DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 1 October 2025. Claims 1, 3, and 10 have been amended. Claims 2, 4-9 and 11- 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, and 10, are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claim 1 is a system and claim 3, and 10 are a method. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A-Prong 1: The claims recite the limitation of making request for an advertisement so that the advertisement is created, creating advertisement through an advertisement input part, setting and inputting advertismetn duration, advertisement duration, advertisement broadcasting time, and advertisement exposure frequency for the created advertisement and publishing the created advertisement through an advertisement control part, uploading the published advertisement to the advertisement, advertisement image, writing a signature on a screen of the card payment application for payment and completing the payment as the signature. These limitations fall within “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” for commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). Simply put, these limitation merely describe outsourcing advertisement creation for card payment method for publishing directly in response inputting details that the outsourcing company refers to advertisements creation, which is clearly a business arrangement in its purest form. Thus, the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Claim 3 further included “uploading the published advertisement to the advertisement management” . These limitations fall within “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” for commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). Simply put, this limitation merely describe targeting or managing advertisements, which is clearly a business arrangement in its purest form. Thus, the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The claims recite the combination of additional elements of a player terminal that intends to purchase, an advertisement terminal that intends to advertise and sell of an object, an advertismetn management platform server for recognizing, bank/card company server for performing the determining step and other computer components. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform an advertisement creation and payment process. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
Claim 10 further included “ downloading the digital card skin from the advertisement management” . Thus, this “downloading the digital card skin from the advertisement management” offers no more than using an intermediary to process payment and handled credit card infoatmion is a fundamental economic practice with is considered an abstract idea. Thus,
merely implementing a business or economic concept on a computer does not transform it into a patent-eligible invention, according to the Supreme Court's ruling in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l. .
Step 2B: As noted previously, the claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of updating medical records in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Further, the courts have consistently recognized that merely presenting the results of
abstract processes of collecting and analyzing information, without more (such as identifying a
particular tool for presentation), is abstract as an ancillary part of such collection and analysis.
See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347; Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709,
715 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Examiner asserts that “filtered personalized social news feed” is not
particular tool, thus it offers no more than presenting anything that includes the content that
resulted from the agreement between the social network service and any third party.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al (US Pub., No., 2015/0170210 A1) in view of Levine et al (US Pub., 2008/0275771 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Rhee teaches a payment advertisement system for a card payment application, the payment advertisement(paragraph [0011], discloses providing advertisement service, and paragraph [0017], discloses providing an advertismetn service of a user terminal devices ) system comprising:
a payer terminal (1) that intends to purchase an object online or offline by card; (paragraph [0088], discloses a point of sale (POS) and paragraph [0467], discloses a shop management system 611 include a POS system );
an advertiser terminal (2) that intends to advertise and sell an object offline or online(Fig. 27, discloses ad management server, paragraph [0120], discloses providing various pieces of advertismetn information.., shopping service for purchasing product and a service combing the above service and paragraph [0277], discloses an advertisement management server ) ;
an advertisement management platform server (3) for recognizing, when approval for a payment is obtained from the advertiser terminal, the approval and outputting an advertisement to the payer terminal (Fig. 27, discloses ad management server, and paragraph [0277], discloses an advertisement management server ); and
a bank/card company server (4) for determining whether to approve a card approval request from the advertiser terminal and notifying the advertiser terminal of an approval response,
wherein a platform (30) of the advertisement management platform server (3) is configured to connect the payer terminal (1), the advertiser terminal (2), and the bank/card company server (4) over a network, the platform (30) of the advertisement management platform server (3) (paragraph [0216], discloses operation of a network system consist of three user terminal devices and server devices and paragraph [0468], discloses PG module 6112, is a module for providing various form of electronic payment service such as credit care, a cellphone account transfer, cash settlement etc., a VAN module 6113 when the settlement is performed by using a credit card, etc., is a module for approving a settlement by relying the credit card company) comprises:
