DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein the light guide module further comprises a reflecting element and a beam-splitting element, and the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam; the reflecting element is arranged on a transmission path of the third beam, the reflecting element is configured to reflect the third beam to the beam-splitting element, and the beam-splitting element is configured to allow the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam and the second beam from the second surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0028816 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 2, and 12, Lee discloses a projection device (see fig.9), comprising an illumination assembly (see fig.8), comprising: a light source module (see the module of fig.8), configured to provide a first beam and a second beam (see 330 and 320); and a light guide module (see fig.8), comprising a first light guide triangular prism (400), wherein the first light guide triangular prism has a first surface (see the entrance surface of 420 ), a second surface (435) and a beam-splitting surface (445), the first surface is located on a transmission path of the first beam (see the surface of 420), and the beam-splitting surface (433) is located on a transmission path of the second beam (see beam from 320); wherein the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a first light guide layer (455) and a first beam-splitting layer (445), the first light guide layer (455) is arranged on the second surface (435), the first beam-splitting layer (445) is arranged on the beam-splitting surface (see 411 or 433), the first light guide layer (455) is configured to guide the first beam to the first beam-splitting layer (455), the first beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the second beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam (see the operation in fig.8), so that the first beam and the second beam are emitted from the second surface (again see the operation in fig.8), wherein the first light guide triangular prism further has a third surface (415), and the first surface (see entrance surface of 420), the second surface (see 435), and the third surface (415) are adjacent to each other and the first surface, the second surface and the third surface are sides of the first light guide triangular prism (see the configuration of fig.8), the beam-splitting surface is located in the first light guide triangular prism (see 445), the second surface and the third surface are symmetrical to the beam-splitting surface (see the disposition of surfaces 435 and 415), the first surface (420) is further located on the transmission path of the second beam (320), the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a second light guide layer (451), the second light guide layer (451) is arranged on the third surface (415), and the second light guide layer (451) is configured to guide the second beam to the first beam-splitting layer (see 320), wherein the first beam-splitting layer comprises a dichroic layer (dichroic layer 455) or a polarization beam-splitting layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0028816 A1).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Lee discloses a projection device (see fig.9), comprising an illumination system (see 610 and 620 in fig.10 and fig.8, para.[0075]: “Since the configuration of the illumination unit 600 is substantially the same as one of the illumination units of to FIGS. 2, 6, 7, and 8, a detailed description thereof is omitted herein.”), a light valve (650), and a projection lens (see 660), the illumination system being configured to provide an illumination beam (see the operation in fig.9), the light valve (see 650) being arranged on a transmission path of the illumination beam and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam, the projection lens (see 660 in fig.9) being arranged on a transmission path of the image beam and configured to project the image beam out of the projection device, but does not disclose the illumination assembly comprising: a light source module, configured to provide a first beam and a second beam; and alight guide module, comprising a first light guide triangular prism, wherein the first light guide triangular prism has a first surface, a second surface and a beam-splitting surface, the first surface is located on a transmission path of the first beam, and the beam-splitting surface is located on a transmission path of the second beam; wherein the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a first light guide layer and a first beam-splitting layer, the first light guide layer is arranged on the second surface, the first beam-splitting layer is arranged on the beam-splitting surface, the first light guide layer is configured to guide the first beam to the first beam-splitting layer, the first beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the second beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam, so that the first beam and the second beam are emitted from the second surface.
