DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 3/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hutchens U.S. PGPub 2025/0078514.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the QC system" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the QC system" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchens U.S. PGPub 2025/0078514 (hereinafter “Hutchens”) in view of Nygaard et al. U.S. PGPub 2020/0363342 (hereinafter “Nygaard”).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Hutchens discloses a system for autonomous AI quality inspection of manufactured objects (e.g. tools), comprising: a) an edge gateway (e.g. Fig. 5, #565) connected to a high-resolution camera (e.g. Fig. 1, #41; Fig. 5, #520) for capturing images of the objects (e.g. ¶53, 114-123); b) a cloud server comprising a computer vision algorithm for detecting and processing the images, and calculating from the images key characteristics data (e.g. dimensions) of the objects (e.g. ¶14, 102, 106-108, 195-199, 320, 324-325 and 331); c) a user dashboard for displaying the key characteristics data and enabling quality control checks to be performed in real-time (e.g. ¶331 and 335-336); and d) an automated QC report generator for producing reports that meet regulatory requirements (e.g. ¶314, 410, 439, 443, 448 and 457).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Hutchens does not explicitly disclose the key characteristics being length, thread diameter, neck diameter, and head profile diameter. Regarding claim 2, Hutchens discloses using a high precision algorithm (e.g. ¶131 and 413), but does not explicitly disclose the precision level being up to 0.01 mm. Regarding claim 3, Hutchens discloses the objects being tools, but does not explicitly disclose the objects including nuts, bolts, screws and nails.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Nygaard discloses a computer vision system obtaining key characteristics that include length, thread diameter, neck diameter, and head profile diameter (e.g. ¶139, 217, 225 and 254). Regarding claim 2, Nygaard discloses the computer vision system having an accuracy and precision level of up to 0.01 mm (e.g. ¶172). Regarding claim 3, Nygaard discloses the objects comprising fasteners comprising nuts, bolts, screws, and nails (e.g. ¶5 and 213).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to additionally include fasteners for Hutchens’ quality control system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since fasteners are tools that are typically provided in a tool box and would ensure the user has quality fasteners to use with the other tools.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hutchens with Nygaard to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1-11.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Hutchens discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system is dynamically adaptable for different types of manufacturing objects (e.g. ¶90, 93, 96 and 191) through a one-time onboarding process wherein a user inputs product details into the QC system (e.g. ¶278-279).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Hutchens discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system performs quality control checks for multiple manufacturing objects simultaneously (e.g. ¶308, 314 and 397).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Hutchens discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising database for storing manufacturing object details and for dynamically adapting the system to different types of manufacturing objects by a one-time onboarding process (e.g. ¶402 and 404).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Hutchens discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the cloud server is further configured to remove the background of the images of the objects (e.g. ¶287), fetch edges and points of the objects, and detect color characteristics of the objects (e.g. ¶105-106, 127 and 202).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CK
April 4, 2026
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116