a card payment application (31) for conducting a card payment(paragraphs [0440]-[0441], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method. The settlement information may include name of a credit card, credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number…);
an advertisement comprehensive application (32) for creating and publishing an advertisement(Fig. 76, 7620 discloses prometon was publish, paragraph [0492], discloses the promotion module may use a coupon generating tool and generate available information such as various coupon, an event cared, an invention letter..) ; and
an advertisement output application (33) for recognizing payment approval when a payment transaction with the payer terminal is completed (Fig. 57, S5750 discloses issue electronic receipt, and paragraph [0337], discloses electronic receipt and paragraph [0441], discloses when settlement is performed the shop management system may issue an electronic receipt in operation) and outputting the advertisement created by the advertisement(paragraph [0037]-[0338], discloses advertisement information screen include a check-in menu and a special offer coupon can be output .., ) comprehensive application (32), the card payment application (31) comprises:
a communication part (311) for transmitting and receiving a card payment request and approval(paragraphs [0440], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method); and
a skin check part (312) for checking a registered digital card skin, the advertisement comprehensive application (32) (Fig. 63, discloses wallet .., credit card list, paragraph [0451], discloses a predetermined credit card or an ID card, a newly issued available information i.ee., coupon may be displayed on an execution screen of the wallet program and paragraph [0484], discloses a wallet program according to an embodiment of the present disclosure ) comprises:
an advertisement input part (321) comprising an advertisement self-input part (321a) for creating an advertisement directly, an advertisement outsourcing input part (321b) for outsourcing an advertisement to an outsourcing company (paragraph [0365], discloses providing an advertismetn generating screen so that an advertiser (or a businessman) may directly generate various advertismetn ) , and a voice input part (321c) (paragraph [0565], discloses voice inputting ) adding voice to an advertisement (paragraph [0559], discloses audio processor which process audio data included in the content .., paragraphs [0560], processing video data include in content )
a storage part (323) for storing the created advertisement or a tool related to advertisement creation, and the advertisement output application (33)(paragraph [0030], disclose advertisement information register in the database of the server device) comprises:
a card payment recognition part (331) for recognizing completion of the card payment by the card payment application (31) when the payment is made(paragraphs [0440]-[0441], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method. The settlement information may include name of a credit card, credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number…); and
an advertisement output part (333) for outputting a transmitted payment receipt and advertisement(paragraph [0441], discloses when settlement is performed the shop management system may issue an electronic receipt in operation ..), wherein the advertisement self-input part (321a) comprises: an advertisement image part (3211) for inputting an image to be used in an advertisement(paragraph [0020], discloses the advertisement information may include one of a photo, an image) ; and an advertisement text part (3212) for inputting text and a sticker to be used in an advertisement (paragraph [0020], discloses advertisement information includes a message) , and
the advertisement outsourcing input part (321b) comprises a request part (3213) for inputting details that the outsourcing company refers to for advertisement creation(paragraph [0017], discloses response to a confirmation request regarding the advertisement).
Rhee teach the above elements including an advertisement attachment part (332) receiving a signal transmitted from the card payment recognition part and attaching an advertisement to a payment receipt(paragraph [0440], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging or other wireless communication, paragraph [0469], discloses credit card reader an NFC model .., but also a barcode, a QR recognizer.., and paragraph [0577], discloses the short-rang wireless communicator .., the short-range wireless communicator may support NFC and RFID communication…) and execute the calendar program and input his or her schedule which includes not only date and time but also place (paragraph [0140]).
Rhee failed to teach the corrosinding advertisement is attached for attaching a banner advertisement on the application screen and attached a receipt advertisement and the corrosinding execute the calendar includes advertisement duration, advertisement broadcasting time, and advertisement exposure frequency and publishing an advertisement.
However, Levin teaches advertisement is attached for attaching a banner advertisement on the application screen and attached a receipt advertisement (paragraph [0008], discloses advertisement to appear on the transactions records for transaction such as payment transactions.., such as payment transactions .., and paragraph [0022], discloses advertisement includes banner, reward, coupon etc. assocted with goods or service offered by the advertiser ..,) and an advertisement control part (322) for setting advertisement duration, advertisement broadcasting time, and advertisement exposure frequency and publishing an advertisement(paragraph [0022], dislcies selecting advertisement based on the time discloses maximum number the advertismetn output program). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for schedule information written in a calendar screen of Rhee with advertisement to appear on the transactions records of Levin in order to increase advertisement viewer.
