DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/4/2023, 7/11/2024, and 10/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: --cable guide. wherein-- should be cable guide, wherein. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 12-14, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiebenthal et al. (US 20170203662 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiebenthal discloses (Figs. 5 & 6) a retractable cable or hose system comprising:
a main body 114 (¶16) to which a charging cable 116 is connected (¶17);
a cable guide 102 for guiding the charging cable (¶16: a guide 102 with a first pulley 104); and
a damper 120 connected to the cable guide (¶20);
wherein a plurality of charging cables is connected to the main body (¶23),
wherein a plurality of cable guides and a plurality of dampers are provided (¶23).
Regarding claim 3, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the plurality of cable guides comprise a left cable guide disposed on a left side of the body and a right cable guide disposed on a right side of the body, wherein the plurality of dampers comprise a left damper connected to the left cable guide and a right damper connected to the right cable guide (¶23).
Regarding claim 4, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the plurality of cable guides and the plurality of dampers are disposed on one side surface of the main body (¶23).
Regarding claim 7, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein all or some of the plurality of charging cables extends to an upper side of the main body, wherein an upper guide for guiding a charging cable extending to the upper side of the main body is disposed on the upper side of the main body (Figs. 2 & 6).
Regarding claim 12, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses a cable cover covering the plurality of cable guides and the plurality of dampers (Figs. 2 & 6).
Regarding claim 13, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 12 above and further discloses wherein the cable cover is disposed on at least one of the side and rear surfaces of the main body (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 12 above and further discloses wherein the damper is mounted on one of the main body and the cable cover (¶20).
Regarding claim 16, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 14 above and further discloses a cable cover covering the plurality of cable guides, the plurality of dampers and the plurality of guide rails (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses
wherein the damper comprises an upper gas spring provided with a rod mount to which the cable guide is mounted at a lower end of the rod mount (Fig. 1; ¶19 - another biasing mechanism 120, such as a spring 124 (e.g., a gas powered spring)).
Regarding claim 20, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the damper comprises a lower gas spring provided with a rod mount to which the cable guide is mounted at an upper end of the rod mount (Fig. 1; ¶19 - another biasing mechanism 120, such as a spring 124 (e.g., a gas powered spring)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 8-11, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiebenthal in view of CN374 (CN 215402374 U; cited by Applicant IDS).
1, 3-4, 7, 12-14, 16, 19-20
Regarding claim 2, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of cable guides and the plurality of dampers are disposed on a rear surface of the main body.
CN374 teaches (Fig. 2A) a suspended type gun line storage mechanism and application cabinet thereof comprising: two side facing charging cables that hang on rotatable cantilever arms (see CN374 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the front facing cables of a charging station of Hiebenthal with the side facing cables of CN374 and also providing a rear facing cable as it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is obvious when it would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 5, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of cable guides comprise a rear cable guide disposed on a rear surface of the body and a side cable guide disposed on one side surface of the main body, wherein the plurality of dampers comprise a rear damper connected to the rear cable guide and a side damper connected to the side cable guide.
CN374 teaches (Fig. 2A) a suspended type gun line storage mechanism and application cabinet thereof comprising: two side facing charging cables that hang on rotatable cantilever arms (see CN374 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the front facing cables of a charging station of Hiebenthal with the side facing cables of CN374 and also providing a rear facing cable as it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is obvious when it would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 6, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of cable guides comprise a rear cable guide disposed on a rear surface of the main body, a left cable guide disposed on a left surface of the main body, and a right cable guide disposed on a right surface of the main body, wherein the plurality of dampers comprise a rear damper connected to the rear cable guide, a left damper connected to the left cable guide, and a right damper connected to the right cable guide.
CN374 teaches (Fig. 2A) a suspended type gun line storage mechanism and application cabinet thereof comprising: two side facing charging cables that hang on rotatable cantilever arms (see CN374 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the front facing cables of a charging station of Hiebenthal with the side facing cables of CN374 and also providing a rear facing cable as it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is obvious when it would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 8, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 7 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper guide is provided in plurality, wherein the plural upper guards comprise; a rear guide for guiding the charging cable, and a front guide for guiding the charging cable; the front guide located in front of the rear guide.
CN374 teaches (Fig. 2A) a suspended type gun line storage mechanism and application cabinet thereof comprising: two side facing charging cables that hang on rotatable cantilever arms (see CN374 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the front facing cables of a charging station of Hiebenthal with the side facing cables of CN374 and also providing a rear facing cable as it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is obvious when it would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 9, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose an arm body disposed above the main body, wherein an arm space accommodating the charging cable is formed inside the arm body.
CN374 teaches (Fig. 2A) a suspended type gun line storage mechanism and application cabinet thereof comprising: two side facing charging cables that hang on rotatable cantilever arms (see CN374 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the front facing cables of a charging station of Hiebenthal with the cantilevered arm body disposed above the main body, wherein an arm space accommodating the charging cable is formed inside the arm body of CN374 in order to avoid the dragging of the cable (see CN374 translation pg. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Hiebenthal modified by CN374 teaches the apparatus of claim 9 above and further teaches wherein an arm rail for guiding a charging cable is formed on the arm body (CN374: Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 11, Hiebenthal modified by CN374 teaches the apparatus of claim 10 above and wherein the arm rail is formed in plurality on the arm body, wherein one of a plurality of arm rails guides one of the plurality of charging cables, wherein the other of the plurality of arm rails guides the other one of the plurality of the charging cables (CN374: Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 15, Hiebenthal discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose a guide rail for guiding an elevation of the cable guide, wherein a plurality of guide rails is provided.
CN374 teaches (Fig. 2A) a suspended type gun line storage mechanism and application cabinet thereof comprising: two side facing charging cables that hang on rotatable cantilever arms (see CN374 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the front facing cables of a charging station of Hiebenthal with the plurality of cantilevered arm body disposed above the main body, wherein an arm space accommodating the charging cable is formed inside the arm body of CN374 in order to avoid the dragging of the cable (see CN374 translation pg. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Hiebenthal modified by CN374 teaches the apparatus of claim 15 above and further teaches wherein the cable cover is disposed on at least one of the side and rear surfaces of the main body (Hiebenthal: Fig. 5; CN374: Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 18, Hiebenthal modified by CN374 teaches the apparatus of claim 15 above and further teaches wherein the damper is mounted on one of the main body and the cable cover, wherein a guide rail is mounted on one of the main body and the cable cover (Hiebenthal: Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/TOAN C LY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876