Fig.8 disclose the illumination system comprising a light source module (see the module of fig.8), configured to provide a first beam and a second beam (see 330 and 320); and a light guide module (see fig.8), comprising a first light guide triangular prism (400), wherein the first light guide triangular prism has a first surface (see the entrance surface of 420 ), a second surface (435) and a beam-splitting surface (445), the first surface is located on a transmission path of the first beam (see the surface of 420), and the beam-splitting surface (433) is located on a transmission path of the second beam (see beam from 320); wherein the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a first light guide layer (455) and a first beam-splitting layer (445), the first light guide layer (455) is arranged on the second surface (435), the first beam-splitting layer (445) is arranged on the beam-splitting surface (see 411 or 433), the first light guide layer (455) is configured to guide the first beam to the first beam-splitting layer (455), the first beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the second beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam (see the operation in fig.8), so that the first beam and the second beam are emitted from the second surface (again see the operation in fig.8), wherein the first light guide triangular prism further has a third surface (415), and the first surface (see entrance surface of 420), the second surface (see 435), and the third surface (415) are adjacent to each other and the first surface, the second surface and the third surface are sides of the first light guide triangular prism (see the configuration of fig.8), the beam-splitting surface is located in the first light guide triangular prism (see 445), the second surface and the third surface are symmetrical to the beam-splitting surface (see the disposition of surfaces 435 and 415), the first surface (420) is further located on the transmission path of the second beam (320), the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a second light guide layer (451), the second light guide layer (451) is arranged on the third surface (415), and the second light guide layer (451) is configured to guide the second beam to the first beam-splitting layer (see 320), wherein the first beam-splitting layer comprises a dichroic layer (dichroic layer 455) or a polarization beam-splitting layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fig.10 of Lee with the teaching fig.8 so that the illumination assembly comprising: a light source module, configured to provide a first beam and a second beam; and alight guide module, comprising a first light guide triangular prism, wherein the first light guide triangular prism has a first surface, a second surface and a beam-splitting surface, the first surface is located on a transmission path of the first beam, and the beam-splitting surface is located on a transmission path of the second beam; wherein the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a first light guide layer and a first beam-splitting layer, the first light guide layer is arranged on the second surface, the first beam-splitting layer is arranged on the beam-splitting surface, the first light guide layer is configured to guide the first beam to the first beam-splitting layer, the first beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the second beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam, so that the first beam and the second beam are emitted from the second surface to enhance brightness by increasing the number of light sources and increasing utilization efficiency by providing a first light guiding layer.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0028816 A1) in view of Greiner (A novel compact 4-channel beam splitter based on a Kosters-type prism).
With respect to claims 3, 4, 5, 17, 18, and 19, Lee discloses the projection device and the illumination assembly according to claims 1 and 15, the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam and the light source module is further configured to provide a fourth beam (see the third and fourth beams of fig.8) but does not disclose wherein the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism and a diamond light guide prism; the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam; the diamond light guide prism is arranged between the first light guide triangular prism and the second light guide triangular prism, the diamond light guide prism comprises a second beam-splitting layer, and the second beam-splitting layer is arranged in the diamond light guide prism; the second light guide triangular prism is located on a transmission path of the third beam, and the second light guide triangular prism is configured to guide the third beam to the second beam-splitting layer; wherein the second beam-splitting layer is configured to reflect the first beam and the second beam coming from the second surface and allow the third beam to pass therethrough, so that the first beam, the second beam and the third beam exit from a fourth surface of the diamond light guide prism, wherein the first beam, the second beam and the third beam exit in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the fourth surface, wherein there is a distance between the diamond light guide prism and the first light guide triangular prism, and there is a distance between the diamond light guide prism and the second light guide triangular prism, the second light guide triangular prism is arranged on a transmission path of the fourth beam, the second light guide triangular prism comprises a third beam-splitting layer, the third beam-splitting layer is arranged in the second light guide triangular prism, the third beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the fourth beam to pass therethrough and reflect the third beam, so that the third beam and the fourth beam are guided to the second beam-splitting layer of the diamond light guide prism.
