DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Remarks
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination, based on Applicant’s amendment of September 8, 2026, see new final office action below:
Examiner formally withdraws the objection to the specification.
Applicant argues that Mildh does not teach, “an index value of an establishment cause”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mildh teaches “an index value of an establishment cause”. (i.e., selection considers information such as, but not limited to, availability of network slices at the network (e.g., within the UE registration area), the active network slices for the UE, the network slices that the UE is registered to or connected to, and the network slices that the UE is allowed to access, e.g., based on subscription information. In one embodiment, the selection comprises selecting an RFSP index value.) Para [0148]; (i.e., selected RFSP index value is communicated to a RAN, which can then set UE-specific cell reselection priorities to control idle mode camping, e.g., to ensure that the UE camps on a frequency layer or RAT that supports the slices that the UE is connected to. This solution can also be used to control the active mode (e.g., handover) mobility to steer UEs to the preferred frequency layer or RAT that supports the UE slices) Para [0180]; Para [0182]; Para [0393], for example.
Applicant argues, “mapped to a service type” is not taught by Mildh.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mildh teaches “mapped to a service type” (i.e., The RFSP Index is mapped by the RAN to locally defined configuration in order to apply specific RRM strategies.) Para [0056]; (i.e., the RAN node 312 performs mapping to a mobility policy for UE active or idle mobility based on an index parameter and also slice information and/or subscription information provided by a CN node. In these embodiments, the RAN 312 performs the mapping to “UE-specific cell reselection priorities” based on index parameter as well as slice and/or subscription info provided by the CN. In some embodiments, this information can be combined with knowledge of, or based on, subscription related information or other information (e.g. Gold/Silver/Bronze subscription, Public Safety subscriptions, etc.) to set the value of the index parameter) Para [0182].
Applicant argues that Mildh does not teach “RRC signaling includes a connect request nor that the RRC signaling includes a index value”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant did not specifically claim, “RRC signaling includes a connect request nor that the RRC signaling includes a index value”. Applicant did not specifically claim, “RRC signaling includes a connect request nor that the RRC signaling includes a index value”. Therefore, this point is moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gunnar Mildh (US Publication No. 2020/0337050 A1 and Mildh hereinafter).
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, Mildh teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device (i.e. wireless network) Para [0151] from a core network node (i.e. radio access node) Para [0213]: an indicator of a service type (i.e. operations) Para [0163] and (i.e., nodes work together and are managed via Management and Orchestration (MANO) 5100, which, among others, oversees lifecycle management of applications) Para [0217] wherein the indicator comprises a single network selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) Para [0389]; and an index value of an establishment cause (i.e., The AMF stores the subscribed RFSP Index value received and the RFSP Index value in use. During the Registration Update procedure, the AMF may update the RFSP Index value in use (e.g., the AMF may need to update the RFSP Index value in use if the UE related context information in the AMF has changed). When the RFSP Index value in use is changed, the AMF immediately provides the updated RFSP Index value in use to NG RAN node by modifying an existing UE context or by establishing a new UE context in RAN or by being configured to include the updated RFSP Index value in use in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message if the user plane establishment is not needed) Para [0066] mapped (i.e., mapped) Para [0009]; [0053] and (i.e., RAN 312 performs the mapping to “UE-specific cell reselection priorities” based on index parameter as well as slice and/or subscription info provided by the CN. In some embodiments, this information can be combined with knowledge of, or based on, subscription related information or other information (e.g. Gold/Silver/Bronze subscription, Public Safety subscriptions, etc.) to set the value of the index parameter) Para [0182] to a service type (i.e., service type) Para [0008]; and sending, by the wireless device to a first base station (i.e., radio access network node or a base station.) Para [0221], a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message (i.e., his then triggers a UE initiated MM procedure including in Radio Resource Control (RRC) and Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signaling the new value of the new accepted NSSAI the network has provided) Para [0027] comprising the index value cause (i.e., The AMF stores the subscribed RFSP Index value received and the RFSP Index value in use. During the Registration Update procedure, the AMF may update the RFSP Index value in use (e.g., the AMF may need to update the RFSP Index value in use if the UE related context information in the AMF has changed). When the RFSP Index value in use is changed, the AMF immediately provides the updated RFSP Index value in use to NG RAN node by modifying an existing UE context or by establishing a new UE context in RAN or by being configured to include the updated RFSP Index value in use in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message if the user plane establishment is not needed) Para [0066].
