kim teaches a method of indicating a paper insertion direction (figs. 1-2; steps S12, S14, S16; ¶[0028]-[0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Kim into the printing apparatus of Tsuboi as modified by Shinohara in order to prevent a user from inserting a medium in an incorrect orientation.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi (US 2018/0099827 A1) in view of Kako (US 2016/0288557 A1).
Tsuboi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 comprising a non-volatile storage unit (fig. 2; nonvolatile memory 104; ¶[0043], [0069]), but Tsuboi fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein in a case where the first error is issued, error information on the first error is stored in the non-volatile storage unit, and in a case where the printing apparatus is powered off with the first error left unresolved and then is powered on, the control unit issues the first error again by using the error information.
Kako teaches a printer comprising an error occurrence detecting portion and an interruption control portion wherein error information on an error is stored in the non-volatile storage unit, and in a case where the printing apparatus is powered off with the error left unresolved and then is powered on, the control unit issues the error again by using the error information (figs. 5A-F, 6; ¶[0009], [0058]-[0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interruption control portion of Kako into the printing apparatus of Tsuboi in order to prevent error notices from being lost, and thus errors remaining uncorrected, due to power failures of the printing apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the printing apparatus of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, in an outputting operation of outputting the print medium on which the printing is performed to the delivery unit, in a case where the first sensor fails to detect a rear edge of the print medium and the short-side length is equal to or smaller than the predetermined threshold, the control unit issues the first error.
Regarding dependent claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the printing apparatus of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, after execution of the handing method, in a case where the first sensor fails to detect a rear edge of the set print medium of the predetermined size, the control unit issues the first error again and counts the number of the first errors successively issued.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kugimachi (US 2008/0240832 A1) teaches a printing apparatus comprising a controller capable of measuring the dimensions of a medium and issue errors regarding the orientation of the medium. Chikugo (US 2018/0335718 A1) teaches a printing apparatus comprising a jam detection portion, and method to alert a user of a jam. Fujino (US 11407603 B2) teaches a printing apparatus comprising a detection unit to detect errors.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853