DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, and 9 are amended. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirchhoff et al. (US PGPub 2015/0218335, hereinafter Kirchhoff).
Regarding claim 1, Kirchhoff discloses a processing system for processing an energy storage material comprising a mixing device (figure 5, preextruder 2) for processing the energy storage material, the mixing device comprising a processing screw machine (paragraph 0213), wherein the processing screw machine comprises at least two treatment element shafts, the at least two treatment element shafts having a same length LA (paragraph 0213, “a preextruder (2), a contrarotating twin-screw extruder having a hole diameter of D1=D2=57 mm and an effective length of 720 mm”); and wherein a pressure buildup device (main extruder 3) is disposed downstream of the mixing device (material moves from preextruder 2 to main extruder 3 through feed zone 4) wherein the pressure buildup device is configured to increase a pressure of the energy storage material (within pressure buildup zones 18.1, 18.2, and 18.3). The recited “energy storage material” is deemed to be a material worked upon by the apparatus, and is thus given little patentable weight. See MPEP 2115. The device of Kirchhoff would be fully capable of working upon such a material, and thus this limitation is met.
Regarding claim 4, Kirchhoff discloses the pressure buildup device comprises a pressure buildup screw machine (figure 5, main extruder 3, paragraph 0213).
Regarding claim 7, Kirchhoff discloses a multi-shaft pressure buildup screw machine (paragraph 0213).
Regarding claim 8, Kirchhoff is discloses a screw machine having an intake zone (figure 4, feed zone 4) and a pressure buildup zone (zones 18.1, 18.2, 18.3).
Regarding claim 11, Kirchhoff discloses wherein a connecting device (figure 5, feed zone 4) is disposed between the mixing device and the pressure buildup device in order to feed the energy storage material to the pressure buildup device (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Kirchhoff discloses the mixing device and the pressure buildup device are connected to one another (via connecting feed zone 4 in figure 5) in order to feed the energy storage material to the pressure buildup device.
Regarding claim 13, Kirchhoff discloses an extrusion tool (figure 5, die plate 23) is disposed downstream of the pressure buildup device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchhoff et al. (US PGPub 2015/0218335, hereinafter Kirchhoff) in view of Chou (US PGPub 2019/006199, hereinafter Chou).
Regarding claim 3, Kirchhoff is silent to the recited ratios. Chou teaches the processing screw machine comprising at least one treatment element shaft (figure 2, screw rod 13) length LA and an external diameter DA, where: 20 ≤ LA / DA ≤ 60 (paragraph 0026, “the first screw rod 13 has a length-diameter ratio of between 6:1 and 58:1”). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the apparatus of Kirchhoff with the ratios of Chou because Chou states that these ratios are advantageous for feeding and discharging materials (paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 5, although Kirchhoff and Chou are silent to the recited ratio, Chou teaches that a length-diameter ratio between 6:1 and 58:1 results in “good feeding and propelling of the raw material” (paragraph 0026). The reference also states that length-diameter ratios “can be adjusted according to factors such as the amount of extrudate, the size of the cross section of the products, etc.” (paragraph 0026). Thus, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the device of Kirchhoff (i.e. the pressure buildup treatment element) with a ratio within the recited range for the purpose of allowing for good feeding of material, and because such ratios are known to be adjustable depending on various factors.
Regarding claim 6, Kirchhoff indicates that single or multi screw extruders are suitable for the device (paragraph 0056), although twin screw extruders are disclosed in the examples. Chou teaches a single-shaft pressure buildup screw machine (figure 2, screw 22; paragraph 0018, “a second screw rod 22”). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the pressure buildup device of Kirchhoff as a single-shaft screw machine because Kirchhoff indicates that such a configuration would be suitable and Chou indicates that such a configuration of a pressure buildup machine is known in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Kirchhoff discloses a discharge opening (figure 5, transfer zone 12), but is silent to the opening being above the feed opening of the pressure buildup device. Chou teaches the mixing device has at least one discharge opening (figure 2, at upper end of connecting tube 24) which is disposed above a feed opening (at lower end of connecting tube 24) of the pressure buildup device. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have positioned the discharge of the mixing device above the feed opening of the pressure buildup device for the purpose of allowing gravity to aid in feeding between the devices.
Claims 9 and 14 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchhoff et al. (US PGPub 2015/0218335, hereinafter Kirchhoff) in view of Penneau et al. (US PGPub 2003/0175494, hereinafter Penneau).
Regarding claim 9, Kirchhoff discloses the mixing device comprises a processing screw machine having at least one treatment element shaft and the pressure buildup device comprises a pressure buildup screw machine having at least one pressure buildup treatment element shaft (see rejections of claims 1 and 4), but is silent to the diameter ratio as recited. Penneau teaches a mixing device having a processing screw machine and a pressure buildup device having a pressure buildup screw machine wherein the ratio of the diameter of the screw machine shaft to the pressure buildup screw machine shaft is between 1/5 and 3 (paragraphs 0123 and 0127, diameters of 58 and 30 make the ratio equal to approximately 1.93). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the screws of Kirchhoff with the ratio of Penneau because Penneau indicates that these screw diameters are useful for producing a desired product (paragraphs 0123-0142).
Regarding claim 14, Kirchhoff discloses providing a processing system according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kirchhoff is silent to processing energy storage material as recited. Penneau teaches a method for processing an energy storage material comprising the steps of: providing a processing system for processing an energy storage material including a mixing device and a pressure buildup device disposed downstream of the mixing device (paragraph 0093); processing the energy storage material by means of the mixing device (paragraph 0123); discharging the energy storage material from the mixing device and feeding the energy storage material to the pressure buildup device (paragraph 0127); increasing a pressure of the energy storage material by means of the pressure buildup device (paragraph 0127); and discharging the energy storage material from the pressure buildup device (paragraph 0127). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have combined the teachings of Kirchhoff and Penneau to arrive at the claimed method because the devices taught by the references are very similar and both are capable of performing the functions as recited.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC C HOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774