Greiner discloses the combiners and spitters are structural equivalents and interchangeable (see “a non-interferometric [of Koster prisms] use where the first color video systems in the 1960s which used a staggard prism to combine and split the RGB colors ”), wherein the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism (see A and B in fig.2 or fig.7) and a diamond light guide prism (formed by C and D in fig.2 or fig.7); the diamond light guide prism (see C and D) is arranged between the first light guide triangular prism (E and F) and the second light guide triangular prism (A and B), the diamond light guide prism comprises a second beam-splitting layer (see the splitting layer between the diamond of C and D), and the second beam-splitting layer is arranged in the diamond light guide prism (see the diamond light guide prism); the second light guide triangular prism (see A and B in fig.2 or fig.7) is located on a transmission path of the third beam (see beam that passes through B), wherein there is a distance between the diamond light guide prism and the first light guide triangular prism (see the air gab between E and F), and there is a distance between the diamond light guide prism and the second light guide triangular prism (see the air gap between A and B), the second light guide triangular prism is arranged on a transmission path of the fourth beam, the second light guide triangular prism comprises a third beam-splitting layer (see the splitter between A and B), the third beam-splitting layer is arranged in the second light guide triangular prism (see the splitter between A and B),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combiner of Lee with the teaching of Greiner so that the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism and a diamond light guide prism; the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam; the diamond light guide prism is arranged between the first light guide triangular prism and the second light guide triangular prism, the diamond light guide prism comprises a second beam-splitting layer, and the second beam-splitting layer is arranged in the diamond light guide prism; the second light guide triangular prism is located on a transmission path of the third beam, and the second light guide triangular prism is configured to guide the third beam to the second beam-splitting layer; wherein the second beam-splitting layer is configured to reflect the first beam and the second beam coming from the second surface and allow the third beam to pass therethrough, so that the first beam, the second beam and the third beam exit from a fourth surface of the diamond light guide prism, wherein the first beam, the second beam and the third beam exit in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the fourth surface, wherein there is a distance between the diamond light guide prism and the first light guide triangular prism, and there is a distance between the diamond light guide prism and the second light guide triangular prism, wherein the light source module is further configured to provide a fourth beam, the second light guide triangular prism is arranged on a transmission path of the fourth beam, the second light guide triangular prism comprises a third beam-splitting layer, the third beam-splitting layer is arranged in the second light guide triangular prism, the third beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the fourth beam to pass therethrough and reflect the third beam, so that the third beam and the fourth beam are guided to the second beam-splitting layer of the diamond light guide prism to improve the quality of the light source by reducing light loss, to enhance optical alignment and calibration of LEDs by facilitating parallel, uniformly convergent/divergent light beams, and to simplify LED arrangement by enabling a planar arrangement which promotes uniform electrical connections and heat management.
With respect to claim 6, Lee in view of Greiner the illumination assembly according to claim 5, Lee in view of Greiner disclose wherein the first light guide triangular prism (see the equilateral prism as taught by Lee in claim 20 “wherein the plurality of triangular prisms comprises: three congruent isosceles triangles arranged to form an equilateral triangle” which would constitute a three dimensional shape with two identical equilateral triangle bases and three rectangular side) and the second light guide triangular prism are regular triangular prisms (since Lee in combination with Greiner who teaches using a second such light guide triangular prism, results in a second regular triangular prism).
With respect to claims 7, 8, 20 and 21, Lee discloses the projection device and the illumination assembly according to claims 1 and 15, further disclosing the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam (see third beam in fig.8) but does not disclose wherein the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism; the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam; the second light guide triangular prism is located on a transmission path of the third beam, the second light guide triangular prism comprises a second beam-splitting layer, and the second beam-splitting layer is arranged on a side of the second light guide triangular prism; wherein the second beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam and the second beam coming from the second surface, so that the first beam, the second beam and the third beam exit in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the third surface, wherein the light guide module further comprises a third light guide triangular prism, and the third light guide triangular prism is located between the first light guide triangular prism and the second light guide triangular prism.
Greiner discloses wherein the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism (see A, B and C in fig.2); the second light guide triangular prism (A, B and C) is located on a transmission path of the third beam, the second light guide triangular prism comprises a second beam-splitting layer (see the layer between C and D), and the second beam-splitting layer is arranged on a side of the second light guide triangular prism (see the arrangement of fig.2); wherein the light guide module further comprises a third light guide triangular prism (see D in fig.2), and the third light guide triangular prism is located between the first light guide triangular prism (see E and F) and the second light guide triangular prism (See A, B and C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combiner of Lee with the teaching of Greiner so that the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism; the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam; the second light guide triangular prism is located on a transmission path of the third beam, the second light guide triangular prism comprises a second beam-splitting layer, and the second beam-splitting layer is arranged on a side of the second light guide triangular prism; wherein the second beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam and the second beam coming from the second surface, so that the first beam, the second beam and the third beam exit in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the third surface, wherein the light guide module further comprises a third light guide triangular prism, and the third light guide triangular prism is located between the first light guide triangular prism and the second light guide triangular prism to improve the quality of the light source by reducing light loss, to enhance optical alignment and calibration of LEDs by facilitating parallel, uniformly convergent/divergent light beams, and to simplify LED arrangement by enabling a planar arrangement which promotes uniform electrical connections and heat management.
