DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-12, 15-19 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments made to independent claim 1 for example change the scope of the claim. The limitation “wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session” changes the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10-11, 16-17, 19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0143942) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0232206) and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2025/0138132).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a user equipment assistance information (UAI) negotiation method, for a user equipment (UE) of mobile communication, comprising: receiving a first OtherConfig element of an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters with SETUP values from a network terminal ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”); sending a first UAI including a first value of a first configuration parameter of the configuration parameters to the network terminal ([0087], “After the UE 102 is enabled to transmit a preferred configuration, the UE 102 transmits 306A a UE assistance information message including the preferred configuration (i.e., a first preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”); and receiving a first RRC reconfiguration message corresponding to the first UAI from the network terminal ([0089], “In response to receiving 308A the UE assistance information message from the DU 174, the CU 172 sends 310A a first interface message (e.g., UE Context Modification Request message, UE Context Setup Request message) including the first preferred configuration to the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 generates 312A a DU configuration for the UE 102 in response to the first preferred configuration if the configuration parameters in the BS configuration do not satisfy the first preferred configuration, or if the DU 174 determines to modify the configuration parameters despite the configuration parameters satisfying the first preferred configuration.”); sending a second UAI including a second value of the first configuration parameter to the network terminal when the first value of the first configuration parameter is not included in the first UAI, wherein the first value and the second value of the first configuration parameters are different ([0219], “Later in time, the UE 102 can transmit 556F another UE assistance information message including another preferred configuration (i.e., a second preferred configuration) to the MN 104A, similar to event 556D, for similar reasons described above with respect to FIG. 5D. By sending the second preferred configuration to the MN 104A, the UE 102 can override the first preferred configuration retained at the MN 104A during the legacy UE assistance information procedure 572F, so that the UE 102 and MN 104A can then communicate using the second preferred configuration.”); receiving a second OtherConfig element of a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the second value of the first configuration parameter corresponding to the second UAI from the network ([0127], “In some scenarios and implementations, the UE 102 can send the second preferred configuration to the base station 104A to request that the base station 104A generate a second DU configuration that would not maximize capabilities of the UE 102 as defined in the UE capabilities. For example, in response to receiving the second preferred configuration from the UE 102 that indicates a preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth that is less than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth supported by the UE capabilities but greater than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth as indicated in the first preferred configuration, the base station 104A can generate a second DU configuration that indicates no more than the preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth indicated in the second preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and applying the second value of the first configuration parameter when the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises the second value of the first configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]). Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. Manolakos discloses wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session (Depicted in FIG. 4-6 are first and second UAI operations without an RRC suspension. [0082], “After the first adjustment, UE 115 may monitor for one or trigger conditions. In the event that UE 115 detects a second trigger condition, UE 115 may generate assistance information 378 and transmit assistance information 378 to base station 105. Assistance information 378 may include or correspond to a UAI message, such as an RRC UAI message. The assistance information 378 may include or correspond to position assistance information, such as position assistance information 305, which may include or indicate one or more settings or options. Based on or responsive to detection of the second trigger, UE 115 may perform a second adjustment to the positioning capabilities of UE 115.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos to have the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. The motivation would have been to improve operations and flexibility (e.g., Manolakos [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the UAI negotiation method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the RRC reconfiguration message from the network terminal ([0086], “During the UE assistance configuration procedure, the CU 172 can transmit an RRC message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message or a newly defined RRC message) to the UE 102 via the DU 174 to enable the UE 102 to transmit a preferred configuration”) comprises the first value of the first configuration parameter ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and applying the first value of the first configuration parameter when the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises the configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the UAI negotiation method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an RRC connect release message and entering an inactive mode with suspend when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation; or resuming to a basic configuration when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation ([0100], “The CU 172 then sends 324A an RRC suspension message (e.g., an RRCRelease message, an RRCConnectionRelease message) to the DU 174, which in turn transmits 326A the RRC suspension message to the UE 102. As a result, the UE 102 suspends 328A the radio connection, and can transition to an inactive state or an idle state.”).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses the UAI negotiation method of claim 1, further comprising: triggering an RRC connection re-establishment procedure to reset the UAI when the UE stops the UAI negotiation; or reducing a power consumption of the UE when the UE stops the UAI negotiation ([0088], “In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the first preferred configuration even if the UE 102 is satisfied with the configuration parameters, to prevent the base station 104A from changing the configuration parameters to ones that the UE 102 may not prefer. In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the first preferred configuration if the UE 102 experiences an overheating situation (e.g., due to heavy application processing), detects low battery power, or otherwise determines to conserve power, e.g., in response to the overheating configuration received in the RRC message from the base station 104A. In this way, the UE 102 can transmit the first preferred configuration for power saving purposes (even if the UE 102 does not experience an overheating situation), overheating purposes, or both.”).