CTNF 18/376,401 CTNF 78519 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0293737 A1 to Kim et al . Kim et al. clearly teaches a Display Device and Method of Driving the Same, comprising: a housing (see Figures 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, and 14-17); and a piezoelectric module (510+520) positioned in the housing and including a first region for detecting biometric information using ultrasonic waves and a second region for providing haptic feedback (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]), wherein the piezoelectric module includes: a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer facing each other (see Figure 9A); and a piezoelectric layer positioned between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (see Figure 8); wherein at least a portion of the piezoelectric layer positioned in the first region of the piezoelectric module vibrates in a first frequency band to emit the ultrasonic waves (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]), and wherein at least a portion of the piezoelectric layer positioned in the second region of the piezoelectric module vibrates in a second frequency band lower than the first frequency band (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]). With regards to claim 2, Kim et al. discloses: the first electrode layer (see Figure 9A) includes: a first unit electrode positioned in the first region; and a second unit electrode positioned in the second region; and a width of the first unit electrode is smaller than a width of the second unit electrode (see Figure 3). With regards to claim 3, Kim et al. discloses: the second electrode layer (see Figure 3) includes: a first counter electrode positioned in the first region and facing the first unit electrode; and a second counter electrode positioned in the second region and facing the second unit electrode. With regards to claim 5, Kim et al. discloses: the second unit electrode includes at least one hole positioned along an outer edge of the second unit electrode. With regards to claim 6, Kim et al. discloses: the second counter electrode includes a plurality of body parts and connecting parts connecting the plurality of body parts. With regards to claim 7, Kim et al. discloses: the piezoelectric module further includes a flexible substrate (see Figure 9B). With regards to claim 10, Kim et al. discloses: a display (10), wherein the piezoelectric module is positioned on a back surface of the display. With regards to claim 11, Kim et al. discloses: a barrier layer positioned between the display and the piezoelectric module (see Figure 8). With regards to claim 12, Kim et al. discloses: a bending region (see Figure 9B) that is foldable or unfoldable, wherein: the piezoelectric layer includes a first piezoelectric layer and a second piezoelectric layer positioned on both sides of the bending region; and the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer are spaced apart. With regards to claim 13, Kim et al. discloses: the piezoelectric module including at least one transistor (335 within layer 303) connected to the second electrode layer and a first voltage line. With regards to claim 15, Kim et al. discloses: the first electrode layer includes at least one transmission electrode and at least one reception electrode; and the piezoelectric module (510+520): emits ultrasonic waves based on a voltage applied to the transmission electrode (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]); and detects proximity of an external object by detecting ultrasonic waves reflected by the external object through the reception electrode (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]). With regards to claim 16, Kim et al. discloses a method, comprising the steps of: forming a piezoelectric module (510+520) comprising a first region for detecting biometric information using ultrasonic waves and a second region for providing haptic feedback (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]), wherein forming the piezoelectric module comprises the steps of: forming a first electrode layer (see Figures 8 and 9A) and a second electrode layer facing each other (see Figures 8 and 9A); and positioning a piezoelectric layer between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (see Figures 8 and 9A); wherein at least a portion of the piezoelectric layer positioned in the first region of the piezoelectric module vibrates in a first frequency band to emit the ultrasonic waves; and wherein at least a portion of the piezoelectric layer positioned in the second region of the piezoelectric module vibrates in a second frequency band lower than the first frequency band (see paragraphs [0092] and [0093]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0293737 A1 to Kim et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,461,124 B2 to Berger et al . Kim et al. discloses a Display Device and Method of Driving the Same as described in paragraph 4 above. However, it fails to disclose the second unit electrode and the second counter electrode have a hexagonal shape. Berger et al. discloses an Ultrasonic Sensing Device, comprising: drive structures having a hexagonal shape (see column 13, lines 13-20). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the hexagonal shape disclosed by Berger et al. for the electrodes disclosed by Kim et al., for the purpose of optimizing acoustic injection. With regards to claim 8, Kim et al. in view of Berger et al. discloses: a back layer positioned on one side of the piezoelectric module and reflecting ultrasonic waves emitted from the piezoelectric module. With regards to claim 9, Kim et al. discloses: the back layer including a plurality of holes in the second region . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest an electronic device as recited by dependent claim 14, wherein: the piezoelectric module further includes an inactive region positioned outside the first region and the second region; the second electrode layer extends from the first region or the second region to the inactive region; and in the inactive region, the second unit electrode is connected to the at least one transistor. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEDRO J CUEVAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2021. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 June 10, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/376,401 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/376,401 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/376,401 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/376,401 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834