With respect to claim 3, Rhee teaches a payment advertisement method for a card payment application, the payment advertisement (paragraph [0011], discloses providing advertisement service, and paragraph [0017], discloses providing an advertismetn service of a user terminal devices ) method comprising:
making, with an advertiser terminal, a request to an advertisement management platform server for an advertisement so that the advertisement is created using an advertisement comprehensive application (Fig. 27, discloses ad management server, paragraph [0120], discloses providing various pieces of advertismetn information.., shopping service for purchasing product and a service combing the above service and paragraph [0277], discloses an advertisement management server paragraph [0492], discloses the promotion module may use a coupon generating tool and generate available information such as various coupon, an event cared, an invention letter);
providing, the advertisement comprehensive application by the advertisement management platform server that has received has received the request for the advertisement to the advertiser terminal that has made the request(Fig. 27, discloses ad management server, paragraph [0022], discloses request regarding the advertismetn information being transmitted from the user terminal device , transmitting the advertismetn information to the user terminal, paragraph [0120], discloses providing various pieces of advertismetn information.., shopping service for purchasing product and a service combing the above service and paragraph [0277], discloses an advertisement management server and paragraph [0605], dislcies a coupon generation menu .., an event registration menu are registered … );
one of following (i)-(iii):
creating the advertisement through an advertisement input part with the advertiser terminal in which the advertisemtn comprehensive application is installed, and storing the advertisement(paragraph [0606], discloses generating various kinds of avaible information such as coupon or an event card );
outsourcing the advertisement to an outsourcing company through an advertisement outsourcing input part; or
creating the advertisemtn by utilizing a previously created advertisemtn image as a template (paragraph [0606], discloses generating various kinds of avaible information such as coupon or an event card );
creating the advertisement through an advertisement input part with the advertiser terminal in which the advertisement comprehensive application is installed, and storing the advertisement(Fig. 76, 7620 discloses prometon was publish, paragraph [0492], discloses the promotion module may use a coupon generating tool and generate available information such as various coupon, an event cared, an invention letter.., and paragraph [0365], discloses providing an advertismetn generating screen so that an advertiser (or a businessman) may directly generate various advertismetn);
inserting a card linked to a card payment application of a payer terminal into a POS device of an advertiser and a seller (paragraphs [0440]-[0441], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method. The settlement information may include name of a credit card, credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number…);
writing a signature on a screen of the card payment application for a payment (paragraph [0441], discloses when settlement is performed the shop management system may issue an electronic receipt in operation .., and paragraph [0505], discloses an operation of authenticating a user by using a pin input screen… );
completing the payment as the signature pops up on a screen of the POS device of the advertiser and the seller (paragraphs [0440]-[0441], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method. The settlement information may include name of a credit card, credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number…); and
outputting an electronic receipt and the advertisement added thereto to the screen of the card payment application and the screen of the POS device of the advertiser and the seller (paragraph [0216], discloses operation of a network system consist of three user terminal devices and server devices, paragraph [0441], discloses when settlement is performed the shop management system may issue an electronic receipt in operation and paragraph [0468], discloses PG module 6112, is a module for providing various form of electronic payment service such as credit care, a cellphone account transfer, cash settlement etc., a VAN module 6113 when the settlement is performed by using a credit card, etc., is a module for approving a settlement by relying the credit card company).
Rhee teaches the above elements including wherein in the step of completing the payment, the advertiser provides the payer terminal that has outputted the card advertisement with the digital card skin applied (paragraph [0213], discloses payment is made [completed payment] at an off-line shop using the user terminal device .., or settlement information is received through text message, the controller …, settlement information is received the controller may extract contact information of a businessman (or an advertiser) for the settlement … information of a business, paragraph [0284], discloses according to a request from an advertiser, and transmit the advertisement information to the server device .., when the payment regarding the generated advertisement information made using an appropriate method .. and paragraph [0440], discloses credit card, a credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number, content of a discount coupon, a predetermined content of an event, a settlement price, user information, etc., and paragraph [0486], discloses providing services such as a discount at shop, a free git, sampling event ..[benefit] ). Rhee failed to teach the corresponding transmitted advertismetn with digital card skin applied includes a benefit of using the card to which the digital card skin is applied, in addition to an existing fixed benefit of using the card.
However, Levin teaches with a benefit of using the card to which the digital card skin is applied, in addition to an existing fixed benefit of using the card(paragraph [0008], discloses advertisement to appear on the transactions records for transaction such as payment transactions.., such as payment transactions .., and paragraph [0022], discloses advertisement includes banner, reward, coupon etc. assocted with goods or service offered by the advertiser ..,). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for schedule information written in a calendar screen of Rhee with advertisement to appear on the transactions records of Levin in order to increase advertisement viewer.
