DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the at least one vehicle body cross-member" in the last clause. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because no at least one vehicle body cross-member has been previously recited. It is noted the claim has only previously recited “at least one cross-member mounted to a vehicle body” and is not the same as “at least one vehicle body cross-member” as recited. Clarification is requested.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a front surface of the module accommodation space and a rear surface of the module accommodation space.” It is unclear how one is to determine what is a “surface” of a “module accommodation space” much less “a front surface” and “a rear surface.” Clarification is requested.
Claim 14 recites the limitations “a position ahead of the module accommodation space” and “a position behind the module accommodation space” in the first clause. It is unclear what is meant by a position “ahead” of the module accommodation space and a position “behind” the module accommodation space without further guidance with respect to how one is to determine the spatial relationship. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2013/0229030).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamaguchi discloses a mounting structure (see Figure 3) for a vehicular battery pack (50), the mounting structure comprising:
a lower case (54) including a module accommodation space defined therein to accommodate a plurality of battery modules (56) (see Figure 3);
at least one longitudinal member (52) provided in the module accommodation space (see Figures 3 and 8) in the lower case and arranged to be elongate in a forward-rearward direction ([0099]);
at least one cross-member (22, 24, 92) mounted to a vehicle body (floor panel 12) and arranged to be elongate in a transverse direction of the vehicle body (see Figure 3); and
a through-bolt (62) fastened through the at least one longitudinal member and the at least one vehicle body cross-member ([0101]; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a mounting through-hole formed in the at least one longitudinal member to allow the through-bolt to be inserted therethrough (there has to be a through hole formed in order for a bolt to be inserted; [0101]; see Figure 8); and
a through pipe (threading in the through hole) mounted in the mounting through-hole, wherein the through pipe is formed to allow the through-bolt to pass therethrough in order to support fastening force of the through-bolt ([0101]).
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a transverse member (34) provided in the module accommodation space in the lower case and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the at least one longitudinal member (see Figures 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the module accommodation space in the lower case is a rectangular parallelepiped shape (see Figure 3); and
the at least one longitudinal member is mounted so as to be connected between a front surface of the module accommodation space and a rear surface of the module accommodation space (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the lower case comprises an extension space defined therein (as seen in Figure 3) at at least one of a position ahead of the module accommodation space or a position behind the module accommodation space (where battery unit 80 is located); and
the extension space is a separate space extending forward or rearward from the module accommodation space (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 15, Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the lower case includes battery side members (68) provided on both sides of the module accommodation space (see Figure 3);
the battery side members are connected at end portions thereof to a peripheral member (82) that defines the extension space (see Figures 3 and 14); and
the battery side members include a plurality of side mounting holes formed therein to couple the battery side members to the vehicle body (holes in which bolts 67 go through; [0105]; see Figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2013/0229030) in view of
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the at least one cross-member (92) having a seat secured above (see Figures 3 and 7).
Yamaguchi does not expressly disclose the at least one cross-member is a seat cross-member provided for mounting of a seat; and the through-bolt is fastened through the seat cross-member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have secured the rear seat to a reinforcement structural beam such as a cross-member in the device of Yamaguchi for support and it would have been obvious to have selected the use of bolts as Yamaguchi discloses using bolts to secure different brackets and cross members ([0108]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Regarding claim 12, modified Yamaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the seat cross-member is mounted above a floor panel of the vehicle body (see Figure 7).
While modified Yamaguchi does not expressly disclose the mounting structure further comprises a weld nut fixedly provided between the seat cross-member and the floor panel; and the through-bolt is fastened to the weld nut, the reference discloses the use of a through bolt (66) to fasten to a cross member (34) comprising a weld nut (36), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a weld nut to be fixedly provided between the seat cross-member and the floor panel in order to use the through bolt to be fastened to the weld nut in the device of modified Yamaguchi, because it is a known method of securing the through bolt that is also disclosed by Yamaguchi and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722