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses a user equipment (UE) for mobile communication, comprising: a wireless transceiver, configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from a network terminal of a mobile communication network; and a controller ([0346], “Depending on the type, the user device can include one or more general-purpose processors, a computer-readable memory, a user interface, one or more network interfaces, one or more sensors, etc.”), configured to receive a first OtherConfig element of an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters with SETUP values from a network terminal ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”); send a first user equipment assistance information (UAI) including a first value of a first configuration parameter of the configuration parameters to the network terminal ([0087], “After the UE 102 is enabled to transmit a preferred configuration, the UE 102 transmits 306A a UE assistance information message including the preferred configuration (i.e., a first preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”); and receive a first RRC reconfiguration message corresponding to the first UAI from the network terminal ([0089], “In response to receiving 308A the UE assistance information message from the DU 174, the CU 172 sends 310A a first interface message (e.g., UE Context Modification Request message, UE Context Setup Request message) including the first preferred configuration to the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 generates 312A a DU configuration for the UE 102 in response to the first preferred configuration if the configuration parameters in the BS configuration do not satisfy the first preferred configuration, or if the DU 174 determines to modify the configuration parameters despite the configuration parameters satisfying the first preferred configuration.”); wherein the controller of the UE is configured to send a second UAI ([0123], “After the UE 102 resumes 338B the suspended radio connection and transitions to the connected state, the UE 102 transmits 344B another UE assistance information message including another preferred configuration (i.e., a second preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”) including a second value of the first configuration parameter to the network terminal when the first value of the first configuration parameter is not included in the first UAI, wherein the first value and the second value of the first configuration parameters are different ([0125], “The UE 102 can transmit 344B the second preferred configuration for different reasons in various scenarios and implementations. In one implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 is satisfied with configuration parameters in the BS configuration that are used by the UE 102 to communicate with the base station 104A, as described in event 302A (i.e., the configuration parameters satisfy the preferences of the UE 102 as defined in the second preferred configuration). In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 no longer experiences an overheating situation, no longer detects low battery power, or otherwise no longer determines to conserve power.”); receive a second OtherConfig element of a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the second value of the first configuration parameter corresponding to the second UAI from the network terminal ([0127], “In some scenarios and implementations, the UE 102 can send the second preferred configuration to the base station 104A to request that the base station 104A generate a second DU configuration that would not maximize capabilities of the UE 102 as defined in the UE capabilities. For example, in response to receiving the second preferred configuration from the UE 102 that indicates a preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth that is less than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth supported by the UE capabilities but greater than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth as indicated in the first preferred configuration, the base station 104A can generate a second DU configuration that indicates no more than the preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth indicated in the second preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and apply the second value of the first configuration parameter when the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises the second value of the first configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]). Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. Manolakos discloses wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session (Depicted in FIG. 4-6 are first and second UAI operations without an RRC suspension. [0082], “After the first adjustment, UE 115 may monitor for one or trigger conditions. In the event that UE 115 detects a second trigger condition, UE 115 may generate assistance information 378 and transmit assistance information 378 to base station 105. Assistance information 378 may include or correspond to a UAI message, such as an RRC UAI message. The assistance information 378 may include or correspond to position assistance information, such as position assistance information 305, which may include or indicate one or more settings or options. Based on or responsive to detection of the second trigger, UE 115 may perform a second adjustment to the positioning capabilities of UE 115.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos to have the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. The motivation would have been to improve operations and flexibility (e.g., Manolakos [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the RRC reconfiguration message from the network terminal ([0086], “During the UE assistance configuration procedure, the CU 172 can transmit an RRC message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message or a newly defined RRC message) to the UE 102 via the DU 174 to enable the UE 102 to transmit a preferred configuration”) comprises the first value of the first configuration parameter ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and apply the first value of the first configuration parameter when the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises the configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the controller of the UE is configured to receive an RRC connect release message and entering an inactive mode with suspend when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation; or resume to a basic configuration when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation ([0100], “The CU 172 then sends 324A an RRC suspension message (e.g., an RRCRelease message, an RRCConnectionRelease message) to the DU 174, which in turn transmits 326A the RRC suspension message to the UE 102. As a result, the UE 102 suspends 328A the radio connection, and can transition to an inactive state or an idle state.”).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the controller of the UE is configured to trigger an RRC connection re-establishment procedure to reset the UAI when the UE stops the UAI negotiation; or reduce a power consumption of the UE when the UE stops the UAI negotiation ([0088], “In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the first preferred configuration even if the UE 102 is satisfied with the configuration parameters, to prevent the base station 104A from changing the configuration parameters to ones that the UE 102 may not prefer. In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the first preferred configuration if the UE 102 experiences an overheating situation (e.g., due to heavy application processing), detects low battery power, or otherwise determines to conserve power, e.g., in response to the overheating configuration received in the RRC message from the base station 104A. In this way, the UE 102 can transmit the first preferred configuration for power saving purposes (even if the UE 102 does not experience an overheating situation), overheating purposes, or both.”).