With respect to claim 10, a payment advertisement method for a card payment application, the payment advertisement method (Fig. 63 6300, discloses wallet , 6310 discloses payment.., paragraph [0011], discloses providing advertisement service, and paragraph [0017], discloses providing an advertismetn service of a user terminal devices ) comprising:
requesting form an advertisement terminal to an advertisement management platform server for a digital card skin and a card advertisement to be broadcasted (paragraph [0280], discloses an advertisement management server [advertisement management platform server] may receive various advertisement information from the advertisement providing server [an advertismetn terminal ] and stored the received advertisement information, and paragraph [0284], discloses according to a request from an advertiser, and transmit the advertisement information to the server device .., when the payment regarding the generated advertisement information made using an appropriate method ..);
creating and storing the digital card skin and the card advertisement associated with an advertiser’s affiliated store in the advertisement management platform server (paragraph [0030], disclose advertisement information register in the database of the server device and paragraph [0280], discloses an advertisement management server [advertisement management platform server] may receive various advertisement information from the advertisement providing server [an advertismetn terminal ] and stored the received advertisement information, paragraph [0606], discloses coupon avaible information such as appropriate coupon , an event card, etch at the generation screen .. );
downloading the digital card skin from the advertisement management platform server to a card payment application of a payer terminal(Fig. 63, discloses wallet .., credit card list, paragraph [0451], discloses a predetermined credit card or an ID card, a newly issued available information i.ee., coupon may be displayed on an execution screen of the wallet program and paragraph [0484], discloses a wallet program according to an embodiment of the present disclosure and paragraph [0524], discloses the settlement unit may include a credit card reader, a barcode reader, a QR code recognizer, an NFC model … );and
selecting and applying the digital card skin to a card linked to the card payment application through the card payment application (Fig. 63, discloses wallet .., credit card list, paragraphs [0440]-[0441], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method. The settlement information may include name of a credit card, credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number [linked to the card payment] …, and paragraph [0460], discloses a user may use the wallet program and perform a settlement with respect to the shop management system , the shop management system is tagged a wallet program being executed the controller applies an issued coupon and perfume settlement paragraph [0451], discloses a predetermined credit card or an ID card, a newly issued available information i.ee., coupon may be displayed on an execution screen of the wallet program and paragraph [0484], discloses a wallet program according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, );
conducting a payment with the card to which the digital card skin is applied in the card payment application( paragraphs [0440]-[0441], discloses the settlement information may be transmitted through an NFC tagging method or other wireless communication method. The settlement information may include name of a credit card, credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number…); and
outputting the card advertisement composed of an advertiser's advertisement video, image, and voice of the digital card skin upon completion of the payment to a screen of the payer terminal through an advertisement output application(paragraph [0284], discloses when a payment regarding the generated advertismetn information is made [upon completion of the payment], using appropriate method, the adveritment providing server 2700 transmit the generated advertismetn information to the server devices [outputting the card adveritment] paragraph [0559], discloses voice inputting , audio processor which process audio data included in the content .., paragraphs [0560], processing video data include in content ).
Rhee teaches the above elements including wherein in the step of completing the payment, the advertiser provides the payer terminal that has outputted the card advertisement with the digital card skin applied (paragraph [0213], discloses payment is made [completed payment] at an off-line shop using the user terminal device .., or settlement information is received through text message, the controller …, settlement information is received the controller may extract contact information of a businessman (or an advertiser) for the settlement … information of a business, paragraph [0284], discloses according to a request from an advertiser, and transmit the advertisement information to the server device .., when the payment regarding the generated advertisement information made using an appropriate method .. and paragraph [0440], discloses credit card, a credit card number, valid date, user authentication number, a discount coupon number, content of a discount coupon, a predetermined content of an event, a settlement price, user information, etc., and paragraph [0486], discloses providing services such as a discount at shop, a free git, sampling event ..[benefit] ). Rhee failed to teach the corresponding transmitted advertismetn with digital card skin applied includes a benefit of using the card to which the digital card skin is applied, in addition to an existing fixed benefit of using the card.
However, Levin teaches with a benefit of using the card to which the digital card skin is applied, in addition to an existing fixed benefit of using the card(paragraph [0008], discloses advertisement to appear on the transactions records for transaction such as payment transactions.., such as payment transactions .., and paragraph [0022], discloses advertisement includes banner, reward, coupon etc. assocted with goods or service offered by the advertiser ..,). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for schedule information written in a calendar screen of Rhee with advertisement to appear on the transactions records of Levin in order to increase advertisement viewer.
List of prior arts:
Rhee et al (US Pub., No., 2015/0170210 A1) discloses An advertisement service method is provided. The advertisement service method includes registering a contact number of at least one advertiser in a phonebook, receiving advertisement information issued from an advertiser registered in the phone book from a server device, alarming a reception of the received advertisement information, and displaying, on the server terminal device, the received advertisement information in response to a confirmation request signal regarding the received advertisement information being received.
Levine et al (US Pub., 2008/0275771 A1) discloses methods and systems are disclosed for producing advertisements on a transaction record for a transaction between a consumer and a merchant involving the use of a portable consumer device such as a credit or debit card. Advertisers may specify criteria so that the advertisements are specifically targeted.
Nagai et al (US Pub., 2005/0114883 A1) discloses an information providing method includes the steps of receiving pieces of terminal identifying information and pieces of user identifying information from a plurality of terminal devices, identifying user attributes for each of the pieces of user identifying information by referring to a user management table containing correspondences between the user identifying information and user attributes, by referring to an information management table containing correspondences among user attributes, provided information, and related information, extracting pieces of provided information and pieces of related information for each of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 101 rejection with respect to claims 1, 3 and 10, filed on 1 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ arguments of the claims of the current application include a process such as advertisement creation, advertisement control and management, advertismetn publication, and payment completion via signature, which may involve human participation , the core of the present invention lies in the operation of a payment advertisement system composed a various technical elements, including a payer terminal, a card payment application, an advertisement comprising application an advertisement comprehensive application, an advertisement management platform server, and a bank/card company server. These component function as actual execution entities, operating in a fundamentally computer-based manner to perform the computer-based manner to perform the claimed processes is not persuasive.
Further, the proposed process is covering business and financial activities like advertising and payment, is very likely to be identified as an "abstract idea". Simply performing the described steps on a generic computer is not considered a sufficient inventive concept. The claims do not demonstrate a process offers a specific technological improvement; Thus, the rejections is maintained.
Applicant' s argument relating to the Enfish are misguided. Enfish is an example of something the courts found not to be abstract. The instant Application lacks the self-referential table of Enfish which proved to the element that was determined to be non-abstract. Therefore, Enfish is not applicable to the instant case. Examiner used Alice/ Mayo two-part analysis used in the rejection above to determine that the claims are ineligible.
As applicants admitted, the claimed limitation as drafted, a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation convers advertisement creation and publishing in exchange to completion of payment, which fails into a subject matter where the commercial or legal interaction is advertising, marketing or sales activities of behavior / using adverting as an exchange or currency, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC;33 for the recitation of generic computer compoints. That is other than reciting “a payer terminal” for accepting card payment, an advertismetn terminal that intend to advertising and sell an object offline or online, advertisement management platform for recognizing a payment. A bank/card company server for performing the deteriming step. These computer components recited as a high-level of generality merely automates the generic computer functions of advertisement creation , publishing and payment machining activity, theses computer components are anything other generic, off-the shelf computer components. Each additional limitation is no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitation on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Applicants’ arguments of the claims share substantial similar to the claims of DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotel.com, et al (Fed. Cir. Dec. 5 2024). In DDR Holding, the involved claims were found not be abstract idea, because they are necessary rooted in computer technology in order to overcome a problem specifically arising the realm of computer technology is not persuasive.
Applicants’ argument relating to the DDR Holding are misguided. The DDR Holding is an example of something the courts found not to be abstract. The instant application lacks
generating a composite web page that combines certain visual elements of a "host" website with content of a third-party merchant of DDR Holdings which proved to the element that was determined to be non-abstract. Therefore, DDR Holding is not applicable to the instance case. Examiner used Alice/Ma tow part analyses used in the rejection above to determine the claims are ineligible.
Further, the instant claims do not describe a new type of a payments advertisement system comprising a payer terminal, an advertisement terminal a bank/card company server. Instead, the specification "fails to provide any technical details for the tangible components, but instead predominantly describes the system and methods in purely functional terms." Id. The claim elements, both considered individually and as an ordered combination, are directed to an abstract, and the limitations do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection with respect to claims 1, 3, and 10 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejections filed on 1 October 2025 with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682