With respect to claims 9 and 22, Lee discloses the illumination assembly according to claims 1 and 15, the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam and a fourth beam (see fig.8) and teaches wherein the first light guide triangular prism is equal lateral triangular prism comprised by 3 isosceles triangles (see claim 20: “wherein the plurality of triangular prisms comprises: three congruent isosceles triangles arranged to form an equilateral triangle”) but does not disclose wherein the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism and a lightguide element; the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam and a fourth beam; the second light guide triangular prism is arranged on transmission paths of the third beam and the fourth beam, the second light guide triangular prism is configured to make the third beam and the fourth beam emit in a first direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second surface, and the second light guide triangular prism is attached to the first light guide triangular prism; the light guide element is arranged on transmission paths of the first beam and the second beam coming from the first light guide triangular prism and on transmission paths of the third beam and the fourth beam coming from the second light guide triangular prism, the light guide element is configured to guide the first beam, the second beam, the third beam and the fourth beam to emit in a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are not parallel to each other.
Greiner discloses wherein the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism (see second set of triangular prism on top of the first set in fig.5; 2X2 mosaic) and a lightguide element (see the triangular prisms attached to the first and second set of triangular prisms and to the right of them in fig.5); the second light guide triangular prism is arranged on transmission paths of the third beam and the fourth beam (see bottom two of the mosaic structure), the second light guide triangular prism is configured to make the third beam and the fourth beam emit in a first direction (see the direction that the first and second beams travel in fig.5), the first direction is perpendicular to the second surface (see the way light passes through the surface of fig.2), and the second light guide triangular prism is attached to the first light guide triangular prism (see the first and second attached triangles); the light guide element is arranged on transmission paths of the first beam and the second beam and on transmission paths of the third beam and the fourth beam (see the configuration disclosed in fig.5), the light guide element is configured to guide the first beam, the second beam, the third beam and the fourth beam to emit in a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are not parallel to each other (again see the configuration in fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly of Lee with the teaching Greiner so that the light guide module further comprises a second light guide triangular prism and a lightguide element; the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam and a fourth beam; the second light guide triangular prism is arranged on transmission paths of the third beam and the fourth beam, the second light guide triangular prism is configured to make the third beam and the fourth beam emit in a first direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second surface, and the second light guide triangular prism is attached to the first light guide triangular prism; the light guide element is arranged on transmission paths of the first beam and the second beam coming from the first light guide triangular prism and on transmission paths of the third beam and the fourth beam coming from the second light guide triangular prism, the light guide element is configured to guide the first beam, the second beam, the third beam and the fourth beam to emit in a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are not parallel to each other to improve the quality of the light source by reducing light loss, to enhance optical alignment and calibration of LEDs by facilitating parallel, uniformly convergent/divergent light beams, and to simplify LED arrangement by enabling a planar arrangement which promotes uniform electrical connections and heat management.
With respect to claim 10, Lee in view of Greiner discloses the illumination assembly according to claim 9, but does not disclose wherein there is a distance between the first light guide triangular prism and the light guide element, and there is a distance between the second light guide triangular prism and the light guide element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Greiner so that there is a distance between the first light guide triangular prism and the light guide element, and there is a distance between the second light guide triangular prism and the light guide element since it would predictable facilitate the desired reflections, and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0028816 A1) in view of Greiner (A novel compact 4-channel beam splitter based on a Kosters-type prism) and Watson (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0176818 A1) .
With respect to claim 13, Lee in view of Greiner discloses the illumination assembly according to claim 1, wherein the light guide module further comprises an anti-reflection layer, and the anti-reflection layer is arranged on the first surface.
Watson teaches an anti-reflection layer (see anti-reflective coating in para.[0033] below), and the anti-reflection layer is arranged on the first surface (para.[0033]: “In a prism design such as shown in FIGS. 1-2, it is in some cases desirable to apply an anti-reflective coating to the outer surfaces of the prisms in order to reduce reflection losses in the system.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Greiner with the teaching of Watson so that an anti-reflection layer, and the anti-reflection layer is arranged on the first surface to enhance light utilization efficiency by reducing unwanted reflection.