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses a network terminal station for mobile communication, comprising: a core network; and an access network ([0052], “FIG. 1A depicts an example wireless communication system 100 that includes a UE 102, a base station (BS) 104A, a base station 106A, and a core network (CN) 110. The base stations 104A and 106A can operate in a RAN 105 connected to the same core network (CN) 110.”), configured to transmit a first OtherConfig element of an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters with SETUP values to a user equipment (UE) ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”); receive a first user equipment assistance information (UAI) including a first value of a first configuration parameter of the configuration parameters from the UE ([0087], “After the UE 102 is enabled to transmit a preferred configuration, the UE 102 transmits 306A a UE assistance information message including the preferred configuration (i.e., a first preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”); and send a first RRC reconfiguration message corresponding to the first UAI to the UE ([0089], “In response to receiving 308A the UE assistance information message from the DU 174, the CU 172 sends 310A a first interface message (e.g., UE Context Modification Request message, UE Context Setup Request message) including the first preferred configuration to the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 generates 312A a DU configuration for the UE 102 in response to the first preferred configuration if the configuration parameters in the BS configuration do not satisfy the first preferred configuration, or if the DU 174 determines to modify the configuration parameters despite the configuration parameters satisfying the first preferred configuration.”); receive a second UAI ([0123], “After the UE 102 resumes 338B the suspended radio connection and transitions to the connected state, the UE 102 transmits 344B another UE assistance information message including another preferred configuration (i.e., a second preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”) including a second value of the first configuration parameter from the UE when the first value of the first configuration parameter is not included in the first UAI, wherein the first value and the second value of the first configuration parameters are different ([0125], “The UE 102 can transmit 344B the second preferred configuration for different reasons in various scenarios and implementations. In one implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 is satisfied with configuration parameters in the BS configuration that are used by the UE 102 to communicate with the base station 104A, as described in event 302A (i.e., the configuration parameters satisfy the preferences of the UE 102 as defined in the second preferred configuration). In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 no longer experiences an overheating situation, no longer detects low battery power, or otherwise no longer determines to conserve power.”); sent a second OtherConfig element of a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the second value of the first configuration parameter corresponding to the second UAI ([0127], “In some scenarios and implementations, the UE 102 can send the second preferred configuration to the base station 104A to request that the base station 104A generate a second DU configuration that would not maximize capabilities of the UE 102 as defined in the UE capabilities. For example, in response to receiving the second preferred configuration from the UE 102 that indicates a preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth that is less than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth supported by the UE capabilities but greater than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth as indicated in the first preferred configuration, the base station 104A can generate a second DU configuration that indicates no more than the preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth indicated in the second preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and apply the second value of the first configuration parameter when the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises the second value of the first configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]). Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. Manolakos discloses wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session (Depicted in FIG. 4-6 are first and second UAI operations without an RRC suspension. [0082], “After the first adjustment, UE 115 may monitor for one or trigger conditions. In the event that UE 115 detects a second trigger condition, UE 115 may generate assistance information 378 and transmit assistance information 378 to base station 105. Assistance information 378 may include or correspond to a UAI message, such as an RRC UAI message. The assistance information 378 may include or correspond to position assistance information, such as position assistance information 305, which may include or indicate one or more settings or options. Based on or responsive to detection of the second trigger, UE 115 may perform a second adjustment to the positioning capabilities of UE 115.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos to have the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. The motivation would have been to improve operations and flexibility (e.g., Manolakos [0030]).
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses a user equipment assistance information (UAI) negotiation method, for a user equipment (UE) of mobile communication, comprising: receiving a first OtherConfig element of an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters with SETUP values from a network terminal ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”); sending a first UAI including a first value of a first configuration parameter of the configuration parameters to the network terminal ([0087], “After the UE 102 is enabled to transmit a preferred configuration, the UE 102 transmits 306A a UE assistance information message including the preferred configuration (i.e., a first preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”); receiving a first RRC reconfiguration message corresponding to the first UAI from the network terminal ([0089], “In response to receiving 308A the UE assistance information message from the DU 174, the CU 172 sends 310A a first interface message (e.g., UE Context Modification Request message, UE Context Setup Request message) including the first preferred configuration to the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 generates 312A a DU configuration for the UE 102 in response to the first preferred configuration if the configuration parameters in the BS configuration do not satisfy the first preferred configuration, or if the DU 174 determines to modify the configuration parameters despite the configuration parameters satisfying the first preferred configuration.”); and sending a second UAI ([0123], “After the UE 102 resumes 338B the suspended radio connection and transitions to the connected state, the UE 102 transmits 344B another UE assistance information message including another preferred configuration (i.e., a second preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”) including a second value of a second configuration parameter of the configuration parameters to the network terminal when the second configuration parameter is not included in the first UAI, wherein the second configuration parameter and the first configuration parameter are different ([0125], “The UE 102 can transmit 344B the second preferred configuration for different reasons in various scenarios and implementations. In one implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 is satisfied with configuration parameters in the BS configuration that are used by the UE 102 to communicate with the base station 104A, as described in event 302A (i.e., the configuration parameters satisfy the preferences of the UE 102 as defined in the second preferred configuration). In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 no longer experiences an overheating situation, no longer detects low battery power, or otherwise no longer determines to conserve power.”); receiving a second OtherConfig element of the second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the second value of the second configuration parameter corresponding to the second UAI from the network terminal ([0127], “In some scenarios and implementations, the UE 102 can send the second preferred configuration to the base station 104A to request that the base station 104A generate a second DU configuration that would not maximize capabilities of the UE 102 as defined in the UE capabilities. For example, in response to receiving the second preferred configuration from the UE 102 that indicates a preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth that is less than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth supported by the UE capabilities but greater than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth as indicated in the first preferred configuration, the base station 104A can generate a second DU configuration that indicates no more than the preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth indicated in the second preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and applying the second value of the second configuration parameter when the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises the second value of the second configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]). Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. Manolakos discloses wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session (Depicted in FIG. 4-6 are first and second UAI operations without an RRC suspension. [0082], “After the first adjustment, UE 115 may monitor for one or trigger conditions. In the event that UE 115 detects a second trigger condition, UE 115 may generate assistance information 378 and transmit assistance information 378 to base station 105. Assistance information 378 may include or correspond to a UAI message, such as an RRC UAI message. The assistance information 378 may include or correspond to position assistance information, such as position assistance information 305, which may include or indicate one or more settings or options. Based on or responsive to detection of the second trigger, UE 115 may perform a second adjustment to the positioning capabilities of UE 115.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos to have the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. The motivation would have been to improve operations and flexibility (e.g., Manolakos [0030]).
Regarding claim 22, Wu discloses a user equipment (UE) for mobile communication, comprising: a wireless transceiver, configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from a network terminal of a mobile communication network; and a controller ([0346], “Depending on the type, the user device can include one or more general-purpose processors, a computer-readable memory, a user interface, one or more network interfaces, one or more sensors, etc.”), configured to receive a first OtherConfig element of an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters with SETUP values from a network terminal ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”); send a first user equipment assistance information (UAI) including a first value of a first configuration parameter of the configuration parameters to the network terminal ([0087], “After the UE 102 is enabled to transmit a preferred configuration, the UE 102 transmits 306A a UE assistance information message including the preferred configuration (i.e., a first preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”); and receive a first RRC reconfiguration message corresponding to the first UAI from the network terminal ([0089], “In response to receiving 308A the UE assistance information message from the DU 174, the CU 172 sends 310A a first interface message (e.g., UE Context Modification Request message, UE Context Setup Request message) including the first preferred configuration to the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 generates 312A a DU configuration for the UE 102 in response to the first preferred configuration if the configuration parameters in the BS configuration do not satisfy the first preferred configuration, or if the DU 174 determines to modify the configuration parameters despite the configuration parameters satisfying the first preferred configuration.”); wherein the controller of the UE is configured to send a second UAI ([0123], “After the UE 102 resumes 338B the suspended radio connection and transitions to the connected state, the UE 102 transmits 344B another UE assistance information message including another preferred configuration (i.e., a second preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”) including a second value of a second configuration parameter of the configuration parameters to the network terminal when the second configuration parameter is not included in the first UAI, wherein the second configuration parameter and the first configuration parameter are different ([0125], “The UE 102 can transmit 344B the second preferred configuration for different reasons in various scenarios and implementations. In one implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 is satisfied with configuration parameters in the BS configuration that are used by the UE 102 to communicate with the base station 104A, as described in event 302A (i.e., the configuration parameters satisfy the preferences of the UE 102 as defined in the second preferred configuration). In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 no longer experiences an overheating situation, no longer detects low battery power, or otherwise no longer determines to conserve power.”); receive a second OtherConfig element of the second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the second value of the second configuration parameter corresponding to the second UAI from the network terminal ([0127], “In some scenarios and implementations, the UE 102 can send the second preferred configuration to the base station 104A to request that the base station 104A generate a second DU configuration that would not maximize capabilities of the UE 102 as defined in the UE capabilities. For example, in response to receiving the second preferred configuration from the UE 102 that indicates a preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth that is less than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth supported by the UE capabilities but greater than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth as indicated in the first preferred configuration, the base station 104A can generate a second DU configuration that indicates no more than the preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth indicated in the second preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and apply the second value of the second configuration parameter when the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises the second value of the second configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]). Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. Manolakos discloses wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session (Depicted in FIG. 4-6 are first and second UAI operations without an RRC suspension. [0082], “After the first adjustment, UE 115 may monitor for one or trigger conditions. In the event that UE 115 detects a second trigger condition, UE 115 may generate assistance information 378 and transmit assistance information 378 to base station 105. Assistance information 378 may include or correspond to a UAI message, such as an RRC UAI message. The assistance information 378 may include or correspond to position assistance information, such as position assistance information 305, which may include or indicate one or more settings or options. Based on or responsive to detection of the second trigger, UE 115 may perform a second adjustment to the positioning capabilities of UE 115.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos to have the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. The motivation would have been to improve operations and flexibility (e.g., Manolakos [0030]).
Regarding claim 23, Wu discloses a network terminal station for mobile communication, comprising: a core network; and an access network ([0052], “FIG. 1A depicts an example wireless communication system 100 that includes a UE 102, a base station (BS) 104A, a base station 106A, and a core network (CN) 110. The base stations 104A and 106A can operate in a RAN 105 connected to the same core network (CN) 110.”), configured to transmit a first OtherConfig element of an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters with SETUP values to a user equipment (UE) ([0086], “For example, the CU 172 can include an OtherConfig IE, an overheating configuration (e.g., OverheatingAssistance IE or overheatingAssistanceConfig field), a power saving configuration (e.g., PowerPrefindicationConfig IE), or the OtherConfig IE that includes the OverheatingAssistanceConfig IE, the overheatingAssistanceConfig field, and/or the PowerPrefindicationConfig IE in the RRC message to enable the UE 102 to provide the preferred configuration.”); receive a first user equipment assistance information (UAI) including a first value of a first configuration parameter of the configuration parameters from the UE ([0087], “After the UE 102 is enabled to transmit a preferred configuration, the UE 102 transmits 306A a UE assistance information message including the preferred configuration (i.e., a first preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”); and send a first RRC reconfiguration message corresponding to the first UAI to the UE ([0089], “In response to receiving 308A the UE assistance information message from the DU 174, the CU 172 sends 310A a first interface message (e.g., UE Context Modification Request message, UE Context Setup Request message) including the first preferred configuration to the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 generates 312A a DU configuration for the UE 102 in response to the first preferred configuration if the configuration parameters in the BS configuration do not satisfy the