Regarding the newly added limitation, (amendment September 8, 2026,) “slice”,
Mildh teaches the claimed, “slice” (i.e., frequency or RAT selection based on slice availability. In one aspect, a core network function is provided for determining information for RAT and/or frequency selection based on knowledge of network slices and providing that information to a RAN node, which may provide that information to a UE. The information may be a RFSP index or other index parameter, which may be set based on subscription related information or other information. Slice knowledge may include knowledge of availability of network slices at the network, active slices for the UE, slices to which the UE is registered or connected, and/or slices to which the UE is allowed access. In another aspect, a RAN node performs mapping to mobility policies for UE active or idle mobility based on the determined information along) [Abstract]; (i.e., Network Slice Instance (NSI): a set of network functions, and resources to run these network functions, forming a complete instantiated logical network to meet certain network characteristics required by one or more service instances. A NSI may be fully or partially, logically and/or physically isolated from another NSI. The resources include physical and logical resources. A NSI may be comprised of sub-network instances, which may be shared by multiple NSIs. A NSI may be defined by a network slice blueprint) Para [0007] and Para [0020], for example.
Regarding Claims 2,9 and 16, Mildh teaches further comprising sending, by the wireless device to the core network node, a first non-access stratum (NAS) message indicating the service type (i.e. A UE may provide NSSAI consisting of a set of parameters to the network to select the set of RAN and CN part of the NSIs 118 for the UE. If a network deploys network slicing, then it may use UE provided NSSAI to select a network slice (i.e., Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI): information consisting of a set of parameters provided by a User Equipment (UE) to the network to select the set of RAN and CN part of the NSIs for the UE. This information includes, for each slice the UE is allowed to access, a Slice Service Type (SST) Para [0008]; and Para [0022-0023].
Regarding Claims 3,10 and 17, Mildh teaches further comprising receiving, by the wireless device from the core network node, a second NAS message comprising: the indicator of the service type; and the index value of the establishment cause mapped to the service type (i.e., selection considers information such as, but not limited to, availability of network slices at the network (e.g., within the UE registration area), the active network slices for the UE, the network slices that the UE is registered to or connected to, and the network slices that the UE is allowed to access, e.g., based on subscription information. In one embodiment, the selection comprises selecting an RFSP index value.) Para [0148].
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18, Mildh teaches further comprising releasing, by the wireless device, an RRC connection after receiving the second NAS (i.e. Non-Access Stratum) Para [0350] message (i.e., explicit reference to any intermediary devices and the precise routing of messages via these devices. Network infrastructure may determine the routing, which it may be configured to hide from UE 730 or from the service provider operating host computer) Para [0230].
Regarding Claims 5,12 and 19, Mildh teaches wherein the RRC connection Para [0379].
request Para [0379] comprises at least one of: a RRC registration request; or a RRC resume request Para [0379].
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20, Mildh teaches wherein the core network node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (i.e., CN node comprises one of an Authentication Management Function (AMF) a Session Management Function (SMF) a Mobility Management Entity (MME) or a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) ) Para [0071].
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Mildh teaches wherein the core network node and the first base station are associated with a first public land mobile network (PLMN) Para [0330].
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mildh, G., (US Patent Publication No. 2020/0337050 A1), “FREQUENCY OR RADIO ACCESS TECHNOLOGY (RAT) SELECTION BASED ON SLICE AVAILABILITY” (October 22, 2020) discloses a core network function is provided for determining information for RAT and/or frequency selection based on knowledge of network slices and providing that information to a RAN node, which may provide that information to a UE. The information may be a RFSP index or other index parameter, which may be set based on subscription related information or other information. Slice knowledge includes knowledge of availability of network slices at the network, active slices for the UE, slices to which the UE is registered or connected, and/or slices to which the UE is allowed access. RAN node performs mapping to mobility policies for UE active or idle mobility based on the determined information along with slice or subscription information provided by a CN node.
Ninglekhu et al., (US Patent Publication No. 20230052699 A1), “FREQUENCY RANGE DRIVEN NETWORK SLICING” (February 16, 2023) discloses Network Slice Selection Assistance information (NSSA1) may be signaled between User Equipment (UE) and a network. NSSA1 sent from the network to the UE. Operating Frequency Band (OFB) for each Single NSSAI(S-NSSA1) in the NSSAI, a Radio Access Technology (RAT) Frequency Selection Priority (RFSP) index, which the network configures as a part of UE access and mobility; subscription, during a UE registration procedure. RAT restrictions may be enhanced to indicate to the UE that certain slices are not accessible via certain RATs. A UE may be provided by the network with an alternative NSSAI and corresponding OFBs for each S-NSSAI thereby indicating to the UE that these S-NSSAI would have been allowed had they been requested. A UE may be able to choose an alternative Allowed NSSAI and send a registration update request to the network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov