Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grosfilley (US 5610494 A, hereinafter “Grosfilley”).
Regarding claim 1, Grosfilley teaches a wearable device case comprising: (see Claim 1: device 2 for recharging the storage battery of an intra-auricular auditory prothesis)
a base portion, the base portion defining one or more battery wells; (see Fig. 1, Column 3, line 44-64: recesses 12 indented functions as a well for the prostheses 4 to be stored in the base portion, or blocks 11 within box 5)
a lid portion, the lid portion comprising one or more battery well plugs; (see Fig. 1, 2, Column 3, line 44-64: lid 5a includes pads 18 that bear against the prostheses 4 which functions as a plug, which the broadest reasonable interpretation of this is a ‘stopper’)
wherein the lid portion moves between a closed position wherein it is engaged with the base portion and an open position wherein it is disengaged from the base portion to allow access to contents therein; (see Fig. 1,2: the lid portion 5a moves between a closed and open position wherein it engages to the base or box 5)
and wherein the one or more battery well plugs engage with the one or more battery wells when the lid is in the closed position. (see Fig. 1, 2, Column 3, line 44-64: the pads 18 bear against the prostheses 4 in order to ensure the contact when the lid is closed as shown in Fig. 2, which functions as a plug, which the broadest reasonable interpretation of this is a ‘stopper’. )
Regarding claim 2, Grosfilley teaches a hinge mechanism, wherein the hinge mechanism connects the base portion with the lid portion. (see Fig. 1: the casing box 5 with lid 5a is connected by a hinge mechanism where the lid opens on a hinge along the parallel axis of the base box)
Regarding claim 4, Grosfilley teaches one or more battery well plugs comprising a deformable tip. (see Fig. 1, 2, Column 3, line 44-64: lid 5a includes pads 18 of flexible material. The deformable pad 18 acts as a tip to allow for better seal to be formed for the battery element 3 of Grosfilley and thus reads on the claimed “deformable tip”)
Regarding claim 7, Grosfilley teaches the base portion defining a basin, wherein the basin is configured to receive a hearing assistance device. (see Fig. 1, Column 3, line 44-64: recesses 12 indented functions as a well for the prostheses 4 to be stored in the base portion, or blocks 11 within box 5)
Regarding claim 9, Grosfilley teaches the base portion comprising: a shell; and an insert. (see Fig. 1,2, Column 3, line 17-23: holding the block 11 on the plate 8 have the purpose of a shell or insert which under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a layer of protection or to place object on)
Regarding claim 10, Grosfilley teaches the base portion comprising: defining from two to ten battery wells; and the lid portion further comprising from two to ten battery well plugs. (see Fig. 1: two recesses 12 indented and two pads 18 on lid portion 5a.)
Regarding claims 11, 12, 14, and 17, the claimed limitations are claims directly corresponding to claims 1, 2, 4, and 7; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claims 1, 2, 4, and 7 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 13, 15, 16, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosfilley (US 5610494 A, hereinafter “Grosfilley”)
Regarding claim 3, Grosfilley is silent to a lid portion screws down onto the base portion. However, official notice is taken that using a screw to bind two components of a case is a notoriously well-known practice. Thus, it would have been obvious for one skill in the art to have chosen screwing down the lid portion onto the base portion of the device of Grosfilley to effectively secure the lid portion and the base portion together.
Regarding claim 5, note the discussion of claim 4 above, Column 3 lines 32-34 of Grosfilley teaches that the deformable tip is made of elastomeric material (i.e., pad 18 is made of flexible material). Grosfilley does not limit the pad 18 to be made by any particular type of flexible material and elastomeric material is just one type of well-known flexible material that can allow for better seal to be formed for the battery element 3 of Grosfilley, it would have been obvious that Grosfilley could have used a well-known type of flexible material such as an elastomeric material since it is one of the many well-known flexible material that Grosfilley could have chosen to use to make pad 18 to allow for better seal to be formed for the battery element 3 of Grosfilley.
Regarding claim 6, Grosfilley is silent to the elastomeric material has a Shore A durometer value of 10 to 90. However, it would have been obvious that the designer could have chosen the range of a durometer value of 10 to 90 for a specific preference of flexibility or versatility or based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claims 13, 15, and 16, the claimed limitations are claims directly corresponding to claims 3, 5, and 6; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claims 3, 5, and 6 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 33, Grosfilley is silent to at least one of the battery well plugs is approximately cylindrical, conical, or frustoconical in shape. However, it would have been obvious that the designer could have chosen the shape of the battery well plugs to be approximately cylindrical, conical, or frustoconical based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosfilley (US 5610494 A, hereinafter “Grosfilley”) in view of Vroba (US 5199565 A, hereinafter “Vroba”)
Regarding claim 8, Grosfilley fails to teach one or more battery wells defining an access slot, wherein the access slot is disposed along a side of the one or more battery wells.
Vroba teaches the one or more battery wells defining an access slot, wherein the access slot is disposed along a side of the one or more battery wells. (see Fig. 1: indentation 89 formed in cover 51 act as a well and the battery removal station 80 and 80' which function as the access slot that disposes along the side of the well)
Grosfilley and Vroba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of storing or casing of a battery and hearing aid/device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Vroba of access slots that are disposed along a side of the battery well to Grosfilley’s battery storage apparatus in order to allow ease of access and disposal of batteries. It is well known in the art to use this mechanism to retain hearing aid batteries in an efficient and accurate manner.
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations are claims directly corresponding to claim 8; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 8 as discussed above.
Claim(s) 21 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdon (US 20190181397 A1, hereinafter “Burdon”) in view of Vroba (US 5199565 A, hereinafter “Vroba”)
Regarding claim 21, Burdon teaches a battery case comprising: (see Fig. 1: wearable battery storage apparatus 200)
a base portion, (see [0023]: storage portion 106)
the base portion comprising one or more battery wells, (see Fig. 1, [0022]: chamber 128 having insert or cartridge 130)
and a lid portion, (see Fig. 1: lid 108)
wherein the lid portion moves between a closed position wherein it is engaged with the base portion and an open position wherein it is disengaged from the base portion to allow access to contents therein. (see [0022]: lid 108 moves between an open and closed position and a closure mechanism 114 for permitting the user to selectively close the lid, and thereby, close the battery storage component 104, then open to access contents therein)
However, Burdon fails to teach the one or more battery wells defining an access slot, wherein the access slot is disposed along a side of the one or more battery wells.
Vroba teaches the one or more battery wells defining an access slot, wherein the access slot is disposed along a side of the one or more battery wells. (see Fig. 1: indentation 89 formed in cover 51 act as a well and the battery removal station 80 and 80' which function as the access slot that disposes along the side of the well)
Burdon and Vroba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of storing or casing of a battery and hearing aid/device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Vroba of access slots that are disposed along a side of the battery well to Burdon’s battery storage apparatus in order to allow ease of access and disposal of batteries. It is well known in the art to use this mechanism to retain hearing aid batteries in an efficient and accurate manner.
Regarding claim 27, Burdon fails to teach the one or more battery wells arranged in a circular pattern, wherein the access slots are disposed facing radially outward from the circular pattern of battery wells.
Vroba teaches the one or more battery wells arranged in a circular pattern, wherein the access slots are disposed facing radially outward from the circular pattern of battery wells. (see Fig. 1: indentation 89 formed in cover 51 are arranged radially outward from the circular pattern.)
Burdon and Vroba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of storing or casing of a battery and hearing aid/device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Vroba of battery wells arranged in a circular pattern wherein the access slots are disposed facing radially outward to Burdon’s battery storage apparatus in order to allow ease of access and disposal of batteries. It is well known in the art to use this mechanism to retain hearing aid batteries in an efficient and accurate manner.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosfilley (US 5610494 A, hereinafter “Grosfilley”) in view of Liu (US 6773842 B2, hereinafter “Liu”)
Regarding claim 32, Grosfilley is silent to the lid is in the closed position, the one or more battery well plugs inhibit the exchange of air with one or more metal- air batteries disposed within the one or more battery wells.
However, Liu teaches the lid is in the closed position, the one or more battery well plugs inhibit the exchange of air with one or more metal- air batteries disposed within the one or more battery wells. (see column 10, line 35-45: closed position allows entry of air into metal-air battery assembly)
Grosfilley and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of storing or casing of a battery and hearing aid/device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Liu of inhibit the exchange of air with one or more metal- air batteries disposed within the one or more battery wells in a closed position to Grosfilley’s battery storage apparatus in order for effective exchange and regulation of air with the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Newly added claims 32-33 are not patentably distinct for the reason as set forth in the new ground rejections as set forth above.
On page 6-8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose wherein the one or more battery well plugs engage with the one or more battery wells when the lid is in the closed position. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Grosfilley clearly teaches wherein the one or more battery well plugs engage with the one or more battery wells when the lid is in the closed position (see Fig. 1, 2, Column 3, line 44-64: the pads 18 bear against the prostheses 4 in order to ensure the contact when the lid is closed as shown in Fig. 2, which functions as a plug, which the broadest reasonable interpretation of this is a ‘stopper’. )
On page 8-9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose wherein the one or more battery compartment plugs seal a battery compartment on a hearing assistance device when the lid is in the closed position. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Grosfilley clearly teaches wherein the one or more battery compartment plugs seal a battery compartment on a hearing assistance device when the lid is in the closed position (see Fig. 1, 2, Column 3, line 44-64: the pads 18 bear against the prostheses 4 in order to ensure the contact when the lid is closed as shown in Fig. 2, which functions as a plug, which the broadest reasonable interpretation of this is a ‘stopper’. )
On page 9-10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant requests documentary evidence in support of the “Official Notice” regarding the rejection of claim 3. The Examiner maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, official notice is taken that using a screw to bind two components of a case is a notoriously well-known practice. Thus, it would have been obvious for one skill in the art to have chosen screwing down the lid portion onto the base portion of the device of Grosfilley to effectively secure the lid portion and the base portion together. As requested, documentary evidence of the official notice includes Buckley (US 7477753 B2) which teaches a hearing aid is placed in the container and the container is sealed (e.g., via a screw cap) (see column 5, line 14-24).
On page 10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose the subject matter of claim 8 and 18. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Grosfilley in view of Vroba teaches the one or more battery wells defining an access slot, wherein the access slot is disposed along a side of the one or more battery wells. (see Fig. 1: indentation 89 formed in cover 51 act as a well and the battery removal station 80 and 80' which function as the access slot that disposes along the side of the well)
On page 10-11 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose the lid portion comprising one or more battery well plugs…and the one or more battery well plugs engage with one or more battery wells. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Burdon clearly teaches lid portion moves between a closed position wherein it is engaged with the base portion and an open position wherein it is disengaged from the base portion to allow access to contents therein. (see [0022]: lid 108 moves between an open and closed position and a closure mechanism 114 for permitting the user to selectively close the lid, and thereby, close the battery storage component 104, then open to access contents therein)
Burdon in view of Vroba teaches the one or more battery wells defining an access slot, wherein the access slot is disposed along a side of the one or more battery wells. (see Fig. 1: indentation 89 formed in cover 51 act as a well and the battery removal station 80 and 80' which function as the access slot that disposes along the side of the well)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNABELLE KANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695