DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khademhosseini (USPN 10813792) in view of Houtan (PGPub 20090216172).
Khademhosseini teaches a tapered sponge (170; col. 5, lines 47-53); a handle (174) coupled to and extending from a rear surface of the tapered sponge.
Khademhosseini teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach an individually sealed package that surrounds the tapered sponge and the handle. Houtan teaches a pre-moistened cotton swab that is individually wrapped (figure 4; paragraph 0007). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khademhosseini so that each device it is individually wrapped as taught by Houtan to preserve the moisture of the product and to keep the device sanitary before use.
With regards to claim 2, the tapered sponge has a conical shape (figure 20-26).
With regards to claim 3, the sponge includes at least one helical groove (figure 20-26).
With regards to claim 4, the tapered sponge has an auger shape.
With regards to claim 5, the cleaning solution releasably encapsulated within the handle (132; figure 12).
With regards to claim 7, the handle is opaque (the handle is not see through).
With regards to claim 8, at least a portion of the tapered sponge is adapted to be placed into a belly button. This limitation is considered to be intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Thus, since Khademhosseini teaches the same structure, it would be capable of performing the intended use.
With regards to claim 9, the handle is adapted to be twisted to cause the tapered sponge to spin.
With regards to claim 10, Khademhosseini teaches a method of making the brush comprising providing a handle; and attaching a tapered sponge to the handle. Khademhosseini teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach surrounding the sponge and handle with an individually sealed package. Houtan teaches a pre-moistened cotton swab that is individually wrapped (figure 4; paragraph 0007, 0014, 0014). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khademhosseini so that each device it is individually wrapped as taught by Houtan to preserve the moisture of the product and to keep the device sanitary before use.
With regards to claim 11, the cleaning solution is released a top of the tapered sponge (the liquid is expelled through the holes, to the top surface of the sponge).
With regards to claim 12, the tapered sponge has a conical shape with a helical groove (138) and the cleaning solution is released through the at least one helical groove (when the liquid is dispensed through the holes, it will be released through the groove since the holes are located on the under the sponge and the liquid will flow thru the surface of the sponge with the groove).
With regards to claim 13 and 14, the handle is adapted to be squeezed (130; figure 12) to release a cleaning solution (liquid; figure 12) through the tapered sponge (col. 6, lines 8-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khademhosseini (‘792) and Houtan (‘172) in view of Perez (USPN 7951106)
Khademhosseini and Houtan teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the handle is transparent. Perez teaches a personal cleaning device comprising a swab with a transparent handle that houses a medication (col. 2, lines 37-43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khademhosseini so that the handle is transparent as taught by Perez to allow the user to view amount of cleaning solution in the handle.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723