first preferred configuration, or if the DU 174 determines to modify the configuration parameters despite the configuration parameters satisfying the first preferred configuration.”); receive a second UAI ([0123], “After the UE 102 resumes 338B the suspended radio connection and transitions to the connected state, the UE 102 transmits 344B another UE assistance information message including another preferred configuration (i.e., a second preferred configuration) to the DU 174.”) including a second value of a second configuration parameter of the configuration parameters from the UE when the second configuration parameter is not included in the first UAI, wherein the second configuration parameter and the first configuration parameter are different ([0125], “The UE 102 can transmit 344B the second preferred configuration for different reasons in various scenarios and implementations. In one implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 is satisfied with configuration parameters in the BS configuration that are used by the UE 102 to communicate with the base station 104A, as described in event 302A (i.e., the configuration parameters satisfy the preferences of the UE 102 as defined in the second preferred configuration). In another implementation, the UE 102 can transmit the second preferred configuration if the UE 102 no longer experiences an overheating situation, no longer detects low battery power, or otherwise no longer determines to conserve power.”); sent a second OtherConfig element of the second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the second value of the second configuration parameter corresponding to the second UAI to the UE ([0127], “In some scenarios and implementations, the UE 102 can send the second preferred configuration to the base station 104A to request that the base station 104A generate a second DU configuration that would not maximize capabilities of the UE 102 as defined in the UE capabilities. For example, in response to receiving the second preferred configuration from the UE 102 that indicates a preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth that is less than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth supported by the UE capabilities but greater than the corresponding maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth as indicated in the first preferred configuration, the base station 104A can generate a second DU configuration that indicates no more than the preferred maximum number of SCell(s), MIMO layer(s), and/or aggregated bandwidth indicated in the second preferred configuration.”). Wu does not disclose applying the configuration before the timer expiring. Lee discloses and apply the second value of the second configuration parameter when the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises the second value of the second configuration parameter before a timer expires ([0060], "In some aspects, the UE may start the timer based at least in part on the UAI that indicates the reduction to one uplink MIMO layer for the subscription. The UE may receive, from the network node and before the expiry of the timer, an RRC reconfiguration that reconfigures a maximum quantity of uplink MIMO layers to one or includes an indication for the subscription to switch to a BWP with a maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one, or DCI that causes the switch to the BWP with the maximum quantity of uplink MIMOs of one."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee to have the applying of the configuration before the timer expiring. The motivation would have been to facilitate the configuration (e.g., Lee [0060]). Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. Manolakos discloses wherein the first UAI and the second UAI are performed within a RRC connection session (Depicted in FIG. 4-6 are first and second UAI operations without an RRC suspension. [0082], “After the first adjustment, UE 115 may monitor for one or trigger conditions. In the event that UE 115 detects a second trigger condition, UE 115 may generate assistance information 378 and transmit assistance information 378 to base station 105. Assistance information 378 may include or correspond to a UAI message, such as an RRC UAI message. The assistance information 378 may include or correspond to position assistance information, such as position assistance information 305, which may include or indicate one or more settings or options. Based on or responsive to detection of the second trigger, UE 115 may perform a second adjustment to the positioning capabilities of UE 115.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos to have the first and second UAI performed within the same RRC connection session. The motivation would have been to improve operations and flexibility (e.g., Manolakos [0030]).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0143942) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0232206) and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2025/0138132) and further in view of Shrivastava et al. (US 2024/0008128).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the UAI negotiation method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the first configuration parameter of the RRC reconfiguration message is with a release value ([0082], “In yet other implementations, the UE 102 can indicate to release a first preferred configuration in a second preferred configuration or a UE assistance information message. In yet other implementations, the UE 102 can indicate to release some parameters contained within a first preferred configuration in a second preferred configuration or a UE assistance information message.”). Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos does not disclose stopping the timer after the release value. Shrivastava discloses and stopping the timer ([0045], “The timer Txyz may be stopped upon releasing mbs-InactiveAssistanceConfig during the connection re-establishment/resume procedures or upon receiving mbs-InactiveAssistanceConfig set to release.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos and further in view of Shrivastava to have stopped the timer after the release value. The motivation would have been to improve reliability (e.g., Shrivastava [0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the controller of the UE is configured to determine whether the first configuration parameter of the RRC reconfiguration message is with a release value or not ([0082], “In yet other implementations, the UE 102 can indicate to release a first preferred configuration in a second preferred configuration or a UE assistance information message. In yet other implementations, the UE 102 can indicate to release some parameters contained within a first preferred configuration in a second preferred configuration or a UE assistance information message.”). Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos does not disclose stopping the timer after the release value. Shrivastava discloses and stop the timer ([0045], “The timer Txyz may be stopped upon releasing mbs-InactiveAssistanceConfig during the connection re-establishment/resume procedures or upon receiving mbs-InactiveAssistanceConfig set to release.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos and further in view of Shrivastava to have stopped the timer after the release value. The motivation would have been to improve reliability (e.g., Shrivastava [0045]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0143942) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0232206) and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2025/0138132) and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2024/0349034).