Claim(s) 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0028816 A1) in view of Mitsutake (United States Patent Publication 5, 446, 510).
With respect to claims 11 and 23, Lee discloses the illumination assembly according to claims 1 and 15, wherein the light guide module further comprises a reflecting element and a beam-splitting element (see 630 in fig.10), and the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam (see the third beam in fig.8, 340); the reflecting element (see the reflective element of 630 in fig.10) is arranged on a transmission path of the third beam, but does not disclose the reflecting element is configured to reflect the third beam to the beam-splitting element, and the beam-splitting element is configured to allow the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam and the second beam from the second surface.
Mitsutake discloses wherein the light guide module further comprises a reflecting element and a beam-splitting element (see fig.7), and the light source module is further configured to provide a third beam (see the red, green or blue beams of white light of fig.7); the reflecting element (see 38 in fig.7) is arranged on a transmission path of the third beam, the reflecting element (38) is configured to reflect the third beam to the beam-splitting element (see 36a), and the beam-splitting element is configured to allow the third beam to pass therethrough (see third beam with p polarization) and reflect the first beam and the second beam (see beams with s polarization in fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teaching of Mitsutake so that
the reflecting element is configured to reflect the third beam to the beam-splitting element, and the beam-splitting element is configured to allow the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam and the second beam from the second surface to enhance utilization efficiency while reducing size and cost.
Claim(s) 1, 14, 15, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi (US 6665122 B1) in view of Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0028816 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 14, 15 and 24, Yamagishi discloses a projection device (see fig.1), comprising an illumination system (see 301, 302, 326, 327, 318, and 316), a light valve ( 319 and 317), and a projection lens (see 306), the illumination system being configured to provide an illumination beam (see 302, 301), the light valve (see 319, 317; examiner notes that the light valve is not required by broadest reasonable interpretation to be on the path of the combined illumination beam) being arranged on a transmission path of the illumination beam and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam (see the operation of fig.1), the projection lens (see 306) being arranged on a transmission path of the image beam and configured to project the image beam out of the projection device, the illumination system comprising an illumination assembly (see 326 and 327), and the illumination assembly comprising: a light source module, configured to provide a first beam and a second beam (see 301 and 302); and a light guide module (see (327)), comprising a first light guide triangular prism (327), wherein the first light guide triangular prism has a first surface (327a), a second surface (332) and a beam-splitting surface (see the surface of the prism 327 and 329), the first surface (327a) is located on a transmission path of the first beam, and the beam-splitting surface (see 329) is located on a transmission path of the second beam (see the light from 311); wherein the first light guide triangular prism further and a first beam-splitting layer (329 in fig.1), the first beam-splitting layer (see 329) is arranged on the beam-splitting surface, the first beam-splitting layer (329) is configured to allow the second beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam, so that the first beam and the second beam are emitted from the second surface (see the operation in fig.1), wherein the light guide module further comprises a reflecting element (328 in fig.1), the reflecting element is located on the transmission path of the second beam (see beam of 310), the reflecting element is configured to reflect the second beam to the first beam-splitting layer (329), and the first surface (327a), the second surface (332) and the beam-splitting surface (see 329 in fig.1) of the first light guide triangular prism (see fig.1) are adjacent to each other and are sides of the first light guide triangular prism (see the configuration of fig.1) but does not disclose a first light guide layer.
Lee discloses wherein the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a first light guide layer (455) and a first beam-splitting layer (445), the first light guide layer (455) is arranged on the second surface (435), the first beam-splitting layer (445) is arranged on the beam-splitting surface (see 411 or 433), the first light guide layer (455) is configured to guide the first beam to the first beam-splitting layer (455), the first beam-splitting layer is configured to allow the second beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam (see the operation in fig.8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Yamagishi with the teaching of Lee so that
the first light guide triangular prism further comprises a first light guide layer and a first beam-splitting layer, the first light guide layer is arranged on the second surface, the first beam-splitting layer is arranged on the beam-splitting surface, the first light guide layer is configured to guide the first beam to the first beam-splitting layer to enhance light utilization efficiency by reducing light loss.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882