Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second device" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “the second device” refers to “the second suction device” or a new device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (PgPub US 20160096278 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the suction cup of Cho teaches a suction apparatus for performing a picking operation (Abstract), the suction apparatus comprising:
a first suction device including: a housing portion (32 + 18), wherein the housing portion is shaped to define an opening (Fig 7) through which a suction force can be applied to enable the first suction device to grasp an item ([0001]); and
a rounded interior pocket adjacent to the opening of the housing portion, wherein the rounded interior pocket is shaped to contact at least a portion of the item during the picking operation (Fig 7; [0032] ln 6-8).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Cho further teaches a convexed lip portion (19) at the opening such that the item slides against the convexed lip portion during the picking operation (Fig 7; [0032] ln 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Cho further teaches the opening has a first diameter (D1), and the housing portion (D2) has a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter (Annotated Fig 7 below).
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Cho further teaches a mesh portion (27) within the rounded interior pocket (Fig 5), wherein the mesh portion includes a plurality of apertures (Fig 5; [0037] last 4 lines) to distribute a low pressure force in the rounded interior pocket ([0001]).
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 4 as described above, Cho further teaches the mesh portion traverses a circumference of the rounded interior pocket (Fig 5; Fig 7).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 5 as described above, Cho further teaches the mesh portion has a curved shape (Fig 5) to allow for a flexible item to conform to the mesh portion during the picking operation ([0037] last 4 lines).
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 4 as described above, Cho further teaches the mesh portion is shaped to allow a vacuum around the rounded interior pocket (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 7 as described above, Cho further teaches the housing portion is configured to allow a free flow of air around the mesh portion regardless of whether the item seals off a portion of a surface of the rounded interior pocket (Fig 5; Fig 7). Blocking of an individual hole of the mesh does not prevent the suction force from passing through the remaining unblocked holes.
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Cho further teaches an external lip portion (19) extending from the opening and configured to be in operable contact with the item during the picking operation (Fig 7; [0032] ln 6-8).
Regarding claim 10, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Cho further teaches an internal lip portion extending from the opening and into the rounded interior pocket, wherein the internal lip portion is configured to conform to the item during the picking operation (Annotated Fig 7 above).
Claims 1, 11-13, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polido (PgPub US 20200189122 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the suction cup robot hand of Polido teaches a suction apparatus for performing a picking operation ([0001]; Fig 9), the suction apparatus comprising:
a first suction device including: a housing portion (30), wherein the housing portion is shaped to define an opening through which a suction force can be applied to enable the first suction device to grasp an item ([0002]; [0016] ln 1-4); and
a rounded interior pocket (35) adjacent to the opening of the housing portion (Fig 5-7), wherein the rounded interior pocket is shaped to contact at least a portion of the item during the picking operation ([0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Polido further teaches a linear extension member (16) extendable through a center of the housing portion (Fig 4), and a second suction device (32, Fig 4) operably connected to the linear extension member and including an opening through which a suction force can be applied to enable the second suction device to obtain an initial grasp on the item ([0016] ln 4-8).
Regarding claim 12, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, Polido further teaches the linear extension member is configured to: move the second suction device toward the item to enable the second suction device to obtain an initial grasp on the item, and retract the second device upon the second suction device obtaining the initial grasp on the item to enable the first suction device to grasp the item ([0014] ln 10-13).
Regarding claim 13, the suction cup robot hand of Polido teaches a method for performing a picking operation, the method comprising:
positioning a linear extension member (16) within a first suction device (Fig 4; [0014] ln 10-13), wherein the first suction device includes:
a housing portion (30), wherein the housing portion is shaped to define an opening through which a suction force can be applied to enable the first suction device to grasp an item ([0002]; [0016] ln 1-4), and
a rounded interior pocket (35) adjacent to the opening of the housing portion (Fig 5-7), wherein the rounded interior pocket is shaped to contact at least a portion of the item during the picking operation ([0032]);
moving, using the linear extension member, a second suction device toward an item to be grasped to enable the second suction device to obtain an initial grasp on the item ([0014] ln 10-13); and
retracting the linear extension member to the first suction device to enable the first suction device to grasp the item ([0014] ln 10-13).
Regarding claim 19, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, Polido further teaches the first suction device further includes an external lip portion (82) extending from the opening and configured to be in operable contact with the item during the picking operation (Fig 8; [0032] last 5 lines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-18, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polido in view of Cho.
Regarding claim 14, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 13 as described above, Polido does not teach the suction device including a convex lip portion. However, the suction cup gripper of Cho teaches the first suction device includes a convexed lip portion (19) at the opening such that the item slides against the convexed lip portion during the picking operation (Fig 7; [0032] ln 6-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the suction cup robot hand of Polido by replacing the first suction device with the first suction device of Cho including a convex lip portion to come into contact with a surface of an article ([0032] ln 6-8) to create better vacuum seal.
Regarding claim 15, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 13 as described above, Polido does not teach the opening of the first suction device has a first diameter and the housing portion has a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter. However, the suction cup gripper of Cho teaches the opening of the first suction device has a first diameter (D1) and the housing portion has a second diameter (D2) that is greater than the first diameter (Annotated Fig 7 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the suction cup robot hand of Polido by adding the bellows of Cho to relieve shocks occurring when the suction cup comes into contact with the article ([0040] ln 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 13 as described above, Polido does not teach a mesh. However, the suction cup gripper of Cho teaches a mesh portion (27) within the rounded interior pocket (Fig 5), wherein the mesh portion includes a plurality of apertures (Fig 5; [0037] last 4 lines) to distribute a low pressure force in the round interior pocket ([0001]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the suction cup robot hand of Polido by adding a mesh portion to prevent the formation of a suction mark, for sucking a paper pack, and for sucking vinyl ([0037] last 4 lines).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 16 as described above, Cho further teaches the mesh portion traverses a circumference of the rounded interior pocket (Fig 5; Fig 7).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 17 as described above, Cho further teaches the mesh portion has a curved shape (Fig 5) to allow for a flexible item to conform to the mesh portion during the picking operation ([0037] last 4 lines).
Regarding claim 20, Polido teaches the limitations of claim 13 as described above, Polido does not teach an internal lip. However, the suction cup gripper of Cho teaches an internal lip portion extending from the opening and into the rounded interior pocket, wherein the internal lip portion is configured to conform to the item during the picking operation (Annotated Fig 7 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the suction cup robot hand of Polido by replacing the first suction device with the suction device of Cho to provide more convenient assembly and disassembly ([0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2003225880 A discloses an interior suction cup and exterior suction cup with round inner chambers, internal/external lips and a mesh.
US 20220024705 A1 discloses a suction cup device with a rounded interior pocket and interior and exterior lip.
DE 102012014591 A1 discloses a suction cup gripper system with an inner and outer suction cup that move axially relative to one another.
US 20190160691 A1 discloses a suction cup gripper system with an inner and outer suction cup that move axially relative to one another.
US 20200298421 A1 discloses a suction cup gripper with a rounded interior pocket, mesh and external lip.
DE 102020100568 A1 discloses a suction cup gripper with a rounded interior pocket and external lip for gripping flexible materials.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654