Regarding claim 6, Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos does not disclose the RRC connect release message with idle mode reselection. Xu discloses the UAI negotiation method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an RRC connect release message with an idle mode reselection priority assignment when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation; or receiving redirection information to another cell of same radio access technology (RAT) or another RAT when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation ([0107], "Since the RRC connections of the UE have been released and the UE is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, the UE may select/reselect a suitable cell to camp according to a cell broadcast message. For example, the UE selects/reselects a suitable cell to camp according to the S criteria of cell selection or the R criteria of cell reselection of the cell broadcast, or the UE selects/reselects a suitable cell to camp according to the frequency priority and the cell measurement result."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos and further in view of Xu to have the RRC connect release message with idle mode reselection. The motivation would have been to improve resource utilization (e.g., Xu [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos does not disclose the RRC connect release message with idle mode reselection. Xu discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the controller of the UE is configured to receive an RRC connect release message with an idle mode reselection priority assignment when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation; or receive redirection information to another cell of same radio access technology (RAT) or another RAT when the network terminal stops the UAI negotiation ([0107], "Since the RRC connections of the UE have been released and the UE is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, the UE may select/reselect a suitable cell to camp according to a cell broadcast message. For example, the UE selects/reselects a suitable cell to camp according to the S criteria of cell selection or the R criteria of cell reselection of the cell broadcast, or the UE selects/reselects a suitable cell to camp according to the frequency priority and the cell measurement result."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos and further in view of Xu to have the RRC connect release message with idle mode reselection. The motivation would have been to improve resource utilization (e.g., Xu [0026]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2023/0143942) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0232206) and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2025/0138132) and further in view of Zeng et al. (US 2023/0337030).
Regarding claim 9, Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos does not disclose the SCG failure. Zeng discloses the UAI negotiation method of claim 1, further comprising: sending a secondary cell group (SCG) failure information when the UE stops the UAI negotiation; or applying an uplink (UL) throttle when the UE stops the UAI negotiation ([0076], “When a configuration parameter exception occurs in an SCG configuration process, the UE notifies the MCG of an SCG exception, and the MCG is triggered to notify a network device of the SCG exception through reestablishment. The network device determines, based on a measurement report from the UE, whether to configure an SCG again, or the network device itself determines to configure an SCG for the UE. If a same SCG cell is configured again, an SCG exception may be caused to a large extent; and consequently, the SCG connected to the UE cannot operate normally. It may be noted whether to perform configuration again is determined by the network device. In this case, the MCG notifies, through reestablishment, the network device of the SCG exception, and all reported cause values are configuration failures.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos and further in view of Zeng to have the SCG failure. The motivation would have been to optimize performance (e.g., Zeng [0087]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos does not disclose the SCG failure. Zeng discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the controller of the UE is configured to send a secondary cell group (SCG) failure information when the UE stops the UAI negotiation; or apply an uplink (UL) throttle when the UE stops the UAI negotiation ([0076], “When a configuration parameter exception occurs in an SCG configuration process, the UE notifies the MCG of an SCG exception, and the MCG is triggered to notify a network device of the SCG exception through reestablishment. The network device determines, based on a measurement report from the UE, whether to configure an SCG again, or the network device itself determines to configure an SCG for the UE. If a same SCG cell is configured again, an SCG exception may be caused to a large extent; and consequently, the SCG connected to the UE cannot operate normally. It may be noted whether to perform configuration again is determined by the network device. In this case, the MCG notifies, through reestablishment, the network device of the SCG exception, and all reported cause values are configuration failures.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Lee and further in view of Manolakos and further in view of Zeng to have the SCG failure. The motivation would have been to optimize performance (e.g., Zeng [0087]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479